New Member, Introduction, feral cat, stomatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

alex7 & Bigboy feral cat

Member Since 2019
Hi Everyone,
my name is alex7 and my sugarcat is Bigboy. I have been reading and re-reading this forum for the last several months trying to learn everything I can to help Bigboy.

I would like to express my overwhelming gratitude and thankfulness for everyone contributing to this forum. I am truly humbled by everyone's knowledge, kindness, humor and patience that you have for each other, while trying to cope with and help our sugarcats. I am truly grateful.

Bigboy's story-He showed up at my place around mid July 2019. He was old, thin, very hungry and was having great difficulty trying to eat dry cat food that was set out for my ferals. He would not let me near him. I started feeding him watered down canned a/d in a trap. Notified my vet clinic in advance, I was worried he might have a broken jaw. Finally was able to trap him on 8/7/2019. The Vet did pre-surgery blood work, neutered him, removed several fractured teeth, dental, and convenia and kenalog injections for his stomatitis. Vet thought he was over 12 years old. His fasting bg was 146 mg/dl on the wet a/d at the Vet's.
He recovered well, and appeared to be doing well, so I turned him loose with the other ferals.
I had to go out of town for a month. While I was gone, my partner brought him into the house, due to his age and a rapid change in weather. To cold for an old cat. Bigboy was at that time eating canned RC selective LID- venison @ 24% carb. His mouth looked great and he was eating, a lot! However, he was losing weight and urinating unbelievable amounts. Took him back to the Vet clinic, did more labs. Everything was in normal range, except his bg was 537 mg/dl. The Vet prescribed 3 units Prozinc bid. Thankfully, I found this forum before I started his insulin.

I have been trying to follow closely all of the advice on fdmb. I have also been trying to re-learn the computer, the anew OS system and e-mail. We went off all IT, cell phones, etc about 15 years ago. The last time I was on a computer, I was writing code in DOS, and using word perfect software. A lot to learn. It took me three weeks to get Bigboy's SS to link in the signature. I am currently using my neighbor's computer, or the library's in town.

My biggest problem is getting Bigboy to eat with the painful stomatitis. The Vet wanted to try everything before doing a full dental extraction. It's not working, so the earliest they could work him in is 4/15/2020. We have a shortage of Vets right now, and everyone is slammed.

Bigboy's SS is low on data, because I can only test while he is distracted eating. He's a very fierce guy. My priority is that he is eating. He usually lets me do the amps and pmps, but fights me doing spot checks. I have to give him cerenia and mirtazapine to manipulate his appetite. I have had the snap fpl, and spec fpl done. They came back neg. If anyone has any ideas or suggestions, I would be grateful for the help. Thank you.
 
Hi and welcome Alex and Bigboy. He looks a sweety!
You have done a wonderful job getting him to where he is at the moment. It can't have been easy.
He's a very lucky boy!
It's great you are testing before every shot...that is so important.
How often are you offering him food? Just before the shots or during the cycle?
We recommend offering food during the cycle as well...the first half of the cycle is better when the insulin is strongest.

Good job getting the SS up and running and I love all the info in the remarks column!

What food are you feeding at the moment?

Is he having anything for pain at the moment? He may eat better if he had a regular dose of something for pain.
Some people use gabepentin for their cats. I used tramadol for Sheba for pain...(not stomatitis) and it had to be put in a capsule because it was bitter for her to take. Maybe your vet would give a small daily dose of bupe. I would speak to him about something for pain.

A full dental extraction should solve the problem. I have a cat who had all her back teeth out when she was a kitten because all her back teeth budded and produced double back teeth which collected food and became infected and the gums very red and she had trouble eating. Only solution was to have all the teeth out. She had been fine since and eats a raw diet...meat cut up, not minced, and is fine with that.

