New Member (Jan 10, 2022) – very underweight cat with IBD diagnosed with steroid-induced diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

kxk34

Member Since 2022
Hi! My name is Kaitlyn and my cat Fuzzy was diagnosed with steroid-induced diabetes last Thursday (January 6, 2022). Fuzzy started taking prednisolone (8mg daily) to treat severe IBD on December 9, 2021.

Fuzzy is estimated to be about 13-14 years old, but at least one vet has speculated that she may be older. Because of her IBD she is currently extremely underweight, with her weight fluctuating between 3.7 and 4.0 lbs during this past week and trending downward overall. She has always been a very petite cat, weighing between 6-7 lbs consistently throughout the years, so the sustained weight loss since summer has had a dramatic impact.

After browsing through some of the posts here Fuzzy seems to be a rather atypical case so I'm going to first get into some background information about her health the past 9 months to give the full context of her diagnosis and our concerns and reservations about how we should proceed.


Background:

Fuzzy has had a rough time the past several months. The last vet appointment before she started losing weight was May 11, 2021 and at that time she weighed 5.9 lbs which was consistent with her recorded weights over the 7-8 months prior. Over the summer, we noticed she had been more withdrawn so we brought her in to the vet and learned that she had lost some weight and that she had an ear infection. Unfortunately, the antibiotic she was prescribed made her very nauseous so her eating became pickier and eventually got to the point where we could barely get her to eat as we were trying to figure out what was going on with her in the early fall. During that period, our vet had us giving her mirataz nearly daily.

We finally got a diagnosis of IBD in November after several sets of special tests. She began treatment for IBD in mid-November. At that time, she switched to a fully hydrolyzed protein diet of both canned wet food and dry food. At first the abrupt diet change upset her stomach, but she quickly regained her appetite and now happily eats throughout the day. She also began receiving metronidazole daily as well as weekly B12 injections.

Towards the end of this pre-IBD diagnosis period, things got very scary because her mobility started worsening out of nowhere to the point where she could barely walk due to incredibly poor balance, in addition to having clear neurological symptoms (e.g., pronounced head tilt, leaning, circling, etc.). We believe that these symptoms were due to a thiamine deficiency caused by the prolonged period of recurring hyporexia/anorexia and issues with absorption from food due to GI inflammation. Based on this belief, she started getting a Vitamin B complex supplemental injection intramuscularly (daily for 10 days, then reduced to 2-3x weekly) and this helped noticeably within the first 24 hours. Since starting the injections she has regained the ability to walk and stand on her own (though she still wobbles) and no longer has the neurological symptoms.

Unfortunately, she has continued to lose weight. In light of this, she started taking prednisolone (8mg daily) on December 9, 2021 to treat GI inflammation with the hope that it would help her put on weight. Her weight stabilized somewhat around 4.3 lbs for a week or so but then began to decline again the past week. This has been very hard on us emotionally because other than her worsening body condition her quality of life has improved dramatically since starting treatment for IBD and receiving her vitamin B complex supplement injections. Her appetite has been great, she’s been eating and drinking readily, and since regaining her mobility she has been in great spirits overall. She’s been spending a lot of time with us and is as bright and sweet as ever after which has been really special to see after witnessing her become more withdrawn during the time period where she was having issues walking (October/November 2021).

She had started to have a good appetite prior to receiving the steroid, but definitely started eating and drinking more afterwards. We were told this is normal so we aren't sure whether there were any changes in these behaviors that may indicate when exactly the diabetes came into the picture. The only other (presumed) side effect we've noticed is hair loss on her ears and on the side of her nose near her eyes. The vet said this can happen with steroids.


Diabetes Diagnosis:

Last week, we wanted to do a urinalysis just to be safe after we noticed some odd behavior going to the litter box one day. We collected a free-catch urine sample on January 4, 2022 and the results showed that she had glucose in her urine. On January 6, 2022 the vet diagnosed her with steroid-induced diabetes based on the previous urinalysis results coupled with a value of 452 on the glucometer during her visit that day. Given these results, we reduced her prednisolone amount to 5mg daily. Today she went back to the vet for her injections and they checked her blood sugar with the glucometer again and got a value of 310.

We ordered a glucometer starter kit (that has not arrived yet), but have not started her on any insulin yet.

The vet mentioned starting her on insulin today, but I didn’t know how much she had eaten this morning and did not feel comfortable because the vet had previously said a value above 400 would tell us she had diabetes, but below that it might be more ambiguous given that for years her lab results have shown glucose values between 200 and 279 due to stress while visiting the vet.

The hydrolyzed protein diet she is on does not appear to be a good fit for a diabetic cat given the amount of carbohydrates in the dry food especially. Unfortunately, we are unable to adjust her diet at this time due to her very low body condition and ongoing issues with IBD, weight loss, and inability to gain or maintain weight. We also are unable to stop giving her the prednisolone without tapering the dose down first, but the vet does not recommend taking her off of it entirely due to the potential for her IBD to become even more uncontrolled unless we switched to a stronger drug typically used for GI lymphoma that I'm a little concerned she's not strong enough to handle right now given her condition.


Complicating (non-health) factors:

This has been a very difficult couple of months for us because our vet went on maternity leave right before Fuzzy’s IBD diagnosis was confirmed. This means that throughout all of this our vet office has been short staffed and, most significantly, that we’ve been working with another vet at the office who is not as good a fit for us and who we are not particularly comfortable with. I mention the circumstances with our vet just because it's a unique situation in that we have a vet who knows Fuzzy and who we trust and fit well with, but are temporarily unable to see her and unfortunately this coincides with such a critical time for Fuzzy.

Unfortunately, there have been experiences during this period that make it harder to feel confident in the advice that we’re getting. Most notably, when Fuzzy’s mobility kept worsening, the vet didn’t offer much on that front at all other than to suggest that it was a sign that we should consider euthanasia. We identified thiamine deficiency as a potential cause of Fuzzy’s mobility/neuro issues based on a note that our regular vet had made in an earlier email right when the balance issues started and additional research and we were the ones who suggested the treatment that ended up giving Fuzzy her mobility back. We also felt very pressured to start her on the prednisolone when we had wanted to hold off to give her a chance to see if she might gain weight with the hydrolyzed diet and metronidazole first so to have this happen only a few weeks after she began taking it is pretty demoralizing. Again, I say this not to complain but just to explain why we have so many doubts about how to proceed given that this is happening during a time when we do not have access to our normal vet. I appreciate everything this vet has done for us. I just wanted to explain why it's hard to know how to navigate at times.

