SophieFRA
Member Since 2023
*** 03-15 7:17am - update, Raven is doing well this morning apart from continued GI distress. He seems to be in better spirits. He’s back at his regular preshot numbers range of 286. I the end the lowest he dropped was 71 and his numbers went up following high carb food. So in hindsight it was a pretty good streak. But I still reduced the dose by 0.25 this morning per Chris Ronkoski’s advice and will stick with this lower dose for a few days. I’ll be gone during the day Thursday/Friday and some of Saturday - so this approach seems safer. Also looking forward to getting some sleep tonight after a night of poor, interrupted sleep. Thank you so much for all the advice ***
Ravens numbers keep dropping -- at 71 at 3.5+ Just fed him high carb food****
Help! I think I just f***ed up. Raven’s preshot number was 145 on a human meter and I still gave his regular 2u shot of Lantus. I just remeasured after an hour and he’s at 157 - but I realize the Lantus has not kicked in yet. I just gave him some extra Dr Elsey which seemed to spike his numbers yesterday and will keep an eye on him. Should I give him something higher carb? He’s been on 2us for 4 consequutive doses (this being his 5th). So far his preshot values on this dose have been in the high 200s but this afternoon he’s been in the blues. This is by far the lowest preshot number he’s had. I don’t know what I was thinking…
#Admin
I just set up my account per advice on the Facebook group earlier. I haven't figured out how to add details to my profile yet. But wanted to quickly post. My foster cat Raven (6 years) was diagnosed with diabetes in mid-February and has been on Lantus since. I recently upped his dose to 2u (this pm shot was the 5th dose at this number). He was at 145 (an unusually low number for him - he's never been lower than high 200s at preshot). before his pm dose at 6:45pm EDT and I decided to shoot anyway (still new to this). Since he's beendropping. We're coming up to +4 and he's gone from 157 (+1), 173(+2) to 92 (+3) and 71 (+3:20). I just fed him a 3 oz can high carb wet food (16%) which he lapped up. I have syringes with maple syrup at the ready. 71 is the lowest number I have ever measured for him and I am getting really nervous. He just had a bout of diarrhea outside of the litter box (he's had GI issues -- but usually makes it to box) but seems fine otherwise. Will try to figure out how to upload his spreadheet here. @Margaret (and Pearl) has been advising me on Facebook.
Ravens numbers keep dropping -- at 71 at 3.5+ Just fed him high carb food****
Help! I think I just f***ed up. Raven’s preshot number was 145 on a human meter and I still gave his regular 2u shot of Lantus. I just remeasured after an hour and he’s at 157 - but I realize the Lantus has not kicked in yet. I just gave him some extra Dr Elsey which seemed to spike his numbers yesterday and will keep an eye on him. Should I give him something higher carb? He’s been on 2us for 4 consequutive doses (this being his 5th). So far his preshot values on this dose have been in the high 200s but this afternoon he’s been in the blues. This is by far the lowest preshot number he’s had. I don’t know what I was thinking…
#Admin
I just set up my account per advice on the Facebook group earlier. I haven't figured out how to add details to my profile yet. But wanted to quickly post. My foster cat Raven (6 years) was diagnosed with diabetes in mid-February and has been on Lantus since. I recently upped his dose to 2u (this pm shot was the 5th dose at this number). He was at 145 (an unusually low number for him - he's never been lower than high 200s at preshot). before his pm dose at 6:45pm EDT and I decided to shoot anyway (still new to this). Since he's beendropping. We're coming up to +4 and he's gone from 157 (+1), 173(+2) to 92 (+3) and 71 (+3:20). I just fed him a 3 oz can high carb wet food (16%) which he lapped up. I have syringes with maple syrup at the ready. 71 is the lowest number I have ever measured for him and I am getting really nervous. He just had a bout of diarrhea outside of the litter box (he's had GI issues -- but usually makes it to box) but seems fine otherwise. Will try to figure out how to upload his spreadheet here. @Margaret (and Pearl) has been advising me on Facebook.
Last edited:
