NEW MEMBER - Dx 9/23 - Sherri & kitty Isy - Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
What treatment are you doing for the anemia? Anemia can be a cause of them not wanting to eat. Would it be possible to post her latest lab report?

Hi Janet,
I’m requesting to get a copy of Isy’s latest bloodwork from last week (9/21) from my vet. (She only had talked to me over the phone about the results and didn’t give me all the specific numbers for the items that came back abnormal).
I think I recall she said Isy’s hematocrit was down to about 24 (and previously 35?). She has never been anemic before, so this is a new condition. The vet has not mentioned anything about treatment for the anemia.

FYI - Isy has had idiopathic cystitis for over 9 months, with very visible blood in her urine - urine is red brown color! (Her kidney numbers have been within normal and ultrasound showed nothing remarkable re her kidneys and bladder. Also she’s had multiple urine analysis including cultures with no signs of infection. So it’s unknown of any other cause for the blood in urine, and thus the Dx of idiopathic cystitis.)
The vet is thinking the anemia is probably related to that, unless there is also now some internal GI bleed (but stools are normal color). We could do a repeat ultrasound but it’s a big expense that I can’t do right now, plus is very stressful for Isy.

I’ll post a copy of Isy’s latest test results once I get a copy.
 
IBD can be tricky (I know, I’ve been there with one of my cats) and sometimes you have to do whatever works ... but given the option, you might want to go easy on the fish.

From Dr. Lisa Pierson’s (author of the food charts, used to be a frequent poster here) website www.catonfo.org :

You will notice that many of the higher protein diets are fish-based but it is not a good idea to feed fish to cats. Or, at least not as their main diet. Fish can be high in mercury, high in PBDEs (fire retardant chemicals linked to hyperthyroidism), high in phosphorus (not good for older cats’ kidneys) and can be very addicting. It is best to feed poultry-based diets to cats.”

I believe she once said that maybe once a week maximum would be her suggestion for fish, ideally less often. But again, with IBD and other issues, sometimes we have to do what we have to do, even if it’s not ideal. I’m only pointing it out in case you weren’t aware (I wasn’t)...
 
QUESTION re METERS!
FYI - my vet says I have to get a pet monitor not human monitor if I’m going to do the BG curves myself at home. I asked if I could get the ReliOn or any human meter due to cost etc and since I know others use it.
She said “the problem is it is not accurate enough to be precise when very low or high so you can get false readings. For Isy I would be concerned to use a non animal one because she is really a critical patient. You really need to use a pet specific monitor.”

Uggh! I looked online for the AlphaTrak and it’s about $69 with 50 test strips and even worse is the added cost to get more test strips are like $52 or more for 50 strips.

Any advice on other pet meters that are decent and lower cost?
 
QUESTION re METERS!
FYI - my vet says I have to get a pet monitor not human monitor if I’m going to do the BG curves myself at home. I asked if I could get the ReliOn or any human meter due to cost etc and since I know others use it.
She said “the problem is it is not accurate enough to be precise when very low or high so you can get false readings. For Isy I would be concerned to use a non animal one because she is really a critical patient. You really need to use a pet specific monitor.”

Uggh! I looked online for the AlphaTrak and it’s about $69 with 50 test strips and even worse is the added cost to get more test strips are like $52 or more for 50 strips.

Any advice on other pet meters that are decent and lower cost?


Anyone familiar with the iPet Pro monitor for a pet glucose monitor? See link below
I just saw it online and it’s a bit better price and test strips are a bit cheaper , and I can get it delivered sooner, than the more expensive AlphaTrak plus I saw some recent bad reviews on the AlphaTrak ??

https://www.amazon.com/iPet-Blood-G...9CXYF4Z3VXN&psc=1&refRID=AGH0WTZJT9CXYF4Z3VXN

Thoughts or advice?
I would also have to see if my vet thinks it’s ok (Or if she even knows anyone that’s used it).
 
IBD can be tricky (I know, I’ve been there with one of my cats) and sometimes you have to do whatever works ... but given the option, you might want to go easy on the fish.

From Dr. Lisa Pierson’s (author of the food charts, used to be a frequent poster here) website www.catonfo.org :

You will notice that many of the higher protein diets are fish-based but it is not a good idea to feed fish to cats. Or, at least not as their main diet. Fish can be high in mercury, high in PBDEs (fire retardant chemicals linked to hyperthyroidism), high in phosphorus (not good for older cats’ kidneys) and can be very addicting. It is best to feed poultry-based diets to cats.”