Our comfort level has also declined during this period because we’ve frequently felt like we are on our own trying to figure out what is wrong with her due to issues with communication since the vet we have to see is not great about answering our questions, as well as difficulties scheduling regular appointments for exams (other than receiving her injections from a tech) due to being short staffed, etc. These past two weeks there have also been issues because a COVID outbreak at the office last week exacerbated existing difficulties with being short-staffed, etc. and there were a few instances of miscommunication and things falling through the cracks with respect to the blood work done last week so we’re not even sure we have all the information from the bloodwork taken the day of her diagnosis yet and the one page of bloodwork results we received today had additional elevated values besides glucose (ALT, and calcium) that were not mentioned and did not have CBC results despite us requesting it— this is not to complain given the understandably difficult situation, but just to note that this is not a great week to get such a big diagnosis and feel good making big decisions given that things have seemed more disorganized and distracted than usual (again, understandable).

All of this is just to say, it is exceedingly hard for us to feel super confident about any course of action or diagnosis given this unfortunate set of circumstances... This dynamic has been highly stressful to navigate, but ultimately felt manageable until this most recent news. I’m scared of making the wrong move because of how frail and small Fuzzy is already. Even after reading about everything I don’t fully understand the diagnosis to be honest and given her frail state I am very scared of doing too much too soon and possibly harming her. I recognize that everything is a risk right now given that she is already in very bad condition due to her inability to put on weight because of her severe IBD which makes it harder not to be scared of making one wrong decision that could lead to us losing her and we've already made one decision under pressure (putting her on the prenisolone) that has made her situation worse (by apparently giving her diabetes).


Questions:

Our main concerns right now relate to how we should proceed with respect to the insulin and whether there is anything we should be doing in the meantime to minimize risks to Fuzzy. Ideally, I’d hoped that we could get a glucometer soon so that we could test her throughout the day at home to get a clearer picture of what her levels look like before starting her on anything, but we will not have that for another 2-3 days and the vet indicated that we should act sooner rather than later.

One thing we were wondering is whether there is any way that it is possible that she could not actually be diabetic but could occasionally reach those levels due to stress/prednisolone (given that she previously would get values as high as 279 without the steroid).

We were also wondering whether there is anything we can do to confirm the diabetes diagnosis beyond what has been done already so that we know that we are taking the correct course of action in starting her on insulin right now. We requested that a fructosamine test to be done the day of the diagnosis but we were warned that a more encouraging result on this test would not be informative because she only started taking the prednisolone about a month ago.

Finally, if anyone has any advice or insight on managing a diagnosis like this in a cat who has IBD and/or is very underweight like Fuzzy we would very much appreciate it.

I apologize for the lengthy background, etc. but I just wanted to give the full context of our unusual situation so that you were better positioned to give us advice if possible. Thanks in advance for your help!
 
Last edited:
Hello Kaitlyn, and welcome to the FDMB! I'm so sorry that you have found yourself here but rest assured that there are many steroid induced diabetic kitties here, so you have come to the right place.

Firstly, it seems like you have done a lot of reading and research, so that is wonderful. Can you tell us what tests were done to get the IBD diagnosis?

Secondly, 279 is a still a tinge high for a cat not on steroids. It could be that the high carb food was causing the elevated numbers. If she is eating the hydrolyzed food and tolerating it, I would continue to feed it to her and adjust insulin dosage as needed.

The best insulins for you to consider are Prozinc and Lantus as cats respond very well to both. My Ruby is on Lantus and she has done very well on it, even after she started prednisolone for her small cell lymphoma 6 months ago. The pred was a total game changer for us--it stimulates Ruby's appetite, stopped the vomiting she was experiencing, and she has gained weight and has lots of energy. I would not take Fuzzy off the steroid if it's helping her, just dose insulin accordingly to deal with the elevation of blood sugar it causes.

If there is glucose in the urine, chances are she does indeed have diabetes, as it usually takes a lot for glucose to show up in urine. Best thing to do is get a human glucose meter. Walmart's Relion brand is one many of us in the United States use because the test strips are inexpensive.

Fuzzy's motility issues could possibly be also the result of diabetic neuropathy, which happens to cats when they are hyperglycemic for a while. I am glad to know she is doing better with the B vitamin injections.

Finally, when you have a moment, you should take a look at this:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
Hello and welcome to you and sweet Fuzzy.

I was going to ask the same as Katherine about how the IBD was diagnosed. I just want to make sure you are treating the right condition. I'm on my third cat with small cell lymphoma, though number 3 also has IBD. Two out of the three were taking prednisolone without much impact on their blood sugar, but were already on a low carb diet. Neko, my diabetic took budesonide instead of pres due to her heart condition. If a cat needs prednisolone for another condition, we just work the insulin dose around it. For some cats, budesonide works as an alternative steriod that doesn't impact the blood sugar numbers as much, or at all.

There is no need to wait for a glucometer to arrive. Most of us use human blood glucose meters, as that's what we all used to use before the pet ones were developed. Our dosing methods also use numbers from human meters. You can easily pick up meter in most pharmacies. Look for one with inexpensive test strips and that needs just a small drop of blood. A lot of people here get the Relion meter at Walmart. Once you test at home, you'll see whether Fuzzy shows "white coat syndrome" in her blood sugars when she is at the vet clinic. One of my kitties was low 200's at the vet, 53 at home the next day. If a cat is diabetic, they can't process all their food, so weight loss is common with diabetics.
 
Hello Kaitlyn, and welcome to the FDMB! I'm so sorry that you have found yourself here but rest assured that there are many steroid induced diabetic kitties here, so you have come to the right place.

Firstly, it seems like you have done a lot of reading and research, so that is wonderful. Can you tell us what tests were done to get the IBD diagnosis?

Secondly, 279 is a still a tinge high for a cat not on steroids. It could be that the high carb food was causing the elevated numbers. If she is eating the hydrolyzed food and tolerating it, I would continue to feed it to her and adjust insulin dosage as needed.

