New member joined 9/29/2020

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy & Bocephus cat

Member Since 2020
Hello I'm Wendy and my sugar cat is Bocephus. Vet's estimate about 6 -7 years old & he weighs 7.12 lbs. He showed up on our land on August 17 & wasn't claimed by anyone. He had a ulcerated paw pad, broken tooth, & extremely thin. I took him to the rural vet near by and he was neutered, vaccinated, and given a depo medrol injection for the ulcerated pad. Two weeks later a 2nd injection and I noticed a increase in water intake and then two weeks later a 3rd injection and even more water consumption and the amount of urine skyrocketed & barely any improvement on the paw pad. This vet felt he couldn't do much more for us and suggested a 2nd opinion at a larger clinic. So on 9/25 we went to the new vet & he was started on Doxycycline for the paw pad and unfortunately he was diagnosed with diabetes (Numbers over 550 if needed). I was given Vetsulin with a kit with needles & used syringe storage & told to inject 1.5 units after feeding in the am and pm. This Friday he is due back for a recheck on the glucose and if under 300 they want to do laser surgery on his paw. So this is our story and we've already been searching the wonderful information provided here.
 
Hello and welcome!

Depo medrol is a steroid, so it's possible it's steroid-induced. Fingers crossed, because that's a lot easier to fix!

I don't care for Vetsulin for cats, it has a short-duration and is pretty rough on their little bodies. I would consider switching him to a better insulin, once you get all the basics absorbed and have time to breathe. Scritches for Bocephus!

Are you home-testing any, something you'd like to start doing? 1.5u is a high starting dose so you want to keep him safe.

Some notes on Vetsulin in case your vet hasn't filled you in:

Feed, wait 30 minutes, THEN give insulin. Food must be on-board first!
Give snacks of his food every hour for the first few hours, about 3-5. This will slow the drop of BG from the fast onset of insulin.
Pre-shots are usually high with Vetsulin, this is because of the short duration and the notorious habit of it dropping the BG too fast, then causing the body to protect itself by dumping excess glucose into the bloodstream, making it look like they have high blood sugar.

There's a lot to learn, don't want to overwhelm you but let us know if you have any questions! :)
 
WELCOME TO FDMB Wendy and Bocephus! We are glad you found us. Like Elizabeth said, this could be a case of steroid induced diabetes. If so it may be reversible. LETS HOPE!

In the mean time you may want to start here :
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

We are a community of kitty loving folks, all battling the same disease Feline Diabetes. Theres a wealth of information here with really fine people, that want to help you learn to navigate this disease, to give Bocephus the best chance to feel his very best and give you peace of mind. We strive to thrive.

WELCOME TO OUR FAMILY!:bighug:
jeanne
 
Last edited:
QUOTE="Panic, post: 2646893, member: 27026"]Hello and welcome!

Depo medrol is a steroid, so it's possible it's steroid-induced. Fingers crossed, because that's a lot easier to fix!

I don't care for Vetsulin for cats, it has a short-duration and is pretty rough on their little bodies. I would consider switching him to a better insulin, once you get all the basics absorbed and have time to breathe. Scritches for Bocephus!

Are you home-testing any, something you'd like to start doing? 1.5u is a high starting dose so you want to keep him safe.

Some notes on Vetsulin in case your vet hasn't filled you in:

Feed, wait 30 minutes, THEN give insulin. Food must be on-board first!
Give snacks of his food every hour for the first few hours, about 3-5. This will slow the drop of BG from the fast onset of insulin.
Pre-shots are usually high with Vetsulin, this is because of the short duration and the notorious habit of it dropping the BG too fast, then causing the body to protect itself by dumping excess glucose into the bloodstream, making it look like they have high blood sugar.

There's a lot to learn, don't want to overwhelm you but let us know if you have any questions! :)[/QUOTE]
Hello and welcome!

Depo medrol is a steroid, so it's possible it's steroid-induced. Fingers crossed, because that's a lot easier to fix!

