JesseTheCat
Member Since 2022
Hello, I'm new to the forum with Jesse, but I was a member 10+ years ago with another diabetic cat who I never was able to regulate.
Jesse was diagnosed back in October, but I did not do home testing for multiple reasons. I trusted my vet, and I decided to be more relaxed with Jesse, who is a very neurotic cat. He was a stray, and is afraid of everything, but he is super sweet. His ear tips are damaged from frostbite, so testing would be difficult. But that being said, I learned my lesson because he was Hypo last Friday and now we are trying to figure out his dosing.
We were at 4 units of Vetsulin twice a day for months. We went in last Friday for a normal fructosamine test, that came back low (189), so the vet dropped his dose to 3 units, and his blood work was sent to the lab. The vet left a message the next day that his blood glucose was real low and to skip the next 2 shots, and then give him 3 units.
On Tuesday (after a long holiday weekend), I found out from the vet that his BG was 39 on Friday! I immediately bought a glucose meter and checked his BG, which was 68 +12 (skipped shot), and 164 +24 (skipped shot). Last night, +36 he was 264, and the vet dropped him to 2 units. This morning he was 103, +12. So we are skipping the next 3 shots, and the vet wants me to check his BG every 6 hours. She is thinking we will drop him to 1 unit, but she wants to give him a rest and see what BG is at that point.
Jesse showed no obvious signs of hypo. The only subtle signs were that he was hiding, which could have been normal because we have company, and he peed inappropriately. Today he is out more, playing and preening. At 2 pm, I will check him again. We are lucky.
Looking for guidance and support. I never had low or even normal sugar readings with my old cat. I am hoping that Jesse is on his way to healing. He has had a hard life.
Thank you!
Jesse was diagnosed back in October, but I did not do home testing for multiple reasons. I trusted my vet, and I decided to be more relaxed with Jesse, who is a very neurotic cat. He was a stray, and is afraid of everything, but he is super sweet. His ear tips are damaged from frostbite, so testing would be difficult. But that being said, I learned my lesson because he was Hypo last Friday and now we are trying to figure out his dosing.
We were at 4 units of Vetsulin twice a day for months. We went in last Friday for a normal fructosamine test, that came back low (189), so the vet dropped his dose to 3 units, and his blood work was sent to the lab. The vet left a message the next day that his blood glucose was real low and to skip the next 2 shots, and then give him 3 units.
On Tuesday (after a long holiday weekend), I found out from the vet that his BG was 39 on Friday! I immediately bought a glucose meter and checked his BG, which was 68 +12 (skipped shot), and 164 +24 (skipped shot). Last night, +36 he was 264, and the vet dropped him to 2 units. This morning he was 103, +12. So we are skipping the next 3 shots, and the vet wants me to check his BG every 6 hours. She is thinking we will drop him to 1 unit, but she wants to give him a rest and see what BG is at that point.
Jesse showed no obvious signs of hypo. The only subtle signs were that he was hiding, which could have been normal because we have company, and he peed inappropriately. Today he is out more, playing and preening. At 2 pm, I will check him again. We are lucky.
Looking for guidance and support. I never had low or even normal sugar readings with my old cat. I am hoping that Jesse is on his way to healing. He has had a hard life.
Thank you!

