New member needs dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, should I give insulin at 9.2mmol (PMPS)? Yesterday night he did not allow me to give insulin he kept running away and was just not having it, and AMPS was at 10.7. Not bad! I did give him 0.25units this morning (quite the challenge). What do you think I should do. It might want to attack me again today.
 
By the way, he has never been that way. He's always such a good, calm boy and let's me do everything to him. He cried out the night before (not sure why) and since then, he's been scared.
 
I would give 0.25U, provided you can test +2 and +3 to see where he's at/where he's heading. If you can't, I'd suggest 0.1U.

Sometimes the insulin can sting, but that doesn't usually happen until around 5U of Vetsulin. Perhaps the usual area is sore? Maybe you're going too far and hitting muscle? I'd try a different site altogether if you're comfortable with that.
 
OK, yeah unfortunately I can't do another injection site on him. I think it might be soreness. Thanks.
 
Understandable!

Just be sure to test for ketones soon, he's been reduced on insulin pretty quickly
 
Keep an eye on that avoidance behaviour associated with the insulin. It might be Nacho's way of telling you that the Vetsulin is making him feel bad (he's in fairly good numbers - potentially his body might be fighting the dose?).

I know that you've skipped tonight but is there any chance you could get a +2 or +3 test tonight to see whether Nacho's BG might have gone lower after his evening feed?

It might be worth considering dropping the dose down to 0.1IU for a few cycles to see how Nacho gets on, but don't lower your current 'no shoot' limit.


Mogs
.
 
Keep an eye on that avoidance behaviour associated with the insulin. It might be Nacho's way of telling you that the Vetsulin is making him feel bad (he's in fairly good numbers - potentially his body might be fighting the dose?).

I know that you've skipped tonight but is there any chance you could get a +2 or +3 test tonight to see whether Nacho's BG might have gone lower after his evening feed?

It might be worth considering dropping the dose down to 0.1IU for a few cycles to see how Nacho gets on, but don't lower your current 'no shoot' limit.


Mogs
.
Thanks, I just saw this :( It seems like Nacho is letting me inject him now no problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top