New member in UK

Status
Not open for further replies.

JandB

Member Since 2010
Found out my cat has diabetes recently and at the regulating stage. I've been reading lots of info and I'm concerned about leaving him without human supervision for long periods. He's not on his own much as I don't work, but wondering about having days out sometimes. Any advice appreciated.
 
Can you tell us a little more about his treatment? What insulin, dose, etc. What diet is he on?

We always talk about starting low and going slow - meaning start on a low insulin dose and slowly raise it to find the optimal dose. The majority of us test our kitties blood glucose at home using a human meter. That way we know it is safe to give insulin and how low their BG goes on that given dose.

This gives great peace of mind for those of us working away from home for the day. I am gone for 10 hrs, at least, and am confident that my cat(s) on insulin are safe for me to do that. If you look at the bottom of this post and click on Jeddie's Numbers you can see his spreadsheet that shows his BG at each shot and at spot checks in between (scroll down past the lavender areas). Not sure where you are, but your BG numbers are probably something like 5.6 or 8, etc. The US numbers get divided by 18 to be in line with yours.
 
In the beginning you won't want to go out because you have no experience with how the insulin is working, but after a week or two you will have amassed enough data to go back to whatever you were doing before. I am assuming you will be home testing and keeping a spread sheet for your test results.

We have quite a few Brits here and I'm glad you put UK in your headline to attract them. They're a good bunch, they are all over and they will want to know where you live in addition to all the information Sheila asked about.
 
Welcome :)

Here are suggestions for UK foods, if you need it:

http://www.geocities.com/jmpeerson/nonusfd.html
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... msg-602242
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... msg-918743
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 527,911527

Felix in jelly seems popular.

Canned food can be left out all day. Most people here use a timed feeder. You can also freeze canned food into chunks/cubes and let a few slowly defrost in a bowl for your cat to eat.

Many newbies are worried about leaving their cat alone at home. Most cats do just fine alone, though you may want to stay close to home for the first week or so just to keep an eye on your cat. Testing the blood glucose levels at home and starting off on a very low dose of insulin can help prevent possible hypoglycemia.

We do have UK members on this board. Whereabouts in the UK are you?

What insulin is your cat on and what is the dose?
 
In the beginning you won't want to go out because you have no experience with how the insulin is working, but after a week or two you will have amassed enough data to go back to whatever you were doing before.

I just have to say that it is not necessary to stay home for a week or two. Many of us have jobs and kept working in the beginning. You might not want to be gone for 15 or 16 hours or something, but spending the day, like it was a work day, out is fine.

And don't let "amassing data" scare you. It's really just testing before every shot and trying to get spot checks a few times a day at different times. Then, after 5-7 days, you do what is called a curve and test every 2-3 hours, which tells you things like onset of insulin action, nadir (or lowest BG point), and duration of insulin action (when it starts to fade). When you start out you are trying for all those tests, although don't be dissapointed if you can't get some of them because the cat has other ideas :roll:

Again, this is why you start with a low dose and let it settle, test the BG and only raise after a curve when you know it is safe/necessary.
 
Thanks for the welcome and advice. :smile:

Only testing Puss has had is at the vet. Not sure about home testing. Is it ok in the UK? I think we need permission from the vets. He had initial blood test for diabetes and was put on IPV 4 units once a day. Then had a BG Curve done at the vets, which stressed him out. cat(2)_steam Same insulin was then increased to 5 units once a day. After reading on internet I spoke to an alternative vets and the usual one. Fell out with usual vets, as they don't seem to care about cats being stressed, and would like more curves. Taking him to different vets next week for Fructosamine test, as he can come straight home after that. Was hoping he could be monitored with this test. He seems to be doing a bit better but still drinking and weeing quite a bit. Don't think he's keen on being left a lot recently, which is why I asked about that. I don't think the curve helped matters, but at least he's in his comfort zone.

His diet is Hills Feline CD and Classic jelly. He has a history of UTD.
 
Hmmm... never heard of "IPV" insulin, but 4u seems like too much. Usual starting dose on any insulin is 1u, sometimes even .5u. Can you post what is written on the vial or box - exactly? The best insulins for cats right now seem to be Levemir (Detemir), Lantus (Glargine) and ProZinc.

OK - No, you do not need anyone's permission to test your cat's BG at home. You just need a human meter, test strips, lancets and treats (I use boiled chicken). Your vet should care about the cat being stressed because that raises the BG level and gives false information on what the dose is doing - which it sounds like is happening with yours if they just raised him to 5u. My cat, Beau, got up to 7u of insulin be being tested at the vet. His BG was going higher and higher - until he crashed (at the vet for a curve). When I started testing him at home - and changing his diet, he ended up with much lower BG's and a dose of .8u twice a day. That's a far cry from 7u.

