? New Member, introducing Coltrane

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimberly J

Member Since 2020
Hello,
I'm so grateful to have found this community. My 13 year old male kitty, Coltrane, was diagnosed with diabetes yesterday. His blood sugar was 439, and he had sugar in his urine. Tomorrow I go for a curbside diabetes consult with the Vet Tech, where I'll be instructed on how to administer insulin. Due to Covid, here on Long Island, NY, there are no family members/owners allowed inside the animal hospital, so I won't have any opportunity to observe it given or practice. I'm a bit overwhelmed at that. Thank goodness for youtube. I think I can be successful with the insulin, but am really worried about whether he will be appropriately regulated. The plan is to try a starter dose and then have him return to the hospital in about a week for a curve test.
My question to the forum is in regard to diet. Coltrane isn't overweight and is in otherwise great health. Labs were all good for everything else. He eats a mix of wet food with and without gravy, typically Friskies or Fancy Feast. I want to cut out the gravy foods and go with the low carb options. I don't think I will have any trouble with that, he's an easy eater. Can I do that immediately? I mean, I started tonight, since I had some in the house, and he does switch back and forth between pate and gravies. As noted above, he hasn't yet started insulin, will probably start tomorrow night. Should I tell my vet that I am taking him from frequent (but not always) gravy food to no gravy/sauces so that he can decide if that matters for the starting dose? Or is it better to not change diet for awhile? My Vet didn't ask anything about diet, but I was reading Dr. Pierson's article about it and am afraid of somehow making Coltrane go too low once the insulin starts. Eventually I will probably want to tackle monitoring blood sugar, but my Vet said to wait on that until I get established with the insulin. Does anyone have any thoughts? And has anyone with a recently diagnosed cat had to learn to give insulin without a demonstration by your vet? Thanks, Kim
 
Hi and WELCOME TO FDMB! We are glad you found us. Administering insulin is about the easiest part of this whole thing. Do you know what type insulin the vet prescribed? Doing your own home testing is really the key to making this all work. Its a little daunting but believe me if I can do it...ANYONE can.
Coltrane's (love the name btw) food sounds almost perfect. you will in a while want to hold off on the gravy ones.(absolutely keep the cans around they will come in handy should Coltrane need carbs.I know others will chime in on this hang on. ;)
jeanne
 
Hello,
I'm so grateful to have found this community. My 13 year old male kitty, Coltrane, was diagnosed with diabetes yesterday. His blood sugar was 439, and he had sugar in his urine. Tomorrow I go for a curbside diabetes consult with the Vet Tech, where I'll be instructed on how to administer insulin. Due to Covid, here on Long Island, NY, there are no family members/owners allowed inside the animal hospital, so I won't have any opportunity to observe it given or practice. I'm a bit overwhelmed at that. Thank goodness for youtube. I think I can be successful with the insulin, but am really worried about whether he will be appropriately regulated. The plan is to try a starter dose and then have him return to the hospital in about a week for a curve test.
My question to the forum is in regard to diet. Coltrane isn't overweight and is in otherwise great health. Labs were all good for everything else. He eats a mix of wet food with and without gravy, typically Friskies or Fancy Feast. I want to cut out the gravy foods and go with the low carb options. I don't think I will have any trouble with that, he's an easy eater. Can I do that immediately? I mean, I started tonight, since I had some in the house, and he does switch back and forth between pate and gravies. As noted above, he hasn't yet started insulin, will probably start tomorrow night. Should I tell my vet that I am taking him from frequent (but not always) gravy food to no gravy/sauces so that he can decide if that matters for the starting dose? Or is it better to not change diet for awhile? My Vet didn't ask anything about diet, but I was reading Dr. Pierson's article about it and am afraid of somehow making Coltrane go too low once the insulin starts. Eventually I will probably want to tackle monitoring blood sugar, but my Vet said to wait on that until I get established with the insulin. Does anyone have any thoughts? And has anyone with a recently diagnosed cat had to learn to give insulin without a demonstration by your vet? Thanks, Kim
Hi Kim I’m New here and my cat was just diagnosed also . My vet let me come in after her last appointment to show me how to inject . We used a syringe BUT she put my Girl on Lantus pen a bit different than a syringe much smaller needle . Please ask if you wear a mask and gloves if they will let you come in real quick , it’s not unheard of . Oh the people on here seem to be Very nice and really knowledgeable . I’m still Overwhelmed Roe
 