I don't care for Vetsulin for cats, it has a short-duration and is pretty rough on their little bodies. I would consider switching him to a better insulin, once you get all the basics absorbed and have time to breathe. Scritches for Bocephus!

Are you home-testing any, something you'd like to start doing? 1.5u is a high starting dose so you want to keep him safe.

Some notes on Vetsulin in case your vet hasn't filled you in:

Feed, wait 30 minutes, THEN give insulin. Food must be on-board first!
Give snacks of his food every hour for the first few hours, about 3-5. This will slow the drop of BG from the fast onset of insulin.
Pre-shots are usually high with Vetsulin, this is because of the short duration and the notorious habit of it dropping the BG too fast, then causing the body to protect itself by dumping excess glucose into the bloodstream, making it look like they have high blood sugar.

There's a lot to learn, don't want to overwhelm you but let us know if you have any questions! :)
Hello and may I just say I'm on the verge of a nervous break down but only on the verge because I can already tell y'all got me and it's going to be better eventually. I can only get in the group from my phone because I dropped my laptop so it's hard to read and respond so I apologise for any rules I may be breaking. I will get better at this too.
So no the vet just said feed him and then give the insulin so I didn't know to wait 30 minutes.
I'm trying hard to help this little old kitty but I'm really starting to question if I was a saving angel or I'm the grem reaper. We have not been home testing but I will be trying to do my first one before insulin this evening. We just got back from vet for recheck and it was 517 so I left crying again. I know it's probably not that high because he gets so stressed going into the carrier and traveling the 30 minutes there but it was still devastating.
He hasn't had insulin or food/water since 7pm last night because they wanted him to fast and if they had been under 300 he would of had surgery on his foot but we are back home and I just fed him and gave him water. She said feed and give insulin but if I give it now it's almost 3hours later than normal and then it's off for the night and going forward???
 
WELCOME TO FDMB Wendy and Bocephus! We are glad you found us. Like Elizabeth said, this could be a case of steroid induced diabetes. If so it may be reversible. LETS HOPE!

In the mean time you may want to start here :
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

We are a community of kitty loving folks, all battling the same disease Feline Diabetes. Theres a wealth of information here with really fine people, that want to help you learn to navigate this disease, to give Bocephus the best chance to feel his very best and gibve you peace of mind. We strive to thrive.

WELCOME TO OUR FAMILY!:bighug:
jeanne
Thank you and I will definitely read up and I'm trying to get my act together so I can really benefit from the group. I broke my laptop and I'm struggling to do it with my phone but I need y'all so I can help Bocephus.
 
No rules being broken here! Bocephus is young so I'd say you're a saving angel. ;) Believe me, my little girl was 4 lbs of just bones and she did a 180 once we got her on the right insulin, food, and started testing. If I left it up to my vet she was going to be giving her 5 units of dog insulin 3 times a day, she would have killed her!

First off that 517 isn't anything shocking. Stress affects BG and a vet visit is VERY stressful. Most new diabetics are in the 500s for a long time before they get under control, there is nothing unusual about that.

I don't know anything about being under a certain BG number to be well enough for surgery ... being below 300 at a doctor's office even for a regulated cat doesn't sound easy to achieve. BG can go up 200 points from a vet visit alone soooo a non-diabetic cat could easily be near 300. @Wendy&Neko do you know anything about cats not being allowed in laser surgery if BG is over 300? Seems a lot to expect out of a new diabetic.

Wait until this evening to shoot so you're not off-schedule okay? Remember what I said about the waiting 30 minutes after food. I'm going to list some items and info for you to sort through so you can have some homework and actually start taking charge of everything and getting him better, okay?

Insulin:

You are going to have a terrible time on Vetsulin unfortunately. It's designed for dogs, doesn't last very long at ALL (so I really don't know how the vet expects you to get him under 300 for surgery). and makes a lot of cats feel cruddy because of the wide swing in BG it causes. Show your vet the 2018 AAHA Diabetic Guidelines for Dogs and Cats, something ALL vet clinics should know about, and say you want to switch him to a species-appropriate insulin, Prozinc or Lantus. Lantus is gold-standard and actually cheaper than Prozinc or Vetsulin in the long run. We purchase it from Marks Marine Pharmacy out of Canada, buy them in 5-packs of pens. Get a script and order from them, it's much too expensive to buy in the US. The pens are $165 + overnight shipping and will last you 1-2 years. Much cheaper than Vetsulin or Prozinc, and has the highest remission rate.