I don't know if you have found your way around to other areas of fdmb but I'll give you a few links.. this one is how to stimulate kitty's appetite.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suggestions-on-how-to-stimulate-kittys-appetite.130770/

This is FAQ page
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/health-links-faqs-about-feline-diabetes.14/

This is how you can help us help you page
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Prozinc insulin info
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-the-prozinc-basics-please-start-here.164995/

Prozinc dosing methods.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

You may have read all theses pages. Keep asking questions. Hopefully others will come along with helpful ideas.
Bron
 
Last edited:
He’s very fortunate to have you. Since he’s feral, you might ask the vet for transdermal Buprenorphine for the pain -stomatitis can be extremely painful-which you massage into the inside tip of the ear. Easier than putting into the cheek pouch every 8 to 12 hours! Having to use it for my kitty who suddenly became a biter this spring after some dental work :(
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome Alex and Bigboy. He looks a sweety!
You have done a wonderful job getting him to where he is at the moment. It can't have been easy.
He's a very lucky boy!
It's great you are testing before every shot...that is so important.
How often are you offering him food? Just before the shots or during the cycle?
We recommend offering food during the cycle as well...the first half of the cycle is better when the insulin is strongest.

Good job getting the SS up and running and I love all the info in the remarks column!

What food are you feeding at the moment?

Is he having anything for pain at the moment? He may eat better if he had a regular dose of something for pain.
Some people use gabepentin for their cats. I used tramadol for Sheba for pain...(not stomatitis) and it had to be put in a capsule because it was bitter for her to take. Maybe your vet would give a small daily dose of bupe. I would speak to him about something for pain.

A full dental extraction should solve the problem. I have a cat who had all her back teeth out when she was a kitten because all her back teeth budded and produced double back teeth which collected food and became infected and the gums very red and she had trouble eating. Only solution was to have all the teeth out. She had been fine since and eats a raw diet...meat cut up, not minced, and is fine with that.

I don't know if you have found your way around to other areas of fdmb but I'll give you a few links.. this one is how to stimulate kitty's appetite.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suggestions-on-how-to-stimulate-kittys-appetite.130770/

This is FAQ page
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/health-links-faqs-about-feline-diabetes.14/

This is how you can help us help you page
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Prozinc insulin info
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-the-prozinc-basics-please-start-here.164995/

Prozinc dosing methods.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

You may have read all theses pages. Keep asking questions. Hopefully others will come along with helpful ideas.
Bron
 
No reply came through.
You only quoted a previous post from someone else.
You only need to start typing in the text box below the last post to reply to a message.
Then click on the "Post Reply" icon to get your response on the message board.

Please try again to respond.
 
Sorry Bron and Sheba (GA),
I am having a problem posting a reply. I am extremely computer and online illiterate. I gave up computers, (costs) to do some non-profit work. Never went back until now. Thank you so much for the info. I do feed him every three to four hours. Started with purina dm -only to keep variations in carbs constant. I just started feeding ff and sheba pates, because the dm was making his stomatitis worse. I try and feed 1.5 to 2 ozs per meal. I found that 3 ozs at meals was elevating his bg to much. I have found just for him, if I feed 0.75 oz at +9, his bg will drop a little lower at pmps.
My vet did give me oral bupr. to give sublingual, but I have not been able to give it. He won't let me near his mouth. He's having a painful day today, so I am going to try and wrap him, so I can put micro doses in that he can't swallow. The problem with wrapping him is he stresses out, then his bg's goes up.

I don't think he can wait the six weeks before the vets can do the dental extraction. Every day it's getting harder to get him to eat. They have been my vets for 40 years, and they do all their own emergencies. That's why they are so busy. I am worried about the constant inflammation, and extra meds are going to hurt his renal system.
 
Please don't wait so long next time to ask for help. We have a couple of people that can help set up spreadsheets.
Let us know what you are having a problem doing, and we will guide you the best we can.
Not everyone that posts here is computer literate or used to the new ways of doing things on computers.

Perhaps ask your vet for some Atopica, a form of cyclosporine A. That can sometimes help the stomatitis.
Being a feral cat certainly does make it much harder to get medications into a cat.

Found this old article on stomatitis. Simply click on the blue highlighted text to open the linked article.
https://www.dentistvet.com/docs/Feline Stomatitis_Rochette.pdf

Is it possible to find another vet dental specialist in your area?
 
