New Member Need Advice, Kev & Kit Cont'd.

Kev B

Member Since 2024
Hi, Y'all!

Hopefully this new thread has linked properly! If so, Thank You, Diane!

Kit & Kev
 
Okay. I am still posting on your old thread. Sorry. I still need to read all the posts over there, and I will try to put new information here. Hopefully we can move over to the ProZinc forum soon. I will be back and forth between the two threads for this evening.
Kevin, please read some of my responses over on your previous thread.
 
Okay. Just please read my posts over there on the previous thread. Tomorrow I will post only on this new thread.

Thank you for updating the spreadsheet. Good job getting tests. Try to get as many as you can. You can move around a bit with the tests that you get — to fill in the spreadsheet a little like a checkerboard. We will figure out his patterns.

As I said, I don’t think 2 units is going to be enough, but it’s a start and we can move forward from there based upon spreadsheet data. Okay?
 
Thanks for updating your spreadsheet. I was just checking in on Kit this morning. I am happy to see a pink AMPS only because it’s better than a red. Would it be possible for you to make some notes in the comments/remarks section of the spreadsheet about what he is eating and at what hour he is eating it? I definitely would not give any more pedialyte since it’s sugar water with electrolytes added. If he isn’t in DKA then his body should be able to maintain its own electrolyte balance. Your job is to just make sure he eats enough calories and split them up over the course of the day (hopefully more food before +6 and less after) and to regularly test for ketones (and note the result on your spreadsheet so I don’t keep bugging you about that.)

If he likes being syringe fed, I would make a gruel from his regular low carb food (just add water). Does Kit not eat enough on his own? I am trying to understand.
 
Thanks for updating your spreadsheet. I was just checking in on Kit this morning. I am happy to see a pink AMPS only because it’s better than a red. Would it be possible for you to make some notes in the comments/remarks section of the spreadsheet about what he is eating and at what hour he is eating it? I definitely would not give any more pedialyte since it’s sugar water with electrolytes added. If he isn’t in DKA then his body should be able to maintain its own electrolyte balance. Your job is to just make sure he eats enough calories and split them up over the course of the day (hopefully more food before +6 and less after) and to regularly test for ketones (and note the result on your spreadsheet so I don’t keep bugging you about that.)

If he likes being syringe fed, I would make a gruel from his regular low carb food (just add water). Does Kit not eat enough on his own? I am trying to understand.
Hi, Suzanne!!

Thank You for being persistent!! I was unsure about the proper linking process and hoped to avoid all the jumping around. Sorry about that...
Also, you cleared up the "mini-meal/snack" issue for me; I was told I couldn't feed him any more than snacks between his regular meal times, and I was at my wits end trying to satiate his hunger pangs during his cycle!! Also, Kit weighs about 8.5lbs now, and he eats about 500-600 calories a day. He isn't as bony-thin as he used to be, which is a relief for me. and he looks better. However, I felt like I had to pack all those calories into 2 meals. I feel much better being able to spread it out a bit without negatively affecting his BG numbers. Whew!
I get now that he liked the pedialyte for the dextrose content (and NOT the syringe), as he's no longer fond of the syringe since I started filling it with plain water. My only concern about that issue, though, is now I will have to catch him actually drinking from his water bowl as an indication of his water intake (like you, I have several cats sharing litter boxes, so not even urine saturation levels will be a clue that it's coming from Kit). This is a particular fear of mine because he became severely dehydrated without my having realized it, but was made known to me when he was diagnosed with DKA.
I'll start using the comments/remarks section on the spreadsheet as well. Actually, at first I didn't realize there was an area for that, which is why I took up a whole row for updates! The daily notes I wrote were only in my notebook (I keep a separate, hand-written version of the spreadsheet).
I test for ketones a couple of times a week (randomly) and will start posting them in the comments section.
I prefer the "checkerboard" testing! I have been looking for patterns as well, but all I kept seeing with the Vetsulin was similar numbers, especially in his "fasting" numbers. I thought those numbers should start decreasing if the insulin is having a beneficial effect. Or would that only happen in cases of potential remission? It seems that if the "fasting" numbers remain consistent, and the interim numbers curve toward a nadir and then back again, this would indicate a "maintenance" of the diabetes instead of a remission.

Suzanne, Thank You for your guidance and patience with me on this. The clarity you give is invaluable!

Kit & Kev
 
Well… at least no red tonight! I really did think that starting with 2 units would not be enough (based on vetsulin data.)
My only concern about that issue, though, is now I will have to catch him actually drinking from his water bowl as an indication of his water intake
If you want to make sure he stays well-hydrated then you should mix extra water into his wet food each time you give it to him. Cats who eat a wet food diet generally don’t need to drink much water because they’re getting their water with their food, but it’s a technique that a lot of us use with certain cats who need extra hydration (CKD cats, DKA cats.)
 