Hometesting Kit:

Hometesting Tips and Tricks
ReliOn Prime glucometer - $9
ReliOn Prime test strips - $18 for 100
ReliOn Lancets 26 G (or 28 if unavailable) - $1-2 for 100
ReliOn Lancing Device (optional) - $5
Travel-size Vaseline - $1
Neosporin Ointment + Pain Relief (ointment only, NOT cream) - $6
Cotton Pads (optional) - $2
Rice Sock or Pill bottle w/ warm water (optional) - homemade

You can use any kind of human meter, however the one listed above is Walmart brand and has the cheapest strips available. Same goes for lancets. You do not need a lancing device if you prefer to poke freehand, it's just personal preference. Vaseline is for helping the ear to bead up, neosporin is for helping the ear to heal/prevent bruising after the poke. Just a little dab of each. Cotton pads are optional, some people like to use them as backing so not to poke themselves, then to hold the ear a moment after to prevent bruising and stop bleeding. You can use a paper towel or your fingers if you prefer. Rice socks can be used in the microwave a few seconds to heat up and rub on the ear to draw the blood to the ear; it can also be used as backing when poking the ear. A pill bottle with warm water in it is another alternative to warm the ear, whichever thing you prefer to use.

Hypo Kit Supplies:

Hypo Kit Toolbox
Karo Syrup - $3
Ketone Test Strips (Ketostix) - $6
A few cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Marinated Morsels/Sliced in Gravy/Grilled in Gravy varieties - $0.60 each (these are your medium-carb cans)
A few cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers/Medleys Tuscany/Medleys Gravy in Sauce varieties - $0.60 each (these are your high-carb cans)

Medium Carb is 11-15%
High Carb is 16%+

You can also search through the catinfo chart while you're at the store to check which cans available are the ones you need. They don't HAVE to be Fancy Feast but they're fairly easy to find.
 
Last edited:
No rules being broken here! Bocephus is young so I'd say you're a saving angel. ;) Believe me, my little girl was 4 lbs of just bones and she did a 180 once we got her on the right insulin, food, and started testing. If I left it up to my vet she was going to be giving her 5 units of dog insulin 3 times a day, she would have killed her! If I ever forget to say thank you always know I can never express my gratitude for this group and your calming me in my time of complete break down. Thank you

First off that 517 isn't anything shocking. Stress affects BG and a vet visit is VERY stressful. Most new diabetics are in the 500s for a long time before they get under control, there is nothing unusual about that. I feel much better about it now.

I don't know anything about being under a certain BG number to be well enough for surgery ... being below 300 at a doctor's office even for a regulated cat doesn't sound easy to achieve. BG can go up 200 points from a vet visit alone soooo a non-diabetic cat could easily be near 300. @Wendy&Neko do you know anything about cats not being allowed in laser surgery if BG is over 300? Seems a lot to expect out of a new diabetic. She didn't specify a reason just stated she'd like to wait until he's under 300 being better controlled before putting him under (honestly I'm ok with waiting for surgery.. praying the doxy heals it and we can avoid another major procedure and anesthesia. I'm sure his numbers weren't that high if stress elevates them because he absolutely hates the cat carrier and trip over there. He pants, paces, claws the carrier and cries the entire 30 min trip.

Wait until this evening to shoot so you're not off-schedule okay? Remember what I said about the waiting 30 minutes after food. I'm going to list some items and info for you to sort through so you can have some homework and actually start taking charge of everything and getting him better, okay? I did hold off on that dose so I can stick to regular schedule and this time I will wait the 30 min after he eats.

