Hi Tamsin,
Thanks for the info - you can see why I asked now!
Firstly, WRT the diarrhoea either issue - or both - could potentially be affecting Loki's digestive system.
On insulin you have the following choices:
1. Fast Loki from 22:00 and do a preshot test at 00:00 (12 hours since the most recent dose was administered, and therefore the earliest time that you can give the next dose). If BG is high enough and he's eating OK you would have the option to give insulin. With a GI upset in progress you might want to consider going for the lower dose as a precaution. You would then need to gradually work back dose administration times over a period of several days to get back to your normal schedule (moving back 15 minutes each cycle OR by 30 minutes on only one cycle every 24 hours - you're looking at 8 days to get back to your regular slot).
2. Skip tonight's dose and resume your normal schedule tomorrow morning at 8am.
FYI, I asked about the ketone history because it's not a straightforward thing to skip doses for cats prone to them. (More info on ketones here.)
My suggestion would be to skip tonight's dose because there will only be a period of 8 hours without insulin and it would save a lot of mucking about to get Loki back to his normal schedule. Also, there's a risk Loki's tummy upset might affect his appetite.
What do you think yourself, Tamsin?
Mogs
.