NEW MEMBER - Dx 9/23 - Sherri & kitty Isy - Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All!
I’m a new member (thanks to suggestion from a fellow member who is also in the same feline IBD Facebook group as me).
I’m here looking for some advice to help my senior kitty girl “Isy”, 17yrs old and just diagnosed with diabetes on 9/23 - presumably from long term prednisolone use (over 8yrs to treat IBD).

Latest Situation: Isy was having decreased appetite, more lethargic over the past 1-2months. (But it was hard to notice the changes since over the past 9months she generally has limited mobility due to poor eyesight/near blind, some arthritis, and palmigrade stance (dropped front paws). Also she is sensitive to heat (affects her appetite and activity level) and we had been having heat waves and poor air quality etc /fires in CA, so I thought her decreased appetite was due to that.

On 9/14 Isy vomited after eating some Fancy Feast. Her appetite further decreased so I started Cerenia.
By Thurs 9/17 she basically stopped eating and was mostly only sleeping. Her urine turned dark gold brown (she uses pee pads because she can’t get in a litter box easily).

On Fri 9/18 I started Mirataz and did syringe feedings and daily subq fluids and within a few days (by last Sunday 9/20) I got her eating again on her own, small frequent feedings. Her urine color returned to lighter yellow.

On Monday am (9/21) took her to my vet (soonest they could take her) and did full bloodwork and urinalysis.

*Note: Isy has IBD (but has been stable), idiopathic cystitis (blood in urine), a cornea condition/loss of sight from long term pred, palmigrade stance. Her bloodwork and UA in May/June were normal, weight stable at about 10.3lbs for past few years. Her last ultrasound was March - normal, nothing remarkable. She eats Fancy Feast pate/fish flavors and Rx Hills i/d dry for IBD, she is a picky eater.

9/21 Test Results: BW showed elevated liver, pancreas, and BUN numbers, and anemia. Blood glucose was slightly high, creatinine etc normal. Urine had sugar and blood in it.
Weight = 9.2lbs (about 1 lb weight loss since May/June)
Vet concerned about possible organ failure/liver and pancreas issues and suspected onset of diabetes from long term steroids. Had me take Isy back on 9/23 for Blood Glucose test (ear prick/ meter reading) - non-fasted/5pm - BG = 358.

9/23 - Vet confirmed diabetes diagnosis based on this latest BG result. Elevated liver numbers and dark gold brown urine may have been due to possible start of hepatic lipidosis from not eating. Also likely acute pancreatitis/flare that caused Isy to stop eating, lethargy, and the elevated fPLI result.

Vet suggesting recheck all BW in a few weeks IF I decide to treat the diabetes, or otherwise consider PTS due to age and latest health issues.

NEXT STEPS: I told my vet that I want to try to treat Isy’s diabetes and see if she can still have some decent quality time with me. She is eating on her own, alert, and still seems to enjoy petting and attention. My vet said she’ll support my decision.

Vet Recommendation re Diabetes Treatment:
Get glargine inject a pen and Accucheck pet glucose monitor, start at 1 unit 2x/day and do BG monitoring and glucose curves myself at home (to reduce stress for Isy who hates going to the vet, plus help reduce costs).

**Since I’m new to having a cat with diabetes, in addition to support from my vet, I’m looking for advice and guidance based on first-hand experience from those of you here.
I’m feeling kind of overwhelmed but trying to educate myself from reading info here on FDMB. I feel I need to get moving ASAP on starting treatment and my vet is ready to move ahead with calling in my Lantus RX etc.

**Please share advice for my next steps re getting started - where to order supplies, things I need, meds and best approach for starting treatment.

Thanks for reading!!
Sherri and kitty Isy ♥️
 
Welcome to you and Isy!

first of all I’m in shock and awe that your vet told you to home test. I’m in CA too and if you’re in LA, I want your vet’s number!!!!

so, it seems you’re in good hands there and I promise you here too! Also, good choice of insulin and starting dose. Is there any way, once you get started testing and feel comfortable with that, to try to transition her away from the dry food? That alone could bring her bg down significantly and really help with the diabetes. Minnie also has IBD so I’m familiar with that struggle. She’s on ondansetron for the nausea/vomiting and budesonide. Are you familiar with it? It’s a localized steroid that should be a much better option than the prednisolone. Maybe ask your vet about switching to it?