Insulin:

You are going to have a terrible time on Vetsulin unfortunately. It's designed for dogs, doesn't last very long at ALL (so I really don't know how the vet expects you to get him under 300 for surgery). and makes a lot of cats feel cruddy because of the wide swing in BG it causes. Show your vet the 2018 AAHA Diabetic Guidelines for Dogs and Cats, something ALL vet clinics should know about, and say you want to switch him to a species-appropriate insulin, Prozinc or Lantus. Lantus is gold-standard and actually cheaper than Prozinc or Vetsulin in the long run. We purchase it from Marks Marine Pharmacy out of Canada, buy them in 5-packs of pens. Get a script and order from them, it's much too expensive to buy in the US. The pens are $165 + overnight shipping and will last you 1-2 years. Much cheaper than Vetsulin or Prozinc, and has the highest remission rate. (I love vets and respect everything they do.. but such a shame to need to point out AAHA guidelines or be left feeling uncertain but I learned years ago when my beloved Angel Max dog had renal failure that sometimes they are not up to date on what is the best treatment and sometimes they forget each patient is different so I don't mind discussing the change with her. I will go ahead and put a call in but it will probably be Monday before she responds for a change in type. Thank you for the detailed explanation and pharmacy info.

Hometesting Kit:

Hometesting Tips and Tricks
ReliOn Prime glucometer - $9
ReliOn Prime test strips - $18 for 100
ReliOn Lancets 26 G (or 28 if unavailable) - $1-2 for 100
ReliOn Lancing Device (optional) - $5
Travel-size Vaseline - $1
Neosporin Ointment + Pain Relief (ointment only, NOT cream) - $6
Cotton Pads (optional) - $2
Rice Sock or Pill bottle w/ warm water (optional) - homemade

You can use any kind of human meter, however the one listed above is Walmart brand and has the cheapest strips available. Same goes for lancets. You do not need a lancing device if you prefer to poke freehand, it's just personal preference. Vaseline is for helping the ear to bead up, neosporin is for helping the ear to heal/prevent bruising after the poke. Just a little dab of each. Cotton pads are optional, some people like to use them as backing so not to poke themselves, then to hold the ear a moment after to prevent bruising and stop bleeding. You can use a paper towel or your fingers if you prefer. Rice socks can be used in the microwave a few seconds to heat up and rub on the ear to draw the blood to the ear; it can also be used as backing when poking the ear. A pill bottle with warm water in it is another alternative to warm the ear, whichever thing you prefer to use.

Hypo Kit Supplies:

Hypo Kit Toolbox
Karo Syrup - $3 (On hand and in date)
Ketone Test Strips (Ketostix) - $6 (Ordered)
A few cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Marinated Morsels/Sliced in Gravy/Grilled in Gravy varieties - $0.60 each (these are your medium-carb cans) Always on hand (it's what my other two cats eat.. is that terrible
A few cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers/Medleys Tuscany/Medleys Gravy in Sauce varieties - $0.60 each (these are your high-carb cans) Always on hand (it's what my other two cats eat.. is that terrible

Medium Carb is 11-15%
High Carb is 16%+

You can also search through the catinfo chart while you're at the store to check which cans available are the ones you need. They don't HAVE to be Fancy Feast but they're fairly easy to find.
Awesome thank you.. I've been reading the sticky notes and trying to get my act together but this really helps when folks are so overwhelmed.
 
No worries at all and no thanks needed, we know you're appreciative!

If the surgery isn't MANDATORY and the doxy can hopefully cure it on its own I wouldn't be stressed much ... I can't really see you guys getting under 300 at a clinic anytime soon, especially with Vetsulin. Sounds like it'll be back-burnered.

It is a shame but as you've seen with your pupper, there's just too many diseases and aniimal species for a general practitioner to be up to date on them all ... it's sad, I wish there were more specialists but we have what we have. At least the AAHA guidelines exist, they can't argue the paper like they can "internet strangers".

Always on hand (it's what my other two cats eat.. is that terrible
LOL no, my cats were all on cheap dry food with 40% carbs ... it was a nightmare switching some of those cats over. Some would only eat the gravy before I could convince them to try pates.