By a "history of UTD" do you mean crystals? Infections (UTI)? A lot of those are caused by dry foods including Feline CD. Dry is not an apprpriate food for cats - just think, they don't eat anything close to dry food in the wild. Dry food saps them of moisture because they use so much to process it, it does not have adequate protein, and the protein source is poor in most cases and it has carbohydrate fillers like corn, wheat gluten, and soy, known allergens, that raise the carb content too high. Cats should get no more than 10% of their calories in carbs.

You might want to start a new post asking for advice on low carb wet food available in the UK - give your country and/or city because I think what is available varies by country. Also ask about insulin, meters and testing. I don't know what meters you have available, but here (USA) you can walk into any pharmacy and buy a meter.
 
Thanks. Insuvet Pro Zinc is the insulin. Guess you call it Pro Zinc.

UTD is Urinary tract disease. Yes, it's crystals.

His BG reading was around 30 all the time he was at the vets having the curve. I suggested it was increased with stress, but was just told " it wouldn't make much difference ". Not keen on putting him through it again though!
 
ProZinc is a new insulin in the USA for cats. It is a U40 insulin and is a recombinant human protamine zinc insulin. A google search showed that Isuvet is a bovine based PZI insulin.

JAB said:
Thanks. Insuvet Pro Zinc is the insulin. Guess you call it Pro Zinc.

UTD is Urinary tract disease. Yes, it's crystals.

His BG reading was around 30 all the time he was at the vets having the curve. I suggested it was increased with stress, but was just told " it wouldn't make much difference ". Not keen on putting him through it again though!
 
Thanks, I should have figured that out, but I googled it and got nothing.... :roll:

Yeah, 5u of PZI/ProZinc is high. Numbers in the 30s are high too, but it is entirely possible that starting at 4u just sent him into rebound and he will never come down with that high of a dose.

Now, are they giving you u40 syringes or u100 syringes? Because if they are u100 syringes than he is actually only getting 2u of insulin because of the different dilutions. That would be within reason - and actually what I hope is going on.
 
Where did you get the info that Insuvet is a U40 insulin? Per:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Category:Insuvet
it is a U100 insulin.

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Thanks, I should have figured that out, but I googled it and got nothing.... :roll:

Yeah, 5u of PZI/ProZinc is high. Numbers in the 30s are high too, but it is entirely possible that starting at 4u just sent him into rebound and he will never come down with that high of a dose.

Now, are they giving you u40 syringes or u100 syringes? Because if they are u100 syringes than he is actually only getting 2u of insulin because of the different dilutions. That would be within reason - and actually what I hope is going on.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Thanks, I should have figured that out, but I googled it and got nothing.... :roll:

Yeah, 5u of PZI/ProZinc is high. Numbers in the 30s are high too, but it is entirely possible that starting at 4u just sent him into rebound and he will never come down with that high of a dose.

Now, are they giving you u40 syringes or u100 syringes? Because if they are u100 syringes than he is actually only getting 2u of insulin because of the different dilutions. That would be within reason - and actually what I hope is going on.


I'm using u100 syringes. It also says the insulin is u100. Getting confused now....easily done! :smile:
Is the dose he's getting 5u or less?
 
JAB said:
I'm using u100 syringes. It also says the insulin is u100. Getting confused now....easily done! :smile:
Is the dose he's getting 5u or less?

If you are using U100 Insulin, in U100 syringes then drawn to the '5' unit-mark is 5 units of insulin,
true dose.

If you are using U40 insulin, in U100 syringes, then drawn to the '5' unit-mark is 2 units of insulin,
true dose.

Since ProZinc is U100, you are giving 5 units....a large (possibly too large) dose.
 
Larry and Kitties said:
Where did you get the info that Insuvet is a U40 insulin?.
From you, Larry. I just assumed you were correct:
Larry and Kitties said:
ProZinc is a new insulin in the USA for cats. It is a U40 insulin and is a recombinant human protamine zinc insulin. A google search showed that Isuvet is a bovine based PZI insulin.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Sorry for the confusion, JAB! Looks like you are indeed giving 5u.

Just hope the dose is ok for him. Seems high from what people are saying. Maybe it's because he's quite a big cat?
 
Hi JAB and welcome to FDMB.
I've been away from the board for a short time, but am from UK.

Don't have any experience of the particular insulin you are using, but have a feeling it may be what my friend used a while back so will check with her.

5U is a very high dose and once a day just isn't going to cut it.
When you said 30, would I be right in thinking mmol? In USA it's mgdl.You would times that by 18-that's a seriously high diabetic number.

