Sheffield_Tiger
Member Since 2020
Hi, been lurking here a couple of months, felt it was time to say hello especially as we seem to be in something of a ProZinc crisis
Rotten timing for my Mr 'Scruffy'McGuffey.
Scruff was diagnosed earlier this year and started on caninsulin, 1 unit.
After a month on Caninsulin, the vets moved him to ProZinc, 0.9 units twice daily. Covid came along and interrupted regular vet visits, I did manage to get 2x repeat prescriptions as the shortage started and have slowly and carefully increased his dose. He is still very high BG (around 20-25 mmol/L on a good day) on 2.3 units twice daily but not found that at least this level stopped his diarrhoea and thirst, but not an insatiable hunger that, if I give in to, sends his BG spiking all over the place in the following 24 hours.
I guess I'll be asking more questions soon if I cant get ProZinc ASI get the feeling he isn't going to do to well back on the Caninsulin
Unfortunately I don't have much knowledge of him pre diagnosis as he came to me in a bit of a state, having been a foraging Tom with an abcess, tested fiv+ and the usual stud tail and wiry fur. Pompoms were renoved and he's a fluffy scruffy again
Rotten timing for my Mr 'Scruffy'McGuffey.
Scruff was diagnosed earlier this year and started on caninsulin, 1 unit.
After a month on Caninsulin, the vets moved him to ProZinc, 0.9 units twice daily. Covid came along and interrupted regular vet visits, I did manage to get 2x repeat prescriptions as the shortage started and have slowly and carefully increased his dose. He is still very high BG (around 20-25 mmol/L on a good day) on 2.3 units twice daily but not found that at least this level stopped his diarrhoea and thirst, but not an insatiable hunger that, if I give in to, sends his BG spiking all over the place in the following 24 hours.
I guess I'll be asking more questions soon if I cant get ProZinc ASI get the feeling he isn't going to do to well back on the Caninsulin
Unfortunately I don't have much knowledge of him pre diagnosis as he came to me in a bit of a state, having been a foraging Tom with an abcess, tested fiv+ and the usual stud tail and wiry fur. Pompoms were renoved and he's a fluffy scruffy again