let’s talk supplies. If you haven’t bought a pet meter, don’t. Human meters are fine and a lot less expensive in the long term because the strips are more affordable. I use Walmart’s ReliOn and it works great. It’s reliable and accurate and most members here use it too. We are all also used to interpreting human numbers so no need for any type of conversion. I’d also suggest you get the 1/2 unit marked syringes because here we adjust the dose by .25 units and it’s easier to figure that amount out on the 1/2 unite syringes. I again use Walmart’s ReliOn syringes and I buy it at the store because they don’t sell it online. You can either use a lancet free hand, which I prefer, or a lancet pen. You can try both and see what works best for you. As a beginner, I’d suggest you get lancets with larger gauge so it makes a slightly bigger role and it’s easier to get enough blood out, 28 or even 26, it’s counter intuitive but the smaller the number the larger the lancet tip. A few tips about testing are: give a low carb treat immediately after to build positive association, always warm up the ear so it’s easier to get a droplet out - we fill an old sock with rice and nuke it then press it again the ear for about 20 seconds or so - I’m also a big fan of singing while testing to calm us both down. Here’s the spot to aim for:

13D93D77-CCF7-4A2C-85F1-4725CDE9CCA6.jpeg
42798DB3-D677-4D5F-9C10-04650383D041.jpeg



A lot of folks here order supplies from ADW Diabetics as well. Are you going with Lantus by chance? If so, it’s much cheaper in Canada and we order from Mark’s pharmacy there because it’s about 1/3 of the cost than in the US.

what else? Ask as many questions as you need. That’s what we’re here for :bighug:
 

Attachments

  • 13D93D77-CCF7-4A2C-85F1-4725CDE9CCA6.jpeg
    13D93D77-CCF7-4A2C-85F1-4725CDE9CCA6.jpeg
    30.3 KB · Views: 490
  • 42798DB3-D677-4D5F-9C10-04650383D041.jpeg
    42798DB3-D677-4D5F-9C10-04650383D041.jpeg
    78.2 KB · Views: 506
Hi Sherri and Isy and welcome!
I am so glad to see you made it over to FDMB. It is overwhelming in the beginning But you will soon feel much more in control. This is a very supportive community with lots of very knowledgeable people.
I agree with what @Aleluia Grugru & Minnie has told you.
The syringes you need to buy are the U100 0.3 ml 30 or 31 gauge 6 or 8 mm syringes with 1/2 unit markings.
If you use these syringes instead of the pen you will be able to increase the dose in 0.25 u it increments not 1 unit increments.
You still use the cartridge in the pen by inserting the needle of the syringe into the rubber on the cartridge.
keep the insulin in the fridge. It will prolong the life of the insulin.

Are you able to change Isys diet away from the dry l/d do you think, without causing problems with the IBD. It will be high in carbs which really need to be lower(10% or less) for the diabetes. However if that will cause major problems with the IBD, we will just have to work around the problem with a higher dose of insulin.

I am so glad your vet is aboard with the home testing. You mentioned an accuchek meter which is a very good meter.

Are you feeding multiple times during the day.? We recommend feeding before the shots and again during the cycles a few times each cycle.

The problem with the dropped front paws is probably caused by the diabetes and will improve with treatment.
Pancreatitis is common in diabetic cats. It usually settles down and some cats get flare ups of it which are managed with sub Q fluids, pain meds and antinausea meds.

Hereis a link to some useful information.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Ask lots of questions....we don’t care how many you ask.would love to see a photo of Isy in the Avatar!
Again welcome!
 
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
Here is a video from one of our members, She uses a pet meter which had to be cided, with a human meter you don't have to do that
I also use the Relion Prime Meter from Walmart 9 dollars
17.88 for100 test strips
Pick up some cotton rounds to put behind her ear so you don't stab your finger, then press gently for about 10 seconds to stop the bleeding

You can also pick up Neosporin Ointment with pain relief
NOT THE CREAM . If her ears look a little sore put a thin layer on them
 
Thanks Alelula, Bron, and Diane for all your helpful information.
I’m a newbie to participating on any type Message Boards, so first I have a basic question about posting - Is it Ok to reply to multiple posts/people’s responses in this thread by writing One Reply (like I’m doing now), or do I need to post separate replies to each person’s post/comments in my thread?

Now here are my new questions and responses:
1) Supplies - for the needles, and glucose meter I don’t have any Walmart nearby in my area.
Is there another option you recommend for a good human meter that I can order online and get delivered quickly (maybe from Amazon or another site)? For lancets to prick the ear, what do you recommend and best place to order?