The best insulins for you to consider are Prozinc and Lantus as cats respond very well to both. My Ruby is on Lantus and she has done very well on it, even after she started prednisolone for her small cell lymphoma 6 months ago. The pred was a total game changer for us--it stimulates Ruby's appetite, stopped the vomiting she was experiencing, and she has gained weight and has lots of energy. I would not take Fuzzy off the steroid if it's helping her, just dose insulin accordingly to deal with the elevation of blood sugar it causes.

If there is glucose in the urine, chances are she does indeed have diabetes, as it usually takes a lot for glucose to show up in urine. Best thing to do is get a human glucose meter. Walmart's Relion brand is one many of us in the United States use because the test strips are inexpensive.

Fuzzy's motility issues could possibly be also the result of diabetic neuropathy, which happens to cats when they are hyperglycemic for a while. I am glad to know she is doing better with the B vitamin injections.

Finally, when you have a moment, you should take a look at this:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Hi! Thanks so much for your response.

Regarding diagnosing her IBD, the vet first ordered a Texas GI panel as well as a hypercalcemia of malignancy panel during the last week of October (the latter because she’d had a high calcium value earlier in the month). The Texas GI panel came back all normal except for low cobalamin at 186 (ref. 290-1500). The hypercalcemia of malignancy panel came back all normal. She got an abdominal ultrasound the first week of November which showed inflammation of her intestines and we sent that out for a radiologist consultation and they said that it looked to be more consistent with IBD than with lymphoma. Finally we got this newer blood test done that our vet said can help distinguish between IBD and GI lymphoma without a biopsy (https://vdilab.com/feline-gi-lymphoma-panel).

The value of 279 I mentioned was actually several years ago (that was just the highest value of the range that Fuzzy has had prior to this diagnosis). She’s consistently had glucose between 167-279 on lab work dating back to 2013. She used to have intense stress reactions whenever she’d go to the vet (vomiting, defecating, crying, drooling, etc.) and have to be medicated, but this year the frequent visits seem to have helped her overcome her anxiety because those responses are rare now. Since May, it looks like her glucose levels ranged from 167 to 228, with the most recent before last week being 206 on Oct. 22. We’ve never had a vet diagnose her with diabetes before, but we have been asked to get urine samples at home to check for glucose in the urine given her high values on in-office blood work and I raised it as a concern in the past and was assured that it was stress since it had been a pattern with her for so long.

I believe our vet mentioned Prozinc so I am happy to hear that your experience with it has worked well. It’s unclear how much the prednisolone has helped since she wasn’t actually gaining weight on it, but she did at least seem not to be losing weight so we’re wondering if maybe the additional losses while on pred could have started once her glucose increased.

Fuzzy’s mobility/neuro. issues actually began in October and worsened through November until she started getting the injections the last week of the month and she did not start prednisolone until December 9th so unless her glucose levels would have caused issues prior to starting the steroid, I’m not sure it’s related. I wish I had a better idea of what they looked like at home all these years now. It just never would have occurred to me to home test before getting this diagnosis and reading a little bit about it.

Should I be concerned at all about waiting a few days to try to test her glucose at home before starting her on insulin at the vet? I just am scared of making a decision without full information on what's going on with her and given that her first glucometer check showed 450 and the one today was 310 I feel like I don't have a good understanding of how much this can vary in either direction.

Thanks again for your response!
 
Hello and welcome to you and sweet Fuzzy.

I was going to ask the same as Katherine about how the IBD was diagnosed. I just want to make sure you are treating the right condition. I'm on my third cat with small cell lymphoma, though number 3 also has IBD. Two out of the three were taking prednisolone without much impact on their blood sugar, but were already on a low carb diet. Neko, my diabetic took budesonide instead of pres due to her heart condition. If a cat needs prednisolone for another condition, we just work the insulin dose around it. For some cats, budesonide works as an alternative steriod that doesn't impact the blood sugar numbers as much, or at all.

There is no need to wait for a glucometer to arrive. Most of us use human blood glucose meters, as that's what we all used to use before the pet ones were developed. Our dosing methods also use numbers from human meters. You can easily pick up meter in most pharmacies. Look for one with inexpensive test strips and that needs just a small drop of blood. A lot of people here get the Relion meter at Walmart. Once you test at home, you'll see whether Fuzzy shows "white coat syndrome" in her blood sugars when she is at the vet clinic. One of my kitties was low 200's at the vet, 53 at home the next day. If a cat is diabetic, they can't process all their food, so weight loss is common with diabetics.

Hi! Thanks so much for your response.

The vet first ordered a Texas GI panel as well as a hypercalcemia of malignancy panel during the last week of October (the latter because she’d had a high calcium value earlier in the month). The Texas GI panel came back all normal except for low cobalamin at 186 (ref. 290-1500). The hypercalcemia of malignancy panel came back all normal. She got an abdominal ultrasound the first week of November which showed inflammation of her intestines and we sent that out for a radiologist consultation and they said that it looked to be more consistent with IBD than with lymphoma. Finally we got this newer blood test done that our vet said can help distinguish between IBD and GI lymphoma without a biopsy (https://vdilab.com/feline-gi-lymphoma-panel). I can link any of these results if that would be helpful for better understanding as well.

She seemed to respond very well to being switched to the hydrolized diet in mid-November in terms of her appetite and willingness to eat. The only issue has been her inability to gain weight despite eating a lot more and receiving B12 injections, prednisolone, pepcid, and metronidazole as treatment. She also rarely gets nauseous now except for the past week we had to give her cerrenia twice when previously (before the diet change) she'd been getting it every day.
 
If you are going to delay insulin, you might want to get some Ketostix to test for ketones in her urine. Tips to catch and test a urine sample Getting a meter now would give you time to be comfortable doing blood tests at home before starting insulin.

You might want to see if the vet will prescribe ondansetron for you. You just need the script from the vet, and fill it at any human pharmacy. It's a much better drug for addressing nausea. Though it does sound like she's eating well.

I've heard of the vdilab test, but not seen any research showing results of tests with it.
 
My Ruby had GI issues for a while and I treated it with a diet change to raw food and supplements until nothing helped and it was an endoscopic biopsy that showed beyond any doubt that it was small cell lymphoma. From what I understand, nothing can really replace a biopsy in differentiating IBD from SCL, though the treatment is often the same. I'm glad I did the biopsy because I know what I am dealing with.

