Can you please explain, pre shot number and +2 number should be the same or higher not lower. She gets fed 7am 12pm 6pm 10pm, thank you.
Generally speaking (remembering that every cat is different ECID), with Lantus, it doesn't usually start to "kick in" for about 2 hours and that +2 can act kind of like a crystal ball in predicting where they might be going later in the cycle.
If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, it's usually going to be a pretty normal Lantus cycle...gradually down to nadir, then gradually back up to the next PS.
If the +2 is considerably higher than the PS, that can indicate the kitty is starting a bounce and those cycles you can usually get away without as much testing.
If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your warning that she may be dropping a lot lower later in the cycle and you should plan on getting more tests in to make sure she stays in safe numbers.
While the goal is to keep them in normal numbers as much as possible (2.8-6.7 on a human meter), it can't be rushed either or you may end up in a hypoglycemic crisis. Just because 0.25 didn't seem to work before doesn't mean it won't work this time. Cats are very complicated creatures and diabetes is a very complicated disease.
Here is some info from the SLGS method: (red highlights are my own)
Hold the dose for at least a week:
- Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
- Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!
The entire directions can be found in the
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) Sticky