Hi Kim I’m New here and my cat was just diagnosed also . My vet let me come in after her last appointment to show me how to inject . We used a syringe BUT she put my Girl on Lantus pen a bit different than a syringe much smaller needle . Please ask if you wear a mask and gloves if they will let you come in real quick , it’s not unheard of . Oh the people on here seem to be Very nice and really knowledgeable . I’m still Overwhelmed Roe
Roe, Hi, glad to find someone new to it all. I asked my Vet if I could come in because I have been in quarantine since March 16th (without being ill), but he said he isn't allowed. I even called other Vets locally to see if they would allow people inside and they all said no. Maybe it's because we are such a hotspot for Covid. Really bad timing for my Coltrane! Do you know if most people use the syringes or the pens? I don't know what I am going to be getting since I have my consult (WITHOUT my cat!) tomorrow. What are you doing for diet for Dusty? Have you made any changes or stayed consistent for now?
 
Hello,
I'm so grateful to have found this community. My 13 year old male kitty, Coltrane, was diagnosed with diabetes yesterday. His blood sugar was 439, and he had sugar in his urine. Tomorrow I go for a curbside diabetes consult with the Vet Tech, where I'll be instructed on how to administer insulin. Due to Covid, here on Long Island, NY, there are no family members/owners allowed inside the animal hospital, so I won't have any opportunity to observe it given or practice. I'm a bit overwhelmed at that. Thank goodness for youtube. I think I can be successful with the insulin, but am really worried about whether he will be appropriately regulated. The plan is to try a starter dose and then have him return to the hospital in about a week for a curve test.
My question to the forum is in regard to diet. Coltrane isn't overweight and is in otherwise great health. Labs were all good for everything else. He eats a mix of wet food with and without gravy, typically Friskies or Fancy Feast. I want to cut out the gravy foods and go with the low carb options. I don't think I will have any trouble with that, he's an easy eater. Can I do that immediately? I mean, I started tonight, since I had some in the house, and he does switch back and forth between pate and gravies. As noted above, he hasn't yet started insulin, will probably start tomorrow night. Should I tell my vet that I am taking him from frequent (but not always) gravy food to no gravy/sauces so that he can decide if that matters for the starting dose? Or is it better to not change diet for awhile? My Vet didn't ask anything about diet, but I was reading Dr. Pierson's article about it and am afraid of somehow making Coltrane go too low once the insulin starts. Eventually I will probably want to tackle monitoring blood sugar, but my Vet said to wait on that until I get established with the insulin. Does anyone have any thoughts? And has anyone with a recently diagnosed cat had to learn to give insulin without a demonstration by your vet? Thanks, Kim

welcome Kim and Coltrane!!

Love the name too. If he’s musical you can play some while you inject and eventually test to soothe him. I did ask the vet tech to show me how to test because I felt nervous about it and as it turns out it took her 2 tries to get it right and I actually do it completely different than she did thanks to all the wonderful tips I got here. I like Roe’s suggestion but I guess I’m trying to say is that you may find that your way will be different than what they will show you anyway because, let’s face it, cats are afraid and react differently at the vet. Mine will stand still for a lot of things she’d never let me do at home. So, in case they don’t let you in, here are the tips I have for you:

1. Use light. Light is your best friend. Some people use a lamp. I find it easier to hold a small pocket flashlight in my mouth so I can aim it at the spot and make sure I see the needle go into and out of the skin
2. All needles have a bevel side and it’s the tiny super sharp point. Make sure that’s the side that’s going in as it will go into the skin very fast and smoothly
3. if you can find a spot where you can part the fur well and see skin, that will be very helpful

most cats get used to it. I did while Minnie was distracted eating at first and now she lets me do it without event blinking at anytime with or without food. If you’re cat is not a big fan, make sure to give him a treat after so you can build positive association in his mind

good luck and keep us posted!
 