Have you tried a novel protein diet (rabbit, venison, bison, duck) with Fuzzy instead of the hydrolyzed food?
 
I believe our vet mentioned Prozinc so I am happy to hear that your experience with it has worked well.
I don't actually have any experience with Prozinc--we have many members here who have used it and know the methods for dosing well (@JanetNJ and @FrostD). Ruby gets Lantus and she was nearly in remission on it until we had to start the pred for her SCL. I honestly don't know much about the difference between the two, only that Lantus is a depot insulin and that keeps lower numbers very steady, and Prozinc is a long acting "in and out" insulin. Lantus should be given on a strictly 12 hour schedule whereas there is more flexibility with timing with Prozinc. Some cats do well on one and not the other. Hopefully someone else can chime in about the difference between them and explain better than I can. I didn't have a choice of insulins when Ruby was diagnosed with diabetes, but it all turned out fine for us on Lantus.
 
My Ruby had GI issues for a while and I treated it with a diet change to raw food and supplements until nothing helped and it was an endoscopic biopsy that showed beyond any doubt that it was small cell lymphoma. From what I understand, nothing can really replace a biopsy in differentiating IBD from SCL, though the treatment is often the same. I'm glad I did the biopsy because I know what I am dealing with.

Have you tried a novel protein diet (rabbit, venison, bison, duck) with Fuzzy instead of the hydrolyzed food?

We did not inquire further about a biopsy after our vet proposed we do the Feline GI Lymphoma Panel because it sounded promising and at that point in time we were already concerned about our ability to diagnose what was going on with her given that she is a very poor candidate for general anesthesia because she was already around 5 lbs at that point and hadn't been doing well for a while and we do not actually know how old she is. Unfortunately, I'd be even more scared to put her through that now given how fragile she is. The vet suggested that we start her on Chlorambucil if she wasn't showing improvement on the prednisolone, but the latest development with her glucose complicated the picture a bit. We still discussed today whether treating her with insulin and trying that instead of the prednisolone might be preferable, but nothing concrete was decided given that both of the vets at the office expressed serious doubts as to whether she could handle a drug like that in her current condition.

We've just tried the hydrolized food since that was the only option presented to us and she took to liking it right away.
 
I don't actually have any experience with Prozinc--we have many members here who have used it and know the methods for dosing well (@JanetNJ and @FrostD). Ruby gets Lantus and she was nearly in remission on it until we had to start the pred for her SCL. I honestly don't know much about the difference between the two, only that Lantus is a depot insulin and that keeps lower numbers very steady, and Prozinc is a long acting "in and out" insulin. Lantus should be given on a strictly 12 hour schedule whereas there is more flexibility with timing with Prozinc. Some cats do well on one and not the other. Hopefully someone else can chime in about the difference between them and explain better than I can. I didn't have a choice of insulins when Ruby was diagnosed with diabetes, but it all turned out fine for us on Lantus.

Ah, my mistake. Sorry about that (very tired). The vet mentioned both, but thought that the Prozinc would be best for Fuzzy given safety concerns related to her size and proper dosing I believe. I'm glad that the other has worked well for you.
 
If you are going to delay insulin, you might want to get some Ketostix to test for ketones in her urine. Tips to catch and test a urine sample Getting a meter now would give you time to be comfortable doing blood tests at home before starting insulin.

You might want to see if the vet will prescribe ondansetron for you. You just need the script from the vet, and fill it at any human pharmacy. It's a much better drug for addressing nausea. Though it does sound like she's eating well.

I've heard of the vdilab test, but not seen any research showing results of tests with it.

We will definitely get the Ketostix. Thank you!

The vet told us to purchase the AlphaTRAK 2 Blood Glucose Monitoring System Starter Kit so that's the one that we ordered. It's supposed to arrive in 2-3 days so I figured in the meantime I would get her glucose checked at our vet when she goes in for her vitamin B injections and if there's indication there that we need to start insulin without further delay we could do so then. I just didn't feel comfortable doing it today since I wasn't sure how much she'd eaten and couldn't answer the questions our vet had asked when she suggested she get a dose right then and hadn't had the chance to read about it at all or consult with this board. I definitely do not want to delay if it carries a greater risk to her than acting. I just am still learning and trying to understand how to think about all this in the context of her history and current condition.
 
We did not inquire further about a biopsy after our vet proposed we do the Feline GI Lymphoma Panel because it sounded promising and at that point in time we were already concerned about our ability to diagnose what was going on with her given that she is a very poor candidate for general anesthesia because she was already around 5 lbs at that point and hadn't been doing well for a while and we do not actually know how old she is. Unfortunately, I'd be even more scared to put her through that now given how fragile she is.
I understand about her fragile state and not doing a biopsy, I would hesitate also with anesthesia if she was in poor health. As I said, the treatment is the same whether it's IBD or SCL. Ruby isn't on chlorambucil yet but I know it's in the future for us if her clinical signs ever decline but so far she is like a new cat with the pred.
 
Hi and welcome! Sorry you're dealing with so much, my cat also has a tentative diagnosis of IBD.

Just echoing what Wendy and Katherine have said - treat the GI issues, the pred she needs is the pred she needs, just work the insulin dose around it. She will need both to gain weight and get back to good health. Many vets are hesitant to give steroids to diabetics, and it's understandable to a certain extent. My cat is currently in remission, but I will start the pred as soon as it is needed, and then restart insulin as well. Budesonide is another option that usually doesn't affect BG as much, BUT it's harder on the liver and may not work as well as the pred. Chlorambucil is next step if, given time, the pred isn't helping.

How much are you feeding her? Meaning, are you limiting her food in any way? Katherine and Wendy both gave good advice about novel protein/raw. Speaking from experience with my (human) daughter, since the hydrolyzed is already broken down that can sometimes compound the weight issue, delicate balance.

You really can't go wrong with either ProZinc or Lantus. The primary difference, as Katherine alluded to, is ProZinc is basically out of the system after 14 hours (maximum). But with Lantus, little bits of insulin stay behind and can influence future cycles.

