NEW MEMBER NEED ADVICE - The first BG results of my diagnosed cat Kosmo! - What do you think?

Kosmo

Member Since 2025
Hello everyone,

Last week, my cat was diagnosed with diabetes at the vet.

His blood glucose (BG) level was 25 mmol/L, and sugar was detected in his urine.
Lab results showed a fructosamine level of 622.

At first, I postponed treatment because the first vet told me I only needed to use Caninsulin and didn’t need to change Kosmo’s diet — even though it was high in carbohydrates.

That made me suspicious, so I went home to reevaluate and do some research myself.

I decided to get a second opinion at another vet and told what happend and she said I could change the diet and start with caninsulin.

After this visit I went on the internet and found out about tight regulation and Lantus and the vet agreed that I can do this instead.

So after one day of caninsulin I switched to Lantus.

I've now started treating my cat, but I still have some doubts. I've been reading as much as I can and asking ChatGPT for feedback based on the Tight Regulation Protocol combined with Lantus.

I use a pet glucose meter (not a human one).

Information about my cat:

Name: Kosmo
Weight: 5 kg
Gender: male
Age: 7 years and 8 months

Since March 27, he's been on a wet food diet of 9 grams of carbohydrates per day, spread over multiple meals from 08:00 to 00:00.

Could you please take a look and let me know what you think? Here’s the data so far:

March 21, 2025 – 25.5 mmol/L (measured at the vet, possibly stress-related) (Here I got the diagnosis)

March 25, 2025 – untreated (no insulin) (First day I got the BG meter)
18:06 – 23.0 mmol/L

March 26, 2025 – untreated (no insulin)
12:55 – 23.1 mmol/L

March 27, 2025 – 0.5 IU Caninsulin (once daily)
08:14 – 20.6 mmol/L (First injection)
10:47 – 21.3 mmol/L
13:04 – 19.4 mmol/L
15:16 – 23.6 mmol/L
20:18 – 19.9 mmol/L (No injection – planned switch to Lantus next day)

This is when I learned about Tight Regulation and Lantus, so I switched as soon as possible.

March 28, 2025 – 1 IU Lantus (twice daily)
07:42 – 18.0 mmol/L (First injection)
11:01 – 20.3 mmol/L
13:05 – 20.1 mmol/L
19:35 – 22.9 mmol/L
20:00 – (Second injection)

March 29, 2025 – 1.5 IU Lantus (twice daily)
07:57 – 19.4 mmol/L (First injection)
12:57 – 18.1 mmol/L
20:08 – 18.9 mmol/L (Second injection)
22:46 – 19.7 mmol/L

March 30, 2025 – 2 IU Lantus (twice daily)
08:50 – 20.19 mmol/L (First injection)
13:52 – 20.9 mmol/L
15:26 – 16.8 mmol/L
17:36 – 12.9 mmol/L
18:22 – 12.2 mmol/L
19:00 – 19.1 mmol/L
19:46 – 25.6 mmol/L
21:00 – (Second injection)
23:09 – 22.1 mmol/L

March 31, 2025 – 1.25 IU Lantus (adjusted dose)
08:44 – 6.3 mmol/L (Skipped the morning 2 IU injection due to low BG)
11:16 – 17.8 mmol/L (First injection)

(Gave 1.25 IU; I lowered the dose because I felt 2 IU was too much. I want to see if BG levels by the next morning—around this same time—drop similarly to today’s 6.3 mmol/L, 08:44 reading.

I'm hoping this helps smooth out the insulin's working time effect so I can stick to 12-hour dosing, instead of waiting like I had to today.)

13:34 – 26.1 mmol/L
16:46 - 28.8 mmol/L

The day isn’t over yet, so no further data for now.

I really hope I could get some help!
 
Last edited:
Update:

My cat’s blood glucose level rose from 6.3 mmol/L at 08:44 to 17.8 mmol/L at 11:16 — in just 2.5 hours.
Now, at 16:46, it’s 28.8 mmol/L.

Could this indicate that I was too cautious and reduced the dose from 2 IU to 1.25 IU too quickly?

