New member! Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I so appreciate all the help! We have a spreadsheet set up now, and Charlotte is absolutely wonderful about the bloodtesting as long as my partner is giving her a churu tube. she doesn't even notice now! BG is still pretty high, we will take it one day at a time though and hope it comes down eventually. We are also going to try some other foods because she doesn't seem fond of the Tiki Cat we are using... Fancy Feast and raw food will be offered for tonight. Hopefully we can find something she enjoys! It was noted on her file from the shelter that she wasn't very food motivated though....they had her on rx wet and dry.
 
She isnt on the RX anymore! That was before we pulled her from the shelter up north. I switched her to the lowest carb I had at my place (tiki cat mousse) but she isn't fond of it. The only things she really loves are those churu tubes! We will keep trying low carb options and hopefully find something she likes.

She luckily isn't a kibble addict! She seems to prefer the wet to the kibble (They sent her with a tiny bit of the kibble which i initially tried to use as a treat for her)
 
I so appreciate all the help! We have a spreadsheet set up now, and Charlotte is absolutely wonderful about the bloodtesting as long as my partner is giving her a churu tube. she doesn't even notice now! BG is still pretty high, we will take it one day at a time though and hope it comes down eventually. We are also going to try some other foods because she doesn't seem fond of the Tiki Cat we are using... Fancy Feast and raw food will be offered for tonight. Hopefully we can find something she enjoys! It was noted on her file from the shelter that she wasn't very food motivated though....they had her on rx wet and dry.

Way to go!! :)
 
So I didn’t realize I shouldn’t feed, she did eat and I just retested and she’s at 8.7. I was under the impression I should be giving the shot when she was above 6.6......

I didn’t see the response till now. Her usual time is 9:45 for test and then shot.

Someone else had mentioned not to stress her out by trying to get tests in between just yet, and just to make sure we got the preshot test in so I had not been worrying about testing during the day.
 
Testing during a cycle is very important, esp. since you are seeing lower numbers at shot time
She ate one can of fancy feast for dinner tonight. Usually I give her another one before bed, do you think that’s a good idea tonight? I assume it’s too late for insulin?
number could be food influenced. we just don't know, without testing, how charlotte reacts to carbs.
i suggest skipping tonight.
and feed as you normally would.

apologies. wonky laptop. a number of keys do not work.
 
a +2
and a mid-cycle test to start.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus/Basaglar cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.​
 
Thanks so much. I’ll add more testing times. What’s the ideal time during the day? 6 hours after?
You got a 83 at +7, so I’d try to alternate +5,+6,+7 to see what you get. A +2 if your preshot number is under 200 is a good idea because you want the numbers to be going up at that point. If they’re not, you’ll need to test more because that’s going to be an active cycle for her.

Since you’re getting mainly blues at pmps, can you try to get a +2 every night? Same concept, you want that number to be going up
 
I have a slight correction to the above. You don’t want to see the +2 going up. If it’s is lower than the preshot it means you will likely have an active cycle and need more tests. If a lot higher it won’t be an active cycle so no more tests will be needed. The insulin will kick in around +2-3. The nadir will be between +4-7 for most cats but varies so testing each cycle at different times to try and catch it is a good idea.
 
@Khora Tatyana
The morning test of 49 on the 28th tells you that Charlotte's dose is too high. On a human meter, 50 is the take action number. Please reduce the dose to 0.75 units and please get some mid-cycle tests in. You don't know how low she went during the night of the 27th/28th.

A preshot number that seems higher than usual is likely a bounce from low numbers or because the shot during the previous cycle was skipped for safety reasons and dosing should not be based on these higher numbers.
Dosing is based on how low a cat goes during a cycle.
 
Sorry it’s a bit hard to follow the numbers because I’m Canadian! I use the “world numbers”... I’ll have the foster do some more testing, and see if we can reduce the dose.

perhaps the syringes I’m using are different, but how do you reduce by .25??? It’s such a tiny amount to begin with! I had to put reading glasses on and stare at it for about 5 minutes to get it right lol
 
Sorry it’s a bit hard to follow the numbers because I’m Canadian! I use the “world numbers”... I’ll have the foster do some more testing, and see if we can reduce the dose.

World numbers x 18 = US numbers.
The take action on a human meter in US numbers is 50. In World Numbers, that's 2.7.

Since you and the foster are new to this. I suggest you take a reduction in dose if any test is under 90 (5). Usually at the beginning, we ask that a person not shoot a preshot number under 150 (8.3) until there is a lot of midcycle data to draw upon.

perhaps the syringes I’m using are different, but how do you reduce by .25??? It’s such a tiny amount to begin with! I had to put reading glasses on and stare at it for about 5 minutes to get it right lol
Dollar store magnifying reading glasses help.
Play with some coloured water and a used syringe. Once you have what you consider is a good 0.75 units, place that syringe aside so you have a reference.
Are you using 3/10cc syringes?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top