New Member Freddie insulin Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Freddie

Member Since 2014
3-10 Freddie's insulin

AMPS 332 2.0 unites I uped it from 1.5 per vet because Fred's BG got over 300
+3 188
+7 153 I fed Him A little Cats in Kitchen can and W/D kibble mixed with EVO.

What do I do if his BG is not over 200 at 8 for his PMPS???

Is this normal for his BG to go lower after the shot.?? And should I go back to the 1.5 units instead of 2 units??d

I have been posting on the Health Board but my e-mails are going into the unread. 1 was read by Windy. But the one I wrote for Lantus dosing advice is in the unread messages. Will people go into that and read, with it not going into new post and be able to help me.
Thanks
Yvonne
 
Usually, we recommend dose increases by .25u and not by .5u unless they have been particularly high and flat (>300) for an extended period of time (more than 3-5 days on the same dose). Since you don't have a spreadsheet set up yet, I can't say for certain if you should have increased to 2u, however, from your previous posts, it looks like Freddie has not been going too low so I think you will probably be okay with the 2u.

The +3 you got today looks really good as well as the +7. These numbers are not too low (under 100 for now), so you don't need to feed him any kibble to bring them up (which doesn't work well for low numbers anyway because it takes too long for it to raise BGs).

Here is an example of a typical Lantus cycle:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

So, as you can see, around +5-7 is when you're usually going to see the lowest numbers. That means for tonight, if Freddie is over 200, go ahead and give the 2u dose again or you can reduce it to 1.75u if you feel more comfortable with that.

One thing that might help you with navigating the Message Board is at the very top, in the toolbar next to the "User Control Panel" is a link to "View your posts." If you click on that, you'll see all the posts you've made comments on and they'll turn red when there are new comments made for you to read.
 
Greetings Yvonne & Freddie.

KPassa gave you really good starting advice. Without having readings from previous days we have no idea if the dose increase was warranted or not but since he's still eating some dry its probably fine.

One thing is Lantus dosage is based off the nadir (lowest point) between shots not on the preshot numbers.

Even without a spreadsheet if you want to continue to post his numbers daily here we'll do our best to help you figure it all out.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
3-10 Fredies number RANGE
3-4 went to 62 first tested on insulin with 2.5 units no PMPS SO MY VET HAD ME BACK OFF ON THE UNITS FROM 2.5 to 1.5 for 5 days
Freddie was 3-5 AMPS 295 1.5 units insulin +9 242 PMPS 339 1.5
3-6 AMPS 384 1.5 +6 216 PMPS 216 1 unit
3-7 302 1.5 no test PMPS 405 1.5 unit
3-8 300 1.5 no test PMPS 479 1.5
3-9 288 1.5 + 6 344 PMPS 349 1.5
3-10 332 2. +3 188 +6 153 will be testing soon! If not 200 will not give shot right....

My vet had told me on FRIDAY THAT IF HIS BG GOT OVER 300 on Monday TO UP THE DOSAGE THAT IS WHY I GAVE 2 UNITS THIS MORNING.

If I give the 2 units with his BG below 300 could his BG go lower...I know you are not suppose to keep adjusting the dose...I am going to go test right now..
Thanks
Yvonne
 
You're going to want to start getting some mid-cycle tests in (around 4-8 hours after a shot) as that will give us a better idea how low this dose is taking him. If you're able to get more tests in, then give the 2u tonight. If you don't think you can get a lot of tests in throughout the day or night, then err on the side of caution and only increase by 1.75u. Hold that dose a minimum of 3 days unless Freddie drops below 50, then it's an automatic dose decrease of .25u back to 1.5 (or 1.75 if you choose to continue with the 2u dose).
 
You posted this on the Main Health Thread so I wanted to copy it over here as well.

Yvonne & Freddie said:
3-10 Freddie PMPS 279

It will be time to shot Freddie for the night with his reading of 279 would it be safe to give 2 units of insulin or should I take it back to 1.75 or 1.5 I think the numbers are down because I did up his insulin today to 2 units from 1.5 where his numbers were running high. It is time to feed him so will his numbers go up after that.
I am getting him on Cats in the kitchen Goldie lox and Funk in the trunk can food which are both lower then 10 or 8% from reading Dr. P list

Thank you
Yvonne

It's what you feel most comfortable with. If you want to continue on the 2u dose, just be aware that you're going to have to test a lot more often to make sure it doesn't take him too low since that is a larger dose increase than we usually recommend. If you want to drop him to 1.75u and continue on as you have been with testing, that's also fine. Just try to get some more mid-cycle tests in for us, please. :-D
 
3-10

Freddie will not eat tonight so does that mean not to give him his shot...he is due for it right now.
I will feel more comfortable going back to the 1.5 units for the night without him eating. This is so frustrating to know what to do.
Should I just assist feed him he won't even take his food like baby food....that he loves ..

He seemed off all day and yesterday he had a good day. When I give him more insulin to lower his BG he acts weird but when his numbers run in the 300 he has good days...is this the way they are..
I just can not understand this disease.
I just do not know if I should give him insulin tonight without eating.
Yvonne
 
With a pre-shot number like 279, he does need some insulin. Because he's not eating and possibly not feeling well, I definitely think you should give a reduced dose. The old 1.5u might be fine if he starts eating again. Make sure you'll be around to monitor him and entice him to eat if necessary.
 
I would give him a token dose of 1u tonight and keep trying to get him to eat. Also get quite a few tests in to make sure he's not diving too low.

Yep they all act a little off in the beginning when they start getting back to lower numbers, until their bodies get use to what normal feels like again. I equate it to how we feel after a long car trip or being on a boat for awhile. You just feel off once you try to walk on dry land again.

They get use to being high so normal feels strange until they get down again and stay down for awhile.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thank You I will give him 1 unit, he wants to eat but can't, it must be his pancreatitis acting up again.
Will give the pepcid and see if he eats later.... anything he will eat..

Yvonne
 
If yoh have any parmesan or other shredded hard chhese.... a very small amount 1 tsp or less sprinkled on top often entices them to eat. Cats like stinky stuff
 
Hey Yvonne, looks like you got some good advice! Wondering how Freddie is doing this morning. If you can start a new thread each day with the date so people can help you with his dose. I hope Melissa was able to get up with you. I think she can help you set up a SS so it will be easier to get help with dosing. It's helpful if you just check in so folks can know how he's doing. Don't just wait till he's having trouble. Also if you are more consistent with posting folks get used to when you are posting & will look for you. Hope all is well.

Barbara & Thumper (you know asthmatic Josie) :smile:
 
Barbara,
Fred is doing better today that I went back to 1.5 units...his eyes are not so glassy he is not moving around very good though...and he has no appetite. It takes forever to read through all this information it is super information.
I did e-mail Melissa and she got back with me and will help me with the SS when I can get there.
How is Josie today with her asthma.
Thank you so much for advice and helping..
I really can't do anything until I get a spreadsheet going...so people can see Fred's numbers and I am almost out of strips will have more here Thursday so I feel it is important to test AMPS +6 and PMPS .
If I need to I can run down and get another meter with strips. I have the Relion Confirm and Walmart is miles away.???
Thanks for checking in on us....
Yvonne and Freddie
 
Yvonne & Freddie said:
...If I need to I can run down and get another meter with strips. I have the Relion Confirm and Walmart is miles away....

The ReliOn Confirm is a branded version of the Arkray USA Glucocard 01 available from ADW. You can get it shipped right to your home.

Also, stick with the 1.5 unit dose for a full 3 days unless Freddie goes below 50 mg/dL at nadir (lowest point between 2 shots).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top