"New Member" help with dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nava&Boris

Member Since 2022
Hi everyone,

My cat Boris was diagnosed a while back – in late august 2021, approx. around his 12th birthday. For a long time trying to get him regulated was impossible, since he wouldn’t let me check his BG at all! (Oddly, the insulin shots themselves were not a problem for him). I have been looking at this message board (which is great!) and at some other online forums, trying to find tips to make him feel better. I also tried to control his BG, at least partially, with urinalysis test stripes. It was very frustrating.

In April things changed. I managed to lower his BG with the urine tests and could tell that his insulin requirements are rapidly decreasing. This happened at least once before but this time I decided that I'm not giving up. With a lot of effort and payoffs (fresh chicken breast pieces boiled in water) I was able to get him a little bit accustomed to the blood testing. Nowadays, I'm able to test him enough for the SLGS regulation (Its still a struggle, especially in the mornings…).

Anyway… Boris is doing very well since mid-April and I feel like we might be getting close to remission. I really want him to earn his last reductions 'properly'. The problem is that sometimes his AMPS is suddenly higher and I have no Idea why…. I always think that he must be 'jumping' due to low BG at night, but I've never ever 'caught' him on an actual low. His curves seem quite steady most of the time. Should I try and reduce the dose or hold it? Set my alarm to get more tests before dawn? I will be happy if anyone here has any thoughts on how me and Boris should progress from here.

Thank you, Nava



Some more Info…Because we are still on a very 'loose regulation' program, and because Boris has a tendency for early nadirs, my criteria for dosing are quite cautious: a reduced dose for BG between 90 to 70 (even though it does mess-up his curve a bit), and no shooting under 70. Since the diabetes Boris has been eating strictly wet food (mostly Animonda Carny – around 5.5 % carb)… also he does get about 1 ts. of food early mornings at around +9 with his feeder; thats because he started to throw-up a little bit in the mornings before he wakes me up… a snack at around 3.00 am basically sorted it out.
 
Hi Nava,
Before I comment on Boris, could you set up the signature please with the necessary information and also put into it that you are doing SLGS custom dosing with a reduction point of 70 so we are aware. SIGNATURE LINK within this link.
Also check out the hypo kit link and make sure you have that set up please.

The AMPS is always the last BG to come down to normal. Giving him a snack at +9 at night as you are doing can sometimes help bring down the AMPS.
We really need to see some more testing during the cycles if possible. Can you get a before bed test in every night?
And if you can get at least one test in during the day, that is also helpful.
I would stay with the 0.25 U dose
I would also suggest you start posting daily over on the Lantus forum for guidance and help.
We want Boris to have a strong remission and although he is heading toward that, he is not there yet.
Here is the link to the Lantus page. You do a new thread each day and do it like this…6/4 Boris AMPS XXX
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
Hope to see you over there
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top