New member. My story first post.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Pika and Shellz, Mar 17, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pika and Shellz

Pika and Shellz Member

Hello! So Im totally new to this but I think I could use some support. Here is my story/introduction.

So my sweet Pikachu (Pika) was diagnosed February 16th 2023. At diagnoses his BG was 364 and he had ketones at like 15.. pretty high. My pika had lost almost 4lbs in like a month and a half before diagnoses. We didn’t notice the heavy urination because on Thanksgiving we were in the Kitty ER due to crystals in his urine and his non urinating (he wasn’t blocked) so we started the Hills prescription C/D food. Took care of crystals and vet wanted him to drink more water and he always took large pees. So we didn’t notice the uptick in water but we did notice how much pee. Fast forward to February and I’m concerned due to weight loss, lethargy, and his “miss jumps” often.

So we started at 1 unit of Glargine am and pm. And we were not home testing. Went in after 4 days to see how his sugars were and they were at 376… vet wasn’t happy they went up. So he wanted 2u am and 1u pm. Pika was free fed (still is with the dry I know shouldn’t but I have two other cats that have been free fed one IBS and doesn’t do well with “meals”) and he wasn’t eating enough for me to be comfortable without testing his BG to give the full 2 units am. So fast forward a week and his BG was up to 383 at vet office so we placed a Libre 2 sensor on him.. since I was so apprehensive about causing him to go Hypo I don’t want to kill my cat. And I know you don’t give insulin without BG numbers. Once I got the sensor placed I was comfortable to give the suggested dose since I could see some numbers actually. And that brings me to the FDMG.