If money isn't an issue, I'd recommend Lantus as it tends to be a flatter, more gentle insulin. With the way pred works, it's a little trickier to work out the timing of ProZinc shot and pred so that her BG swings aren't too crazy. Trouble is, it may take a few weeks to get to that point, and I think the resultant BG swings in the meantime would be a little rough on her. There's no harm in trying ProZinc first, but poor girl sounds miserable, so I'd go straight to Lantus if you can
 
As I said, the treatment is the same whether it's IBD or SCL.
Not really. There are differences in treatment between the two conditions. You don't want to give chlorambucil, a carcinogen, unless you know you are dealing with SCL. It is given in some extreme cases of IBD, but that's not the majority. IBD treatment usually involves a novel or hydrolyzed protein, the type of food makes no difference with SCL. SCL kitties start out on steroid (usually prednisolone), but can taper off of it after a while once in remission from the chlorambucil. An IBD cat may always need a steroid.

Are you giving a probiotic to Fuzzy? Visbiome is a good one specifically for IBD, and they have pet versions. It can help settle her tummy, and is a good idea should you have to go on antibiotic again.

A lot of vets push the AlphaTrak meter. The test strips for it are really expensive, much more than for a human meter. The nice thing about a human BG meter is that it's much easier/faster to get test strips if you can get them at your local bricks and mortar pharmacy.
 
Hi and welcome! Sorry you're dealing with so much, my cat also has a tentative diagnosis of IBD.

Just echoing what Wendy and Katherine have said - treat the GI issues, the pred she needs is the pred she needs, just work the insulin dose around it. She will need both to gain weight and get back to good health. Many vets are hesitant to give steroids to diabetics, and it's understandable to a certain extent. My cat is currently in remission, but I will start the pred as soon as it is needed, and then restart insulin as well. Budesonide is another option that usually doesn't affect BG as much, BUT it's harder on the liver and may not work as well as the pred. Chlorambucil is next step if, given time, the pred isn't helping.

How much are you feeding her? Meaning, are you limiting her food in any way? Katherine and Wendy both gave good advice about novel protein/raw. Speaking from experience with my (human) daughter, since the hydrolyzed is already broken down that can sometimes compound the weight issue, delicate balance.

You really can't go wrong with either ProZinc or Lantus. The primary difference, as Katherine alluded to, is ProZinc is basically out of the system after 14 hours (maximum). But with Lantus, little bits of insulin stay behind and can influence future cycles.

If money isn't an issue, I'd recommend Lantus as it tends to be a flatter, more gentle insulin. With the way pred works, it's a little trickier to work out the timing of ProZinc shot and pred so that her BG swings aren't too crazy. Trouble is, it may take a few weeks to get to that point, and I think the resultant BG swings in the meantime would be a little rough on her. There's no harm in trying ProZinc first, but poor girl sounds miserable, so I'd go straight to Lantus if you can

Hi! Thank you for your response. We definitely will not taper her off of the pred entirely after hearing everyone's thoughts. We just initially were told that we couldn't control her diabetes while keeping her on the pred and I was worried that keeping her on would prolong an issue that might otherwise go into remission quickly given that she'd only been on the pred for a few weeks (and hadn't gained weight during that time anyways). But I'm definitely more nervous about taking her off entirely and her weight dropping faster after looking into it more.

We aren't limiting her food in any way. We have hydrolized dry food available for her at all times and offer her canned food whenever she goes into the kitchen looking for food. Since her appetite returned we've just wanted to give her as much food as she wants given how skinny she is. Do you think that's okay for her?

Could you please elaborate on what you mean when you say that the hydrolyzed food can compound the weight issue? We weren't given any other options other than to start her on that immediately so it didn't occur to me that she might have trouble related to the food she's getting since she eats so much of it now.

The vet had some concerns about the Lantus with her, particularly that she might need less than 1 unit and it would be difficult to measure out, and said that she thought it would be safer to start her with the Prozinc.

It's hard to assess how she's doing because she's improved so much in recent months and went from seeming clearly in discomfort before we changed her diet and she started getting injections to being alert and happy or purring and relaxed nearly all of the time. So we're afraid of making the wrong decision and her end up worse than she is now since everything is good with her besides her poor weight and now glucose levels :/

The vet had offered today for us to give her a conservative dose of insulin to see if she improved clinically (I'm assuming this means her glucose values?) but I declined because she asked questions about how much she'd eaten this morning, etc. that I didn't know the answer to and I didn't want to make any decisions that could harm her if I was uncertain about things. It just seemed like there was enough room to hold off since I was uncertain since her values were better than last week and that option was not offered at the time. Is getting her a dose of insulin at the vet something we should strive to do tomorrow or Wednesday even if we can't monitor at home yet?
 
Not really. There are differences in treatment between the two conditions. You don't want to give chlorambucil, a carcinogen, unless you know you are dealing with SCL. It is given in some extreme cases of IBD, but that's not the majority. IBD treatment usually involves a novel or hydrolyzed protein, the type of food makes no difference with SCL. SCL kitties start out on steroid (usually prednisolone), but can taper off of it after a while once in remission from the chlorambucil. An IBD cat may always need a steroid.

Are you giving a probiotic to Fuzzy? Visbiome is a good one specifically for IBD, and they have pet versions. It can help settle her tummy, and is a good idea should you have to go on antibiotic again.

A lot of vets push the AlphaTrak meter. The test strips for it are really expensive, much more than for a human meter. The nice thing about a human BG meter is that it's much easier/faster to get test strips if you can get them at your local bricks and mortar pharmacy.

We are not currently giving her a probiotic so this is definitely something I will look into and ask the vet about. She's currently still on an antibiotic (metronidazole) and has been since November because that was what we tried along with the hydrolyzed diet before starting her on the prednisolone and the vet said to continue it too. But to be honest we haven't had many opportunities to discuss reassessing her treatment after starting her on the prednisolone because it's been difficult to schedule appointments other than to stop in for her to get her injections because of how busy our vet office has been lately. Our first appointment to discuss how things had been going since adding in the pred was scheduled for this upcoming Wednesday, but when the sugars in her urine were discovered last week they fit us in to discuss it and get some bloodwork done.
 
Plenty of people here still regulate the diabetes really well even with pred.

The Lantus dose and ProZinc dose are often very similar. There are syringes with half unit markings, and some people here use calipers for the really fine doses. Regardless of what insulin you choose, given her weight, numbers, and diet I probably would start with something like a drop dose or 0.1U (I can say this with certainty for ProZinc, others are better to advise on Lantus).