Can you explain how the vet worked you up to that dose?
You do have to be careful with cutting doses, but at the same time it's rare for cats to be on doses above 2 or 3u (most here are are under 2). We do have what we call high dose cats, they are on very hih doses.

I would suggest you navigate your way round this site, do lots of reading (hope you have time).
Also wikia has lots of sections on felinediabetes, alot of it written by Steve and Jock who are also UK based (Steve and Jock were the pioneers of using Levemir, found to be one of the most successful insulins at giving you a chance of getting your cat into remission)

The Hills stuff is next to rubbish.
I fed Lucky Felix 'as good as it looks'. This was just over 3% carbs. Hills is much higher, but don't want you to swap till understood where your 5u dose came from.(I can also give you some other UK brands that are better than the Hills)
The reason for this is, the higher the carb content of food, the higer dose of insulin cat needs. Carbs raise glucose number.
If your cat is on to high a dose, the higher carb food may be evening that out a bit.

Although fructosamine test gives you an average, that's exactly what it is-an average BG over the last 1-3 weeks. If it comes out at say 300, it could stillmean at some time in the day, kitty has been at 100.
This is why the board advocates strongl for home testing. It takes dedication, but once your into a routine it takes minutes out of your day.
I have no doubt in my mind it gave me an extra 10 months with Lucky, and the only reason I lost her was because of something that the vets did (she died in their care)
If your interested in learning about hometesting there's plenty of beans (us) here who will help you.
I used to get test strips of ebay and a couple of the monitors cheap. Sometimes the strips were costly, others cheap (supply and demand).
Shame you weren't on here (and me) couple of weeks ago, I have 2 tubs that now will go to waste as they are accucheck aviva and run out 31st March (microchip so can't use past sell by date like you can other brands).
Your right about kitty getting stressed at vets,can raise BG by over 100 points-Lucky always did. It's a nice little money earner too.
I sawsome mention of crystals-can you give more info, also if any other health concerns?
How long had kitty been peeing/eating excessively before being diagnosed?
Don't want to overload you with info (and late here-I'm in Germany at present)and if you want to just stick with vets no point in bombarding you either.
Ask lots of questions if you like, will get lots of replies as this is a 24 hr board from all over the world.
Good luck :-D

ps-look at somygi rebound. If cat being given too high a dose, you get a roller coaster ride of numbers and vets who don't know better just keepo increasing dose.
Also reason twice a day shots is cos cats utilise insulin differently to dogs (twice as fast basically)This should be basic knowledge!!! (sos just my little dig at whitecoats)
 
Just to be crystal clear

Sorry Sheila but MMOL to USA MGDL you TIMES by 18 NOT divide.

If that 30 is MMOL that's 540 in US numbers (mgdl)

Here's link to bg converter
http://felinediabetes.com/bg-convert.htm

Just double checking my message.

When I say once a day dose doesn't cut it, I don't mean give 5u twice a day either!!!
As said in previous message, need to know all health history before advising you to cut dose right back.Then if that dose seem wise it would be to give the samller dose twice a day.
If you got a bg monitor and strips and test Puss at +6 you'll soon know what impact that amount insulin is having on him (fructo test won't show you).
 
Hi, and thanks for the Welcome.
Firstly, Puss is eating normally, just drinking and weeing more. He was standing up and weeing so it flowed out of the tray at the time before he saw the vet. Noticed he'd been doing this for a week or so, then spotted some blood on his blanket, so took him to vet. They thought it was an infection and also did some blood tests. He had an antibiotic injection and vet said blood test results showed he was diabetic. Took him back and learned how to inject him, and he was prescribed 4u once a day at that time. I started reading and learning straightaway. Two weeks later he had a glucose curve, then raised to 5u dose. After the curve he was really stressed and so I was unhappy about taking him back for another, which they wanted in another 2 weeks. Another vet told me about the Fructosamine test, and I was also happy with what I'd read about it. Thought it would be better than curve as he could come straight home. He's due for that in a few days. Will tell us something hopefully.

Not sure about the home blood testing, but I won't write it off. Thinking of talking about that to the new vet and also the urine testing with strips.
 
That's spooky, just come on line to see if you'd posted and you came on at the same time!

There is an alternative monitoring grop on here-take a look.
Various reasons why people prefer not to do the bg testing.
Lucky was a very fractious kitty, wouldn't let anyone except me near her, but amazing how quickly she accepted me doing it. I useda blanket (called burrito style), except I didn't have to wrap her quite as tghtly as some. It became more of a comfort/signthat it was testing time. She became like Pavlos dogs-ting of the microwave (used a warm rice sock to warm her ear and incraese blood flow, as well as a firm surface to lay her ear on when lancing to get spot of blood)and she'd comeinto the kitchen 99% of the time for her test.