Most all of us use syringes with half unit markings, depending what type of insulin the vet is starting him on, there are 2 different type of syringes to use
We like syringes with half unit markings because we increase or decrease insulin by 0.25 units or.0.5 units. When you find out what type of insulin you will be using we can tell you where to buy the syringes
 
Roe, Hi, glad to find someone new to it all. I asked my Vet if I could come in because I have been in quarantine since March 16th (without being ill), but he said he isn't allowed. I even called other Vets locally to see if they would allow people inside and they all said no. Maybe it's because we are such a hotspot for Covid. Really bad timing for my Coltrane! Do you know if most people use the syringes or the pens? I don't know what I am going to be getting since I have my consult (WITHOUT my cat!) tomorrow. What are you doing for diet for Dusty? Have you made any changes or stayed consistent for now?
Hi Kim Iam really surprised I mean even with curb side someone does come out to the car. Ok my Vet took clippers and did a little shave on 2 spots on either side of her spine lined up to the top curve of her back legs and then between the shoulder blades . Let me see if I can take a picture for you so you know the spots to alternate . Now at the Vets Dusty acted like an Angel with the shot , home she has broken 2 needles so far on the Lantus pen. Dusty was a dry food cat I did not know better . I took away the dry immediately replaced it with Only wet food Fancy Feast and Tiki Cat she is not eating as much but we are trying Kim let me see if I can get you a picture of the spots where to inject brb
 
welcome Kim and Coltrane!!

Love the name too. If he’s musical you can play some while you inject and eventually test to soothe him. I did ask the vet tech to show me how to test because I felt nervous about it and as it turns out it took her 2 tries to get it right and I actually do it completely different than she did thanks to all the wonderful tips I got here. I like Roe’s suggestion but I guess I’m trying to say is that you may find that your way will be different than what they will show you anyway because, let’s face it, cats are afraid and react differently at the vet. Mine will stand still for a lot of things she’d never let me do at home. So, in case they don’t let you in, here are the tips I have for you:

1. Use light. Light is your best friend. Some people use a lamp. I find it easier to hold a small pocket flashlight in my mouth so I can aim it at the spot and make sure I see the needle go into and out of the skin
2. All needles have a bevel side and it’s the tiny super sharp point. Make sure that’s the side that’s going in as it will go into the skin very fast and smoothly
3. if you can find a spot where you can part the fur well and see skin, that will be very helpful

most cats get used to it. I did while Minnie was distracted eating at first and now she lets me do it without event blinking at anytime with or without food. If you’re cat is not a big fan, make sure to give him a treat after so you can build positive association in his mind

good luck and keep us posted!
Ale I really like the flash light idea !
 
Shooting
We all have our own techniques for shooting but just a few thoughts and others may bring some of their ideas in as well.
  • Injection sites:
You can shoot the scruff, side of chest, side of belly, side of flank....wherever your kitty is comfortable and you have the least chance of doing a fur shot.

12715861-6481-417b-b0e4-ee494d3426b2-jpeg.48121

For more tips and tricks, read this thread,
Marje and Gracie's Testing and Shooting Tips

and then look in the Health Links/FAQs forum Index Sticky, for more home testing tips.
Hometesting Links and Tips - includes numerous links, instructions, pictures, & videos
 
Hi Kim I’m New here and my cat was just diagnosed also . My vet let me come in after her last appointment to show me how to inject . We used a syringe BUT she put my Girl on Lantus pen a bit different than a syringe much smaller needle . Please ask if you wear a mask and gloves if they will let you come in real quick , it’s not unheard of . Oh the people on here seem to be Very nice and really knowledgeable . I’m still Overwhelmed Roe
Kim the diagram that Deb sent you is much better than my pictures lol
 
Hello,
I'm so grateful to have found this community. My 13 year old male kitty, Coltrane, was diagnosed with diabetes yesterday. His blood sugar was 439, and he had sugar in his urine. Tomorrow I go for a curbside diabetes consult with the Vet Tech, where I'll be instructed on how to administer insulin. Due to Covid, here on Long Island, NY, there are no family members/owners allowed inside the animal hospital, so I won't have any opportunity to observe it given or practice. I'm a bit overwhelmed at that. Thank goodness for youtube. I think I can be successful with the insulin, but am really worried about whether he will be appropriately regulated. The plan is to try a starter dose and then have him return to the hospital in about a week for a curve test.
My question to the forum is in regard to diet. Coltrane isn't overweight and is in otherwise great health. Labs were all good for everything else. He eats a mix of wet food with and without gravy, typically Friskies or Fancy Feast. I want to cut out the gravy foods and go with the low carb options. I don't think I will have any trouble with that, he's an easy eater. Can I do that immediately? I mean, I started tonight, since I had some in the house, and he does switch back and forth between pate and gravies. As noted above, he hasn't yet started insulin, will probably start tomorrow night. Should I tell my vet that I am taking him from frequent (but not always) gravy food to no gravy/sauces so that he can decide if that matters for the starting dose? Or is it better to not change diet for awhile? My Vet didn't ask anything about diet, but I was reading Dr. Pierson's article about it and am afraid of somehow making Coltrane go too low once the insulin starts. Eventually I will probably want to tackle monitoring blood sugar, but my Vet said to wait on that until I get established with the insulin. Does anyone have any thoughts? And has anyone with a recently diagnosed cat had to learn to give insulin without a demonstration by your vet? Thanks, Kim
Hi Kim let us know how it went today . Have you looked into any wet cat foods for Coltrane ? Don’t forget to ask lots of questions on here everyone really seems so helpful and nice .
I’m getting my first experience with a meter today Heven Help Me . Roe
 