The hydrolyzed food - because it's already so broken down, it can be a delicate balance between being broken down enough for her body to actually utilize and too broken down for her to gain weight from. In the case of my daughter, we had trouble getting her to gain weight even though she was eating a ton. Humans aren't cats obviously, but for us it was better to stop the hydrolyzed and deal with the other GI side effects so that her growth could stay on track. I'd give the novel protein a try if you can, just to see what happens. But I'd say more often than not the hydrolyzed does help.

I think free feeding her is fine as long as she isn't gorging herself. I just wanted to make sure it wasnt limited, or if it was limited it was still enough calories for her. Wendy mentioned ondansetron and such - those are some meds you may need to help get her eating. I know Katherine also gives a cocktail.

I'd hold off on insulin until you can home test, only because she's so tiny. Or you can just grab a cheap meter and some strips at Walmart, that works just as well.

I have no idea why they'd keep her on an antibiotic so long. @Wendy&Neko ? Since November? Just for IBD? That's probably not helping the poor thing's tummy. You can get probiotics over the counter...I believe Katherine gives Visbiome, I give s. boulardii (Jarrow brand, boulardii + MOS). But boulardii won't work if B12 levels are low, she has EPI, or hypothyroidism
 
Did the vet do a thyroid panel?

How are Fuzzy’s kidney values?

What were the symptoms of IBD? Diarrhea, perhaps? (just a guess due to metronidazole, since that’s often used for diarrhea, and because diarrhea is very common in IBD). Not to be gross, but what does Fuzzy’s stool look like?

Any vomiting?

Have any chest or abdominal X-rays been performed?

Was the full TAMU GI panel performed (i.e., fPLI, fTLI, folate, and cobalamin)? And both the fPLI and fTLI were in normal ranges?

It’s been quite a few years, but my Charlie had hyperthyroidism, IBD, steroid-induced diabetes, chronic pancreatitis, kidney disease, and a few other issues for good measure. He was rail thin, had rampant diarrhea, vomited frequently, had significant weight loss, and was fading away. I completely understand the fog your brain is likely feeling given the complexities of the diagnoses and contraindications in treatments. Been there.

For Charlie, I believe it all started with hyperthyroidism, which then triggered GI issues and ultimately IBD. The prednisolone given for the IBD caused diabetes, and even budesonide (which supposedly has a more localized impact to the GI tract rather than the systemic impact of pred), kept his blood glucose high. He also had chronic pancreatitis and vomited at least 10 times a day at his worst. Treating one thing made other things worse. It was like a giant game of medical whack-a-mole. He was on tylosin, metronidazole, Pepcid (famotidine), subQ fluids, buprenex, prednisolone/budesonide/chlorambucil (at varying times), b-12 cyanocobalamin injections, Lantus insulin, and a few other meds. He could eat one flavor of one brand of food and had to have a bit plain canned pumpkin mixed in; anything else would blow him up and trigger relentless diarrhea. What I wish I knew then was that carrageenan and guar gum (common in cat foods) can cause diarrhea in some cats. Novel proteins and raw foods help many IBD cats but neither were a solution for Charlie. Every cat is different, so you have to find what works for Fuzzy.

As for insulin, as others have said, it’s not uncommon around here to dose insulin in increments of less than one unit. Vets often think in terms of whole numbers … but that isn’t really granular enough for cat doses. Even 1/4 unit of Lantus could cause Charlie’s blood glucose (BG) to plummet. A glucometer will quickly become your best friend. And it never hurts to have a backup meter on hand, so it wouldn’t be a waste of money to get a human meter and start collecting data now. The true expense is in the test strips — and AlphaTrak strips are pricey. I have both human and AT meters. Both serve their purpose, but a human meter works just fine day to day and will give you the data you need to help keep Fuzzy safe. I most definitely would want to be testing BG before starting insulin. And be sure to have a Hypo Toolkit on hand as well.

You have a lot of moving parts with Fuzzy, but please know you’re not in this alone. We’ll help you. Just keep posting, and keep asking questions.
 
I have no idea why they'd keep her on an antibiotic so long. @Wendy&Neko ? Since November? Just for IBD?
I have heard some vets think that long term metronizadole (not just any antibiotic) at lower doses, are one way to treat IBD, depending what type of IBD. Lots of conflicting information out there, including this read here, showing it doesn't help IBD. Other reputable sites do list it as an option.
 
The vet had some concerns about the Lantus with her, particularly that she might need less than 1 unit and it would be difficult to measure out, and said that she thought it would be safer to start her with the Prozinc.
Syringes for Lantus can be found with half unit markings. These are the ones we ask everyone on the board to use because as @JL and Chip said, cats can have dramatic reactions to even .25 units of insulin. We increase and reduce doses in .25 unit increments. We have lots of visuals to teach you how to do it. Vets often do not trust caregivers to measure in units smaller than 1, and that could be a bit dangerous for a creature as small as a cat.
 
Plenty of people here still regulate the diabetes really well even with pred.

The Lantus dose and ProZinc dose are often very similar. There are syringes with half unit markings, and some people here use calipers for the really fine doses. Regardless of what insulin you choose, given her weight, numbers, and diet I probably would start with something like a drop dose or 0.1U (I can say this with certainty for ProZinc, others are better to advise on Lantus).

Our glucometer arrived yesterday and the vet wants to start her on 1 unit of ProZinc insulin tomorrow morning. We inquired about starting with less than a unit but she insisted that we should try her on 1 unit which makes me a bit nervous given what you and others have said..
 
Syringes for Lantus can be found with half unit markings. These are the ones we ask everyone on the board to use because as @JL and Chip said, cats can have dramatic reactions to even .25 units of insulin. We increase and reduce doses in .25 unit increments. We have lots of visuals to teach you how to do it. Vets often do not trust caregivers to measure in units smaller than 1, and that could be a bit dangerous for a creature as small as a cat.

The AT glucometer arrived yesterday and the vet wants to start her on 1 unit of ProZinc insulin tomorrow morning. We inquired about starting with less than 1 unit but she insisted that we should try her on 1 unit to start which makes me a bit nervous given what you and others have said... is there anything specific we should ask her about or mention that you think might help convince her? I'm still trying to read up on the resources here to get a better grasp on all this and don't feel particularly comfortable with all of it yet, but don't want to prolong starting her on insulin any longer since it's been a week since we received the diagnosis.
 