It seems clear that the Lantus from the previous evening has worn off by now.

Since Lantus has a slow onset, and the BG was already rising between 08:44 and 11:16 — combined with the current 28.8 mmol/L at 16:46 — does this mean it would have actually been safe to give the full 2 IU at 08:44?
 
Welcome to you and Kosmo!

I am so glad that you trusted your instincts and got a second opinion, your gut was right on the money! Diet change is crucial and Caninsulin is tougher for cats to use successfully. Kobe's vet started him on Caninsulin that at the begining and he has done much better after switching to Lantus. This forum really helped me turn things around for my cat, and we will help you too.

Please use your signature and profile to tell us about your cat! Edit Signature and Profile.

You have great data for Kosmo; would you please put it in a spreadsheet so that our members can guide you to make safe dosing desisions for your cat? Make sure to copy the the template that matches your pet glucose meter and units.
How to create a Spreadsheet.
 
Update:

My cat’s blood glucose level rose from 6.3 mmol/L at 08:44 to 17.8 mmol/L at 11:16 — in just 2.5 hours.
Now, at 16:46, it’s 28.8 mmol/L.

Could this indicate that I was too cautious and reduced the dose from 2 IU to 1.25 IU too quickly?

It seems clear that the Lantus from the previous evening has worn off by now.

Since Lantus has a slow onset, and the BG was already rising between 08:44 and 11:16 — combined with the current 28.8 mmol/L at 16:46 — does this mean it would have actually been safe to give the full 2 IU at 08:44?

Lantus is a Depot insulin, so it takes a little time for Kosmo's depot to build. Our members will help you pick a safe dose for him!

We use two dosing methods on this forum, Start Low and Go Slow and Tight Regulation. If Kosmo is eating all wet food, you can pick either one. It sounds like you might already have read about tight regulation. :) For both dosing methods, we increase or decrease the dose by 0.25 units to keep our cats safe.
 
Thank you! I’ll start filling in the spreadsheet now.

Based on the context of my data, do you think it would be appropriate to return to 2 IU this evening?

You were right to postpone the shot this AM. 6.3 mmol/L is 101mg/dL, and newcomers are reccommended to NOT shoot under 200.

I am relatively new to this forum and can't advise on what to shoot tonight. I am tagging the some more experienced members. I am at work, so I may not be able to reply immediately, but I will check on you!

@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
I'm sorry I'm not that experienced to give dosing advice
On your spreadsheet if you enter the BG numbers on the world tab it should automatically covert to US BG numbers. You definitely need to be testing more after the PMPS BG
Can you update your spreadsheet.
We need you to fill out what we call our signature
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA What do you mean? If I enter a number, for example 18, it doesn’t change to something else. Could you please elaborate?
From what I understand you need to enter the numbers you have on the world tab first , then they should automatically convert to our US numbers
I assume you are not from the US

Do you want one our members help you straighten out your spreadsheet ?
We have a member who will be happy to help you
 
Last edited:
Can you please fill out your signature
Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

@Kosmo
 
Last edited:
On your SS you have 1.25 in the AMPS cell or square? Then you have 17.80 in the unit cell ?
On your spreadsheet up top you need to fill in up top where it says
Diagnosed
Insulin
Method
Meter

To draw more attention to your title can you put in front of where you have The First BG results
NEW MEMBER NEED ADVICE

To do that tap on the word Thread Tools to the right then tap on Edit Title add what I said then tap save
 
Last edited:
Ok I see you fixed your spreadsheet, now please do your signature and fill in the top of your spreadsheet
We don't change doses by 0.5 units at a time , we increase or decrease the dose by 0.25 units at a time by using the U-100 syringes with half unit markings for Lantus, I see that's what you are using in your post . These syringes make it easier to do that

We do not base how many units to give by the pre shots meaning the AMPS # or the PMPS #

We adjust the dose by how low the dose is taking the cat which is called the nadir. The lowest point in the cycle
That's where the dosing method you choose
You are chopping up the doses , you need to stay with the same dose depending on what dosing method you choose

If you are feeding any kibble at all you have to follow the SLGS method

Here is the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Please read both and then you can choose one and add it to your signature and spreadsheet

I would definitely read all the yellow stickys here about Lantus
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

@Kosmo
 
Last edited:
From what I understand you need to enter the numbers you have on the world tab first , then they should automatically convert to our US numbers
I assume you are not from the US

Do you want one our members help you straighten out your spreadsheet ?
We have a member who will be happy to help you

I already filled in all the data correctly now thank you!