2) Insulin - my vet said she will call in an Rx for glargine inject a pen to any local pharmacy of my choice. My local Walgreens will sell single Lantus pens for $94.99 (pricey). I know Marks in Canada is cheaper but I would need to see if my vet would agree to call it in there, and I assume delivery takes time - so I’m thinking to get started ASAP I should just get the first pen from my local Walgreens? Thoughts?

3) Food - it is a challenge to get Isy to eat enough. I feed her frequently multiple times a day and she usually eats barely 1tbsp Fancy Feast at a time (total about 3/4 can per day fish flavors), and she nibbles her dry Hills i/d through the day (total about 1/3cup)
So her total daily food intake is probably low compared to most cats her size - maybe about 230kcal/day (her usual weight was 10.4lbs, now about 9.3lbs)
I realize dry food is not good for diabetic cats especially- I’d be glad to switch her to wet food only but she’s so picky, I haven’t found any wet food yet that she’ll eat in any quantity. She doesn’t even eat the chicken based flavors of Fancy Feast pate . Sometimes she’ll eat some of the beef flavors. But given Isy’s IBD and her recent results for liver function, I need to keep her eating and no more vomiting.
**If you have any advice re specific wet foods to try that she might eat which are compatible for diabetic cats with IBD, possible pancreatitis, and liver issues please let me know - I’ll give it a try!

4) Fluids - I’m currently giving Isy 50ml subq fluids daily (previously was giving fluids every 3rd day for her kidneys/cystitis etc, increased frequency last week when she was not eating etc; since she is now anemic I’m supposed to drop back to give fluids just every other day starting tomorrow). Isy is also now drinking noticeably more frequently - assume this is from the diabetes.

Thanks!!
Sherri
 
Hi Sherri.
You can answer any way you like.
If you hit the reply button, it will bring up the persons reply to you and you can answer it.
You can do multiple replies like this in the one post.....or you can do them individually.

1. In answer to your question on supplies. I live in Australia so I'll let someone who lives in the US answer that one.

2. I would get the insulin locally and start asap and then later you can order from Marks in Canada. The cartridge should last quite a while if Isy is only on a small amount of insulin.

2 Food.
Here is a list below of low carb canned food available in the US. We recommend 10% carbs and under.
However you have other things to consider as well.
Most important thing is that Isy eats and eats as much as she can with her recent problems as well as the IBD.
That is more important than the number of carbs in the food at the moment.
I know how hard it can be to get an IBD kitty to eat. And she will need to be eating to have her insulin.
Here is the chart
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

I think I would stick with the current food you are feeding her at the moment for the time being as she is eating that.....once things settle down you may or may not want to try other foods that are low carb. If you do you will need to be aware that a lower carb food will lower the blood glucose and you will have to monitor closely and maybe adjust the insulin dose......but we can help you with that when the time comes.
What you need to do each cycle (12 hours) is to try and keep the amount of food/number of calories and carbs about the same each cycle.

One thing you will need to get is some high carb food that you can give her if her BG (blood glucose) drops low and you need to raise it. Some people whose cats have issues like IBD will use honey or Karo instead of high carb food because the high carb food will cause problems. Make sure you have something to give before you start the insulin.

If you are able to set up a spreadsheet that would be great and then you can put in all the BG data. The link to the SS is in the link I gave you yesterday ..."how you can help us help you". If you have any trouble setting it up someone will do it for you....just let us know.
Also if you could set up your signature which will tell us about Isy and will appear at the bottom of all your posts. Have a look and you will see mine that is in smaller writing under what I write. The link to that is also in the link I sent yesterday.

4.fluids. If Isy is drinking more it probably is from the diabetes. Let her drink what she needs. As the insulin takes effect she will start to drink and pee less. Giving her the SubQ fluids will help with any dehydration which diabetic cats can get.

Keep asking question! Love the photo of Isy!
 
Last edited:
Now here are my new questions and responses:
1) Supplies - for the needles, and glucose meter I don’t have any Walmart nearby in my area.
Is there another option you recommend for a good human meter that I can order online and get delivered quickly (maybe from Amazon or another site)? For lancets to prick the ear, what do you recommend and best place to order?


You can order on line from Walmart,they ship pretty quick, both the Relion Prime and the Relion test strips, Since the test strips are so cheap, I would order 200, The 26 or 28 gaugh lancets any brand
 
Hi Sherri as you can see theres a fountain of knowledge here with good folks to help you navigate it all. All there is left for me to say is
WELCOME TO OUR FAMILY.:bighug:

We look forward to getting to know you and Isy, while following her journey.:)
jeanne
 
Hi Sherry!