One of the great strengths of this message board, is all the great ideas you will get from different members. Plus the moral support from folks. We have that "you can do this" attitude, and help people to gain the confidence they need to treat their diabetic cats.

Like @Aleluia Grugru & Minnie flashlight in the mouth trick. Personally, I prefer one of those head lamps that hikers use to see the trails at dusk and dawn. Or any sort of outdoor enthusiast. Like the Petzl Tikinna or some of these other ones reviewed by an outdoor gear site. I have a Black Diamond head lamp myself, bought many, many years ago.
 
One of the great strengths of this message board, is all the great ideas you will get from different members. Plus the moral support from folks. We have that "you can do this" attitude, and help people to gain the confidence they need to treat their diabetic cats.

Like @Aleluia Grugru & Minnie flashlight in the mouth trick. Personally, I prefer one of those head lamps that hikers use to see the trails at dusk and dawn. Or any sort of outdoor enthusiast. Like the Petzl Tikinna or some of these other ones reviewed by an outdoor gear site. I have a Black Diamond head lamp myself, bought many, many years ago.

omg a head flashlight! I need to get one of those. I guess I was just metro MacGyvering lol
 
Thank you to everyone who responded! Yesterday went quite well. I had my curbside consult, without Coltrane (!), and they handed off the insulin and needles with a set of written instructions. The tech then went back inside and called me from the office to go over them. She also sent me a youtube video, that I had already found and watched several times. So Coltrane is starting with 2 units of Vetsulin, twice a day (U40). He's 16.3 lbs We've given it twice now, while he was eating, and he didn't even flinch. He seemed mildly annoyed at having his skin tugged at this morning, but it went fine. I've watched him closely since starting the insulin and he seems fine. This is hard to know, but does anyone have any idea of what those first doses of insulin feel like (i.e., how it might make our cats feel inside)? I know that's hard to tell, but maybe if anyone has ever asked a person who takes insulin? I'm just curious does he feel better, nothing, odd while his body is adjusting. I want to be inside that big head of his!
Hello,
I'm so grateful to have found this community. My 13 year old male kitty, Coltrane, was diagnosed with diabetes yesterday. His blood sugar was 439, and he had sugar in his urine. Tomorrow I go for a curbside diabetes consult with the Vet Tech, where I'll be instructed on how to administer insulin. Due to Covid, here on Long Island, NY, there are no family members/owners allowed inside the animal hospital, so I won't have any opportunity to observe it given or practice. I'm a bit overwhelmed at that. Thank goodness for youtube. I think I can be successful with the insulin, but am really worried about whether he will be appropriately regulated. The plan is to try a starter dose and then have him return to the hospital in about a week for a curve test.
My question to the forum is in regard to diet. Coltrane isn't overweight and is in otherwise great health. Labs were all good for everything else. He eats a mix of wet food with and without gravy, typically Friskies or Fancy Feast. I want to cut out the gravy foods and go with the low carb options. I don't think I will have any trouble with that, he's an easy eater. Can I do that immediately? I mean, I started tonight, since I had some in the house, and he does switch back and forth between pate and gravies. As noted above, he hasn't yet started insulin, will probably start tomorrow night. Should I tell my vet that I am taking him from frequent (but not always) gravy food to no gravy/sauces so that he can decide if that matters for the starting dose? Or is it better to not change diet for awhile? My Vet didn't ask anything about diet, but I was reading Dr. Pierson's article about it and am afraid of somehow making Coltrane go too low once the insulin starts. Eventually I will probably want to tackle monitoring blood sugar, but my Vet said to wait on that until I get established with the insulin. Does anyone have any thoughts? And has anyone with a recently diagnosed cat had to learn to give insulin without a demonstration by your vet? Thanks, Kim
Thank you to everyone who responded! Yesterday went quite well. I had my curbside consult, without Coltrane (!), and they handed off the insulin and needles with a set of written instructions. The tech then went back inside and called me from the office to go over them. She also sent me a youtube video, that I had already found and watched several times. So Coltrane is starting with 2 units of Vetsulin, twice a day (U40). He's 16.3 lbs, but not terribly overweight. He's a very big boned boy. Big head, big ribs, etc... We've given it twice now, while he was eating, and he didn't even flinch. He seemed mildly annoyed at having his skin tugged at this morning, but it went fine. I've watched him closely since starting the insulin and he seems fine. This is hard to know, but does anyone have any idea of what those first doses of insulin feel like (i.e., how it might make our cats feel inside)? I know that's hard to tell, but maybe if anyone has ever asked a person who takes insulin? I'm just curious does he feel better, nothing, odd while his body is adjusting. I want to be inside that big head of his! I'm supposed to bring him back in 7-10 days for the curve test. Does this all sound fairly typical? Thanks for your support!
 
