Stefania S
Member Since 2023
So, how am I supposed to get any sleep if I’m not sure when the nadir will be and if it can change at any time???
Just found this posted by a member about LevemirI wish I had pushed for Levemir. At the time I just wanted to get her off Caninsulin to something better and the vet seemed more familiar with Lantus so I just went with that.
I’m just seeing this. What did you decide to do?
With DKA in recent past it’s not a good idea to skip doses.
Can you tell me what have been the numbers up until the libre stopped
The libre is convenient, but there are glitches and that’s why we recommend home testing.So, it’s almost 8am, past time for insulin and I can’t get a read on the sensor. I’m pretty sure the vet would tell me to go ahead with insulin anyway. Trying to do a blood test will freak Jessi out so much that it will jeopardize the shot, which is why I use the sensor.
I haven’t had enough time monitoring yet to know for sure but so far her BG hasn’t gone lower than 100 on Lantus.
Shoot or don’t shoot? We just started, skipping now will really mess with progress
Update: it came back online. I had already given her the shot, though behind schedule. I called the emergency line at the clinic where the Endocronologist who put the sensor on works and they said to do it since the dose is fairly low and her BGs have been moderate, not going below 100 since being on Lantus. So I gave her the shot and about 40 minutes later the sensor decided to speak again. This does happen fairly often, at least once a day that for anywhere from a few minutes to an hour it kind of goes offline. Then it comes back again. Who knows what’s going on in those interstitial pathways...
Anyhow, all good, except for my moment of stress and being late doing the shot, alls well that ends well!
In a low numbers event (lower than today's numbers) if your cat will not eat high carb food, you would dip your finger in honey then open the cat's mouth and swab the inside of the cheek.Btw, she doesn't like honey. I had a feeling. So that isn't going to work. I have to get my hands on some corn syrup and see if she likes that better.
The libre only lasts for about 2 weeks. How long have you had it for? 302 is high enough but it would be great if you could get another reading now. I don’t know that trying to hand test at 2am for the very first time is a good idea honestlyI tried taking a photo but then I couldn't find a way to share it here.
I reduced it yes, but I'm not sure if I reduced it enough. What's happening is that she feels awful from the sacculitis which just burst a little while ago, so hopefully she'll feel better soon but this is coinciding with the sensor quitting, her eating less and nadir probably happening in the next hour at +6. She did eat about two thirds of a can about an hour and a half ago but I had to hand feed it to her while she was lying down.
I did manage to get a pre preshot number which was around 302 and rising, but nothing after that. Makes me nervous considering her low numbers earlier today and
Bad timing with all of this.
I may break out the glucometer at this point, but it could get pretty crazy at almost 2 am with me feeling dizzy from exhaustion trying to test a very uncompliant cat who is gushing bloody stuff all over and in a lot of pain to begin with. I might end up doing more harm than good....
or I may have to take her to the clinic which I was trying so hard to avoid...
I'm so tired I'm falling asleep as I'm writing this even though I'm stressed about the situation.
The libre only lasts for about 2 weeks. How long have you had it for? 302 is high enough but it would be great if you could get another reading now. I don’t know that trying to hand test at 2am for the very first time is a good idea honestly
Can you try maybe testing her in a bathroom, so she has no where to go, that might help get her more used to testing. It doesn't hurt her, she's just not used to getting poked & poking her is not traumatic for her. I never thought I would be able to test my boy whom is known as the terror at the vet, but I just kept trying & giving him boiled chicken as a treat. Now he comes running when I say test time & sometimes he's already laying in his chewy box that I test him in. Check out his spreadsheet when you get a chance, I guess I'm a test aholicSkipping the dose entirely.
I tried to test in a location and at a moment where I thought it might work, she seemed so lethargic and passive but as soon as she felt me holding her down even just a little and holding her ear between my fingers she used all her strength to do what cats do to escape.
How can the vets tell me to just give her the usual dose even when I can't see the numbers??? Clearly 2 is too much for her. This was even a lower dose, this morning I gave her about 1.75 units. But I think her numbers were in the mid 200 which is lower than usual preshot. I say I think because the Libre is giving me occasional numbers but broken up charts that show much more than the scanned BG numbers. So often I can see what came before the scan.
She goes bonkers for corn, I haven't seen her that excited for food in a while. I only gave her about a spoonful but she would have eaten a lot more. I don't want to make her BG spike but I also want to get her out of danger.
I can try another test, but there is no way to coax Jessi into being restrained. She goes ballistic, not aggressive, but in complete flight (as in run and hide) mode. I have to use a lot of force to restrain her and that makes it nearly impossible to put a needle into her ear and then put a test strip to the drop of blood at the same time.
When it comes to being restrained in any way, Jessi is a wild animal. She has always been that way. Same goes for having any part of her body held for more than a split second.
Tried a second time, the calm, gentle soothing way. Nothing doing. As soon as she felt the needle against her ear she jumped away. Only thing left is the forceful, confining way, but that will have permanent damaging effects on her. Will try again tomorrow.
If we skip two shots, I have no idea what will happen. Vets not very helpful at all in this situation.
Guess I'll post a new thread next time. Don't quite understand the 'etiquette' on that, but as you wish.

I've actually have a much stronger bond with Panzer since testing, alot of us on here develope a bond, he is definitely my heart kitty ❤Skipping the dose entirely.
I tried to test in a location and at a moment where I thought it might work, she seemed so lethargic and passive but as soon as she felt me holding her down even just a little and holding her ear between my fingers she used all her strength to do what cats do to escape.
How can the vets tell me to just give her the usual dose even when I can't see the numbers??? Clearly 2 is too much for her. This was even a lower dose, this morning I gave her about 1.75 units. But I think her numbers were in the mid 200 which is lower than usual preshot. I say I think because the Libre is giving me occasional numbers but broken up charts that show much more than the scanned BG numbers. So often I can see what came before the scan.
She goes bonkers for corn, I haven't seen her that excited for food in a while. I only gave her about a spoonful but she would have eaten a lot more. I don't want to make her BG spike but I also want to get her out of danger.
I can try another test, but there is no way to coax Jessi into being restrained. She goes ballistic, not aggressive, but in complete flight (as in run and hide) mode. I have to use a lot of force to restrain her and that makes it nearly impossible to put a needle into her ear and then put a test strip to the drop of blood at the same time.
When it comes to being restrained in any way, Jessi is a wild animal. She has always been that way. Same goes for having any part of her body held for more than a split second.
Tried a second time, the calm, gentle soothing way. Nothing doing. As soon as she felt the needle against her ear she jumped away. Only thing left is the forceful, confining way, but that will have permanent damaging effects on her. Will try again tomorrow.
If we skip two shots, I have no idea what will happen. Vets not very helpful at all in this situation.
Guess I'll post a new thread next time. Don't quite understand the 'etiquette' on that, but as you wish.
I tried to test in a location and at a moment where I thought it might work, she seemed so lethargic and passive but as soon as she felt me holding her down even just a little and holding her ear between my fingers she used all her strength to do what cats do to escape.
I can try another test, but there is no way to coax Jessi into being restrained. She goes ballistic, not aggressive, but in complete flight (as in run and hide) mode. I have to use a lot of force to restrain her and that makes it nearly impossible to put a needle into her ear and then put a test strip to the drop of blood at the same time.
When it comes to being restrained in any way, Jessi is a wild animal. She has always been that way. Same goes for having any part of her body held for more than a split second.
.