NEW MEMBER - great BG #'s but still drinking a ton

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kate H

Member Since 2022
Hi all! Kate H here! I'm brand new to being a diabetic cat mom, and boy is it overwhelming! My 15 year old/ 20 lb black cat (Dr. Frank) was diagnosed with diabetes about 3 weeks ago and immediately went on insulin (2 units/ twice a day), and went on a wet food only diet (Tiki Cat, DM, and Fancy Feast pate). I've been testing him at home as well and have been doing curves when the vet suggests. Anyway, his #'s have been looking so good (80 to 107 on Monday), that the vet had me take him off the insulin for a day yesterday. His #'s without insulin ranged from 108 to 123 yesterday without the insulin! His vet was thinking that the diet change might be enough for him. The problem is - he's still drinking a lot and using the litter box a lot (about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water from the bowl when he's on insulin) and he drank a cup and a half yesterday when he wasn't on the insulin). Has this happened to anyone else? Solid BG #'s but their cat is still drinking and using the litter box a lot? Anyone have any suggestions? I thought we were on the right track, but now I'm feeling defeated. Thank you in advance for any insight you can send my way!
 
Hi Kate, Welcome!

Sorry to hear about Dr. Frank's diagnosis, but this is the best place for all the help you could ever need. My cat Hendrick was diagnosed on 1/5/22 and I can totally relate to the feeling overwhelmed bit!! I am still learning so much.

That would be so amazing if you cat went into remission and became a diet-controlled diabetic in such a short time!! I am sorry to say I cannot answer your question but I'm sure the vast knowledge bank here at the FDMB can help. @FrostD and @Diane Tyler's Mom have both helped me a ton.

The group here is very numbers driven however and in order to provide any advice, it is best to share as much data as you can. If you can create a spreadsheet and fill it out with Dr. Frank's BG numbers that would be best and also if you would put some basic information in your signature it would help - your cat's age, diagnosis date, insulin type, etc (see mine below)
 
I will drop some more stuff later but first thing that comes to mind is kidneys? When was his last lab work, and can you share results? Possible UTI or infection?

His numbers are pretty good, we usually like to see all green for remission/"off the juice trial" but at those numbers I wouldn't expect PU/PD. It can also be behavioral if something else is bothering them - whether internally or externally (like a move, a new cat outside in the neighborhood, etc)
 
Hi Kate and Dr Frank and welcome to the forum.
Would you be able to set up a SS so we can see all the data you have collected? We will then be able to see if the preshot BG tests we as low as the ones you have posted. It is possible he may just need to reduce the dose.
HELP US HELP YOU has the information for the Ss and signature and hypo kit.
If you could also set up your signature,, which is very easy, and tell us all about Dr Frank….what type of insulin, type of meter, any other illnesses, age, when diagnosed….that will stop us keeping asking you about him as we need that information to help you.
Also if you could post any recent lab results.
If you are going to stop insulin suddenly I would test the urine daily for ketones until it is established if he needs more insulin or not. You will need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy, collect a urine sample and follow the direction on the bottle. There should be no ketones at all.

Has he ever had his thyroid checked?
 
Hi all! I've been writing everything down in a notebook, so I will work on his spreadsheet tonight (and I'll add all the data to my signature as well)! He hasn't had his labs done since he was diagnosed back in late January, but he's going to visit the vet on Tuesday to get the full workup. I'll keep you posted when I get his results back. And I'll head to the store and pick up Ketostix so I can check his urine daily. I am worried it might be kidney related, but I did notice he started to drink more once we slowed the insulin and then stopped the insulin. I also noticed that he drinks a lot of water at night. My guess is because he's bored and no longer has the chow to chomp on all night. He drinks about a cup of water in 24 hours and makes about 7 visits to the litterbox. My gut tells me he needs to go back on the insulin.

His BG #'s yesterday were 135 before breakfast and 143 after dinner.
This morning he was 97 before breakfast. Haven't done this evening's poke yet.

I've been using the pet AlphaTrak 2.
I'm testing twice a day (before breakfast and before dinner), but I've also done 2 curves in the last week.
He was getting 3.5 units of Lantus (twice a day) for the first couple weeks. Then we reduced to 2 units twice a day. And then to zero.
He's 20 lbs. 15+ years old. No other illnesses yet, but he was on vetalog for most of his life but has been off it for 2 years.

Will add my spreadsheet as soon as I've got it updated!
Thanks so much already for all your help!
 
Try getting a BG 3 hours after the main meal to see if his BG is dropping with food. That can show the pancreas is kicking in.
We don’t usually just stop insulin when it’s up to 2 units . We reduce the dose down in 1/4 unit increments Until the dose is at 0.25 units then 0.1units and then a drop to give the pancreas a chance to heal properly so you get a strong remission.
But let’s see what the BGs look like in the SS.
If you can do the signature as well, that would be very helpful, thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top