By the way, you are really doing great with Kit. I know can get him into better numbers with the ProZinc as long as we push ahead methodically with increases (at this point… later we hope for reductions as his pancreas starts to heal.) :)
 
By the way, I hope you will be okay with this, but of Kit continues in the pinks like this, after tomorrow (6 cycles on ProZinc) I would like to increase Kit’s dose to 2.5 units and to have you closely monitor the cycles— just give the snacks at the appropriate time and get a few tests in mid-cycle.
 
By the way, I hope you will be okay with this, but of Kit continues in the pinks like this, after tomorrow (6 cycles on ProZinc) I would like to increase Kit’s dose to 2.5 units and to have you closely monitor the cycles— just give the snacks at the appropriate time and get a few tests in mid-cycle.
Hey, Suzanne!

I've noticed that Kit's eating habits were slowing down, but this morning they pretty much stopped! He lightly grazed at best. His AMPS was 372. His feeding time is 6:00, AM/PM, but by 6:10 (when he would usually be done) not a morsel had been eaten. I watched him sniff but not eat. I mashed up his food and portioned it and he nibbled. I gave him freeze dried treats, he ate a couple then stopped. I caved and fed him pedialyte. He drank a bit, then stopped. I put pedialyte in the food can to let it mix with food residue, he lapped up a bit then stopped. His usual shot time is 6:30, but I waited until 6:45, then reduced his shot to 1 unit (based on his AMPS numbers, I figured it was safe).
I'm leaving his food out for now, as he seems to go back and forth to it, nibbling.
I am not going to panic. At least he's eating something and he seems aware and active. He just seems like he's being ultra-finicky (like one of my other cats).
I'm not sure about the dosage situation, though. It's too early to call my vet for advice, but I don't think Kit is in any danger right now.
I'm just being hyper-alert.

The only thing that has changed is his insulin. I do not recall this issue happening before, but the situations were also very different. I'm trying not to over-think this. I'll call my vet, get his advice and update soon.

Kit & Kev
 
Is it his normal 9 Lives food?
Hi, Suzanne!

Kit has only been exclusively eating the 9Lives Pate varieties (4 types) for the past two months. His previous vet thought I might have been experimenting too much with his food (I was looking for the right carb/protein levels), so I thought it best to stick with that and see what his BG levels looked like. Unless I have completely missed something, sticking with 9Lives Pate (no gravies, shreds, bits, chunks, etc.) checked all the necessary boxes. Any additional information about this brand would be very welcome, especially if there is something better for Kit (that I can afford).
Also, I nixed the added veggies two weeks ago, I only gave him a small amount of Pedialyte yesterday, and I'm no longer giving him Temptation Treats. He loves drinking "can water", which is water I add to the can's food residue before throwing the can out. The only dry food he gets is the Pure Bites brand (so far only chicken).
About his Pancreas: Is there anything you know of that I can give him that might help his pancreas heal? My vet hasn't recommended anything, and I keep seeing a lot of "snake oil" supplements, but if there is anything tried-and-true that you (or anyone) knows of, I'm all ears!

So, I suppose that I start another 6-cycle watch-and-wait period with the new dosage. I'll continue to post and test "checkerboard-style" as possible. Please continue to ask as many questions as you need to and advise as much as you can. Again, Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!

Kit & Kev
 
Hello, Everyone!
I'm checking to see if anyone has any experience with AccuTest or Alieve Pet Blood Glucose/Ketone meters (the packaging for both products is exactly the same, only the brand name is different). I just received one, but am having difficulty with it, specifically starting it. The battery won't sufficiently click into place, and when I manually pressure it into place, I am getting error readings not indicated in the manual (E-C, then OFF). I even tried a new battery and got the same result. So far, I haven't found any applicable fixes or solutions. I got it on eBay, and I think returning it won't be an option. So, does anyone have experience with this model?

Thanks!
Kit & Kev
 
Sorry. I have a Nova Max Plus blood ketone meter. It also tests glucose, but I never used it for that. If you ask this question over on the feline health forum you will have a better chance of finding someone who may have used this meter before.
How is Kit’s BG? The last spreadsheet entries are from 2024 and they were high and concerning.
 
Sorry. I have a Nova Max Plus blood ketone meter. It also tests glucose, but I never used it for that. If you ask this question over on the feline health forum you will have a better chance of finding someone who may have used this meter before.
How is Kit’s BG? The last spreadsheet entries are from 2024 and they were high and concerning.
Hi, Suzanne!!!

