New Member - Laura

Status
Not open for further replies.

FonzieFremeau

Member Since 2024
Hello, I am a new member as of today, September 26, 2024.

My Name: Laura

My Cat's Name: Fonzie
Cat's Sex: Male
Cat's Age: 14 as of next month (10/10/2024)
Breed: Domestic Short Hair
Coloring: Tabby

About Fonzie: Fonzie is a very active, fit, and loving cat. He is an indoor cat only. Very engaged in everyday life, affectionate and wants to be involved in all interactions of our daily family life. have fed him high quality wet food (most recently SMALLS brand) and dry food (Orijen Slim and Fit) all of his life. He has been with me since age 2. He has a water fountain to stay hydrated and is exercised regularly with toys and with our three flights of stairs in the house. He is in great shape with no known health problems. He was previously not on any medications. He has an adopted brother, Frosty, another Shelter Domestic short hair cat with no known health problems.

Weight: 11.9 lbs
Body style: Long and lean

Symptoms leading to diagnosis:
We returned from Spain this August 2024 (7 weeks ago) and noticed he seemed a little lethargic, less energetic. Sticky urine in the litter box -- hard to clean and large amounts of it. Still eating (He LOVES food and highly food motivated) and going to the bathroom. A bit constipated but he has always leaned constipated. I took him to the vet on August 19, 2024 and they did a complete physical examination and complete blood panel. The blood panel came back with slightly elevated Kidney numbers and showing that he is now diabetic. He had X-rays done. No lung issues. He was constipated and they gave him an enema. We got him on dry diabetic cat food per the Vet's instructions (Purina DM dry) and started him on Lantis Solostar at 1 unit 2/day on 8/20.

UPDATE: Started Fonzie on Royal Canon Select Protein Wet food on 9/27 - BG has decreased over the last several days and we are now seeing numbers in the mid to high 100's and low 200's.
 
Last edited:
Hello, I am a new member as of today, September 26, 2024.

My Name: Laura

My Cat's Name: Fonzie
Cat's Sex: Male
Cat's Age: 14 as of next month (10/10/2024)
Breed: Domestic Short Hair
Coloring: Tabby

About Fonzie: Fonzie is a very active, fit, and loving cat. He is an indoor cat only. Very engaged in everyday life, affectionate and wants to be involved in all interactions of our daily family life. have fed him high quality wet food (most recently SMALLS brand) and dry food (Orijen Slim and Fit) all of his life. He has been with me since age 2. He has a water fountain to stay hydrated and is exercised regularly with toys and with our three flights of stairs in the house. He is in great shape with no known health problems. He was previously not on any medications. He has an adopted brother, Frosty, another Shelter Domestic short hair cat with no known health problems.
Weight: 11.9 lbs
Body style: Long and lean