As Bron said, you can reply any way you want. If I have a specific response to what one person said I’ll reply to their comment. If not, I just do another entry like right now. The one thing that is helpful to us when there are a lot of comments on a thread is to hit the reply button so we know you read our post, which you have already done so great!

As Diane said, you can order the meter, strips and lancet from Walmart online. The only thing you have to pick up at the store are the syringes. No prescription needed in CA for any of it. You can order the 1/2 marked syringes from ADW diabetics then online.

I agree with Bron on the insulin as well. Get the first pen locally then ask your vet for a prescription. They don’t have to call it in. You can then email the prescription to Mark. That’s what I did. Explain to your vet that it’s much more affordable and he/she should be fine with it. At Mark you get 5 Lantus pens for $165 so as you can see it’s a huge savings. Just make sure the prescription is for 1 pen and 4 refills so they can give you the 5

in addition to the ss, if you can set up your signature that will be very helpful so we can see the main info about Isy at a glance every time you post. Here’s what you’ll need to do:

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you!
 
Hi Sherry!

As Bron said, you can reply any way you want. If I have a specific response to what one person said I’ll reply to their comment. If not, I just do another entry like right now. The one thing that is helpful to us when there are a lot of comments on a thread is to hit the reply button so we know you read our post, which you have already done so great!

As Diane said, you can order the meter, strips and lancet from Walmart online. The only thing you have to pick up at the store are the syringes. No prescription needed in CA for any of it. You can order the 1/2 marked syringes from ADW diabetics then online.

I agree with Bron on the insulin as well. Get the first pen locally then ask your vet for a prescription. They don’t have to call it in. You can then email the prescription to Mark. That’s what I did. Explain to your vet that it’s much more affordable and he/she should be fine with it. At Mark you get 5 Lantus pens for $165 so as you can see it’s a huge savings. Just make sure the prescription is for 1 pen and 4 refills so they can give you the 5

in addition to the ss, if you can set up your signature that will be very helpful so we can see the main info about Isy at a glance every time you post. Here’s what you’ll need to do:

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you!
Hi Ale wouldn't you just order the box of 5 lantus solostar pens , why would you order 1 pen and ask for 4 refills?
 
Aww he's a handsome boy Ale :cat:
Thank you :bighug: he’s a big boy too. Heavy but slender if that makes sense. He’s dense I guess and super vocal. Cries all the time like a mama’s boy. I have to ignore a lot of it. With Minnie, if she cries something is up and I pay attention. With Bobo it’s like, okay what are you upset about now? The birds won’t let you catch them? I’m so sorry :D
 
Hi Ale wouldn't you just order the box of 5 lantus solostar pens , why would you order 1 pen and ask for 4 refills?
Mark’s needs a script that shows 5 pens total. If you send him a prescription for one pen it won’t work. Most vets won’t give you a prescription for 5 pens. They usually will give you a prescription for one pen with refills for more. As long as it equals 5, whether it’s refills or not then it works. Makes sense?
 
Many members buy it from Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada.
This will save you a lot of money. Try to get the U-100 syringes with half unit markings, we increase and decrease by 0.25 units.
These 5 solorstar pens will last you a year or longer depending on the dose you will give
The expiration date is on them , keep in the fridge and they will be good until you start to use them probably has an expiration date of 2022 or 2023



Lantus Solostar CARTRIDGE 5x3ml per box (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100iu/ml 15 ml $159.99 USD




rx.gif
Lantus Solostar PEN CAN (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) *single pen open box* Brand 100iu/ml one pen 3 ml $49.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus Solostar PENS 5x3ml per box (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 15 ml $164.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus VIAL Insulin (10ml per vial) (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 10 ml $110.99 USD
 
Mark’s needs a script that shows 5 pens. Most vets won’t give you a prescription for 5 pens. They usually will give you a prescription for one pen with refills for more. As long as it equals 5, whether it’s refills or not then it works. Makes sense?
Thanks that good to know for when I will have to order in the future :cat:
So you would automatically receive the box of 5 pens?
 
So you would automatically receive the box of 5 pens if your vet writes a script for one pen and puts down 4 refills
Yes, that’s what I did because my vet wouldn’t write a prescription for 5 pens but I had a prescription for one pen with 4 refills. I would always call and double check and make sure they have everything they need to be safe anyway.
 
Yes, that’s what I did because my vet wouldn’t write a prescription for 5 pens but I had a prescription for one pen with 4 refills. I would always call and double check and make sure they have everything they need to be safe anyway.
Thanks Ale , I would definitely call also when the time comes
I pretty sure my vet would write me a script for the box of 5, she always does what I ask her to do, she's wonderful.
I always tell her if she ever left the practice I would hunt her down low
 
Hi Sherry!

