Erin and Dot
Member Since 2021
Hello there all! I am joining this group coming from the Facebook partner page in hopes for more detailed and specific assistance with moderating my sugary baby. Please bear with me as I attempt to learn FDMB acronyms and get used to this whole feline diabetes lifestyle.
It has come to my attention that my vet may be lacking some insight into this diagnosis and I am looking to you pros for some guidance! If he is, in fact, incorrect, I would love to have some information to share with him or be better equipped to look for alternate care. I am torn in that this vet sees all 4 of my pets and is wonderful, but if Dot needs a "specialist", I will find one!
About Dot:
9 year-old male tabby, 10 lbs as of 2/22/21, regularly aloof and rarely affectionate but always present.
Food: Friskies Classic Pate variety packs, 5.5 ounce can once in AM, once in PM.
Pre-diagnosis symptoms:
Dot has always been food positive but we started noticing changes in his behavior. He became voracious and aggressive around food, often destroying containers, knocking over trash cans, stealing food, the works, he was obsessed.
- Weight loss became evident in the last 3 months, he lost 5 pounds since our last vet visit.
- Massive intake of water and urinating clear, excessively and often
- Distant and moodier than usual
- started urinating outside of the box on carpets around the house
- Rash on chest and left arm, then overgrooming
Current Symptoms:
- Seems to be putting on a little weight, but not obvious yet
- normal mood except in regards to food - still very crazy - eats rapidly, makes a mess of his face and the table around the food, taking full mouthful gulps, still trying to steal food and find it around the house.
- Rash is improving but present. We use antimicrobial healing spray and if he overgrooms day to day then put a cat healing shirt to prevent licking.
- Heightened thirst, but seems to be improving. Urinating in the box now, still large amounts of liquid.
Injection History - How'd We Get Here?:
Dot was diagnosed a little over a month ago. We started with AlphaTrak 2 monitoring for the first 2 weeks, no insulin, just testing and determining his baselines.
2 weeks later, started ProZinc BID at 2 units, twice daily. After seeing no changes in BG after 2 weeks on 2 units, the vet instructed us to move to 4 units, twice daily.
Today: Started 4 units AMPS, did a test 4 hours later to see how things were looking, it was higher! 460 AMPS to 490 4 hours later.
Our Current Routine:
Morning - take blood test, give insulin, canned pate meal. This has been 2 units of ProZinc BID for 14 days so far. 12 Hours Later...
Evening - take blood test, give insulin, canned pate meal. This has been 2 units of ProZinc BID for 14 days so far.
We increased to 4 units this morning, and will dose again in 4 hours.
Randomly, for data: Will occasionally test 4-6 hours after insulin to monitor progress.
Commentary:
You will see from the chart linked in my signature block (hopefully I did all of that correctly!) that his numbers with 0 (no) insulin look identical to those received while administering 2 units. The general consensus on the Facebook group was that its likely we started too high and are increasing too quickly. I would love to know what's actually going on here.
Also note! I have been doing a lot of reading and have seen mention of Ketones in urine many many times, this is not something my vet tested for and is not something that was even mentioned. If this is something all cats with diabetes need monitoring with, please advise!
Another note! I am prepared for Hypo. I have high carb canned foods, honey and extra test strips at the ready and know which emergency hospital nearby to attend if needed. I have not seen anything that would make me think we are coming close to that, but for those worried about the DOUBLE units - me too. I am watching.
My Thanks:
I am desperately trying to figure this all out, I read the main pages, I know, I know, breathe
and I am. But part of feeling comfortable with this change for me is learning to understand everything and be able to adjust accordingly as needed. I don't feel like I have a grasp on this yet. What is supposed to be happening? What are the numbers supposed to look like? What changes am I supposed to see in his behavior and when will those start happening? So many questions. BUT I look forward to having this group as a resource and cannot wait to thank you all again when things finally get sorted out. I cannot thank those of you who take the time to respond enough. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
- Erin and Dot -
It has come to my attention that my vet may be lacking some insight into this diagnosis and I am looking to you pros for some guidance! If he is, in fact, incorrect, I would love to have some information to share with him or be better equipped to look for alternate care. I am torn in that this vet sees all 4 of my pets and is wonderful, but if Dot needs a "specialist", I will find one!
About Dot:
9 year-old male tabby, 10 lbs as of 2/22/21, regularly aloof and rarely affectionate but always present.
Food: Friskies Classic Pate variety packs, 5.5 ounce can once in AM, once in PM.
Pre-diagnosis symptoms:
Dot has always been food positive but we started noticing changes in his behavior. He became voracious and aggressive around food, often destroying containers, knocking over trash cans, stealing food, the works, he was obsessed.
- Weight loss became evident in the last 3 months, he lost 5 pounds since our last vet visit.
- Massive intake of water and urinating clear, excessively and often
- Distant and moodier than usual
- started urinating outside of the box on carpets around the house
- Rash on chest and left arm, then overgrooming
Current Symptoms:
- Seems to be putting on a little weight, but not obvious yet
- normal mood except in regards to food - still very crazy - eats rapidly, makes a mess of his face and the table around the food, taking full mouthful gulps, still trying to steal food and find it around the house.
- Rash is improving but present. We use antimicrobial healing spray and if he overgrooms day to day then put a cat healing shirt to prevent licking.
- Heightened thirst, but seems to be improving. Urinating in the box now, still large amounts of liquid.
Injection History - How'd We Get Here?:
Dot was diagnosed a little over a month ago. We started with AlphaTrak 2 monitoring for the first 2 weeks, no insulin, just testing and determining his baselines.
2 weeks later, started ProZinc BID at 2 units, twice daily. After seeing no changes in BG after 2 weeks on 2 units, the vet instructed us to move to 4 units, twice daily.
Today: Started 4 units AMPS, did a test 4 hours later to see how things were looking, it was higher! 460 AMPS to 490 4 hours later.
Our Current Routine:
Morning - take blood test, give insulin, canned pate meal. This has been 2 units of ProZinc BID for 14 days so far. 12 Hours Later...
Evening - take blood test, give insulin, canned pate meal. This has been 2 units of ProZinc BID for 14 days so far.
We increased to 4 units this morning, and will dose again in 4 hours.
Randomly, for data: Will occasionally test 4-6 hours after insulin to monitor progress.
Commentary:
You will see from the chart linked in my signature block (hopefully I did all of that correctly!) that his numbers with 0 (no) insulin look identical to those received while administering 2 units. The general consensus on the Facebook group was that its likely we started too high and are increasing too quickly. I would love to know what's actually going on here.
Also note! I have been doing a lot of reading and have seen mention of Ketones in urine many many times, this is not something my vet tested for and is not something that was even mentioned. If this is something all cats with diabetes need monitoring with, please advise!
Another note! I am prepared for Hypo. I have high carb canned foods, honey and extra test strips at the ready and know which emergency hospital nearby to attend if needed. I have not seen anything that would make me think we are coming close to that, but for those worried about the DOUBLE units - me too. I am watching.
My Thanks:
I am desperately trying to figure this all out, I read the main pages, I know, I know, breathe
- Erin and Dot -