Symptoms leading to diagnosis:
We returned from Spain this August 2024 (7 weeks ago) and noticed he seemed a little lethargic, less energetic. Sticky urine in the litter box -- hard to clean and large amounts of it. Still eating (He LOVES food and highly food motivated) and going to the bathroom. A bit constipated but he has always leaned constipated. I took him to the vet on August 19, 2024 and they did a complete physical examination and complete blood panel. The blood panel came back with slightly elevated Kidney numbers and showing that he is now diabetic. He had X-rays done. No lung issues. He was constipated and they gave him an enema. We got him on dry diabetic cat food per the Vet's instructions (Purina DM dry) and started him on Lantis Solostar at 1 unit 2/day on 8/20. We placed a libre sensor. We monitored his numbers through the Libre in conjunction with the vet. Initially we saw numbers in the high 300's, with a few dipping into low 330's. Then, we were seeing "HI" readings 400 and high 380's. We increased to 2 units 2/day after 2 weeks on the Lantis. We were seeing "HI" readings on the sensor (over 400) After 1 or so weeks on the 2 units we moved up to 3 units for just one dose but his numbers dove very low, so we walked it back to 2.5 units. We were on 2.5 units for another 1-2 weeks. We were seeing mostly "HI" readings with some numbers dipping into the 300's and sometimes the high 200's. We saw an internist and did an ultrasound and complete blood panel and tested for Acromegaly, which we have not received the results as of yet. The ultrasound revealed nodular changes to his pancreas, which is most likely attributed to chronic pancreatitis. The vet put Fonzie on Royal Canin PR dry and wet food (Rabbit) to help calm the inflammation in the pancreas, which will hopefully help the insulin work more efficiently. I immediately put Fonzie on the new food as of Friday September 20 and he loves it and is eating normally. The Internist increased Fonzie's Lantis from 2.5 units to 3 units 2/day on Friday September 20. All we see is "HI" readings on the Libre. We manually test his blood with the Alpha-Trak and we are now seeing numbers that range from 400 through 700. On Tuesday September 24, the internist increased his dosage to 4 units of Lantis 2/day. Again, all we see is "HI" readings on the libre with a small dip to 385/390 for a small time frame hours after the insulin dose. After 48 hours on this new 4 unit dose of the Lantis, the Internist is recommending that we change Insulin to "Prosinc" and start on 2 units 2/ day. We have not started this new insulin as of yet.[/QUOTE
Welcome Laura and Fonzie, you are in the right place, the first thing that caught my attention, is that you are using the Libre, The Libre monitor and sensors, are extremely unreliable up to 390 if you're lucky and for sure the low Glucose numbers, will be always much lower than they really are, I know by experience, also they tend to fall off, stop working before the 14 days, and the sensors expensive, most of us in this Forum use the ReliOn Premier human monitor and Test strips, very reliable, and inexpensive you can get the monitor for like $10.00 and the strips are $9.00 for 50 or $17.99 for 100 I also see you are using prescribed dry food, Royal Cannin, these dry foods for starters there was a lawsuit placed because these food do not need prescriptions, your Vet sells it to you because he makes commission on it besides the fact that they contain an extreme amount of carbs, and diabetic cats need 0-10% carbs no more than that, you should have what is called a HYPO KIT this includes KARO syrup/Honey some medium carb foods between 12-14 % carbs and some High carb foods between 15- 18 % carbs, this are to be used only when the glucose number reads 50 or less, therefore, please do not go by the libre reading, because when you see 50-65 is actually in the 90's trust me, A lot of the members enjoy Fancy Feast Pates, they are USA made which means there is no waste in the foods, inexpensive, many flavors to choose from, below is the link to Drs. Food Chart, the 3rd column has the % of carbs for each foods and many brands to choose from, also a link for us to get to know a bit more about Fonzie, not to worry we are here for you, no concern is ever small , again welcome:bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

you may also want to read about the dry food problems, I do not want overwhelm you with too much information right away but you can on your spare time read the sticky notes in the Main Forum, they are great help.. We are here for youhttps://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dry-food-please-consider-more-than-just-carbohydrate-content.175004/
 
Welcome Laura and Fonzie, thank you for all the information you send us, you are in the right place, the first thing that came to mind was the Libre, these are convenient but very unreliable, they do not read the glucose numbers correctly you are lucky if after 350 you get a number usually you will see a HIGH, and if low BG's definitely inconsistent when you see anything in the two low digits it's usually between high 90's-100 aside from the fact that the cat usually removes it, they fall off and they really do not last the 14 days, and the sensors are expensive most of the member here use the ReliOn Premier human monitor and strips, you can purchase it at Walmart for no more than $10.00 the monitor and $9.oo for 50 strips and $17.99 for 100. I myself went thru hell with the Libre and so have many other members, below is a couple of links for you, Also, about the prescribed food, dry food has an enormous amount of carbs between 20-25%, diabetic cats should only have a diet of 0-10% carbs, the prescribed food only benefits $ the Vet, not your cat, thank you for all the information about Fonzie, the 1st link is what we also need to help you and the other members, the second one is the Dr Pierson's Food list, many brands to choose from , the third column has the % of carbs for each foods, most of us enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates, you should have a HYPO KIT, this includes KARO syrup/honey, Medium carb food 12-14% and High carbs between 15-18% in case his glucose numbers lowers to 50 for a quick fix. We are here for you so any small concerns is important:bighug::cat::cat:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
 
Hello, I am a new member as of today, September 26, 2024.