I believe she once said that maybe once a week maximum would be her suggestion for fish, ideally less often. But again, with IBD and other issues, sometimes we have to do what we have to do, even if it’s not ideal. I’m only pointing it out in case you weren’t aware (I wasn’t)...

Thanks for sharing the info re the issues with the fish flavored foods. I knew Dr Lisa discourages using them but didn’t know the specific reasons, so thanks for the detailed info about it.

Those are good things to consider, I’ll have to weigh it out - if I can get Isy to eat some non-fish flavors of FF etc I’ll definite try transitioning her.
But right now she eats only at most a few ounces of FF per day, and with her other health issues and being 17yrs old, and now the new diabetes Dx - I don’t know realistically how much more time she’ll have with me, even IF we can get her diabetes under control.
So even though there are clearly downsides to feeding fish based wet food, of the list of health challenges we already have for Isy (with keeping her eating on her own the most critical), if it turns out she will mostly only eat fish flavors of Fancy Feast , unfortunately it might be something I just have to accept and deal with.
 
Food for thought: This site is structured around human meters MANY cats through the years have done well been completely regulated and yes even off insulin. My Trouble was one of them . How do you think your vet would counter that?
Now if its because your sweet Isy has so many critical issues maybe it IS better to follow your vets advice. But I have to say there have been MANY cats here, with many and all kinds of issues, that have successfully used human meters.
GOOD LUCK with what ever you decide we will still try to help in any way we can. :bighug:
 
Re the meters:
The human meter is perfectly ok. It is accurate. It just reads a bit lower. For a human meter normal cat numbers are 50-120. For a pet meter the normal numbers are approximately 68-150.
There really is no need to get the pet meter, it’s only because your vet doesn’t understand the human numbers as well , although up until the last several years all vets had no option but to use human meters!!!
One thing you could do is buy a pet meter and only use it for the curves for the vet. All other times use the human meter. In the long run that would be a much cheaper option.
 
Just to add to my previous post..... our dosing methods are based on the human meter numbers and with many years of use. And we have many cats that have multiple health issues and use the human meter successfully. Maybe if you vet saw our dosing methods she would feel better about it.
But ultimately you have to feel comfortable with your decision and need to be able to work with your vet.
 
Re the idiopathic cystitis:
Sheba had that and used to have blood in her urine frequently. Are you doing anything for it? I found stress used to trigger bouts of IC.
I used a calming collar for her which helped Feliway). She also had injections of cartrophen, I think they call it Adequan in the US
 
Just to add to my previous post..... our dosing methods are based on the human meter numbers and with many years of use. And we have many cats that have multiple health issues and use the human meter successfully. Maybe if you vet saw our dosing methods she would feel better about it.
But ultimately you have to feel comfortable with your decision and need to be able to work with your vet.

Thanks for the input re meters. I feel really in a tough situation - I know basically all of you here just use the human meter and your dosing protocols etc are based on that and clearly you’ve all been successful with that approach with your kitties!

But I also need to continue to have my vet’s ongoing support given Isy has various issues, and my vet has been so wonderful through the years to provide me lots of personal attention - texting me after hours and weekends to check on Isy and help me get her through various crisis in the past etc.
And she allows me to text her rather than go through messaging the clinic etc, whenever I need advice. So if she’s most comfortable having me use a pet meter and is saying that way she’ll support me doing the BG curves myself and figuring out dosing at home (rather than at the clinic), I feel pretty much stuck! Ugh!!
Although I have a long-standing good relationship with her, I’m afraid if I push back and say that I joined FDMB and everyone here uses human meters, so why not me - she might not take kindly to it, maybe think I’m saying I don’t trust her recommendation and don’t want her help.

SO - maybe the best option is as Bron suggests, and I “bite the bullet” and buy the pet meter (my hubby won’t be happy either!) to get started and see what I can accomplish as far as getting Isy stable on an appropriate insulin dose and do the BG curves etc.
Then IF things are more stable, rather than keep buying more expensive pet meter strips, I switch to the ReliOn meter and low cost strips.