Kimberly J if you could set up your User Id "signature" that would help us help you better.
How to's are here: Editing your Signature, Profile, and Preferences

Then a spreadsheet. We have a standardized, color coded one with a template that you copy.
Directions for that in this link here: FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions

What it means is here in this link. Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid

The SS is a great tool, and you can even share the SS (spreadsheet) with your vet. Simple grid, to record the BG (blood glucose) data and the insulin dose each cycle. Plus, there is the Remarks column on the far right to track other information, plus a tab on the SS to record lab results.

Vetsulin is a fast acting insulin, meaning is numbers could drop quickly and his numbers could drop to low and you would have to intervene with feeding him food to bring his BG up
Do you plan on home testing, its the best way to keep him safe
I don't know where you live but if you have a Walmart by you most of us use human meters

The Relion Prime or Premier, the Prime is 9 dollars and 17.88 for 100 test strips
You would also buy the lancets to poke the ear, start off with 28 gauge you can free hand or buy a lancing device

Then you would record his numbers on the spreadsheet, so if you need help with his dose the members here can take a look at it
Its very important to test him to make sure the number is high enough to shoot the insulin

You would Test, Feed then wait 30 minutes to shoot vetsulin.

Once you draw blood just get a cotton round and press gently on the spitvto stop the bleeding
I know it sounds scary but believe me once you get used to it its easy

The first test in the morning is called AMPS- AM Pre- Shot
Night test is PMPS- PM Pre- Shot
I'm sure you know it's given every 12 hours
With Vetsulin you would want to check him again 2 hours after giving the insulin
On the spreadsheet you would in the cell or square what his BG is. Example 96 @+2
Take a look at my spreadsheet it will give you an idea how it works

Vetsulin is not the best insulin for cats because it usually doesn't last 12 hours
If you ever change most of us use Lantus or Prozinc they are longer lasting

Food you will want to feed wet food that is less than 10 carbs such as Fancy Feast Classics Pate or Friskies Pate, there is a chart in the Feline Health Forum
Dr Pierson's take a look

Read about having a hypo kit ready honey and foods that are medium carbs and high carbs in case he ever drop very low




In doubt always post and ask before shooting
In the beginning I'm pretty sure you don't want to shoot if is BG is under 200
Post and ask us

Just keep asking questions about anything
Best of luck

Also you might want to look into buying the syringes with half unit markings because we decrease or increase by 0.25 or 0.5 units , it's easier using half unit markings

If you are feeding him foods that are in gravy and are more than 10 carbs, I wouldn't start to change to lower carbs until you start testing him
If you did switch to lower carbs that can make his BG lower at pre- shot and you would not know this unless you are home testing, you want to keep him safe from going hypo

Food
Over 10% is usually too high for many diabetic cats.
10-15% is medium carb, 16% and up is high carb.
Here is the link to the food charthttp://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
 
Last edited:
Testing
We all know the basics:
  • Warm the ear with a rice sock or a warm washcloth wrapped in a plastic bag.
  • Either freehand or use a lancing device; new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed; then progress to a 31g or 33g which are finer.
  • Be sure to poke in the "sweet spot" and not the major vein that runs along the length of the ear. Poking the vein will not only hurt, but will result in a lot of blood. The sweet spot is on the edge of the ear.
4395c545-36bf-4aba-bec7-4392fcdb191c-jpeg.48119

But did you also know there is a particular way for the lancet to be used? It has one side that is beveled so the sharpest part goes in first, if used correctly.
 