My Name: Laura

My Cat's Name: Fonzie
Cat's Sex: Male
Cat's Age: 14 as of next month (10/10/2024)
Breed: Domestic Short Hair
Coloring: Tabby

About Fonzie: Fonzie is a very active, fit, and loving cat. He is an indoor cat only. Very engaged in everyday life, affectionate and wants to be involved in all interactions of our daily family life. have fed him high quality wet food (most recently SMALLS brand) and dry food (Orijen Slim and Fit) all of his life. He has been with me since age 2. He has a water fountain to stay hydrated and is exercised regularly with toys and with our three flights of stairs in the house. He is in great shape with no known health problems. He was previously not on any medications. He has an adopted brother, Frosty, another Shelter Domestic short hair cat with no known health problems.
Weight: 11.9 lbs
Body style: Long and lean

Symptoms leading to diagnosis:
We returned from Spain this August 2024 (7 weeks ago) and noticed he seemed a little lethargic, less energetic. Sticky urine in the litter box -- hard to clean and large amounts of it. Still eating (He LOVES food and highly food motivated) and going to the bathroom. A bit constipated but he has always leaned constipated. I took him to the vet on August 19, 2024 and they did a complete physical examination and complete blood panel. The blood panel came back with slightly elevated Kidney numbers and showing that he is now diabetic. He had X-rays done. No lung issues. He was constipated and they gave him an enema. We got him on dry diabetic cat food per the Vet's instructions (Purina DM dry) and started him on Lantis Solostar at 1 unit 2/day on 8/20. We placed a libre sensor. We monitored his numbers through the Libre in conjunction with the vet. Initially we saw numbers in the high 300's, with a few dipping into low 330's. Then, we were seeing "HI" readings 400 and high 380's. We increased to 2 units 2/day after 2 weeks on the Lantis. We were seeing "HI" readings on the sensor (over 400) After 1 or so weeks on the 2 units we moved up to 3 units for just one dose but his numbers dove very low, so we walked it back to 2.5 units. We were on 2.5 units for another 1-2 weeks. We were seeing mostly "HI" readings with some numbers dipping into the 300's and sometimes the high 200's. We saw an internist and did an ultrasound and complete blood panel and tested for Acromegaly, which we have not received the results as of yet. The ultrasound revealed nodular changes to his pancreas, which is most likely attributed to chronic pancreatitis. The vet put Fonzie on Royal Canin PR dry and wet food (Rabbit) to help calm the inflammation in the pancreas, which will hopefully help the insulin work more efficiently. I immediately put Fonzie on the new food as of Friday September 20 and he loves it and is eating normally. The Internist increased Fonzie's Lantis from 2.5 units to 3 units 2/day on Friday September 20. All we see is "HI" readings on the Libre. We manually test his blood with the Alpha-Trak and we are now seeing numbers that range from 400 through 700. On Tuesday September 24, the internist increased his dosage to 4 units of Lantis 2/day. Again, all we see is "HI" readings on the libre with a small dip to 385/390 for a small time frame hours after the insulin dose. After 48 hours on this new 4 unit dose of the Lantis, the Internist is recommending that we change Insulin to "Prosinc" and start on 2 units 2/ day. We have not started this new insulin as of yet.
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
@FonzieFremeau
This is where you can set up what we call your signature, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters. Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add this information.

