New Member - Need Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

beka509

Member Since 2013
Hi,

I'm fostering a cat who was diagnosed as being diabetic yesterday. I have been home testing and tracking his numbers. The vet recommended we start at 1IU of Lantus twice a day.

Yesterday his PMPS was 418. +3 was 310. This morning's AMPS was 284 and today's PMPS was 433.

I'm concerned that today's PMPS was higher than yesterday's. Is this normal?

Thank you in advance for advice.

Becky & Screechy
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

First, to answer your question, don't expect Lantus to drive down the numbers with a heavy hand. Lantus is gentle. It is also a depot-type of insulin. What that means is that it is going to take 5 - 7 days for the insulin depot to form and for Lantus to really start to have an effect.

Here's the link to your introductory post on the Health board.

Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point of the cycle -- the nadir. If you're home during the day, can you get some spot checks both during the AM and PM cycles? I'd also encourage you to become familiar with the information in the starred, sticky notes at the top of the board.
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal version -- the “Tilly” Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany, which was also published by Kirsten Roomp & Jacqui Rand, DVM in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Lantus & Levemir: Shooting & Handling Low Numbers: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation as well as information if you have a low pre-shot number or a drop into low numbers during the cycle.
 
Welcome to LantusLand, Becky, the greatest place you never wanted to be. :lol: :lol: What does Screechy eat? Please ask whatever questions you have. The knowledge, experience and generosity of this place is truly amazing. We are all just a bunch of crazy cat ladies and a few crazy cat gents and want to help however we can.
Liz, Zener's other mom (I sign my posts and Anne doesn't)
 
Hello.
Welcome to LL.
Wow. I admire you for fostering Screechy. What a wonderful gift you are giving him!
His numbers will take a while to stabilize... some cats take longer than others.
There is so much reading and learning here and you will feel overwhelmed at time.
Keep asking questions. We all love helping each other.
 
Thank you everyone! It's does feel overwhelming at times and its great to have a place where people can help calm me and provide great advice!

I'll continue my education process and try to have patience throughout this process. Screechy is eating an all canned Fancy Feast diet. He gets a total of 4 cans per day evenly timed throughout the day. I work during the day so I'm hoping to get the nadir of his cycle on Saturday.
 
Hello Becky & Screechy.
Just stopping in to say Welcome :) and you're doing a good job so far.
 
Hi Becky. Welcome to LantusLand. How great that you are fostering and treating a cat with FD. Screechy is very lucky to have you.

Are the Fancy Feast varieties you're feeding Screechy the Fancy Feast Classics? Just about all of the Classics have less than 10% carbs. The food list that Dr. Lisa compiled is a great help with food selection. If you have a question put the "?" at the front of your post subject line. It's an identifier that you have a question and need assistance.

I believe each of us were overwhelmed with the amount of information here but if you look at it like a piece of cheese and only take a small bit at a time and when that bite is digested take the next one, eventually the cheese will be all gone and you'll have a pretty good grasp of what's happening with Screetchy.

Again, welcome to LL and have a great day.
 
Just want to welcome you, Becky and Screechy! Sounds like Screechy is in good hands AND you have a great team here to help on top of it! Good luck to you both!
 
Welcome fellow newbie. I am also learning that it takes some time and patience while the initial treatment and data collection gets underway. That is nerve wracking, of course, when you are consumed with concern over the little fuzzbutts. You are not alone nailbite_smile
 
Hi,
I am Screechy's new foster, and I don't know how this message board works. I would like to post a new topic, but I cannot figure out how to do it. I have had Screechy for almost a week and he's doing alright, but I was told this is a good place to get help, especially since his blood glucose numbers have not really stabilized. He's been a little up and down. Last few days in the 300s, with one exception in the 200s.
I have a son who has diabetes who is helping me and we feel like we're doing everything pretty well for him, but it's perplexing.

Cara
 
Screechy got lucky twice. :-D We post one thread (or "condo", since we live here) per cat per day. Use the NEWTOPIC button at the top. The subject line of the very first post is visible to the board so modify that when you get a new reading.

4/3 Screechy AMPS 321

AMPS = AM PreShot
Then add numbers relative to his shot time. So if you shot at 7 after testing at 321, then tested at 9 and measured 309, you would have

4/3 Screechy AMPS 321;+2 309

Please include information about Screechy's overall behavior, which is just as important as the numbers. :-D And any questions that you have.
Liz
ETA: The NEWTOPIC button is on this page: viewforum.php?f=9
 
Welcome, Cara.

You may want to remove your e-mail address from your signature line. Unfortunately, spammers do scan the board and there are automated ways for them to pick up e-mail addresses. We usually include our kittie's spreadsheet in our signature line. It looks like Becky had started a spreadsheet for Screechy. Here's the link: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0An5j9NImA2PPdHUxSkNtWVg0YnZVcnNEOTZnR1ZPYXc&output=html. If she can transfer ownership of the spreadsheet to you, you can start adding your test data.

I'd encourage you to get started here by reading the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There's a huge volume of information in those notes. We'll help you to get acclimated.

Please let us know if you have questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top