Now I will fill in my signature in the next half hour.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA What do you mean? If I enter a number, for example 18, it doesn’t change to something else. Could you please elaborate?

It looks like the conversion happens on a different tab. :)
upload_2025-3-31_11-13-18.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-31_11-11-56.png
    upload_2025-3-31_11-11-56.png
    32.5 KB · Views: 93
  • upload_2025-3-31_11-13-18.png
    upload_2025-3-31_11-13-18.png
    22.7 KB · Views: 416
Can you please fill out your signature
Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

@Kosmo

Done! Thank you for your help.
 
Thank you all so much for your responses—this really means a lot to me. I'm willing to do absolutely everything to help my cat get better, so if you have any advice on how I can improve or if I’m doing something wrong, please don’t hesitate to let me know. I truly appreciate any guidance.

One thing I want to work on in the future is reducing my cat’s daily carbohydrate intake from 9 grams to 2 grams. I’ve already tried this, but for now, my cat will only eat the food that contains 9 grams of carbs. Since I want to begin treatment as soon as possible, I’ll continue with the 9-gram diet for now.

If I make a change in the future, I’m fully aware of the risks, and I will transition the diet gradually—not suddenly.
 
Welcome. We ask new members to post an intro on the main forum to start. Don’t worry about that. I’ve asked the mods to move this thread. In the meantime just continue here. Your intro is very thorough. I’m glad you got Lantus as the other insulin is not recommended for cats.

It takes 5-7 days to see what a Lantus dose will do for your cat when first starting. When not feeding low carb food the starting dose is 1.0 units. There are lots of low carb foods to try and I’m sure you will find one that he likes. Look at the method SLGS as for now that would be the one fir you if you choose one of our dosing methods.
 
You said you are feeding
Diet: Royal canin diabetics wet food only
Is this the Royal Canin Glycobalance wet
If so it is 14 % carbs too high for a diabetic cat
We like to feed around 6% carbs or under , but you will have to monitor closely if you switch to a lower carb diet because it can lower the BG
Do you live in the US ?
If not we can suggest some low carb food
Can you please fill in the top of your spreadsheet
where it says
Diagnosed
Insulin
Method
Meter

Again please be sure to get some more tests in at night, it's important :cat:

@Kosmo

I also agree with @tiffmaxee Elise to begin to follow the SLGS method to start with
 
Last edited:
You said you are feeding
Diet: Royal canin diabetics wet food only
Is this the Royal Canin Glycobalance wet
If so it is 14 % carbs too high for a diabetic cat
We like to feed around 6% carbs or under , but you will have to monitor closely if you switch to a lower carb diet because it can lower the BG
Can you please fill in the top of your spreadsheet
where it says
Diagnosed
Insulin
Method
Meter

Again please be sure to get some more tests in at night, it's important :cat:

@Kosmo

It called: Royal Canin Diabetic Pouches for cats.
Or: Royal Canin Diabetics Thin slices In Gravy?

https://www.royalcanin.com/uk/shop/diabetic-thin-slices-in-gravy-4085
 
Welcome. We ask new members to post an intro on the main forum to start. Don’t worry about that. I’ve asked the mods to move this thread. In the meantime just continue here. Your intro is very thorough. I’m glad you got Lantus as the other insulin is not recommended for cats.

It takes 5-7 days to see what a Lantus dose will do for your cat when first starting. When not feeding low carb food the starting dose is 1.0 units. There are lots of low carb foods to try and I’m sure you will find one that he likes. Look at the method SLGS as for now that would be the one fir you if you choose one of our dosing methods.

Why do you think the SLGS would be better? Tight regulation is if you want to go towards remission right? That is my goal.
 