QUESTION: If I start by using a pet meter, since none of you use one, can I still get guidance here on FDMB?
I assume every cat is unique as far as how they respond to various doses of Lantus, and it takes “trial and error” Re how to adjust the dose based on monitoring BG levels - so if I use a pet meter initially for Isy’s BG curves is it an issue that the readings will be different than if I posted readings from a human meter - could I still get general advice here?
 
If I start by using a pet meter, since none of you use one, can I still get guidance here on FDMB?

There are people here that use pet meters. They are using both. For daily use they use human meters for curves to the vet the alpha track
OF course we support both.

ETA the only reason some use both is because of the cost of the alpha system strips A buck a piece is too high for most.
 
Sherri, we can still help you if you use a pet meter. You are not the first to be in the position you are in, so don’t worry about it. Just do what you have to do.
just make sure you have written in the SS and your signature which meter you are using. When we are advising we look at both the signature and the SS.
I think it is important that you are honest with your vet as you will need to work as a team.
I would tell her you have joined FDMB and show her the dosing methods. They are extremely successful and safe methods and I’m sure she won’t find fault with them.
One thing I think is very important is that any increases in dose are in1/4 unit increments not 1 unit increments which most vets do.
 
Sherri, we can still help you if you use a pet meter. You are not the first to be in the position you are in, so don’t worry about it. Just do what you have to do.
just make sure you have written in the SS and your signature which meter you are using. When we are advising we look at both the signature and the SS.
I think it is important that you are honest with your vet as you will need to work as a team.
I would tell her you have joined FDMB and show her the dosing methods. They are extremely successful and safe methods and I’m sure she won’t find fault with them.
One thing I think is very important is that any increases in dose are in1/4 unit increments not 1 unit increments which most vets do.

Thanks Bron, Janet and Roberta!
FYI - So my vet just texted me and she’s trying to find me a pet meter thru her clinic that I can either borrow or buy at lower cost, to at least use to get me started for the initial BG curves etc.
She understands the cost etc is an issue for me re the pet meter and especially the test strips, so she’s going to do what she can to at least try to help save me money on the meter , and then I mostly just have the higher cost of the test strips.
She really is a caring vet and I know she just wants to give the best care for Isy and help me to hopefully be successful in getting Isy’s health/diabetes under control so she can still have more quality time with me.

As soon as I hear back from my vet re if she found a pet meter for me to use and which brand it is, I’ll update that info in my Signature (and will put it in my SS when I get to that point).

Bron - as far as the idiopathic cystitis, no I’m currently not doing anything to treat it. We tried adequan injections for about 6wks or more, to see if it would help (and also maybe improve Isy’s mobility since it seems she likely has arthritis in her back legs/hips/back and can’t jump anymore plus the palmigrade stance). But over that time I didn’t seen any change/improvement in her urine or her mobility so I just stopped giving it.

Thanks for understanding my situation and your kind support!!
 
Thanks for the input re meters. I feel really in a tough situation - I know basically all of you here just use the human meter and your dosing protocols etc are based on that and clearly you’ve all been successful with that approach with your kitties!

But I also need to continue to have my vet’s ongoing support given Isy has various issues, and my vet has been so wonderful through the years to provide me lots of personal attention - texting me after hours and weekends to check on Isy and help me get her through various crisis in the past etc.
And she allows me to text her rather than go through messaging the clinic etc, whenever I need advice. So if she’s most comfortable having me use a pet meter and is saying that way she’ll support me doing the BG curves myself and figuring out dosing at home (rather than at the clinic), I feel pretty much stuck! Ugh!!
Although I have a long-standing good relationship with her, I’m afraid if I push back and say that I joined FDMB and everyone here uses human meters, so why not me - she might not take kindly to it, maybe think I’m saying I don’t trust her recommendation and don’t want her help.

SO - maybe the best option is as Bron suggests, and I “bite the bullet” and buy the pet meter (my hubby won’t be happy either!) to get started and see what I can accomplish as far as getting Isy stable on an appropriate insulin dose and do the BG curves etc.
Then IF things are more stable, rather than keep buying more expensive pet meter strips, I switch to the ReliOn meter and low cost strips.