Do you see mine about Tyler , it's in gray letters at the end of my post

  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

We also have a spreadsheet where we track our cats BG and this link will also explain how to use it , it's easy
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

You will link it to your signature , if you need help with it just ask we have a wonderful member who will be happy to do it for you

Do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings ?
 
Last edited:
Hi Laura and Fonzie and welcome to the forum.
First of all, I would not change insulin from Lantus to prozinc at the moment. The problem is not the insulin I don’t think, I think it is the way it is being used and the food being fed. Lantus is an excellent insulin for cats.
Do you think you could set up a spreadsheet set up and add some of the blood glucose data (BG ) for us please? That way we can see what is happening. Diane has given you the link to do that above.
If you have any trouble setting it up let me know and I will get someone to help you.

These are the things I think you need to change:
  • Swap to a more suitable food for diabetic cats. They need low carb (10% or under ) wet food. With the exception of a couple of dry foods, all dry food is high carb which will only continue to keep the BGs high. The RC PR dry food, on my calculations, is 45% carbs which is extremely high carb and totally unsuitable for diabetic cats. You don’t need prescription foods for diabetic cats. There is nothing special about prescription foods except the high price of them. Corky in post 3 has given you a link to suitable foods. Have a look at those.
  • Test then feed before every dose to see it is safe to give the dose and then test again during both am and the pm cycles to se how low the dose is taking Fonzie.
  • Offer snacks of food during all the cycles, mostly during the first half of the cycles. A snack is a test spoon it 2 of low carb wet food.
  • Increases should only be in 1/4 unit increments unless the BG is really high and then it is only in 1/2 unit increments. We can help you with that. I am concerned the dose had been increased in 1 unit increments and you are now at 4 units.
I know it is hard to go against the advice of vets and vet specialists but we see caregivers being given incorrect and bad advice for diabetic cats a lot. The three things a diabetic cats needs to be treated successfully are:
  • Low carb canned food or a homemade raw or cooked nutritionally balanced diet or a suitable dry food (which is not as good as canned food but some cats are dry food addicts!)
  • Hometesting the BGs so you can keep your kitty safe and you can see what the dose is doing each cycle. We have 2 dosing methods for Lantus which are safe and produce excellent results.
  • Using a suitable insulin for cats.
If you decide to use a low carb diet and want to get Fonzie back into better numbers, you will need to be aware that swapping to a low carb diet will most likely drop the BG numbers by up to 100 points or more. So you need to be doing any swap over a few days when you can be home to monitor the BGs closley. We have lots of people who arrive here on the wrong diet and do this swap over successfully. It just needs to be done slowly and when you are around to monitor closely. We can help you with this. In all likelihood, the dose of insulin will need to be reduced.
Please keep asking questions. We are here to help you.
Bron
 
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy

UPDATE:
I switched Fonzie to RC PR wet food and his numbers have gotten much better. We did not switch insulin and still on the Lantus 4 units 2/day.

We did receive the acromegaly blood test back and he tested positive so we are moving forward w/ a CT scan and echo cardiogram to confirm that there is indeed a tumor in the pituitary gland.

I updated his spreadsheet and put in my signature line.
 
@CORKY
UPDATE:
I switched Fonzie to RC PR wet food and his numbers have gotten much better. We did not switch insulin and still on the Lantus 4 units 2/day.

We did receive the acromegaly blood test back and he tested positive so we are moving forward w/ a CT scan and echo cardiogram to confirm that there is indeed a tumor in the pituitary gland.

I updated his spreadsheet and put in my signature line.

Fonzie's Spreadsheet
pancreatitis - diagnosed 9/20/2024, Acromegaly - diagnosed 9/30/2024
 
@CORKY
UPDATE:
I switched Fonzie to RC PR wet food and his numbers have gotten much better. We did not switch insulin and still on the Lantus 4 units 2/day.