I did see if and I googled to see how many carbs are in it but couldn't find it anywhere
@Kosmo

I gave it to chat gpt.

I gave all the ingredients and analytical ingredients.

Chat gpt:

Based on your screenshots and your cat's weight of 5 kg, here's the breakdown of daily carbohydrate intake from Royal Canin Veterinary Feline Diabetic wet food:

Feeding Amount
For a 5 kg cat, the recommended daily feeding amount is:
Lean: 375 g
Normal: 315 g
Overweight: 250 g

You mentioned earlier that your cat gets 3.5 pouches/day, which is 3.5 × 85 g = 297.5 g/day — that’s close to the "normal" body condition amount.

Carbohydrate Content (Per 100 g)
From the analytical constituents:

Starch
= 1.2%
Total sugar = 1.3%
Total carbohydratesstarch + sugar = 2.5%

Note: Other fibers and minor carb sources could exist, but this is the core digestible carb value.

Daily Carb Intake Calculation
Let’s calculate the total daily carbs based on 297.5 g of food per day:

Step 1: Carbs per 100 g = 2.5 g
Step 2: Daily intake = 2.5 g × (297.5 / 100) = 7.44 g carbs/day

So your cat consumes ~7.4 grams of carbohydrates per day from this food.

✅ Summary
Item Value
Cat weight 5 kg
Daily food amount ~297.5 g (3.5 pouches)
Carbohydrate % (wet) 2.5% (starch + sugar)
Carbs per day ~7.4 g
 
By the way, I bought a human meter — it will be delivered tomorrow. From then on, I'll use the human meter for measurement
I'm glad you will be switching to a human meter, that's what our numbers are based on
A few changes you will have to make
When you start using the human meter in your signature after you have VetMate you will leave that and after that put this
VetMate/human meter and the name of it and the date you switched
To do this tap on your name up top then tap on signature and do what I said

Now on your spreadsheet you will have to do the same up top VetMate/ Name of human meter

Also you will need to change the last 2 color codes that are up top on the spreadsheet to reflect a human meter
You can change them yourself

The Dark green will now be 50-99
The lime green will now be BG<50

The last thing can you put a blank line above the date you switched and type Human Meter Now and highlight it any color you want to do it stands out, that is what we are asked to do

@Kosmo
 
Last edited:
Why do you think the SLGS would be better? Tight regulation is if you want to go towards remission right? That is my goal.

Tight Regulation is more agressive, but a requirement for TR is a diet of Low Carb Wet food. My cat is still transitioning to wet and eating kibble, so we do SLGS by default. Kobe is on his first day of his OTJ Trial today!!! (Off The Juice, no insulin) :D:D:D

Many members start on SLGS while kitty transitions to LCW, and then do TR after. It's easy to switch. :cool:
 
Tight Regulation is more agressive, but a requirement for TR is a diet of Low Carb Wet food. My cat is still transitioning to wet and eating kibble, so we do SLGS by default. Kobe is on his first day of his OTJ Trial today!!! (Off The Juice, no insulin) :D:D:D

Many members start on SLGS while kitty transitions to LCW, and then do TR after. It's easy to switch. :cool:

Thats great to hear! :D

Btw I tried switching my cat to a diet with only 2 grams of carbs per day, but he developed diarrhea. Maybe the change was too sudden.
 
I suggested that because you are not feeding all low carb food. The transition could make a big difference in lowering the bg. Once on all LC I would suggest TR.
@tiffmaxee
Can you look at her post #21 and #26. I can't figure it out if it's low carb or not what she's feeding , can you ?

Thanks Elise :bighug::cat:
 
Last edited:
I gave it to chat gpt.

I gave all the ingredients and analytical ingredients.

Chat gpt:

Based on your screenshots and your cat's weight of 5 kg, here's the breakdown of daily carbohydrate intake from Royal Canin Veterinary Feline Diabetic wet food:

Feeding Amount
For a 5 kg cat, the recommended daily feeding amount is:
Lean: 375 g
Normal: 315 g
Overweight: 250 g

You mentioned earlier that your cat gets 3.5 pouches/day, which is 3.5 × 85 g = 297.5 g/day — that’s close to the "normal" body condition amount.

