Lana and Powder
Member Since 2022
Hello all,
I have learned so much from reading this forum but I am now stumped.
A little about my little guy Powder...
He was diagnosed with gastro Lymphoma and put on Prednisolone.
After a few high BG readings at the vet office I was concerned. The vet wasn't. She said it was probably just stress. I pressed it and she did a fructosamine test. It was high.
He was quickly weaned off of Pred but that didn't do it. He developed diabetes.
He has been on insulin for 4 months.
My vet is very conservative and kept his insulin dosage low. I followed her advice for the first several weeks as I was overwhelmed. But I started to read. I decided to follow more of a tight regulation protocol. He was well regulated in a few weeks and just before we got our new kitten a month ago - I thought he might be going into remission. I reduced his Lantus insulin to 0.50 units at night and 1 unit in the AM. His pre-shot readings averaged around 150.
Enter kitten. Within 3 days I got a reading of almost 300. Yikes! I increased his insulin but couldn't keep him in the sweet spot. He would have low readings in the AM after a break from kitten (they don't sleep together) but his evening readings would be high after spending the day with kitten. This morning I decided to increase his insulin yet again and gave his 2 units rather than the 1.75 units I had increased it to. Tonight his reading was 360! I haven't had a reading like that since the beginning. He then might have a few days of low numbers.
I'm stumped. Is it stress from the new kitten? The new little guy is very active and pounces on Powder. Or is it a secondary infection from a Herpes flare due to stress?
Would love to know if anyone has experienced anything like this?
Do you think increasing the insulin CAUSED the high BG reading?
I'm not sure how I should be dosing him.
Thanks in advance for your insights.
I have learned so much from reading this forum but I am now stumped.
A little about my little guy Powder...
He was diagnosed with gastro Lymphoma and put on Prednisolone.
After a few high BG readings at the vet office I was concerned. The vet wasn't. She said it was probably just stress. I pressed it and she did a fructosamine test. It was high.
He was quickly weaned off of Pred but that didn't do it. He developed diabetes.
He has been on insulin for 4 months.
My vet is very conservative and kept his insulin dosage low. I followed her advice for the first several weeks as I was overwhelmed. But I started to read. I decided to follow more of a tight regulation protocol. He was well regulated in a few weeks and just before we got our new kitten a month ago - I thought he might be going into remission. I reduced his Lantus insulin to 0.50 units at night and 1 unit in the AM. His pre-shot readings averaged around 150.
Enter kitten. Within 3 days I got a reading of almost 300. Yikes! I increased his insulin but couldn't keep him in the sweet spot. He would have low readings in the AM after a break from kitten (they don't sleep together) but his evening readings would be high after spending the day with kitten. This morning I decided to increase his insulin yet again and gave his 2 units rather than the 1.75 units I had increased it to. Tonight his reading was 360! I haven't had a reading like that since the beginning. He then might have a few days of low numbers.
I'm stumped. Is it stress from the new kitten? The new little guy is very active and pounces on Powder. Or is it a secondary infection from a Herpes flare due to stress?
Would love to know if anyone has experienced anything like this?
Do you think increasing the insulin CAUSED the high BG reading?
I'm not sure how I should be dosing him.
Thanks in advance for your insights.
