Kyong Ahlstrom
Member Since 2020
Our baby Kiki was diagnosed 1/21 & the last 2 weeks have been difficult. I found this forum just a couple days ago, and want to first show my gratitude for the members and creators.
Kiki's first reading at the vet was 368 and her frucosamine showed that her regulation was poor. This was expected since she has been recieving steroid injections every 2 months for her severe skin allergies. We tried immunotherapy & other meds but nothing worked. Kiki is no longer recieving any steroids.
Without reading this forum (I wished we had) we purchased Alphatrak 2 to start monitoring her glucose. The vet prescribed Kiki only with 1unit of Lantus every 24hrs.
After the 6 days, her glucose was not decreasing so the vet prescribed 1unit every 12 hours.
After about 11 days, Kiki's glucose was +3 128 mg/dL, +9 82, +12 102mg/dL, so we decided to reduce the dose to 1/2 units per 12hrs. This was over a weekend so we couldn't communicate with the vet.
The vet told us on Monday to reduce her insulin to 1 unit per day and believed Kiki is a transient diabetic. She also said no insulin if her glucose is under 200. Our last dose of insulin was 2/1. Kiki's glucose is 6am 167 and 147 & 6pm 153 & 115. This is without food at least 5 hrs prior.
My concern is with her eating. Kiki is a very finicky eater & is extremely stubborn. She having been addicted to dry food for 13 plus years & does not eat enough of her wet food. At first, we decided to go cold turkey & Kiki ate Royal Canin PV Protein canned food prescribed by her vet. After 36 hours of only eating a just a couple bites, we caved in & started mixing her Ultamino kibble. Later I found this forum & the wet food data and so far, Kiki has tried Blue Wilderness, Fancy Feast Natural, Tiki Cat & finally Weruva. We have also tried sprinkling FortiFlora, parmesan cheese & catnip, warmed her food & pretty much every suggestion. She seems to like the Weruva Chicken Frick A Zee the most, but she is only eating about 150-170kcal these couple of days. She is also drinking considerably less water.
She was also a free feeder so getting her to start timed meals is challenging. She only eats a couple bites, takes a nap, then wanders to her food bowl after 1/2 hr and takes a couple more.
She is pooing and peeing regularly, but I'm still concerned. Is her loss of appetite due to her decrease in glucose? I have checked for jaundice and dehydration, and she is more active than when her glucose level was elevated. I do not want to start giving her the kibble, but I'm concerned she is weight too quickly; she has had almost a 2% weight loss these couple days. She is not nauseous since she will gobble up pieces of kibble I give her. Has this happened to anyone else? Is her body still adjusting to the fluctuations of her glucose?
Please help and thank you in advance. Reading the posts in this forum has gotten me through a very trying 2 weeks.
Kiki's first reading at the vet was 368 and her frucosamine showed that her regulation was poor. This was expected since she has been recieving steroid injections every 2 months for her severe skin allergies. We tried immunotherapy & other meds but nothing worked. Kiki is no longer recieving any steroids.
Without reading this forum (I wished we had) we purchased Alphatrak 2 to start monitoring her glucose. The vet prescribed Kiki only with 1unit of Lantus every 24hrs.
After the 6 days, her glucose was not decreasing so the vet prescribed 1unit every 12 hours.
After about 11 days, Kiki's glucose was +3 128 mg/dL, +9 82, +12 102mg/dL, so we decided to reduce the dose to 1/2 units per 12hrs. This was over a weekend so we couldn't communicate with the vet.
The vet told us on Monday to reduce her insulin to 1 unit per day and believed Kiki is a transient diabetic. She also said no insulin if her glucose is under 200. Our last dose of insulin was 2/1. Kiki's glucose is 6am 167 and 147 & 6pm 153 & 115. This is without food at least 5 hrs prior.
My concern is with her eating. Kiki is a very finicky eater & is extremely stubborn. She having been addicted to dry food for 13 plus years & does not eat enough of her wet food. At first, we decided to go cold turkey & Kiki ate Royal Canin PV Protein canned food prescribed by her vet. After 36 hours of only eating a just a couple bites, we caved in & started mixing her Ultamino kibble. Later I found this forum & the wet food data and so far, Kiki has tried Blue Wilderness, Fancy Feast Natural, Tiki Cat & finally Weruva. We have also tried sprinkling FortiFlora, parmesan cheese & catnip, warmed her food & pretty much every suggestion. She seems to like the Weruva Chicken Frick A Zee the most, but she is only eating about 150-170kcal these couple of days. She is also drinking considerably less water.
She was also a free feeder so getting her to start timed meals is challenging. She only eats a couple bites, takes a nap, then wanders to her food bowl after 1/2 hr and takes a couple more.
She is pooing and peeing regularly, but I'm still concerned. Is her loss of appetite due to her decrease in glucose? I have checked for jaundice and dehydration, and she is more active than when her glucose level was elevated. I do not want to start giving her the kibble, but I'm concerned she is weight too quickly; she has had almost a 2% weight loss these couple days. She is not nauseous since she will gobble up pieces of kibble I give her. Has this happened to anyone else? Is her body still adjusting to the fluctuations of her glucose?
Please help and thank you in advance. Reading the posts in this forum has gotten me through a very trying 2 weeks.