Carbohydrate Content (Per 100 g)
From the analytical constituents:

Starch
= 1.2%
Total sugar = 1.3%
Total carbohydratesstarch + sugar = 2.5%

Note: Other fibers and minor carb sources could exist, but this is the core digestible carb value.

Daily Carb Intake Calculation
Let’s calculate the total daily carbs based on 297.5 g of food per day:

Step 1: Carbs per 100 g = 2.5 g
Step 2: Daily intake = 2.5 g × (297.5 / 100) = 7.44 g carbs/day

So your cat consumes ~7.4 grams of carbohydrates per day from this food.

✅ Summary
Item Value
Cat weight 5 kg
Daily food amount ~297.5 g (3.5 pouches)
Carbohydrate % (wet) 2.5% (starch + sugar)
Carbs per day ~7.4 g
This doesn’t tell you anything about the % calories from carbs which is a set number and doesn’t need his weight to determine; it’s the same regardless of the weight of the cat. I haven’t heard of that particular Royal Canin food and they don’t show it on their website; they only show Glycobalance.

When we are looking at the details for carbs to feed a diabetic cat, it’s always % of calories from carbs and it will not be a weight such as grams. In order for us to determine the % of calories from carbs for this food, we would need the “as-fed” or “dry matter basis” figures for protein, carbs, and fat. However, in general, most veterinary diets are too high in % calories from carbs for diabetic cats. I’m not sure what country you are in but we do have members worldwide so if we had an idea, there might be members who can point you to an acceptable food.

I’m not sure why you reduced his dose today but no one has answered your question about dosing. First, it’s really critical that every BG you take is shown on his SS. We would have never known, just by looking at his SS, you got a 113, delayed the shot by 2.5 hours, and then shot a reduced dose when he was at 320. When we delay a shot, we don’t do it by more than two hours and then we shoot the full dose. By delaying and then giving only 1.25u, the depot acts like it’s gotten two reductions. Please be sure you enter every single BG. Second, if you delay a shot, you want to retest every 30 minutes and shoot as soon as the BG rises.

We don’t use local times to describe when we shoot or test as we have members all over the world so we use “hours since last shot”. If the 113 was at +12, you would show it in the +11 column as “113 @ +12”. You would add any additional BGs there until you got the BG you shoot which would then go in the AMPS column as “340 @ +14.5”. That shows us you stalled 2.5 hours. Here is more info on how to use the SS.

I suggest you put him back on 2u and leave him there for at least ten consecutive cycles, unless he falls below 50 (human meter) or 68 (pet meter), so his depot can build on Lantus. If you get a preshot of 150 or below, stall without feeding and post here so a member can walk you through shooting. When you are a new member and we suggest you shoot your first BG below 150, the member helping you will stay with you online throughout the cycle until the BG safely rises and stays up or they will ask another member to stay with you and help you with any lower BGs.

The first ten consecutive cycles at 2u, resist the temptation to change his dose based on the preshot unless the BG falls below 50 (human meter) or 68 (pet meter). Since you shot 1.25u this morning, the cycle count starts over tonight so tonight’s 2u shot will be cycle 1 of 10, again, unless he falls below 50 (human meter) or 68 (pet meter) at any time during a cycle. If he does, then the next shot, you will reduce to 1.75u.

I’d all suggest you avoid advice from ChatGPT and let us help you.:) ;)We have decades of hands-on experience.

Does all that make sense?
 
Last edited:
Tight Regulation is more agressive, but a requirement for TR is a diet of Low Carb Wet food. My cat is still transitioning to wet and eating kibble, so we do SLGS by default. Kobe is on his first day of his OTJ Trial today!!! (Off The Juice, no insulin) :D:D:D

Many members start on SLGS while kitty transitions to LCW, and then do TR after. It's easy to switch. :cool:
While it is best if a member doing TR feed low carb food, there is some variance in that. The true requisite for TR is to be feeding wet or canned food and not dry food. So if a member is feeding, for example, a medium carb wet food (~13%), they could still do TR with the goal to reduce the % calories from carbs to below 10%. Contrast that with a member feeding dry food even if it is labeled “low carb”. That person would need to use SLGS until the cat had transitioned to a wet food with no dry.