Awesome thank you.. I've been reading the sticky notes and trying to get my act together but this really helps when folks are so overwhelmed.
There is a lot of information scattered throughout the site, it's difficult to compile it all together on top of the stress of learning it all, so I try to keep it all in one post to prevent needing to flip-flop around. Happy to help. :bighug:
 
It's extremely common to be overwhelmed at first. :bighug: It's a steep learning but we all made it through and you've got lots of people willing to help you help your kitty.
@Wendy&Neko do you know anything about cats not being allowed in laser surgery if BG is over 300? Seems a lot to expect out of a new diabetic.
I don't know if there is anything specifically about laser surgery. Some vets aren't comfortable giving anaesthesia to unregulated diabetic cats, maybe this vet is not experienced in that too?
 
dont know ONE person that has come here not stressed out, not scared not confused not at a loss. WE ALL HAVE BEEN THERE!
This is exactly why we do what we do. Its a completely volunteer group. Heck many of us havent had a diabetic cat in years. I'm one of them.
Like I said you've landed in a safe place. We gotz your back!;):bighug:
 
It's extremely common to be overwhelmed at first. :bighug: It's a steep learning but we all made it through and you've got lots of people willing to help you help your kitty.

I don't know if there is anything specifically about laser surgery. Some vets aren't comfortable giving anaesthesia to unregulated diabetic cats, maybe this vet is not experienced in that too?
I think you are right. She did mention that he's already had a lot of shock to his system with vaccinations, anesthesia for neuter, pain control meds, depo medrol steroid injections, now doxycycline and insulin so I guess it's just him not being regulated.
 
dont know ONE person that has come here not stressed out, not scared not confused not at a loss. WE ALL HAVE BEEN THERE!
This is exactly why we do what we do. Its a completely volunteer group. Heck many of us havent had a diabetic cat in years. I'm one of them.
Like I said you've landed in a safe place. We gotz your back!;):bighug:
I couldn't have said it better because I've definitely landed in the right place.
 
Hello I'm Wendy and my sugar cat is Bocephus. Vet's estimate about 6 -7 years old & he weighs 7.12 lbs. He showed up on our land on August 17 & wasn't claimed by anyone. He had a ulcerated paw pad, broken tooth, & extremely thin. I took him to the rural vet near by and he was neutered, vaccinated, and given a depo medrol injection for the ulcerated pad. Two weeks later a 2nd injection and I noticed a increase in water intake and then two weeks later a 3rd injection and even more water consumption and the amount of urine skyrocketed & barely any improvement on the paw pad. This vet felt he couldn't do much more for us and suggested a 2nd opinion at a larger clinic. So on 9/25 we went to the new vet & he was started on Doxycycline for the paw pad and unfortunately he was diagnosed with diabetes (Numbers over 550 if needed). I was given Vetsulin with a kit with needles & used syringe storage & told to inject 1.5 units after feeding in the am and pm. This Friday he is due back for a recheck on the glucose and if under 300 they want to do laser surgery on his paw. So this is our story and we've already been searching the wonderful information provided here.
Hi Wendy. Bosephus is very handsome. Where did his name come from? I hope his paw gets better soon. Then maybe if you switch to a low-carb food, he will go into remission.
 
Hi Wendy. Bosephus is very handsome. Where did his name come from? I hope his paw gets better soon. Then maybe if you switch to a low-carb food, he will go into remission.
Hello and thank you. He is a very loving guy. Chloe is beautiful (we have a hen named Chloe). Where did his name come from.. Oh goodness we were trying to find a name for him and started a list that got out of control and we couldn't seem to narrow it down. My husband said just call him Bocephus and when he said Boceophus the little guy walked over a did the head bump into his leg. Husband was joking but we stuck with it.
 
No worries at all and no thanks needed, we know you're appreciative!

If the surgery isn't MANDATORY and the doxy can hopefully cure it on its own I wouldn't be stressed much ... I can't really see you guys getting under 300 at a clinic anytime soon, especially with Vetsulin. Sounds like it'll be back-burnered.

