Bron and Sheba (GA)
Very Active Member
@Bandit's Mom would you be able to add this information to Mia’s SS, do you think?
Yes@Bron and Sheba (GA) it has been a very slow feed continuously over at least 30 min. Would it still make sense to check BG now?
I think you could give the insulin dose now. But I would reduce the dose to 1.75 units.. Can you do that? Then the next dose will be due 12 hours from now.@Bron and Sheba (GA) I just tested, it's 15.5, up from, 14.4 almost 3 hours ago
Great! Cats with ketones need to be eating an and a 1/2 times as many calories as they normally do.@Bron and Sheba (GA)
I can try increasing amount of food, the vet originally said around half a can of the recovery wet food would be enough, but have gotten several comments here and on the FB group that I have to increase that amount.
With caninsulin we always say reduce the dose if the BG drops under 90 (5). This is to be safe.@Bron and Sheba (GA) I am so unsure of what to do. Since on one hand if I lower the insulin dose now, this is not good for the ketone levels. But if I give the full 2 unit dose you are saying she is dropping too low on the BG levels
That sounds good@Bron and Sheba (GA) So I gave her the insulin 05.46. tested her BG now at 07.53 and it was 7.9.
Taking her to the vet now in 30 min.
So I will be talking to the vet about the following:
Feeding tube
Anti nausea medication (ondansetron)
Electrolytes test?
Potassium levels?
Change of insulin I understand should be put off until after ketone levels are dow
Anything else I should ask about or check etc once at the vet?
Hi @Bron and Sheba (GA) ! So sorry for not giving any updates yesterday.
So at the vet yesterday we spent around 4 hours there where she received fluids through IV, anti nausea medicine, motillium as she hasn't been pooping for 3 days and an appetite stimulant. I also asked for tests to check electrolytes, where it showed she was low on everything, including potassium which I have understood is important to check?
So we gave her a rehydration sachet with potassium at the vet as that is the only thing we were able to find on a Sunday. Today we will be buying higher dosage of potassium and start her on that. Are there any dose recommendations? Our vet said 50mg per day.
We were able to test her urine for ketones at the vet as she started peeing alot after so many hours of fluids. And the colour was the lowest on the chart! So this was a big win yesterday.
After getting home from the vet, she went straight to her water bowl and drank by herself, and we also put out her old wet food and even even ate a little from it by herself, again first time eating by herself since Wednesday last week. I was so happy
Still fed her recovery Royal canin by syringe rest of the day as she wasn't eating enough by herself. But even syringe feeding was easier yesterday and she was licking it up voluntarily. Throughout the rest of the evening she went over to the water bowl several times and ate a couple of times from the regular wet food.
Her walking also had improved after the visit to the vet and she wasn't as wobbly as she has been last days. We also got lactate fluids to give at home subcutaneous, which we did yesterday evening.
She has also had her first poop since Tuesday/Wednesday last week.
This was the longest we have had her on IV fluids, do you think this is what made the biggest difference? Or was it the potassium? As the anti nausea and appetite stimulant she has gotten several times before without affect.
However when we tested her BG levels before insulin it was the highest it has been til now, and also it was showing that ketones were present.
Adding info on BG testing, eating etc from yesterday:
06.10.24 5:46 insulin @40uml 0.05ml
06.10.24 7:53 blood glucose 7.9
06.10.24 7:53 temp 37
06.10.24 8:30 wet food 12ml
06.10.24 9:00 antibiotic day 2
06.10.24 9:34 blood glucose 4.3
06.10.24 10:00 motillium
06.10.24 10:55 blood glucose 3.3
06.10.24 10:59 received glucose
06.10.24 11:15 blood glucose 9.4
06.10.24 11:45 electrolytes /potassium 1/2 sachet
06.10.24 12:10 blood glucose 10.7
06.10.24 12:25 wet food 9ml
06.10.24 13:30 appetite stimulant 1/8
06.10.24 14:30
first interest in eating and drinking
06.10.24 14:30 wet food 15ml
06.10.24 15:05 blood glucose 12.1
06.10.24 16:40 wet food 15ml
06.10.24 17:36 blood glucose 11.2
06.10.24 17:45 wet food 6ml
06.10.24 18:00 insulin @40uml 0.05ml
06.10.24 19:45 royal canin sterilized 1ts
06.10.24 20:00 wet food 9ml
06.10.24 21:15 subcutaneous fluids kiwi size
20:45 pooped like a champ
06.10.24 21:30 ate by herself 3ml
06.10.24 21:35 antibiotics day 2
06.10.24 21:35 motillium 1/2 tablet
06.10.24 22:35 blood glucose 3.5
06.10.24 22:23 drank by herself
06.10.24 22:42 drank by herself
06.10.24 22:50 wet food 12ml
06.10.24 23:56 blood glucose 7.3
06.10.24 3:40 wet food 10ml
06.10.24 5:57 blood glucose 19.5
06.10.24 6:05 wet food 12ml
06.10.24 6:15 insulin 0.05
@MonicaT If you will send me all the test data from Day 1 via a PM, I will input it in the SS.I am going to ask @Bandit's Mom to see if she can update your SS as we really need to see the information there. It’s too hard to read it just down the page with every other thing mixed up with it….although I am glad you included that.