I have heard it recommended to do the change by 10% at a time. Easy does it!
I don’t understand what you mean by this. I think you might be referring to a person who is transitioning from dry to wet. In that case, we would do it very slowly. But Kosmo is already on canned food and his CG is talking about grams of carbs not % calories from carbs. There is a big difference.
 
@Marje and Gracie
Hi there Marje just wanted to let you know the members will be switching to a human
I copied his post for you , hope you didn't mind
I hope all is well :bighug::cat:


Kosmo
By the way, I bought a human meter — it will be delivered tomorrow. From then on, I'll use the human meter for measurements.
Post #24
 
This doesn’t tell you anything about the % calories from carbs which is a set number and doesn’t need his weight to determine; it’s the same regardless of the weight of the cat. I haven’t heard of that particular Royal Canine food and they don’t show it on their website; they only show Glycobalance.

When we are looking at the details for carbs to feed a diabetic cat, it’s always % of calories from carbs and it will not be a weight such as grams. In order for us to determine the % of calories from carbs for this food, we would need the “as-fed” or “dry matter basis” figures for protein, carbs, and fat. However, in general, most veterinary diets are too high in % calories from carbs for diabetic cats. I’m not sure what country you are in but we do have members worldwide so if we had an idea, there might be members who can point you to an acceptable food.

I’m not sure why you reduced his dose today but no one has answered your question about dosing. I suggest you put him back on 2u and leave him there for at least ten consecutive cycles, unless he falls below 50, so his depot can build on Lantus. If you get a preshot of 150 or below, stall without feeding and post here so a member can walk you through shooting. When you are a new member and we suggest you shoot your first BG below 150, the member helping you will stay with you online throughout the cycle until the BG safely rises and stays up or they will ask another member to stay with you and help you with any lower BGs.

The first ten consecutive cycles at 2u, resist the temptation to change his dose based on the preshot unless the BG falls below 50. Since you shot 1.25u this morning, the cycle count starts over tonight so tonight’s 2u shot will be cycle 1 of 10, again, unless he falls below 50 at any time during a cycle. If he does, then the next shot, you will reduce to 1.75u.

I’d all suggest you avoid advice from ChatGPT and let us help you. We have decades of hands-on experience.

Does all that make sense?

Thank you for your answer.

Yes, I think I was just being irrational because I had never seen his BG that low before at 6.3 mmol/L — every time I measured it, it was always very high around 20 mmol/L.

But two hours later, it jumped back up to 17 mmol/L, so I should have just given 2 IU. At the time, though, I was too confused and didn’t want to take a risk without fully understanding the situation.

So I can just give 10 cycles in total of 2 iu as long the pre-shot is not 2.8 mmol/L or below?

And how slow should I replace the current food to the new food I bought for my cat? And should I lower the dosage if I do so.

I mean % wise how much to change each day(s)
So for example day 1: 90 % old food 10 % new food
Day 2: 80% old food 20% new food.

Please if you have the time would you be willing to look at this?

This is his new food:
https://www.catzfinefood.de/en/products/purrrr/

So how to switch from current food: Royal canin diabetics wet to Catz finefood Purrrr.

And you advice is based on the BG levels of a human meter right?
 
@Marje and Gracie
Hi there Marje just wanted to let you know the members will be switching to a human
I copied his post for you , hope you didn't mind
I hope all is well :bighug::cat:


Kosmo
By the way, I bought a human meter — it will be delivered tomorrow. From then on, I'll use the human meter for measurements.
Post #24

Of course I do not mind :D

It's very good of you to mention so I do not make deadly mistakes if marje assumed I use a human meter of course! :cat:

But I will be using a human meter from tomorrow.
 
Looks like you are in the UK or Europe? If so, we have a food list that shows carbs % for foods in your area, or available on line. You want food that is under 10% carb as his ideal food going forward. Here are two lists, one with basic info and one about food:
Changing 10% food per day is a good start.
 
