Deb & Wink said:Wow, he bounced right up again!
Yes, that 310 BG reading is high enough to give him his 0.5U dose. I recommend getting a test at +2, to see how Lucky is doing.
Vets look at the big picture, we here on the message board, look at the day-to-day management of feline diabetes. Glad we could help you and Lucky. We're pretty successful in getting kitty's OTJ too. Hope that is possible for Lucky. We'll have to wait and see.
You're doing great! But, your head is probably spinning and you feel a bit like this. :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat It's ok. That's normal when you are starting out, but let me reassure you, it does get easier and you will develop a routine.
Wendy&Tiggy said:Make sure you get a test at +2 so you dont get any surprises about which way he is going. At +2 any food will have worn off so you will get a clear picture of his plans.
This dose is still building up in his system ( takes 2-3 days) so we will see soon how its going to work.
Wendy
Ceebats said:Wendy&Tiggy said:Make sure you get a test at +2 so you dont get any surprises about which way he is going. At +2 any food will have worn off so you will get a clear picture of his plans.
This dose is still building up in his system ( takes 2-3 days) so we will see soon how its going to work.
Wendy
Hi Wendy,
Unfortunately, I was already on my way to work when he would have been at +2. I tested him when I got home, which would have been about +8, and he was at 123. The PMPS will be the next test about 7pm.
Now if I understand this correctly, if he is high like he was yesterday, above 200, than he can get the shot. If he is low, I should wait to feed and test again in 30mins, to see if he is going up or down.
Deb & Wink said:Yes, wait 30 minutes, hold the food, post here with the number.
Wendy&Tiggy said:Yes if it doesnt throw you off schedule ...
Otherwise you can skip this shot - or - give a reduced dose ie 0.25 but make sure you get a before bed test in a couple of hours and be ready with syrup etc if he does drop low.
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:They should have 1/2 unit syringes in pharmacies.. ask for U-100 syringes 3/10 cc, half-unit marked, short needle, 30-31 gauge
ie Relion 3/10cc 30 & 31 gauge short (Walmart brand)
BD Ultra fine 3/10cc short
Terumo Thinpro Insulin Syringe 31G 3/10cc
Would be good to have them as I think he might be on 0.25 soon. I am loving these numbers and hope he keeps it up so his pancreas can heal.
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:Yep those are the relions I mentioned. The staff there dont seem to always know that the syringes have the half unit markings on them though.
Wendy&Tiggy said:Hold the dose for a few days and if we dont see greens etc again we can increase back to 0.75.. however it looks like he might be clearing a bounce so you might see some later today.
However I am thinking you might want to post on the lantus board.That board has lots of very experienced dosing members on it and is a great sense of community.Since you are now up to speed with testing etc I think they will really be able to advise you better on dosing etc. I post there myself every day or two to get their eyes on my cats.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9
Here’s how to post:
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos" (short for condition report, or the home you live in and the cat trees some people have)
Subject line: The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 08/17 Lucky AMPS 400 +2 333 + 5 224. You add a ? icon if you have a question. You should update your subject line in the very first post for the day as you get a reading, or whenever you have a question. For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!
Contents: The contents of your post have a quick update on how your cat is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today Lucky was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But he is peeing a lot and his BG is really high. Should I increase the dose?
There is no rush to post there. I like to suggest that people go over to their insulin specific support group and check it out. Read the Stickies at the top of the Topics section. Read a few condos posted by other members. Get a feel for how the forum works. See if you think it would be a good fit for you.
But you are always welcome to post here in the Feline Health forum for as long as you want.
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:Lets see where he is, if he isn't rising you could skip but be prepared for a big number tomorrow. I think it wold be better to shoot though as you want to maintain momentum if you can.. Plus you have shot low before now, anything over 150 and a promise of a test at +2 and you are good to go.
Wendy&Tiggy said:Got another test yet?
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 (blue, green) before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit. Your average nadirs fall in this range so I would have held the dose longer, esp since it was only 5 cycles before you increased.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 (yellow) increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 (pink, red black) increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose. Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Wendy&Tiggy said:Hows things going? I saw you jumped the dose up - and back down. I dont know if he was ready for a dose increase - did the tight regulation board or your vet recommend it to you?
Heres normal protocol which tells me I would have held the dose for 5 days before increasing.. See bold. I would take him back to 0.5 and hold the dose longer to see
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 (blue, green) before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit. Your average nadirs fall in this range so I would have held the dose longer, esp since it was only 5 cycles before you increased.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 (yellow) increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 (pink, red black) increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose. Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:I would hold the 0.75 for now - since he is rising you are fine to shoot - just maybe get a +2
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:I think you need to get more data before making an increase, it looks to me like he is bouncing up and down and I want to know how low he is going that is triggering the bounce.
0.5 might even be too much. Can you get some more mid cycle tests in? This morning he was high but I bet its a bounce and he will come down soon, so I would get a +6 and maybe every 2-3hours after that if he is dropping.
If you can get a +6 today let me know and I can say when I think the next test should be . If we do that for a few days we might catch the low.. Deal?
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:Every time you see a green or blue followed by a day or two of pinks and Reds you gotta wonder ..bounce.
Yesterday morning you got a 75 at preshot. Was that the lowest he went? Unlikely... unlikley that you happened to catch the low given the limited testing . So he probably went lower than that, maybe even below 50 and then bounced.
And then today I see two reds. Did he stay red all day or did he drop too low midday and bounce up again? Both scenarios are equally likely. A +6 might well show the low.. Or he could still be bouncing. We will see..
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:If he dropped I actually suspect between PMPS and +6 because he started to rise after +6.
Wendy&Tiggy said:Any chance of some mid cycle tests the next few days? I am wondering if a dose change is needed or if Lucky is dropping low during the day..
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:So as I said above, his numbers the last few days looked good except when you skipped the shot.He is bouncing into pink a little but thats totally normal and over time the bouncing stops and remission can occur. he is spending more time blue and green which is great!!
But you had to skip this morning because he was too low.. so how do you handle that? Well we have ways...
1. Stall. Remember you dont feed for 2 hours before a shot? Well this is why because now you know he doesnt have food in his system so any bloo dsugar changes are due to his body and not the food. So say you get this low preshot number.. wait 30 minutes and dont feed or shoot. And if the number goes up then you shoot. If its going down then see below. You can keep waiting as long as it takes for the BG to rise but remmeber the next shot has to be 12 hours after you shoot so it can impact your schedule.
AND/OR
2. Shoot a reduced dose - go with half the normal dose instead. just make sure you get a test in 2 hours to make sure he isnt dropping too fast
Read this but if in doubt - come onto the lantus board and we will help you through it - even stay up with you at night if need be: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:There is no such thing as too many questions!! Ask away!
If you can't be home and he's low, then skip for now. But over time you will get enough data to know if you can shoot and go out, shoot a low dose, or have to skip. Unless he goes into remission before then if course. If we can get the dose right then that's always a possibility.. And this current dose is looking good.
I will be ready to welcome you on lantus land. Remember its pretty much everyone you have met here, and more!
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:I just love cats. Crazy cat lady. And I love when a cat goes into remission, or if not, when he feel better and perkier and we have added another member to the community..
Wendy
Ceebats said:....5ml...
My vet is not pleased that I am not using AlphaTrak, and is concerned that I changed his dosage from 1ml, based on the human glucometer. But I know from everything I have learned on this board, that he was dropping much too low when he was getting 1ml....