It is a shame but as you've seen with your pupper, there's just too many diseases and aniimal species for a general practitioner to be up to date on them all ... it's sad, I wish there were more specialists but we have what we have. At least the AAHA guidelines exist, they can't argue the paper like they can "internet strangers".


LOL no, my cats were all on cheap dry food with 40% carbs ... it was a nightmare switching some of those cats over. Some would only eat the gravy before I could convince them to try pates.


There is a lot of information scattered throughout the site, it's difficult to compile it all together on top of the stress of learning it all, so I try to keep it all in one post to prevent needing to flip-flop around. Happy to help. :bighug:
So the plan was to test last night using my husband's meter but the strips filled filled by the pharmacy were the wrong ones:banghead: so fast forward all is sorted out and we finally got to test before he ate dinner and currently waiting the 30 minutes to shoot. He was 394. I think I updated the spreadsheet correctly. Hubby did it and I held & loved on him and in the morning we will swap so both get comfortable with it. We picked up all FF pate using the chart and a few flaked kinds and the keto test strips.
Just wanted to update you. I've shown my Husband the group and info so we're on the same page. Hugs from Bocephus
 
Hello it's a new week! So I spoke with his vet in-depth this morning and she was very supportive of making a switch to Lantus. She called in a script to a local pharmacy they use often for a single pen just to get him started & she'll give me a script to use for the Canadian pharmacy (she was also familiar with it) as long as he doesn't have any negative reaction to the Lantus which she doesn't think he will. She wants me to come by once I pick it up and they will show me how to get it into syringes and go over any questions or concerns. So we're switching insulin, he's only eating FF classics (3 cans per day), and we're home testing amps and pmps and at random times in between and once going on the Lantus we'll do a curve. :)
 
Congrats! Keeper Vet alert!
I think so too! I only wish they had emergency service or had someone there all the time. As I solve one issue I get smacked with another (don't we all). My husband's elderly parents live in another state and because of Covid he hasn't seen them since Christmas and we always go there Thanksgiving and Christmas as they are unable to come to us. I never even thought about what will I do for Bocephus while we're gone? The vet does boarding but nobody is there at night and basically a technician comes by to give meds but that's it:confused: so now to figure this out.
 
That is excellent news!!! Glad your vet is on board with Lantus (and familiar with Marks!!).

Some people ask their vet techs if they'll come by and give insulin on the side for cash. I left my girl at a trusted friend's who could test, though an option could be putting a libre meter on kitty as well!
 
That is excellent news!!! Glad your vet is on board with Lantus (and familiar with Marks!!).

Some people ask their vet techs if they'll come by and give insulin on the side for cash. I left my girl at a trusted friend's who could test, though an option could be putting a libre meter on kitty as well!
I'm going to ask all of the techs when I go in tomorrow unfortunately I live in the country and it's 30 - 45 to anything considered city life so I'm guessing none of them are going to jump at it but I have all month to get something worked out and a few weeks to spare just in caseo_O at worse case I board him despite not loving the plan or worse we drive 6+ hours with a screaming cat/litter box/ and 3 dogs:eek::nailbiting: oh my
 
Hello it's a new week! So I spoke with his vet in-depth this morning and she was very supportive of making a switch to Lantus. She called in a script to a local pharmacy they use often for a single pen just to get him started & she'll give me a script to use for the Canadian pharmacy (she was also familiar with it) as long as he doesn't have any negative reaction to the Lantus which she doesn't think he will. She wants me to come by once I pick it up and they will show me how to get it into syringes and go over any questions or concerns. So we're switching insulin, he's only eating FF classics (3 cans per day), and we're home testing amps and pmps and at random times in between and once going on the Lantus we'll do a curve. :)
Excellent!!!!!
upload_2020-10-5_18-8-0.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-10-5_18-8-0.png
    upload_2020-10-5_18-8-0.png
    73.5 KB · Views: 239
I wasn't sure if I should start a new thread but his AMPS was 504 and it's the first reading like that with home testing. This is day two on Lantus so I'm trying not to freak out. Just looking for reassurance I guess.
If it helps to know this
  • We are on a 6am/6pm schedule
  • He was on 1.5U of Vetsulin from 9/25 to 10/6
  • Started on Lantus 1U on 10/7 at 6am
 
Yes PLEASE start a new thread add looking for reassurance (lantus) or something like that. You will get more eyes that way;)

Just so's ya know you can start a new thread at any time. The site like to keep threads at 50 posts Other wise it takes forever to rwead through them.
 