Looks like you are in the UK or Europe? If so, we have a food list that shows carbs % for foods in your area, or available on line. You want food that is under 10% carb as his ideal food going forward. Here are two lists, one with basic info and one about food:
Changing 10% food per day is a good start.

Hello, thank you for responding.

I already got a month's worth of this food:
https://apollofluffycat.com/en/catz...d-purrrr-wet-cat-food/?utm_source=chatgpt.com

And I am from the netherlands!
 
While it is best if a member doing TR feed low carb food, there is some variance in that. The true requisite for TR is to be feeding wet or canned food and not dry food. So if a member is feeding, for example, a medium carb wet food (~13%), they could still do TR with the goal to reduce the % calories from carbs to below 10%. Contrast that with a member feeding dry food even if it is labeled “low carb”. That person would need to use SLGS until the cat had transitioned to a wet food with no dry.


I don’t understand what you mean by this. I think you might be referring to a person who is transitioning from dry to wet. In that case, we would do it very slowly. But Kosmo is already on canned food and his CG is talking about grams of carbs not % calories from carbs. There is a big difference.


Okay. Thank you. :)
 
Of course I do not mind :D

It's very good of you to mention so I do not make deadly mistakes if marje assumed I use a human meter of course! :cat:

But I will be using a human meter from tomorrow.
Please PM me as I will need to set up your SS for a human meter. I have to change the formatting so it’s not as simple as just changing the ranges at the top. I do this for many members and am happy to do it for you. I just need editing rights. Based on his BGs, my advice would be the same regardless of whether you are using a human or pet meter. However, I did note you are using a pet meter now and will switch tomorrow.

We’d like to ask you to reference the BGs in mg/dL and not the mmol/L you get on your meter. That is because this is a US based site and most members are not familiar with the mmol/L BGs and might hesitate to help. You can look at the US SS which auto converts most BGs for you so when you give us a BG, it’s in mg/dL. That also saves anyone just reading your posts the need to convert numbers in an emergency. Thank you.

Also…I made a few edits on my post 33 so please be sure and reread it. :)

Thank you for your answer.

Yes, I think I was just being irrational because I had never seen his BG that low before at 6.3 mmol/L — every time I measured it, it was always very high around 20 mmol/L.

But two hours later, it jumped back up to 17 mmol/L, so I should have just given 2 IU. At the time, though, I was too confused and didn’t want to take a risk without fully understanding the situation.

So I can just give 10 cycles in total of 2 iu as long the pre-shot is not 2.8 mmol/L or below?

And how slow should I replace the current food to the new food I bought for my cat? And should I lower the dosage if I do so.

I mean % wise how much to change each day(s)
So for example day 1: 90 % old food 10 % new food
Day 2: 80% old food 20% new food.

Please if you have the time would you be willing to look at this?

This is his new food:
https://www.catzfinefood.de/en/products/purrrr/

So how to switch from current food: Royal canin diabetics wet to Catz finefood Purrrr.

And you advice is based on the BG levels of a human meter right?

It’s ok. We all do what we think is best early on when we aren’t sure. I’m just giving you advice for the future so this morning is behind you and now you have the correct info for next time…and there will be a next time;). Yes, just start back with 2u every 12 hours for ten consecutive cycles unless he falls below 50 on the human meter or 68 while you are still using the pet meter (which I should have annotated to you earlier). Because we shoot, generally. Every 12 hours, you should plan to shoot 12 hours from his delayed shot this morning. However, if his BG is above 300, you could shoot one hour early this evening and then once a day, 30 minutes early u til you are back to your desired time. This post explains more in that regard.

On switching, I actually think it’s more important you go slowly so he won’t get diarrhea then I worry about the BG dropping quickly. Let me look at that new food and I’ll BRB.

Edited to add: the Cat’s Fine Food looks like a good choice. I would change slowly for the diarrhea issue as those foods, except a couple, a good middle of the road low carb amount.
 
Last edited:
Hi there to you and Kosmo!

I'm pretty new and inexperienced here but I just wanted to say hi and welcome! This forum is such an incredible resource and I don't know what I'd do without them.