If you get keto diastix (any pharmacy-boots/loyds) it will not only give you an idea of Puss's glucose levels but also monitor for keytones.

Worth reading up on them too. Is one of the reasons you have to be careful when cutting dose. Too little insulin can cause keytones which is life threatening and requires vet intervention.

Btw-you don't need vets permission to home test, your the customer.
It's quite scary but British vets seem even more behind than a lot of American ones.

Lantus and Levemir insulins have consistently shown better results in cats than other insulins. If used within 6 months of diagnosis a very high chance of remission (cat becomes diet controlled). Most cats actually have type 2 diabetes, hence can get into remission.
Although the chart is 6 months out of date, if you look at Luckys, you can see the difference in the results between Caninsulin (a fav cat insulin i Britain, though has been a huge warning on it in recent months and the compay has recommended vets swap cats to different insulins-might be why you are) and Levemir. I consistently had her in non-diabetic numbers. This gives the Beta cells in the Pancreas chance to recover and start producing their own insulin again. If you try for remission, it does mean more effort and closer mnitoring on your part.
Again, not sure a lot of ets favour it, ours didn't. Vry quickly I made the decisions with the help of this board and only used the vets when needed.
Unfortunately Pancreatitis occurred, whole different ball game. Not something hopefully you will have to worry about.

You could apply to Cindy for a starter kit. Lyn in America sent me one when we started.

Arm yourself with lots of questions for vet when you go. You'llsoon be able to sus out how much knowledge of FD they have. In the main they probaby do no more than a couple of days at vet college. Especially if you think about all the animals they have to learn about and then all the different diseases.
As a side note-interestingly, FD is on the increase just as human diabetes is-all about the carbs!!
 
Kate and Lucky, I forgot to explain about the crystals. He and his Mum both take Hills Feline CD for this. I am reluctant to take them off it as it does seem to prevent crystals reocurring. When they first got the problem they had SD for a while, then moved on to CD.
 
Thanks for the update.

You could post the question separately here in the health section and see what others have used to treat the crystals.
I appreciate what your saying and as I have no experience of crystals, can't comment either way (except Hills stuff is pretty much 'hated' here, but understand why your using it)

Ask any questions you like. The site is a pay forward one where we all pass on what we have learned. :-D
 
I use HIll CD for the two cats that have blocked in the past due to crystals. Although I would rather feed them "better" food, the risk and expense (if blocked again) of changing food is not worth it to me.
 
kate and lucky said:
Just to be crystal clear

Sorry Sheila but MMOL to USA MGDL you TIMES by 18 NOT divide.

If that 30 is MMOL that's 540 in US numbers (mgdl)

Kate, I was not wrong. You did not understand what I posted.

I explained in my first post that if she looked at Jeddie's spreadsheet those "US numbers get divided by 18 to be in line with yours" so she would understand the relative numbers. i.e. take Jeddie's 350, DIVIDE by 18 and get 19.44. That is why I said "Numbers in the 30s are high".
 
Many cats have crystals...not all are problems.

Is the CD dry or canned? If dry, that is an absolute NO GO as dry food will dehydrate and concentrate the urine, thereby increasing your worries.

Dr Lisa Pierson has a great website that discusses the role diet plays in cat health and in specific conditions - please see www.catinfo.org for more information

And I echo what the others have said; 4 units is WAY TOO HIGH for a starting dose. Yes, hometesting has been very frowned upon in the UK for some reason (there used to be a 'secret' website to help provide support) but there is absolutely no reason to not test, and every reason TO test.

Jen
 
Larry and Kitties said:
I use HIll CD for the two cats that have blocked in the past due to crystals. Although I would rather feed them "better" food, the risk and expense (if blocked again) of changing food is not worth it to me.

That's pretty much how I feel. Changing the food isn't worth the trouble.
 
Jen & Squeak said:
Many cats have crystals...not all are problems.

Is the CD dry or canned? If dry, that is an absolute NO GO as dry food will dehydrate and concentrate the urine, thereby increasing your worries.

Dr Lisa Pierson has a great website that discusses the role diet plays in cat health and in specific conditions - please see http://www.catinfo.org for more information

And I echo what the others have said; 4 units is WAY TOO HIGH for a starting dose. Yes, hometesting has been very frowned upon in the UK for some reason (there used to be a 'secret' website to help provide support) but there is absolutely no reason to not test, and every reason TO test.

Jen

Been to a different vet now and he's had a fructosamine test. Leaving his diet for now until the results come through. The CD is dry but he also eats another brand of jelly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top