Thank you Sandscout, I will be calling my vet tomorrow. I had no idea that they made a transdermal bupr. I've been working with ferals for close to 30 years, and have never heard of it. He really needs it. He completely shredded my right palm this morning while I was trying to give him metacam.
 
Thank you Deb, I will call my vet tomorrow, and ask about the meds. I will also call around tomorrow and find another specialist. My vet has one that has been with him for 30 years, hence the problem of getting him in. She's really good. His stomatitis was being controlled really well with the convenia and kenalog injection + lid venison diet, until the dm showed up. That's why they were reluctant to do the full mouth extractions at first. My goal was to help the little guy, and now I feel like I'm failing him.
 
Sorry Bron and Sheba (GA),
I am having a problem posting a reply. I am extremely computer and online illiterate. I gave up computers, (costs) to do some non-profit work. Never went back until now. Thank you so much for the info. I do feed him every three to four hours. Started with purina dm -only to keep variations in carbs constant. I just started feeding ff and sheba pates, because the dm was making his stomatitis worse. I try and feed 1.5 to 2 ozs per meal. I found that 3 ozs at meals was elevating his bg to much. I have found just for him, if I feed 0.75 oz at +9, his bg will drop a little lower at pmps.
My vet did give me oral bupr. to give sublingual, but I have not been able to give it. He won't let me near his mouth. He's having a painful day today, so I am going to try and wrap him, so I can put micro doses in that he can't swallow. The problem with wrapping him is he stresses out, then his bg's goes up.

I don't think he can wait the six weeks before the vets can do the dental extraction. Every day it's getting harder to get him to eat. They have been my vets for 40 years, and they do all their own emergencies. That's why they are so busy. I am worried about the constant inflammation, and extra meds are going to hurt his renal system.
My heart is breaking for you and Big boy being in pain, I'm praying that something can be done for him and help with the pain
 
My cat has suffered stomatitis. He has had most teeth pulled back being diabetic and now geriatric we cannot risk anesthesia anymore. The only thing that has helped him is being on antibiotics continually. He did so much convenia it became too costly so my veterinarian put him on cefpodoxime for the rest of his life.
 
Thank you Diane and Cat Mom,
Talked with my vet. He said I could give the Bupr sq. I gave him a reduced dose. It seamed to help temporarily. He has a good day, then a bad one the next. Vet is trying to work him in earlier for his dental. Since he is not eating well, I took him in for fluids yesterday. First cat I have not been able to give fluids to. He's a fierce one. I am seeing a new vet this afternoon, to see if they can do it sooner. Apparently Feb. is dental month at a discount. All the vets dental schedules are booked full thru March and into April. He ate some a/d this morning, so will try and get the lower carb RC recovery today.
 
I have a non-diabetic kitty who had stomatitis and the vet did full mouth extractions on him. It’s been probably four years, maybe five years since the full mouth extractions and he’s doing great! He was in so much pain before, it was hard for him to eat and he just seemed to be in pain all the time. I was so worried about him having all his teeth extracted but it was the best thing for him. He’s a happy, healthy, chunky kitty who can eat dry kibble and wet food. I hope the vet has an appointment that opens up for Bigboy sooner than April!
 
I just popped in to say that you are awesome, and Bigboy is lucky to have you. To go from managing as best he could outside to having a family keeping him safe and giving him what he needs is wonderful. I'm sorry he's having such a hard time right now. It sounds like you are doing the best you can with your feral boy. Be kind to yourself. Sometimes the best we can do is the best we can do.

Don't be afraid to burrito wrap him if you need to. I have a little orange stinker with asthma that I have to wrap to give benedryl, which is apparently pure poison, according to Scooter. Honestly, it only seems stressful for that minute or two I have him wrapped. When I set him free, he's pretty much over it. I don't think it stresses him nearly as much as it does me! The pain for Bigboy is probably much more stressful than a quick burritoing.

I'll be keeping you and Bigboy in my happy thoughts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top