New Member- Momma Kitty with dosage questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mommakitty907

Member Since 2020
Hello! My name is Jessica and I am Momma Kitty's human. We discovered on the 18th, almost exactly one month before due day for our first human baby to get here, that my 10 yr old girl is diabetic and have been directed to this awesome group for support and advice. This is my first time posting, but your info on here has already helped me! After doing some research, yesterday was my first day using the spreadsheet and testing her amps and I am SO thankful you all lead me to do that. Her morning read was 86! Which was great but of course meant I had to decide to hold her shot for the first time because I wasnt able to stall and test again later due to having to leave to take my boyfriend to work. Her levels so far have still been averaging in the 300s, so that low number threw me! Thankful i didnt shoot her without testing and come home to a crisis! We have had one curve at the vet where they raised her dose of ProZinc from 1u to 1.5 which was what I had been giving her before I got the hang of testing. We will be doing our first home curve on tomorrow to get an idea of where we are at now. After yesterday's morning read, I asked the facebook group if I should be adjusting since she had such a low read overnight and was suggested I try doing 1u to see if there was a notable difference, so after her amps came up 329, i have given her 1u and will be retesting in about an hour or so to see where we are at. Thank you for being here and available and if you have any advice on dosing or what my next step should be based on what I've said here, it would be greatly appreciated!
 
Last edited:
Hi Jessica, welcome to FDMB! :)

Wow, an 86 would have been a surprise for me as well! Smart move skipping. Have you been testing prior to that 86? We have an updated spreadsheet here with the dates already listed if you're like to switch over to that (your choice, I just found it WAY easier after a year of typing them in LOL).

With Prozinc, you will want to choose a dosing method to follow to help you figure out when to increase/decrease a dose. For example, an 84 on the Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) method would warrant a 0.25u reduction. But if you were using Modified Prozinc Method (MPM) you would reduce only under 50. Here is a link to them both. It's a lot easier to have a guide than to ask for opinions each time (because sometimes no one is around to help!). I will say you'll also probably get conflicting dosing advice from here vs Facebook groups.

It would be great if you could add Momma Kitty's diagnose date, insulin, dosing method (when you decide), and food in your signature. That's important information we ask for all the time so it's easier to just keep it available there. May I ask what food Momma Kitty's eating?
 
Hey Jessica!! Happy to see you over here from the Facebook group!!

One thing I notice is you're feeding the Fancy Feast Medleys. Some of them are very high in carbs! I used to keep a few around for China when she was dropping too low.

Here's a Food Chart that breaks down the nutrients for you. Look at the specific types/flavors of foods and see what the carb percentage is.

The "Classics" are pates which are all low carb

Hopefully the 1U dose will work better....we'll have to wait and see! One thing to always remember about the sugardance.....All we can do is follow...our cats are the ones who lead!
 
I definitely felt I made a mistake getting them I just got confused when in the isle trying to remember the foods o was recommended. Between this pregnancy brain and have dealing with other issues as well, my brain is feeling a bit overwhelmed these days but we are just beginning and I am still figuring out what food I want for her. Unfortunately she won't touch pate, so I have to find other styles that work for her diet needs as well as with what shes willing to eat. Oh, and the 1u seemed to do well today! Her last two readings made it down into the 200s after her am shot, which she has not come down from the 300s average before, so that made me feel pretty good!

Hey Jessica!! Happy to see you over here from the Facebook group!!

One thing I notice is you're feeding the Fancy Feast Medleys. Some of them are very high in carbs! I used to keep a few around for China when she was dropping too low.

Here's a Food Chart that breaks down the nutrients for you. Look at the specific types/flavors of foods and see what the carb percentage is.

The "Classics" are pates which are all low carb

Hopefully the 1U dose will work better....we'll have to wait and see! One thing to always remember about the sugardance.....All we can do is follow...our cats are the ones who lead!
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much for getting back with me and I appreciate the links! I have been doing a couple hours reading every night the past few days trying to get caught up on the most important reading materials, trying not to overwhelm my pregnant brain I have been nervous in the decision of whether to go with SLGS or MPM method, but I will get there soon for sure. Definitely will get that info added to my signature as well! As far as food goes, i just made the switch to just wet food after weaning her down off dry food since the 18th. I was at first using fred Meyers brand Luvsome, just ran out of that this morning and decided to try some fancy feast medleys, which i think i may have messed up getting because i couldn't remember all the advice i had gotten when i was faced with the wall of foods! It's a variety pack with a chicken, turkey and tuna flavors. My girl will NOT touch pates, which I know is a big reccomend, so I have to find other varieties that will work for her diet needs and her tastes. I just got a little overwhelmed looking through the food lists provided here, especially since we are on a tight budget right now having just moved into a new rental before having the emergency vet visit where we discovered her diagnosis. So trying to find a balance between affordable and what she needs to have has had me spending hours every night looking at the lists and then looking up foods. Sorry, I feel like I'm writing a book for you! I hope I answered all your questions, thank you!

Hi Jessica, welcome to FDMB! :)

Wow, an 86 would have been a surprise for me as well! Smart move skipping. Have you been testing prior to that 86? We have an updated spreadsheet here with the dates already listed if you're like to switch over to that (your choice, I just found it WAY easier after a year of typing them in LOL).

With Prozinc, you will want to choose a dosing method to follow to help you figure out when to increase/decrease a dose. For example, an 84 on the Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) method would warrant a 0.25u reduction. But if you were using Modified Prozinc Method (MPM) you would reduce only under 50. Here is a link to them both. It's a lot easier to have a guide than to ask for opinions each time (because sometimes no one is around to help!). I will say you'll also probably get conflicting dosing advice from here vs Facebook groups.