You definitely made the right choice doing your own research and bringing it to the new vet to discuss. So glad they agreed to let you give Lantus and TR a try as it seems to work so much better than the Caninsulin (based on what I've seen people say, I have not personally tried it)!

This really cool pdf has the carb content descriptions you would need for a ton of different foods, including Royal Canin. Not positive if your specific varieties are in there, but scroll down to the brand and you can look at the carb % column. Maybe it'd at least give you an idea (or options of other varieties to try instead that are listed)!
 
Last edited:
@Marje and Gracie
Hi there Marje just wanted to let you know the members will be switching to a human
I copied his post for you , hope you didn't mind
I hope all is well :bighug::cat:


Kosmo
By the way, I bought a human meter — it will be delivered tomorrow. From then on, I'll use the human meter for measurements.
Post #24
Thank you. I saw when he posted he was switching. Please be aware that advising members to just change the ranges and the title is incorrect. I have to change the formatting or else it’s still going to be recording in pet meter ranges. This could endanger the cat and confuse the CG. Thanks, Diane.
 
Please PM me as I will need to set up your SS for a human meter. I have to change the formatting so it’s not as simple as just changing the ranges at the top. I do this for many members and am happy to do it for you. I just need editing rights. Based on his BGs, my advice would be the same regardless of whether you are using a human or pet meter. However, I did note you are using a pet meter now and will switch tomorrow.

We’d like to ask you to reference the BGs in mg/dL and not the mmol/L you get on your meter. That is because this is a US based site and most members are not familiar with the mmol/L BGs and might hesitate to help. You can look at the US SS which auto converts most BGs for you so when you give us a BG, it’s in mg/dL. That also saves anyone just reading your posts the need to convert numbers in an emergency. Thank you.

Also…I made a few edits on my post 33 so please be sure and reread it. :)



It’s ok. We all do what we think is best early on when we aren’t sure. I’m just giving you advice for the future so this morning is behind you and now you have the correct info for next time…and there will be a next time;). Yes, just start back with 2u every 12 hours for ten consecutive cycles unless he falls below 50 on the human meter or 68 while you are still using the pet meter (which I should have annotated to you earlier). Because we shoot, generally. Every 12 hours, you should plan to shoot 12 hours from his delayed shot this morning. However, if his BG is above 300, you could shoot one hour early this evening and then once a day, 30 minutes early u til you are back to your desired time. This post explains more in that regard.

On switching, I actually think it’s more important you go slowly so he won’t get diarrhea then I worry about the BG dropping quickly. Let me look at that new food and I’ll BRB.

Edited to add: the Cat’s Fine Food looks like a good choice. I would change slowly for the diarrhea issue as those foods, except a couple, a good middle of the road low carb amount.

Yes, exactly! I tried to delay the treatment by three days to fully transition him to the new food, Catz Finefood Purrrr, but he got severe diarrhea. So I thought, ‘Oh no, I’d better switch back to the other food and start treatment asap.’ But maybe this won’t happen if I transition more gradually.
 
Hi there to you and Kosmo!

I'm pretty new and inexperienced here but I just wanted to say hi and welcome! This forum is such an incredible resource and I don't know what I'd do without them.

You definitely made the right choice doing your own research and bringing it to the new vet to discuss. So glad they agreed to let you give Lantus and TR a try as it seems to work so much better than the Caninsulin (based on what I've seen people say, I have not personally tried it)!

This really cool pdf has the carb content descriptions you would need for a ton of different foods, including Royal Canin. Not positive if your specific varieties are in there, but scroll down to the brand and you can look at the carb % column. Maybe it'd at least give you an idea (or options of other varieties to try instead that are listed)!
Thank you but that is pretty dated and doesn’t have foods outside the US.
 
Ah. Sorry, it's still stickied so I figured despite not having an update that it was still at least considered useful. Not having non-US foods obviously isn't though. Sorry.
I appreciate you helping and yes, it still can be useful as a starting point as the foods may not have been changed but for it doesn’t have non-US foods.. Wendy linked a better SS for those in post 38.
 
Back
Top