As Bron said, you can reply any way you want. If I have a specific response to what one person said I’ll reply to their comment. If not, I just do another entry like right now. The one thing that is helpful to us when there are a lot of comments on a thread is to hit the reply button so we know you read our post, which you have already done so great!

As Diane said, you can order the meter, strips and lancet from Walmart online. The only thing you have to pick up at the store are the syringes. No prescription needed in CA for any of it. You can order the 1/2 marked syringes from ADW diabetics then online.

I agree with Bron on the insulin as well. Get the first pen locally then ask your vet for a prescription. They don’t have to call it in. You can then email the prescription to Mark. That’s what I did. Explain to your vet that it’s much more affordable and he/she should be fine with it. At Mark you get 5 Lantus pens for $165 so as you can see it’s a huge savings. Just make sure the prescription is for 1 pen and 4 refills so they can give you the 5

in addition to the ss, if you can set up your signature that will be very helpful so we can see the main info about Isy at a glance every time you post. Here’s what you’ll need to do:

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you!
Thanks ladies for all the helpful responses and your kind words!! You’ve made me feel so welcome in the group already and I know I’ll have great support here as I take in this latest challenge with my Isy girl’s new health issue of diabetes! ♥️

Ok - so a few questions and updates.
First - My Signature - I had already tried including that info when I was setting up my profile and registered etc. I entered lots of info In the Signature page and kept getting a message that it could only be 2 lines , so too many characters and it wouldn’t let me save it. In the end I had to delete almost all of it - so that’s why you see even in my very first post there is a Signature BUT it only has name and Dx date.
How can I add more info? I must be doing something wrong cause I see you all have multiple lines of info in your Signatures?? Suggestions??

Re My Plan - To start I’m going to have my vet call in the insulin Rx to my local Walgreens (will sell me a single Lantus pen for $94.99). Then in the future if things go well and I have more quality time with Isy and need more pens I’ll order from Marks/Canada.
I think I can also get the syringes from Walgreens.
I’ll order the Walmart meter and test strips online.

Re Lancets - to do the ear prick, what should I buy for Lancets? Do I order those online?

Re Food - today I tried giving Isy some Liver and Chicken flavor Fancy Feast, she at least nibbled it and ate about 1tbsp of it today. Hopefully it also doesn’t bother her (when she vomited back on 9/14 before the latest downward spiral/stopping eating etc she had eaten a non-fish flavor FF for the first time and I thought it was the cause of the vomiting - but maybe not related , since looks like she also had an episode of pancreatitis at that time.)

Note: I didn’t give her Mirataz yesterday or today, seeing if she’ll now continue to eat on her own but without it.

Re Fluids - my vet wanted me to back off on the daily fluids starting tomorrow and change to just EOD, since she is anemic now and the fluids will further dilute her blood. But I think the fluids may be helping the cystitis (no more visible blood in her urine). So I’ll ask my vet if she thinks I can keep doing daily fluids (50ml).

Re High Carb Food - I do have “Raw liquid honey“ on hand which I can syringe into Isy if needed when starting insulin if BG is too low. Would that be ok? Or should I get Karo syrup?
(FYI - I don’t want to rely on a high carb food because she likely wouldn’t eat it (she’s so picky and easily loses appetite) so I’d have to likely water it down to syringe it into her which would affect the amount of carbs, plus ingredients might not be ok for her IBD. Thinking honey or Karo syrup would be better).

Lactulose - Isy has chronic constipation (likely from the IBD and the dry food doesn’t help). She typically needs 1ml Lactulose daily to keep her stool not rock hard (still very firm).
But this is sugar based - so is this an added problem as far as treating her diabetes? Or just something to consider that may affect her required insulin dosage?
And would there be a preferred time of the day/cycle I should give it? (I currently give it at night but I could give it any time).

Thanks!!
Sherri
 
Now here are my new questions and responses:
1) Supplies - for the needles, and glucose meter I don’t have any Walmart nearby in my area.
Is there another option you recommend for a good human meter that I can order online and get delivered quickly (maybe from Amazon or another site)? For lancets to prick the ear, what do you recommend and best place to order?


You can order on line from Walmart,they ship pretty quick, both the Relion Prime and the Relion test strips, Since the test strips are so cheap, I would order 200, The 26 or 28 gaugh lancets any brand

Hi Diane,
Thanks for the info re the meter and test strips. I just looked on Walmart website and see they have a few options/versions of Relion monitors.