QUESTION: If I start by using a pet meter, since none of you use one, can I still get guidance here on FDMB?
I assume every cat is unique as far as how they respond to various doses of Lantus, and it takes “trial and error” Re how to adjust the dose based on monitoring BG levels - so if I use a pet meter initially for Isy’s BG curves is it an issue that the readings will be different than if I posted readings from a human meter - could I still get general advice here?
I use a pet meter. I've used one for 4 years. I love it. I save money by buying strips on eBay.
 
QUESTION re METERS!
FYI - my vet says I have to get a pet monitor not human monitor if I’m going to do the BG curves myself at home. I asked if I could get the ReliOn or any human meter due to cost etc and since I know others use it.
She said “the problem is it is not accurate enough to be precise when very low or high so you can get false readings. For Isy I would be concerned to use a non animal one because she is really a critical patient. You really need to use a pet specific monitor.”

Uggh! I looked online for the AlphaTrak and it’s about $69 with 50 test strips and even worse is the added cost to get more test strips are like $52 or more for 50 strips.

Any advice on other pet meters that are decent and lower cost?
They are $49 on amazon. Get strips on eBay.
 
Also, I suggest you speak to your vet about using a B-complex supplement as a number of B vitamins are involved in production of red blood cells. Here's a helpful table from Tanya's Site showing the roles that different B vitamins play in the body (the whole page is a recommended read):

The Importance of B Vitamins


upload_2020-9-29_13-13-50.png



Mogs
.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-29_13-13-50.png
    upload_2020-9-29_13-13-50.png
    251.7 KB · Views: 531
Last edited:
Also, I suggest you speak to your vet about using a B-complex supplement as a number of B vitamins are involved in production of red blood cells. Here's a helpful table from Tanya's Site showing the roles that different B vitamins play in the body (the whole page is a recommended read):

The Importance of B Vitamins


View attachment 56748


Mogs
.
Hi!
Thanks for this helpful information. As far as a B supplement for cats, would that be a pill or do you mean B12 injections?
I’ve given Isy B12 injections in the past but that was when her B12 was showing a bit low in her blood work - from what I can see in her latest Blood tests (9/22), I don’t think B12 was measured??

Should I ask my vet about B12 shots even though we don’t know Isy’s current level?

Also right now my concern is her bloodwork definitely shows anemia and all her liver numbers are high!! Everything was normal back in May/June.
 
ISY’s LATEST TEST RESULTS (9/22/2020)

Hi everyone!
FYI - I got a copy of all of Isy’s latest blood work and urine analysis results (from last Monday 9/22/2020).

I’ll try attaching the files here for your reference.
(*Note: Isy’s bloodwork was all normal back in May/June and in the past, so the current abnormal results are all changes just since then.)

The main issues are elevated blood glucose, anemia (see RBC, hematocrit etc), elevated liver enzymes, BUN, fPLI (pancreas inflammation/pancreatitis), and glucose in urine.
 

Attachments

Thanks Ale , I would definitely call also when the time comes
I pretty sure my vet would write me a script for the box of 5, she always does what I ask her to do, she's wonderful.
I always tell her if she ever left the practice I would hunt her down low
I just started using pens and my vet told me that the unopened ones, if kept in the fridge, can last for years.
 
I am going to tag @Marje and Gracie to ask her to have a look at Isy's path results.

Thanks Bron!!

FYI - I’m still waiting to hear back from my vet re getting the pet glucose meter from her, and for her to call in the Rx for the Lantus pen (she was supposed to call it in today to my local Walgreens but I haven’t gotten a call that she did it yet).

QUESTION:
- What is the possible affect of not starting to treat Isy’s diabetes yet? While I’m waiting for my vet to place the Rx for the insulin and get me a meter, am I losing critical time with Isy? How quickly could untreated diabetes start to cause even more critical issues?
Or do you think given we don’t know exactly WHEN Isy became diabetic (sometime since May), if it takes another week to get started with treatment etc it likely won’t make much difference??

Thanks!
Sherri
 
Thanks Bron!!

FYI - I’m still waiting to hear back from my vet re getting the pet glucose meter from her, and for her to call in the Rx for the Lantus pen (she was supposed to call it in today to my local Walgreens but I haven’t gotten a call that she did it yet).