We did receive the acromegaly blood test back and he tested positive so we are moving forward w/ a CT scan and echo cardiogram to confirm that there is indeed a tumor in the pituitary gland.
Today's numbers look very good compared to past days, the food is very important to keep those numbers low and lower, if you feed 2 main meals and 2 small meals daily, the numbers will get even better, you can check my remarks in Corky's Spread sheet so you can get an idea, I feed close to every 6 hours AMPS/PMPS full meals 1/2 can, and two snacks at +6, I hope you get negative results with the scan
:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

I updated his spreadsheet and put in my signature line.

Fonzie's Spreadsheet
pancreatitis - diagnosed 9/20/2024, Acromegaly - diagnosed 9/30/2024
 
@CORKY

Thank you! I looked at your spreadsheet.

How many LB's is Corky?

Fonzie is 11.9 lbs. I feed Fonzie 1/2 can (5oz sized) wet at 8am (AM Does time), then 1/2 can (5oz sized can) wet at 5pm then 1/4 can (5oz sized can) for 8pm snack (PM dose time).

Do you think a snack of 1/4 can (5oz can size) at 12 would be good? I know we said no dry but could I give him 1 tblspn dy for the 12 noon snack? There are 3 days out of the week that I am in the office and no one is home. I do have an automatic feeder but it is for dry only. Thoughts?
 
@FonzieFremeau
This is where you can set up what we call your signature, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters. Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add this information.

Do you see mine about Tyler , it's in gray letters at the end of my post

  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

We also have a spreadsheet where we track our cats BG and this link will also explain how to use it , it's easy
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

You will link it to your signature , if you need help with it just ask we have a wonderful member who will be happy to do it for you

Do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings ?

Hello -- Diane, yes, we have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings -- Thank you!
 
I do have an automatic feeder but it is for dry only. Thoughts?


@FonzieFremeau
some info on auto feeders always add a little water to the wet food
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6

Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Rep...5c-bd5c-e23f6094563c&pd_rd_i=B091HTXNHR&psc=1

This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1

@FonzieFremeau

We feed our cats the bigger meals first thing in the AM after you test the BG Then most members feed a small snack around 2 teaspoons of wet food around +2 and +4
The same would go for the PM cycle
 
Last edited:
Hello -- Diane, yes, we have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings -- Thank you!
We don't increase the dose by whole units , we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time , some times by 0.5 , if a member suggests that

Have you read the 2 dosing methods we follow for Lantus
You need to pick one and add it to your signature band to your spreadsheet up top where it asks you. I see you just put units there
Here is the link so you can decide what dosing method you want to follow
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
The Smalls food Fonzie was on before all this started is probably perfectly fine for him to eat as a diabetic. But as Bron said, you will have to monitor the switch closely. I switched my Neko from low carb wet to raw not long after she was diagnosed with diabetes. The fact that she had been on low carb food before being diagnosed had made my wonder why she got diabetes. The acro diagnosis provided that explanation.

We did receive the acromegaly blood test back and he tested positive so we are moving forward w/ a CT scan and echo cardiogram to confirm that there is indeed a tumor in the pituitary gland.
Hold on, no need to rush to put an acrocat under anaesthesia unless you really need to. I totally agree with the echo. If nothing else, it'll be a baseline and tell you if it's even safe for Fonzie to undergo anaesthesia which is required for a CT scan. Acros tend to be prone to heart conditions and unfortunately I've seen a couple acrocats here not make it through anaesthesia.:( Neko had an echocardiogram before her second radiation (SRT) treatment a few weeks later and had a surprising heart block, and almost didn't make it out of her CT scan anaesthesia. Echos can be done with just sedation, if needed, so go ahead with that one.

Can you tell me what his IGF-1 number result from the blood work is? When Neko had her first CT scan prior to treatment, the folks at Colorado State University told me that not all tumours show up on CT scan. Some will show up on MRI, some on neither. There really is no value in doing a CT scan at this time (unless just before treatment), but there is risk. The folks at CSU also told me I didn't need a CT scan to confirm because her IGF-1 number was high enough as was her dose and her savage hunger.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top