It looks like the latest version is the ReliOn Premier Classic - would this be a good choice (also $9.00) - I saw reviews say it takes less blood and faster reading than the previous Prime model. Thoughts?
Or should I get the older Prime to be consistent with what many of you already use??

This is the newer ReliOn Premier Classic:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Classic-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103
 
Hi Diane,
Thanks for the info re the meter and test strips. I just looked on Walmart website and see they have a few options/versions of Relion monitors.

It looks like the latest version is the ReliOn Premier Classic - would this be a good choice (also $9.00) - I saw reviews say it takes less blood and faster reading than the previous Prime model. Thoughts?
Or should I get the older Prime to be consistent with what many of you already use??

This is the newer ReliOn Premier Classic:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Classic-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103
Thanks ladies for all the helpful responses and your kind words!! You’ve made me feel so welcome in the group already and I know I’ll have great support here as I take in this latest challenge with my Isy girl’s new health issue of diabetes! ♥️

Ok - so a few questions and updates.
First - My Signature - I had already tried including that info when I was setting up my profile and registered etc. I entered lots of info In the Signature page and kept getting a message that it could only be 2 lines , so too many characters and it wouldn’t let me save it. In the end I had to delete almost all of it - so that’s why you see even in my very first post there is a Signature BUT it only has name and Dx date.
How can I add more info? I must be doing something wrong cause I see you all have multiple lines of info in your Signatures?? Suggestions??

Re My Plan - To start I’m going to have my vet call in the insulin Rx to my local Walgreens (will sell me a single Lantus pen for $94.99). Then in the future if things go well and I have more quality time with Isy and need more pens I’ll order from Marks/Canada.
I think I can also get the syringes from Walgreens.
I’ll order the Walmart meter and test strips online.

Re Lancets - to do the ear prick, what should I buy for Lancets? Do I order those online?

Re Food - today I tried giving Isy some Liver and Chicken flavor Fancy Feast, she at least nibbled it and ate about 1tbsp of it today. Hopefully it also doesn’t bother her (when she vomited back on 9/14 before the latest downward spiral/stopping eating etc she had eaten a non-fish flavor FF for the first time and I thought it was the cause of the vomiting - but maybe not related , since looks like she also had an episode of pancreatitis at that time.)

Note: I didn’t give her Mirataz yesterday or today, seeing if she’ll now continue to eat on her own but without it.

Re Fluids - my vet wanted me to back off on the daily fluids starting tomorrow and change to just EOD, since she is anemic now and the fluids will further dilute her blood. But I think the fluids may be helping the cystitis (no more visible blood in her urine). So I’ll ask my vet if she thinks I can keep doing daily fluids (50ml).

Re High Carb Food - I do have “Raw liquid honey“ on hand which I can syringe into Isy if needed when starting insulin if BG is too low. Would that be ok? Or should I get Karo syrup?
(FYI - I don’t want to rely on a high carb food because she likely wouldn’t eat it (she’s so picky and easily loses appetite) so I’d have to likely water it down to syringe it into her which would affect the amount of carbs, plus ingredients might not be ok for her IBD. Thinking honey or Karo syrup would be better).

Lactulose - Isy has chronic constipation (likely from the IBD and the dry food doesn’t help). She typically needs 1ml Lactulose daily to keep her stool not rock hard (still very firm).
But this is sugar based - so is this an added problem as far as treating her diabetes? Or just something to consider that may affect her required insulin dosage?
And would there be a preferred time of the day/cycle I should give it? (I currently give it at night but I could give it any time).

Thanks!!
Sherri

I can only address on thing here which is the lancets question. Yes, you use the lancet to prick the ear and draw the blood sample. Just like a diabetic human would prick their finger. It sounds worse than it is. Did we post the link to Janet’s video here for you? You’ll see her cat doesn’t even flinch. Minnie will sometimes try to move her ear but she stays put knowing she’ll get lots of praises, cuddles and a treat right after. You can and should order those from Walmart as well so you get it all at once. Any brand will do since it doesn’t go into the meter. The only 2 things that have to match are the meter and strips.

I have the Prime btw, but you can get the newer version. They both work as well. Btw, they both require the same amount of blood .5. This is the one I have:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-P...1ubXgl6O1AMnk1xPg9xNrHXJypN3uuXRoC2JwQAvD_BwE
 
Sorry I'm not much help with your others questions.

Ahhh Ale is here GOOD!:D

Ale I have to leave for the evening.Hope to see you tomorrow.