QUESTION:
- What is the possible affect of not starting to treat Isy’s diabetes yet? While I’m waiting for my vet to place the Rx for the insulin and get me a meter, am I losing critical time with Isy? How quickly could untreated diabetes start to cause even more critical issues?
Or do you think given we don’t know exactly WHEN Isy became diabetic (sometime since May), if it takes another week to get started with treatment etc it likely won’t make much difference??

Thanks!
Sherri
The main problem with not starting insulin is that you can run the risk of ketones forming. You can test for these by getting a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy or Walmart. You collect a urine sample and dip the test strip into the urine and read the result exactly 15 seconds later. If there are any ketones at all I would tell the vet. Normally anything above a trace is when you tell the vet but with all Isy’s issues I would tell her if there are any ketones. Ketones can form when there is not enough insulin and not enough food. It’s not uncommon for cats to have ketones when they are diagnosed and it is really important that insulin is started straight away to combat them.
Also make sure she is eating well if you can.
Untreated ketones can lead to DKA which is a very serious Illness.
I would hassle the vet to get both the meter and the insulin. You want to have the meter when you start the insulin. Most meters don’t cost a lot. It is the strips that are the expensive part.
 
The main problem with not starting insulin is that you can run the risk of ketones forming. You can test for these by getting a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy or Walmart. You collect a urine sample and dip the test strip into the urine and read the result exactly 15 seconds later. If there are any ketones at all I would tell the vet. Normally anything above a trace is when you tell the vet but with all Isy’s issues I would tell her if there are any ketones. Ketones can form when there is not enough insulin and not enough food. It’s not uncommon for cats to have ketones when they are diagnosed and it is really important that insulin is started straight away to combat them.
Also make sure she is eating well if you can.
Untreated ketones can lead to DKA which is a very serious Illness.
I would hassle the vet to get both the meter and the insulin. You want to have the meter when you start the insulin. Most meters don’t cost a lot. It is the strips that are the expensive part.

Hi Bron,
Thanks for the info re ketones. Well Isy hasn’t peed since Monday! This is very unusual - she usually pees about twice a day! She had 50ml subq fluids on Monday night but none yesterday (my vet had said to change to just Every other Day starting this week due to the anemia).
She’s still eating relatively well (for her) and I found a store yesterday that sells several Non-fish flavors of Fancy Feast pate so I got several to try. So far Isy is eating the beef and chicken feast.

I’m texting the vet now to tell her about Isy not peeing in over 24hrs, and to ask status of the insulin and meter.
 
I hope Isy is ok. Please let us know :bighug:

Thanks Janet! Isy is acting her usual self, awake this am, ate some Fancy Feast and some of her dry food, cleaning her face, and had pooped sometime early this am (but did it beside her bed/pillows not over on the pee pads where she usually goes - she won’t go in a litter box anymore, assume she finds it too hard physically plus I have to keep it farther from where she usually stays in the house and with her poor eyesight and mobility I think it’s why she stopped going to the box many months ago.)
But still No pee!

I texted my vet - she only sent quick response (likely between her surgery appts today) saying maybe I should recheck her BG (I assume she means at the clinic since she knows I’m waiting for her to get me the pet glucose meter she wants me to use)
Also the Lantus and needles will be ready for pick up from Walgreens this afternoon.
I texted back asking if I should take her to the clinic this am - But she didn’t respond yet, and nothing about status of the pet meter or the issue of Isy not peeing for over 24hrs!
 
I sure hope shes not blocked. :(

Well Isy just peed - I saw her wandering around in my living room and I went to pick her up to take her to her pee pad to see if she’d pee and felt her fur under her tail was wet! So I figured she must have actually peed recently somewhere - I thought I smelled urine! I looked and sure enough on the floor rug near where she likes to sit there was a wet spot! Pee!
Sooo - good thing is she peed, not good thing is for some reason she’s not going on her pee pads to pee or poop now, even when I carry her there.
It seems maybe now she just wants to go nearby the area where she likes to sit and sleep in my living room! Ugh!
And now I don’t know if maybe she HAS peed another time since Monday (like overnight) but just not on her pee pads where she would usually go, maybe on that rug and it dried by morning?!
 
Thanks Janet! Isy is acting her usual self, awake this am, ate some Fancy Feast and some of her dry food, cleaning her face, and had pooped sometime early this am (but did it beside her bed/pillows not over on the pee pads where she usually goes - she won’t go in a litter box anymore, assume she finds it too hard physically plus I have to keep it farther from where she usually stays in the house and with her poor eyesight and mobility I think it’s why she stopped going to the box many months ago.)
But still No pee!