Kit is doing well, and I will be updating his spreadsheet soon. The last couple of months have been interesting, which is why my vet suggested I switch from urine ketone strips to the blood meter for more accuracy (due to changes I made, his BG levels dropped dramatically, but his ketones went up. A slight change brought his ketones back to negative but slightly raised his BG level. ECID at work...). The meter I bought is also the dual glucose/ketone variety. It was rated highly, but with a warning about "intermittent battery compartment pressure issues" (Now I know what that means. Ugh.). So, I'm looking for a fix before I try another brand. I'll re-post as you suggested!

Thank You!!

Kit & Kev
 
Sorry. I have a Nova Max Plus blood ketone meter. It also tests glucose, but I never used it for that. If you ask this question over on the feline health forum you will have a better chance of finding someone who may have used this meter before.
How is Kit’s BG? The last spreadsheet entries are from 2024 and they were high and concerning.
Hi, Suzanne!

I found the Nova Max Plus Meter on Amazon, and another as well that I can have shipped immediately. The test strips seem expensive for this model. How often do you test for Ketones (or, how often do you recommend)?

Thanks!

Kit & Kev
 
Hello, Everyone!
I'm checking to see if anyone has any experience with AccuTest or Alieve Pet Blood Glucose/Ketone meters (the packaging for both products is exactly the same, only the brand name is different). I just received one, but am having difficulty with it, specifically starting it. The battery won't sufficiently click into place, and when I manually pressure it into place, I am getting error readings not indicated in the manual (E-C, then OFF). I even tried a new battery and got the same result. So far, I haven't found any applicable fixes or solutions. I got it on eBay, and I think returning it won't be an option. So, does anyone have experience with this model?

Thanks!
Kit & Kev


Hi. I don't have the meter you have but I do have a post-DKA kitty that I need to monitor, too. I thought I could give you a little bit of my experience in case you want to get another meter.

I also got the NovaMaxPlus to start (like @Suzanne & Darcy). It worked fine but the strips were quite expensive & it required a pretty big blood sample. It's hard enough to get a bg on my Buster, let alone ketones, too.

After reading A LOT of posts here, I tried the KetoSens (Amzaon). I like it. It takes less blood & the strips are less expensive (although all ketone strips seem to be pricey). I did a comparison with the NovaMaxPlus (on myself) & they gave identical results.

Here is the link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MPCX4DZ?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Hope this info helps!
 
Hi. I don't have the meter you have but I do have a post-DKA kitty that I need to monitor, too. I thought I could give you a little bit of my experience in case you want to get another meter.

I also got the NovaMaxPlus to start (like @Suzanne & Darcy). It worked fine but the strips were quite expensive & it required a pretty big blood sample. It's hard enough to get a bg on my Buster, let alone ketones, too.

After reading A LOT of posts here, I tried the KetoSens (Amzaon). I like it. It takes less blood & the strips are less expensive (although all ketone strips seem to be pricey). I did a comparison with the NovaMaxPlus (on myself) & they gave identical results.

Here is the link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MPCX4DZ?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Hope this info helps!
Hi, Madm4444!!

Thank You!! How often do you test your post-DKA kitty for ketones? That will be a factor for me... Also, what reading do you find acceptable for your kitty's situation?

Kit & Kev
 
Hi, Suzanne!

I found the Nova Max Plus Meter on Amazon, and another as well that I can have shipped immediately. The test strips seem expensive for this model. How often do you test for Ketones (or, how often do you recommend)?

Thanks!

Kit & Kev
The Nova Max strips are expensive! I agree! They’re less expensive than a DKA I always told myself. At first, I would test daily. If his ketones stay stable and below 1, you could probably test less — moving to EOD perhaps. As you get the ketones under control when BG comes down and maybe insulin goes up? You can test less often. I hope you can get your new meter working!
 
Any meter that’s reliable and allows you to test more often because it’s less expensive is a good meter! I never had trouble getting enough blood, but by the time I got my ketone meter I was already a pro since I had been testing a long time.
 
Last edited:
Hi, Madm4444!!

Thank You!! How often do you test your post-DKA kitty for ketones? That will be a factor for me... Also, what reading do you find acceptable for your kitty's situation?

Kit & Kev

We're still pretty new to the game. All of our crazy started in Nov 2024.

I followed the advice that @Suzanne & Darcy gave. She is great & has been a blessing to us. This whole community has been invaluable.

In our case, our kitty has acromegaly so that adds to our concerns because he spends a lot of time in high numbers.

Like @Suzanne & Darcy said, daily is best to start. Over time, you will get a feel for the correlation between the ketones, bg and behavior.

Sounds like you're on the right track!! :)
 
Back
Top