Be patient, it takes time for the Lantus depot to build, usually 5-7 days when first starting with a long acting insulin. Try and get a mid cycle test once each cycle if you can. Any data is good data. Please do post over on the Lantus, Basalgar and Lev sub-forum when you are ready. We have two dosing methods that you should try and read up on, it will help us in giving dose advice to you.

Dosing Methods

And it gets busy over there sometimes, so some more tips...

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-26-psa-please-read.231511/
 
Be patient, it takes time for the Lantus depot to build, usually 5-7 days when first starting with a long acting insulin. Try and get a mid cycle test once each cycle if you can. Any data is good data. Please do post over on the Lantus, Basalgar and Lev sub-forum when you are ready. We have two dosing methods that you should try and read up on, it will help us in giving dose advice to you.

Dosing Methods

And it gets busy over there sometimes, so some more tips...

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-26-psa-please-read.231511/
Thank you I was just disappointed to see it like that and needed a little assurance. I'm about to test him again at the 3 hour mark so hopefully it will be down some.
 
On your other post, here...I did mention it seemed that 1.5u would be a better starting dose, but let's see how we go.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-amps-438-need-guidance.236449/#post-2651956
Yes and after that 504 I was saying maybe I should have used the 1.5. I read the dosing sticky multiple times and my head is still spinning. How did you link that post? I remember reading to do it and how but then I couldn't find where I read it. Just so much info all at once
 
Let's see how this dose plays out, you need to wait and watch for a few more days. I can also see why 1u was appealing. Don't worry, he'll get there. For the linking, I'm on my iPad is it is a little harder, I have to have the page open in a separate window, select the URL and copy, then come back to the post I am in, and paste, if that makes any sense :)
 
Let's see how this dose plays out, you need to wait and watch for a few more days. I can also see why 1u was appealing. Don't worry, he'll get there. For the linking, I'm on my iPad is it is a little harder, I have to have the page open in a separate window, select the URL and copy, then come back to the post I am in, and paste, if that makes any sense :)
Yes I that makes since I'm on my phone so it makes everything a little difficult. I just did a +3 test it's 204.
 
That's a good drop, how do you feel about getting another test, maybe +5? Are you giving some snacks between meals? Might be good to feed a little snack now, 1 tsp of FF if you haven't yet.
I tested last night at +5 I think it was so I decided to get the +3 tonight but I can stay up and get a +5 if needed. I do feed in between meals and I did just feed him a little snack after checking it. He was use to free feeding prior to the diabetes so we're still adjusting to not being able to do that anymore.
 
Tonight's cycle seems to me to be where you will see some action, he came down a lot from PMPS to +3, so if it were me I'd check at +5. He's still in safe numbers, but we want to try and see how much further he is dropping. I wouldn't suggest unnecessary tests, if he didn't seem to be doing anything I wouldn't ask. Glad to hear he gets snacks, I wasn't sure when although I see in your remarks on your SS that he gets in between meals.
 
Tonight's cycle seems to me to be where you will see some action, he came down a lot from PMPS to +3, so if it were me I'd check at +5. He's still in safe numbers, but we want to try and see how much further he is dropping. I wouldn't suggest unnecessary tests, if he didn't seem to be doing anything I wouldn't ask. Glad to hear he gets snacks, I wasn't sure when although I see in your remarks on your SS that he gets in between meals.
Gotcha I will test at +5 and see where he's at. I'm still figuring out a schedule for snacks I guess I need to get a auto feeder. For now I use 1can and split it into 2 snacks between the am/pm meals (making sure to not feed 2hours before pm meal) and the rest of that can I feed before I go to bed.
Thank you for your help tonight
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top