Yes I would not change the insulin over until there have been no ketones for 2 weeks.Would you still recommend that we wait with changing the type of insulin?
Just so I am understanding you correctly, are you saying you have a blood ketone meter, when you say your tester shows ketone levels too?We tested BG approx 1 hour ago, and our tester should show ketone levels too, but not sure if it's working as it should. Last night at 5am it was showing as high, 1 hour ago it didn't show. Haven't been able to get a urine sample since yesterday.
I think you will find it is just suggesting you check for ketones. If the BG is over a certain number the meter will tell you to check for ketones. That doesn’t mean there are any. They just want you to check.am really not sure if the meter I have is actually showing ketones or if it just suggests to check for ketones based on how high the BG levels are. Tried checking the booklet but can't figure it out.
That could be from the low potassium. Check with your vet.Also, today I am seeing Mia walking with her head a little strange. As if she had something wrong with her neck so she is keeping her head down and just looking up and around by moving her eyes around
or about 184 calories, almost exactly what is in a full can of Recovery. From the information in Bron's post (#24), she needs to be eating 1.5 times that when getting over DKA, so that would be 1.5 cans.Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70
Fantastic no ketones for 2 days! keep testing.Ok so 1/4 tablet every 24 hours?
She is eating approx 1 can daily, plus a couple of ts of some other wet food she likes (gourmet gold) and Dreamies treats 5-10 pieces as rewards after testing etc. We also got a high calorie paste that we are adding to her food to increase calories.
She had now been free from ketones for 2 days
It does sound unusual, doesn’t it? I’ve seen the ml reference a few times over the years, mostly from European vets, I think. I’m wondering why, unless it makes the dosing less syringe dependent (so you wouldn’t have to have a u-40 or u-100 syringe if you’re simply measuring in ml’s maybe ??). But I’d be concerned that the owner might accidentally give 0.5ml instead of 0.05ml, so there’s that…You say 2 units and then 0.05ml which is unusual.
Insulin dosing with a cat who has low potassium can be a balancing act. Insulin drives potassium out of the bloodstream and into the cells, meaning giving insulin shots can decrease circulating potassium (had a big problem with Charlie, who had low potassium and was also anemic). That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give insulin—to the contrary, it’s imperative with recent DKA. But it can feel like you’re chasing your tail.
Also, anemia can alter BG readings and cause them to be artificially inflated (i.e., appear higher than they actually are). So, for example, a reading of 90 on the meter (or even lab machine) might really be 80 (I don’t know percentage it can be off, so that’s just an illustration; don’t take the numbers literally). So anyway, a normally nice BG number can give you a false sense of security, so that’s another reason to be very cautious with insulin dosing and not allow the BG to go too low.
I don’t give dosing advice, but I would want to dose the lowest amount of insulin needed to keep DKA at bay and continue pushing as much food as kitty will tolerate. We nearly crashed Charlie’s potassium with insulin and also had to navigate significant anemia. We talked about a blood transfusion at one point. And I wouldn’t focus too terribly much on kidney failure right now — the Creatinine looks good, BUN can be elevated with dehydration. You can always ask for an SDMA test if you want but I (and my IM vet) hesitated to pull any more blood than was absolutely necessary when Charlie was already anemic. I think kidneys are likely not your biggest problem right now. Low potassium notoriously causes weakness and the head hanging you describe, so I’m with Bron on suspecting that’s the root of at least some of the symptoms.
edited to add: I’m somewhat surprised they don’t want to hospitalize and keep the IV in for at least 24 hours to bring the potassium up in a slow, controlled manner, and then switch over to oral K supplement.
I get worried whenever I see something referred to as "syrup" as that often indicates a sugar somewhere in the mix.