Sherri you are in good hands! have a good evening. :bighug:

Thanks JT and Ale!
I’ll order the lancets also from Walmart - I saw they have a box of Freestyle Lancets, 28gauge, 100 count for $10.44

As far as doing the ear prick, I don’t think I saw the video - did I miss that in a previous post?
(I did see the diagram etc which shows location on ear to do it).

My local Walgreens has a small quantity of one option of the syringes you recommended in stock
(U100 0.3 ml 31 gauge 8 mm syringes with 1/2 unit markings) so I’ll buy some there when I pick up the Lantus pen to get me started, and then they’ll get more in stock later this week.

Ale - As far as my Signature - is there any way for me to add more info, since it has a 2 line limit? Maybe I can try putting a bit more info typed in a continuous line and see if it will take it?

As far as my spreadsheet - I’ll try getting that set up soon, so I have it ready to go for when I start taking BG data and giving insulin doses.

Thanks!!
 
Thanks JT and Ale!
I’ll order the lancets also from Walmart - I saw they have a box of Freestyle Lancets, 28gauge, 100 count for $10.44

As far as doing the ear prick, I don’t think I saw the video - did I miss that in a previous post?
(I did see the diagram etc which shows location on ear to do it).

My local Walgreens has a small quantity of one option of the syringes you recommended in stock
(U100 0.3 ml 31 gauge 8 mm syringes with 1/2 unit markings) so I’ll buy some there when I pick up the Lantus pen to get me started, and then they’ll get more in stock later this week.

Ale - As far as my Signature - is there any way for me to add more info, since it has a 2 line limit? Maybe I can try putting a bit more info typed in a continuous line and see if it will take it?

As far as my spreadsheet - I’ll try getting that set up soon, so I have it ready to go for when I start taking BG data and giving insulin doses.

Thanks!!
Yes, 28 or 26. Ive used both.

I’m not the best person to ask about the signature. Apparently I joined before they reduced the space but tagging @Chris & China (GA) here who may be able to help us :)
 
Maybe I can try putting a bit more info typed in a continuous line and see if it will take it?

Exactly...you can enter Your name/Cats name, Age, Sex, Date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other meds or health issues?... all in 1 (or 2) lines.

Then when you get your spreadsheet link, you add that to the end.

If you need help setting up a spreadsheet, I'd be happy to do it for you. Just send me a private message by clicking on my name and choosing "start a conversation"
 
Hi Sherri, yes raw liquid honey is fine. Just a drop will raise the BG so don’t give too much. It will be a bit of trial and error until you see how Isy responds to the honey. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others.
I used to give Sheba just a drop or two to raise her BG.
Because you will be testing the BG you will be in control. Post and ask for help if you are unsure about anything. Change your subject line To something like ‘NEED HELP NOW PLEASE’ so we can see you need help.
 
Thanks JT and Ale!
I’ll order the lancets also from Walmart - I saw they have a box of Freestyle Lancets, 28gauge, 100 count for $10.44

As far as doing the ear prick, I don’t think I saw the video - did I miss that in a previous post?
(I did see the diagram etc which shows location on ear to do it).

My local Walgreens has a small quantity of one option of the syringes you recommended in stock
(U100 0.3 ml 31 gauge 8 mm syringes with 1/2 unit markings) so I’ll buy some there when I pick up the Lantus pen to get me started, and then they’ll get more in stock later this week.

Ale - As far as my Signature - is there any way for me to add more info, since it has a 2 line limit? Maybe I can try putting a bit more info typed in a continuous line and see if it will take it?

As far as my spreadsheet - I’ll try getting that set up soon, so I have it ready to go for when I start taking BG data and giving insulin doses.

Thanks!!
One more thing the 8mm is just a slightly longer needle than the 6mm so try it out and see how it works for you. If you want a shorter needle then you’ll have time to order from ADW
 
Exactly...you can enter Your name/Cats name, Age, Sex, Date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other meds or health issues?... all in 1 (or 2) lines.

Then when you get your spreadsheet link, you add that to the end.

If you need help setting up a spreadsheet, I'd be happy to do it for you. Just send me a private message by clicking on my name and choosing "start a conversation"

Thanks Chris! I’ll go in and revise my Signature and try putting all my info in one continuous line and hopefully that will work.

As far as the spreadsheet, should I get that set up now even though I don’t even have my supplies and the insulin yet to start testing BG and start doses etc? (Altho hopefully I’ll get everything delivered by Tuesday/Wed this week to get started.)