Did the vet do a thyroid panel?

How are Fuzzy’s kidney values?

What were the symptoms of IBD? Diarrhea, perhaps? (just a guess due to metronidazole, since that’s often used for diarrhea, and because diarrhea is very common in IBD). Not to be gross, but what does Fuzzy’s stool look like?

Any vomiting?

Have any chest or abdominal X-rays been performed?

Was the full TAMU GI panel performed (i.e., fPLI, fTLI, folate, and cobalamin)? And both the fPLI and fTLI were in normal ranges?

It’s been quite a few years, but my Charlie had hyperthyroidism, IBD, steroid-induced diabetes, chronic pancreatitis, kidney disease, and a few other issues for good measure. He was rail thin, had rampant diarrhea, vomited frequently, had significant weight loss, and was fading away. I completely understand the fog your brain is likely feeling given the complexities of the diagnoses and contraindications in treatments. Been there.

For Charlie, I believe it all started with hyperthyroidism, which then triggered GI issues and ultimately IBD. The prednisolone given for the IBD caused diabetes, and even budesonide (which supposedly has a more localized impact to the GI tract rather than the systemic impact of pred), kept his blood glucose high. He also had chronic pancreatitis and vomited at least 10 times a day at his worst. Treating one thing made other things worse. It was like a giant game of medical whack-a-mole. He was on tylosin, metronidazole, Pepcid (famotidine), subQ fluids, buprenex, prednisolone/budesonide/chlorambucil (at varying times), b-12 cyanocobalamin injections, Lantus insulin, and a few other meds. He could eat one flavor of one brand of food and had to have a bit plain canned pumpkin mixed in; anything else would blow him up and trigger relentless diarrhea. What I wish I knew then was that carrageenan and guar gum (common in cat foods) can cause diarrhea in some cats. Novel proteins and raw foods help many IBD cats but neither were a solution for Charlie. Every cat is different, so you have to find what works for Fuzzy.

As for insulin, as others have said, it’s not uncommon around here to dose insulin in increments of less than one unit. Vets often think in terms of whole numbers … but that isn’t really granular enough for cat doses. Even 1/4 unit of Lantus could cause Charlie’s blood glucose (BG) to plummet. A glucometer will quickly become your best friend. And it never hurts to have a backup meter on hand, so it wouldn’t be a waste of money to get a human meter and start collecting data now. The true expense is in the test strips — and AlphaTrak strips are pricey. I have both human and AT meters. Both serve their purpose, but a human meter works just fine day to day and will give you the data you need to help keep Fuzzy safe. I most definitely would want to be testing BG before starting insulin. And be sure to have a Hypo Toolkit on hand as well.

You have a lot of moving parts with Fuzzy, but please know you’re not in this alone. We’ll help you. Just keep posting, and keep asking questions.

Hi thank you so much for your response!

We checked her thyroid in October and at that time the results came back normal. She also does not really have any symptoms consistent with hyperthyroidism other than the weight loss (we used to have a cat with hyperthroidism previously so are used to recognizing issues there). Her kidney values have been normal as well. The only thing that was abnormal on her most recent bloodwork was elevated ALT and calcium. The vet said that the former is seen sometimes after starting pred, the latter we're hoping was related to dehydration that day but we've started giving her subQ fluids at home to keep her hydrated in response to that and I made a note to ask for a recheck in a few weeks.

We started looking to diagnose a problem with Fuzzy due to persistent weight loss from mid-summer 2021 through October 2021. At first we thought it might be related to her having an ear infection because she seemed to be having some vestibular symptoms (and did have an ear infection), but then unfortunately the weight loss accellerated once she was put on an antibiotic to address her ears because it made her nauseous and she started refusing food or becoming disinterested quickly. The vet started trying to diagnose the issue with greater urgency once we noticed her having some issues with crouching and walking in a plantigrade stance at home.

She did not have issues with vomiting other than a few times she was naueseous and dry heaved. The only issues with diarrhea started after we switched her diet to a hydrolyzed diet very suddenly (per the vet's instructions) after she'd been eating the same diet for the past 10 years. However, her appetite improved a lot on the hydrolyzed diet and her diarrhea got less liquidy afer a few weeks, though is still often quite soft. Oddly enough yesterday she had her first fully formed stool in months for no clear reason that we can identify.

Fuzzy recieved chest and abdominal x-rays on October 27, 2021 and an abdominal ultrasound on November 4, 2021. We had the abdominal ultrasound sent out for a consult once we got the VDI lab IBD results back and their conclusion matched the VDI results (pointing to IBD as more likely than GI lymphoma). The abdominal ultrasound did show thickening of her intestines.

Everything on her GI panel was within normal limits except for the cobalamin. I uploaded a screenshot of the results from that here: https://imgur.com/a/3rqtKti

Sadly, we think that the issues with GI inflammation might have been triggered by stress because her weight loss and issues with eating started right after a stressful period during which she lost her two companions. Her long time companion (Sunny) who she was very close with passed away in March after he suddenly crashed because his kidneys were failing in February and he remained quite sick throughout his few weeks at home trying to pull through after the initial crash. While he was hospitalized at the start of this period Fuzzy seemed very shaken and was really leaning on our other cat (MK) in a way we hadn't noticed prior to Sunny's health issues. Unfortunately, only 9 days after Sunny passed away MK was hospitalized because she had a tumor that we were unaware of that had ruptured. She was diagnosed with hemangiosarcoma of her spleen and a biopsy of her intestines taken during surgery showed that she had GI lymphoma as well. We tried to treat her cancers with chemotherapy, but she was hospitalized twice more over the next two months and sadly passed away in May. Fuzzy seemed very confused and sad after that so we brought another cat to live with us hoping that having a new friend would cheer her up since she has always loved other cats, but unfortunately the new cat (Chloe) resisted bonding with her. It was only about a month and a half later that we realized she'd started losing weight and the weight loss has continued since that point.

