New member. First curve. Dosage advice needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashley Kondor

Member Since 2022
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ZWu4_1eupjpBMKWC4OjGfzf1nXNR11ecro7EkOgJVus/edit

Hello! I’m a new member, trying to figure out how to make my first post. I hope it works.
My almost 9 year old tabby was diagnosed at the end of March. Our vet put her on vetsulin 2x day with special food. After joining I realized I needed to switch her diet still to even better food. She is now on fancy feast pate and now even more recently I am also doing that with some free range dry of Young again zero. Since then I’ve noticed she’s had great numbers. I’ve been doing my own “sliding scale” and wondering based on my spreadsheet if I’ve been doing an okay job. Also, today I did our first real curve since I’ve been home all day. I think I’ve noticed she seems to do well on the .5 dosage and her low peaks are sooner than the 4-4.5 hours. Any critiques are very much welcome. I’m worried with me going back to work again tomorrow and I won’t be able to check her until about +5 after her shot and if that’s too long? What’s a number that I should skip and what’s a number that I should I give .25?
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
I can see you are using a human meter according to the SS.
If you could set up the signature which is in this link.HELP US HELP YOU that will tell us about your kitty.
Also do you have a hypo kit set up?

Looking at the SS you need to reduce the dose to 0.25 units as you have dropped under 90.
I am not a vetsulin used so I will tag @FrostD to give you more details.
 
Yes, you'll need to reduce to 0.25U. If you need help estimating that, feel free to post a picture of your syringes and I can mark it up for you. It looks like the 150 is a good cutoff

You've been doing the right thing with the sliding scale...as much as we say here consistency is best, Vetsulin is a bit of a wildcard and does sometimes need the sliding scale, especially in lower numbers.

Her numbers are still a bit high to go off insulin completely, so hopefully we can hold the 0.25U dose for a little while. If she drops below 90 again, we'd likely try a drop dose.
 
#admin #dosagehelp
Hi, it’s me, again.
I can’t seem to find the button on the message board I found last night that allowed me to post a new thread so I apologize.
I checked my kittys BG about 10-15 mins ago and it was 129. I have learned to hold food so I am and will test again here shortly. I’m wondering at what number is it safe to give insulin and if I should skip? I did already skip this morning if you look at the sheet, and I was advised last night to start doing .25u but again, she was too low this am to administer that.
Reminder I use the ReliOn and use vetsulin.

Update: I waited 25mins and re-checked her BG and it was at 138. I’m still unsure what I should do. Still trying to find out how to make a new post on that message board.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ZWu4_1eupjpBMKWC4OjGfzf1nXNR11ecro7EkOgJVus/edit
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top