I texted my vet - she only sent quick response (likely between her surgery appts today) saying maybe I should recheck her BG (I assume she means at the clinic since she knows I’m waiting for her to get me the pet glucose meter she wants me to use)
Also the Lantus and needles will be ready for pick up from Walgreens this afternoon.
I texted back asking if I should take her to the clinic this am - But she didn’t respond yet, and nothing about status of the pet meter or the issue of Isy not peeing for over 24hrs!

FYI - Just got a text back from my vet - she’s having me bring Isy in later this afternoon to Recheck her BG etc (and hopefully she has the pet meter there to give me today).
 
Thanks Janet! Isy is acting her usual self, awake this am, ate some Fancy Feast and some of her dry food, cleaning her face, and had pooped sometime early this am (but did it beside her bed/pillows not over on the pee pads where she usually goes - she won’t go in a litter box anymore, assume she finds it too hard physically plus I have to keep it farther from where she usually stays in the house and with her poor eyesight and mobility I think it’s why she stopped going to the box many months ago.)
But still No pee!

I texted my vet - she only sent quick response (likely between her surgery appts today) saying maybe I should recheck her BG (I assume she means at the clinic since she knows I’m waiting for her to get me the pet glucose meter she wants me to use)
Also the Lantus and needles will be ready for pick up from Walgreens this afternoon.
I texted back asking if I should take her to the clinic this am - But she didn’t respond yet, and nothing about status of the pet meter or the issue of Isy not peeing for over 24hrs!
At least she doesn't do it on your bed. I read somewhere that there is a litter that's softer on their paws.
 
At least she doesn't do it on your bed. I read somewhere that there is a litter that's softer on their paws.

Hi Roberta
I think Isy won’t go back to using her litterbox even if I change the litter etc - I think she may have an aversion to it especially now that she has very limited sight and finds it hard to see to get around other than in my living room (Where she sleeps, eats, watches what’s going on etc from her bed and pile of pillows on the floor) and kitchen (where she drinks and a corner area with her pee pads).
In the past she’s gone in the litter box and then my other cat or dog have followed her in there and it was really upsetting to her (lots of hissing and howling), likely because she’s always felt insecure around other pets and now must be worse with her loss of sight.
So besides finding it hard to find and get to the litterbox, I think she’s also afraid that she’ll get surprised and cornered in there by the other cat or dog.
I’m hoping I can at least somehow get her to go back to using her pee pads in her corner off the kitchen.
 
Well Isy just peed - I saw her wandering around in my living room and I went to pick her up to take her to her pee pad to see if she’d pee and felt her fur under her tail was wet! So I figured she must have actually peed recently somewhere - I thought I smelled urine! I looked and sure enough on the floor rug near where she likes to sit there was a wet spot! Pee!
Sooo - good thing is she peed, not good thing is for some reason she’s not going on her pee pads to pee or poop now, even when I carry her there.
It seems maybe now she just wants to go nearby the area where she likes to sit and sleep in my living room! Ugh!
And now I don’t know if maybe she HAS peed another time since Monday (like overnight) but just not on her pee pads where she would usually go, maybe on that rug and it dried by morning?!
As yucky as it sounds SHE PEED!!! YAAAAY
 
Did you get a fructosamine test done in the beginning? if Isy is only peeing once or twice a day, I wonder if the BG was higher because of the pancreatitis and not because she is a diabetic. I would ask for a fructosamine test if one hasn’t been done to confirm the diagnosis before you give any insulin.
 