We've been testing her urine for ketone with the strips and our AT glucometer arrived yesterday so we took a few readings on that to prepare to start her on insulin tomorrow per the vet's instructions. I am very nervous because she was insistent on starting her on 1 unit of ProZinc and Fuzzy is so small that I'm afraid that will be too much based on the feedback here, but I'm not sure how to approach it to get her to reconsider since we've already inquired about starting her at a lower dose than that twice and she's insisted that 1 unit is the appropriate starting point...

We did purchase the materials for a hypo kit so we have that ready to go if needed, but she's so small and fragile that making a wrong move really scares me.
 
Honestly, the vet doesn't need to know what you choose to do. Your cat, your decision. I absolutely would not do 1U...I've helped quite a few cats here on ProZinc and I just simply would not do it. There is no harm starting lower. If after 3-4 days her numbers aren't budging, then we can increase.

The ProZinc insert states 0.1-0.3U per lb of body weight. So low end 0.4u, high end 1.2U. Her numbers at diagnosis are not that high, all I can tell you is given my experience the safe thing is starting at 0.25U (or lower) and increasing quickly from there if she needs it.

Vet probably wants to see her in 2 weeks for a curve or fructosamine anyway right? By then you'd be up to 1U if that's what she needs and the issue is moot. Btw fructosamine pointless with home testing, save $
 
Last edited:
Honestly, the vet doesn't need to know what you choose to do. Your cat, your decision. I absolutely would not do 1U...I've helped quite a few cats here on ProZinc and I just simply would not do it. There is no harm starting lower. If after 3-4 days her numbers aren't budging, then we can increase.

The ProZinc insert states 0.1-0.3U per lb of body weight. So low end 0.4u, high end 1.2U. Her numbers at diagnosis are not that high, all I can tell you is given my experience the safe thing is starting at 0.25U (or lower) and increasing quickly from there if she needs it.

Vet probably wants to see her in 2 weeks for a curve or fructosamine anyway right? By then you'd be up to 1U if that's what she needs and the issue is moot. Btw fructosamine pointless with home testing, save $

We tested her today with our AT glucometer shortly after she'd been eating and the value was 512 which was the highest we'd seen yet (though we had trouble with pricking her ear the first time so by the time we got the sample she was a little stressed out so I'm not sure if that might have contributed to the higher value too).

We asked in person and over the phone about starting her lower and asked again by email and she responded very firmly about wanting the 1 unit so I'm very torn on what to do. She also is only having us give it to her once tomorrow rather than twice so it would be 1 unit in the morning and that's it so I'm not sure if that changes the calculation at all? I'm a little confused about the reason for starting at 1 unit once a day "to be safe" as opposed to a lower dose 2x a day... She also told us not to give it to her in the morning if her fasting level was below 300. Does any of that make you feel better at all? I just am very torn on what to do

We bring her to the vet 1-2x a week to get intramuscular injections for her vitamin deficiencies related to her IBD and she has an appointment for 10:45 am tomorrow so we'd be bringing her into the vet later in the morning after giving it to her.
 
ProZinc is to be dosed twice a day, 12 hrs apart. Once a day dosing is for dogs. The duration in cats is 10-14 hrs so...no I don't understand her thought process.

Here's a link to the manufacturer s information on it for you to see for yourself: https://www.bi-vetmedica.com/species/pet/products/prozinc.html

BG of 300 is conservative I suppose, we usually say 200. But if you're giving 1U, then yes I suppose 300 works for safety reasons (but see longer note below)

All I can say, and I realize this is blunt, intentionally so - your vet is not well educated in feline diabetes. If you want to give 1U if she's above 300 you can do that, but make sure you have hypo kit and are around to monitor...and know where emergency vets are located. Not fear mongering, just concerned for safety.

One whopping dose that makes her drop like a rock works, sure. But she won't feel good, her BG will skyrocket back up, and she'll still be above renal threshold most of the time and you'll add kidney issues to the pile eventually and probably some UTIs because of sugar in urine. It is much better to start smaller and gradually bring her numbers down overall.

I can't speak to the once a day dosing. I would tell her you've read the literature and it's supposed to be 12 hrs apart in cats, and wears off after 10-14 hours and ask her why she's deviating from that. Perhaps she has a reason.

Again, if it were me, I would start at 0.25U twice a day. Give it 3 days. If not enough, increase to 0.5U. another 3 days, up to 0.75U.
 
ProZinc is to be dosed twice a day, 12 hrs apart. Once a day dosing is for dogs. The duration in cats is 10-14 hrs so...no I don't understand her thought process.

Here's a link to the manufacturer s information on it for you to see for yourself: https://www.bi-vetmedica.com/species/pet/products/prozinc.html

BG of 300 is conservative I suppose, we usually say 200. But if you're giving 1U, then yes I suppose 300 works for safety reasons (but see longer note below)

All I can say, and I realize this is blunt, intentionally so - your vet is not well educated in feline diabetes. If you want to give 1U if she's above 300 you can do that, but make sure you have hypo kit and are around to monitor...and know where emergency vets are located. Not fear mongering, just concerned for safety.

One whopping dose that makes her drop like a rock works, sure. But she won't feel good, her BG will skyrocket back up, and she'll still be above renal threshold most of the time and you'll add kidney issues to the pile eventually and probably some UTIs because of sugar in urine. It is much better to start smaller and gradually bring her numbers down overall.

I can't speak to the once a day dosing. I would tell her you've read the literature and it's supposed to be 12 hrs apart in cats, and wears off after 10-14 hours and ask her why she's deviating from that. Perhaps she has a reason.

Again, if it were me, I would start at 0.25U twice a day. Give it 3 days. If not enough, increase to 0.5U. another 3 days, up to 0.75U.

We asked again by email and she mostly reiterated what she wants to do without explaining it further :\ I guess the once daily part is only for the first day or so because she wants to see how she handles it and she again insisted on the 1 unit 'based on her levels' and said it was within the recommended range for her weight and that we'll be bringing her in today later anyways and are prepared in case it looks like hypo is a concern....

I'm still very nervous but the fact that she's not really entertaining the idea of going lower despite our repeated requests to consider it makes me feel uncomfortable ignoring her instructions since we have to rely on this vet until our normal vet returns from maternity leave unfortunately :\ I'm just going to be really diligent about watching her today and checking her sugars throughout so hopefully we catch it immediately if there's any sign of trouble... I'll also try to really stress wanting to start her at something lower when she's getting a dose 2x daily
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top