It would be great if you could add Momma Kitty's diagnose date, insulin, dosing method (when you decide), and food in your signature. That's important information we ask for all the time so it's easier to just keep it available there. May I ask what food Momma Kitty's eating?
 
Thank you so much for getting back with me and I appreciate the links! I have been doing a couple hours reading every night the past few days trying to get caught up on the most important reading materials, trying not to overwhelm my pregnant brain I have been nervous in the decision of whether to go with SLGS or MPM method, but I will get there soon for sure. Definitely will get that info added to my signature as well! As far as food goes, i just made the switch to just wet food after weaning her down off dry food since the 18th. I was at first using fred Meyers brand Luvsome, just ran out of that this morning and decided to try some fancy feast medleys, which i think i may have messed up getting because i couldn't remember all the advice i had gotten when i was faced with the wall of foods! It's a variety pack with a chicken, turkey and tuna flavors. My girl will NOT touch pates, which I know is a big reccomend, so I have to find other varieties that will work for her diet needs and her tastes. I just got a little overwhelmed looking through the food lists provided here, especially since we are on a tight budget right now having just moved into a new rental before having the emergency vet visit where we discovered her diagnosis. So trying to find a balance between affordable and what she needs to have has had me spending hours every night looking at the lists and then looking up foods. Sorry, I feel like I'm writing a book for you! I hope I answered all your questions, thank you!

Great job with the signature, looks perfect!
Yes by all means don't overwhelm yourself! There's a lot to cover but don't feel like you have to learn it all overnight. I will say with the dosing decisions, MPM is designed to mimic TR (Tight Regulation), a method for Lantus insulin. It has great history in getting numbers regulated faster (and remission!) but you have to be more diligent in testing and be prepared for lows when they come. The dosing method is also not set in stone; you can always switch if one better suits you and Momma Kitty. What with the baby coming so soon SLGS may be more ideal until things die down.

Hmm will have to do some digging for you about some non-pate low-carb food! I think there are some, just not as affordable, like Tiki Cat. Fancy Feast Roasted/Flaked/Chunky I believe is low-carb.
You sound like you've got a lot on your plate but hang in there! We'll help take the burden off. :)
 
I so much appreciate the post and positive energy I was leaning towards SLGS method, so it's good to know you agree it might work better for my current situation! I am definitely willing to adjust, I'm bummed because I had my hands on some flaked, but I think they had gravy and I was pretty sure that's an avoid? Definitely trying to climb the learning curve quickly but well, I wait to get her feeling herself again as quickly and safely as possible. We'll be doing her first home curve tomorrow so I'm hoping to see some positive results there based on her reading so far today. It's the first time shes had an average in the 200s rather than the 300s since we started! So thinking our change over to wet food is at least starting to show some early progress and I'm taking that as a small wi . Again, thank you so much for getting back to me! It took ke awhile to figure out how to reply, so sorry for the delayed response

Great job with the signature, looks perfect!
Yes by all means don't overwhelm yourself! There's a lot to cover but don't feel like you have to learn it all overnight. I will say with the dosing decisions, MPM is designed to mimic TR (Tight Regulation), a method for Lantus insulin. It has great history in getting numbers regulated faster (and remission!) but you have to be more diligent in testing and be prepared for lows when they come. The dosing method is also not set in stone; you can always switch if one better suits you and Momma Kitty. What with the baby coming so soon SLGS may be more ideal until things die down.

Hmm will have to do some digging for you about some non-pate low-carb food! I think there are some, just not as affordable, like Tiki Cat. Fancy Feast Roasted/Flaked/Chunky I believe is low-carb.
You sound like you've got a lot on your plate but hang in there! We'll help take the burden off. :)
 
Fancy Feast Roasted/Flaked/Chunky I believe is low-carb.

YES!! They are....And while they cost more (of course) Weruva makes a plethora of flavors and consistencies that are low carb (and their website is actually one of the few that puts their nutritional information right there for people to look at) They have everything from pate to chunks to shreds to things that look better than a lot of things I cook for myself for dinner! TikiCat and BFF are also made by the same company. The BFF line can be a little more affordable than the Tiki or Weruva if I remember right.
 
Thank you! I will be looking those up tonight, I really appreciate the help narrowing down. I keep trying to go through the food list and look up foods but there are so many, it's hard to make a decision!

YES!! They are....And while they cost more (of course) Weruva makes a plethora of flavors and consistencies that are low carb (and their website is actually one of the few that puts their nutritional information right there for people to look at) They have everything from pate to chunks to shreds to things that look better than a lot of things I cook for myself for dinner! TikiCat and BFF are also made by the same company. The BFF line can be a little more affordable than the Tiki or Weruva if I remember right.
 
Here are the Fancy Feast's that are Roasted/Flaked/Chunky
upload_2020-8-4_23-54-39.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-8-4_23-54-39.png
    upload_2020-8-4_23-54-39.png
    73.9 KB · Views: 414
FF "Florentine" Medleys under 10%
upload_2020-8-4_23-56-43.png


Medleys "Primavera"
upload_2020-8-4_23-58-17.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-8-4_23-56-43.png
    upload_2020-8-4_23-56-43.png
    26 KB · Views: 245
  • upload_2020-8-4_23-58-17.png
    upload_2020-8-4_23-58-17.png
    22.1 KB · Views: 289
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top