Last edited:
Hi Roberta
I think Isy won’t go back to using her litterbox even if I change the litter etc - I think she may have an aversion to it especially now that she has very limited sight and finds it hard to see to get around other than in my living room (Where she sleeps, eats, watches what’s going on etc from her bed and pile of pillows on the floor) and kitchen (where she drinks and a corner area with her pee pads).
In the past she’s gone in the litter box and then my other cat or dog have followed her in there and it was really upsetting to her (lots of hissing and howling), likely because she’s always felt insecure around other pets and now must be worse with her loss of sight.
So besides finding it hard to find and get to the litterbox, I think she’s also afraid that she’ll get surprised and cornered in there by the other cat or dog.
I’m hoping I can at least somehow get her to go back to using her pee pads in her corner off the kitchen.
You could try a new litter box with a different kind of litter. (Many have sucess with dr. elsey's cat attract litter). Feliway diffusers can sometimes quell anxiety some... I have three going in my house all the time. I can always tell when one runs out. Make sure it has no hood if she's anxious and wants a quick escape. Put some of her urine that you wipe (gross i know) in the box so she smells where she's supposed to go. Clean messed areas really well. my favorite urine cleaners are 1. Angry Orange and 2 . Anti Icky Poo Unscented GOod luck. bathroom issues are the worst.
 
Did you get a fructosamine test done in the beginning? if Isy is only peeing once or twice a day, I wonder if the BG was higher because of the pancreatitis and not because she is a diabetic. I would ask for a fructosamine test if one hasn’t been done to confirm the diagnosis before you give any insulin.

Hi Bron
I had finished at the vet today before I saw your latest comment - No Isy hasn’t had a fructosamine test. They did check her BG again today and it was 354. So my vet feels she IS diabetic, especially given the 8yrs on steroids.
The good news was at least she’s gained back a few tenths of a pound since last week.

So my vet gave me the pet meter to borrow
(it’s an iPet Pro starter kit - coincidentally it’s the SAME one that I asked her about the other day, to see if I could get it instead of an AlphaTrak since it is cheaper and Amazon could ship it in 2 days! So now I’m wondering if my vet actually ordered it herself to give me to borrow, to save me money and then when I’m done and return it to her she’ll just use it at the clinic?)
She gave me a bag of 25gauge needles to use for lancets to do the ear pricks.

Also I got the Lantus pen and 0.3ml 31 gauge 8mm syringes with 1/2 unit markings (it’s what Walgreens had available), and ketone test strips.

Directions re Insulin from my vet: She decided she wants me to start Isy at just 1/2unit dose 2x/day. She wants me to stay at that dose for 7-10 days and then do the 12hr BG curve based on that dose.
She feels Isy is pretty sensitive so she’d rather I start at a very small dose (she also said she always has owners use syringes with the Lantus pen, to adjust small doses).
She thinks if I check Isy’s BG levels too frequently at first, it’s going to stress Isy cause she can be temperamental. So she’d rather I start at just 1/2unit and thinks there shouldn’t be much risk of her BG going too low, so recommends I don’t keep testing her BG multiple times during the first week.
But of course if Isy acts like she’s not feeling well or any changes, then I should check her BG. Also if she’s not eating well then I should not give the next insulin shot and contact my vet for guidance etc.

Food: Also now my vet wants me to work on getting Isy transitioned over to more wet food, and off the dry Hills I/d.
She said at this point I should feed any wet food like Fancy Feast which Isy seems to tolerate, and try to get her intake of wet food up, as I decrease the dry food. (Since right now what Isy has been willing to eat only gives about 1/4 of her calories from wet food and the rest is all from Hills dry I/d food, so need to adjust that - but she said I don’t need to increase her total calories because she doesn’t have to get back up to 10lbs, just some small increase from her current 9.4lbs is fine and then stay stable.)
So this is basically the same as all of you here also advised re foods.

(I forgot to ask my vet today about the anemia and if there is anything we should do about that- will follow up on that.)

Any thoughts on my vet’s plan re insulin dosing and BG curve in another 7-10days?
 
Hi Sherri,
Starting dose of 1/2 unit is fine.
I would highly recommend you test before EVERY shot to see Isy is high enough to give the dose to. Initially if she is lower than around 230 on the pet meter I would stall, don’t feed and post and ask for help. Test again 20 mins later to see if the BG has gone up. I Would start a new thread Tomorrow and call it ‘starting lantus today’. If you need help, change the subject line to ‘HELP, stalling BG xx’
I would also recommend you test at least once during the cycle to see how low the dose takes Isy, because the BG can go from 400 down to 40 and back to 400 by the end of the cycle and unless you are testing you won’t know.
Your take acting number is BG 68. That is when you give some high carb or honey. I would post and tell us she is dropping before she gets to 68 though.

The routine is test, feed then shoot when giving the insulin. And a few snacks during the cycles as well.