Thank you to everyone who responded! Yesterday went quite well. I had my curbside consult, without Coltrane (!), and they handed off the insulin and needles with a set of written instructions. The tech then went back inside and called me from the office to go over them. She also sent me a youtube video, that I had already found and watched several times. So Coltrane is starting with 2 units of Vetsulin, twice a day (U40). He's 16.3 lbs We've given it twice now, while he was eating, and he didn't even flinch. He seemed mildly annoyed at having his skin tugged at this morning, but it went fine. I've watched him closely since starting the insulin and he seems fine. This is hard to know, but does anyone have any idea of what those first doses of insulin feel like (i.e., how it might make our cats feel inside)? I know that's hard to tell, but maybe if anyone has ever asked a person who takes insulin? I'm just curious does he feel better, nothing, odd while his body is adjusting. I want to be inside that big head of his!

Thank you to everyone who responded! Yesterday went quite well. I had my curbside consult, without Coltrane (!), and they handed off the insulin and needles with a set of written instructions. The tech then went back inside and called me from the office to go over them. She also sent me a youtube video, that I had already found and watched several times. So Coltrane is starting with 2 units of Vetsulin, twice a day (U40). He's 16.3 lbs, but not terribly overweight. He's a very big boned boy. Big head, big ribs, etc... We've given it twice now, while he was eating, and he didn't even flinch. He seemed mildly annoyed at having his skin tugged at this morning, but it went fine. I've watched him closely since starting the insulin and he seems fine. This is hard to know, but does anyone have any idea of what those first doses of insulin feel like (i.e., how it might make our cats feel inside)? I know that's hard to tell, but maybe if anyone has ever asked a person who takes insulin? I'm just curious does he feel better, nothing, odd while his body is adjusting. I want to be inside that big head of his! I'm supposed to bring him back in 7-10 days for the curve test. Does this all sound fairly typical? Thanks for your support!
I could be wrong, but I picture it having more of a long term effect where you start to feel better, more energy, etc.

Great news that the shots went well!!! See? That’s been my experience even when I cat sat for diabetic cats. They don’t even flinch if you do it while they’re eating. Good for you! :bighug:
 
Thank you to everyone who responded! Yesterday went quite well. I had my curbside consult, without Coltrane (!), and they handed off the insulin and needles with a set of written instructions. The tech then went back inside and called me from the office to go over them. She also sent me a youtube video, that I had already found and watched several times. So Coltrane is starting with 2 units of Vetsulin, twice a day (U40). He's 16.3 lbs We've given it twice now, while he was eating, and he didn't even flinch. He seemed mildly annoyed at having his skin tugged at this morning, but it went fine. I've watched him closely since starting the insulin and he seems fine. This is hard to know, but does anyone have any idea of what those first doses of insulin feel like (i.e., how it might make our cats feel inside)? I know that's hard to tell, but maybe if anyone has ever asked a person who takes insulin? I'm just curious does he feel better, nothing, odd while his body is adjusting. I want to be inside that big head of his!

Thank you to everyone who responded! Yesterday went quite well. I had my curbside consult, without Coltrane (!), and they handed off the insulin and needles with a set of written instructions. The tech then went back inside and called me from the office to go over them. She also sent me a youtube video, that I had already found and watched several times. So Coltrane is starting with 2 units of Vetsulin, twice a day (U40). He's 16.3 lbs, but not terribly overweight. He's a very big boned boy. Big head, big ribs, etc... We've given it twice now, while he was eating, and he didn't even flinch. He seemed mildly annoyed at having his skin tugged at this morning, but it went fine. I've watched him closely since starting the insulin and he seems fine. This is hard to know, but does anyone have any idea of what those first doses of insulin feel like (i.e., how it might make our cats feel inside)? I know that's hard to tell, but maybe if anyone has ever asked a person who takes insulin? I'm just curious does he feel better, nothing, odd while his body is adjusting. I want to be inside that big head of his! I'm supposed to bring him back in 7-10 days for the curve test. Does this all sound fairly typical? Thanks for your support!
Hi Kim so Glad to hear this went well for you and Coltrane is not flinching . I just had to have Dusty’s blood taken after 6 days and by next week she will have the freestyle monitor on her for about 14 days to check her BG all day and night . I say there is No way she is going to keep this on . How did you do with Coltrane diet ? Roe
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top