I’m going to send you a link to home testing
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
Hi Sherri,
Starting dose of 1/2 unit is fine.
I would highly recommend you test before EVERY shot to see Isy is high enough to give the dose to. Initially if she is lower than around 230 on the pet meter I would stall, don’t feed and post and ask for help. Test again 20 mins later to see if the BG has gone up. I Would start a new thread Tomorrow and call it ‘starting lantus today’. If you need help, change the subject line to ‘HELP, stalling BG xx’
I would also recommend you test at least once during the cycle to see how low the dose takes Isy, because the BG can go from 400 down to 40 and back to 400 by the end of the cycle and unless you are testing you won’t know.
Your take acting number is BG 68. That is when you give some high carb or honey. I would post and tell us she is dropping before she gets to 68 though.

The routine is test, feed then shoot when giving the insulin. And a few snacks during the cycles as well.

I’m going to send you a link to home testing
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

Hi Bron
Thanks for the advice re testing etc. So it looks like if I’m going to test before every shot that I need to order more test strips ASAP for the iPet pro meter - there’s only a small quantity in the starter kit that I got from my vet.
Hmm - Or maybe I should just go to my previous plan and buy the Walmart ReliOn meter and test strips to use every day, and save the iPro pet test strips and meter for doing the BG curves for my vet since she’s only expecting me to give her that data anyway, and likely any other BG tests I do before shots is just for my own monitoring?
I’ll price it out Online and see delivery times - but if I’m going to test before every shot I likely have to wait a few more days to start, to make sure I have sufficient ongoing supply of test strips and don’t use up all the iPro pet test strips.

I’ll start a new thread for starting insulin and testing when I am ready to go.
 
Or maybe I should just go to my previous plan and buy the Walmart ReliOn meter and test strips to use every day, and save the iPro pet test strips and meter for doing the BG curves for my vet since she’s only expecting me to give her that data anyway, and likely any other BG tests I do before shots is just for my own monitoring?
You wouldnt be the first with this plan and probably not the last. ;):coffee:
 
You wouldnt be the first with this plan and probably not the last. ;):coffee:

Hi JT - Yep, I just ordered the ReliOn Prime meter and 100 test strips online from Walmart - can get it delivered by Saturday and Total cost with shipping was only like $38 (cheaper than a box of only 50 test strips for the iPro pet meter).

So I guess I should change my Signature since I’ll be using both meters - since I expect to use the ReliOn meter most for my own daily BG measurements should I change my Signature to just show the ReliOn meter instead?
 
Well if you can figure out how to add both that would be ideal but for our purposes you only really NEED to add ReliOn. ;)

Thanks - with a little modifying text I was able to add the ReliOn meter and iPet pro into the Signature line and fit within the max allowed number of characters. Yeah!

I got the iPet pro meter set up and tried it out with the control solution and also did a trial BG reading on Isy - looks like I did it right! Her BG was 269 (that’s the pet meter reading, and it was about noon time here so after she’s eaten small amounts of just Fancy Feast through the morning). Yesterday afternoon at the vet she was 354, but had eaten more FF and including some Hills i/d dry food.

I’ll start a separate thread now re starting testing etc and try to get my SS set up.
 
Thanks - with a little modifying text I was able to add the ReliOn meter and iPet pro into the Signature line and fit within the max allowed number of characters. Yeah!

I got the iPet pro meter set up and tried it out with the control solution and also did a trial BG reading on Isy - looks like I did it right! Her BG was 269 (that’s the pet meter reading, and it was about noon time here so after she’s eaten small amounts of just Fancy Feast through the morning). Yesterday afternoon at the vet she was 354, but had eaten more FF and including some Hills i/d dry food.

I’ll start a separate thread now re starting testing etc and try to get my SS set up.
Awesome!;)
You gotz this!
 
Cats usually test higher at the vets because of stress, which effects the BG.
Congratulations on getting your first test done! Fabulous!
Don’t forget to get the spreadsheet set up as you can start adding numbers now....have just seen above you are sorting out the SS.:)
Very glad you ordered the human meter....it will save you heaps of money moving forward.
When you do use the pet meter you will need to note that on the SS and tell us each time you use if you are talking about the BG, as it makes a difference. It won’t be as issue if you can do that:)

Have you checked for ketones yet?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top