I’ll look at the link for setting up my SS and give it a shot - but if I have problems I’ll definitely reach out to you for help!
Thanks so much!
 
Hi Sherri, yes raw liquid honey is fine. Just a drop will raise the BG so don’t give too much. It will be a bit of trial and error until you see how Isy responds to the honey. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others.
I used to give Sheba just a drop or two to raise her BG.
Because you will be testing the BG you will be in control. Post and ask for help if you are unsure about anything. Change your subject line To something like ‘NEED HELP NOW PLEASE’ so we can see you need help.

Hi Bron,
Ok good to know re giving just a small amount of honey if needed.

As far as BG testing, once I get my monitor delivered, should I first measure Isy’s BG levels over 12hrs without giving any insulin, just to get like a baseline reading and see how her BG numbers currently vary through the day?

FYI - last Monday morning when Isy had her bloodwork done at the vet (veinous draw), my vet said her BG was a bit high/above normal but when the BG was repeated on Wed at 5pm (Non-fasted) with a meter at (the vet) it was up to 358 - so I’m wondering if this is her typical variation from am to pm reading during the day, or if rather her BG could vary that much day to day?

What would you suggest as far as me doing any initial baseline BG testing before starting any insulin ? (vet suggesting start at 1unit Lantus BID).

Thanks!
Sherri
 
so I’m wondering if this is her typical variation from am to pm reading during the day, or if rather her BG could vary that much day to day?

Yes, it can vary by quite a bit depending on how much she's eaten, how long ago she ate, how long the car ride was to the vet, how long she was in with the vet...basically 1000 reasons for difference in BG numbers.

What would you suggest as far as me doing any initial baseline BG testing before starting any insulin ? (vet suggesting start at 1unit Lantus BID).

It's not so much to get a "baseline" but you may want to practice a few times so that when you do start the insulin, you'll be confident that you can get a test when you need one.

If the I/D kibble is still in her diet, you'll need to start on the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method. TR is only for cats on canned or raw diets. You might want to contact Dr. Elsey's and ask for a sample of their chicken kibble. While still a kibble, it's lower in carbs (about 5%) and she may be able to tolerate it. Also, contact the Young Again cat food company and ask for a sample of their kibble. Again, it's not the best because it's kibble but the Young Again Zero is low carb. I only mention them because they can be useful for a hard core kibble addict while you work with transitioning them off of it.

Regarding the prednisilone....I assume that's for IBD? Have you discussed weaning her off the prednisilone and trying Budesonide instead? It's still a steroid but usually has less effect on the blood glucose.

Lactulose does sound like it'd be high in sugar, but it's actually an indigestible sugar that works by pulling water from the intestinal tract into the stool so shouldn't effect the BG. Miralax is also very commonly used here for cats with constipation problems.

With the cystitis, one of the main things you can do is reduce any stress in her life. Sometimes medications like ProZac or amitriptyline can be really useful! Here's some reading for you on Urinary Tract Conditions/Cystitis

Good job on your Signature!! As for the spreadsheet, since you're not testing or shooting yet, it's not absolutely necessary to worry about but it might be a good idea to just get it done and out of the way so you'll be 100% ready to go on this adventure we call "feline diabetes"!
 
Last edited:
Yes, it can vary by quite a bit depending on how much she's eaten, how long ago she ate, how long the car ride was to the vet, how long she was in with the vet...basically 1000 reasons for difference in BG numbers.



It's not so much to get a "baseline" but you may want to practice a few times so that when you do start the insulin, you'll be confident that you can get a test when you need one.

If the I/D kibble is still in her diet, you'll need to start on the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method. TR is only for cats on canned or raw diets. You might want to contact Dr. Elsey's and ask for a sample of their chicken kibble. While still a kibble, it's lower in carbs (about 5%) and she may be able to tolerate it. Also, contact the Young Again cat food company and ask for a sample of their kibble. Again, it's not the best because it's kibble but the Young Again Zero is low carb. I only mention them because they can be useful for a hard core kibble addict while you work with transitioning them off of it.

Regarding the prednisilone....I assume that's for IBD? Have you discussed weaning her off the prednisilone and trying Budesonide instead? It's still a steroid but usually has less effect on the blood glucose.

Lactulose does sound like it'd be high in sugar, but it's actually an indigestible sugar that works by pulling water from the intestinal tract into the stool so shouldn't effect the BG. Miralax is also very commonly used here for cats with constipation problems.

With the cystitis, one of the main things you can do is reduce any stress in her life. Sometimes medications like ProZac or amitriptyline can be really useful! Here's some reading for you on Urinary Tract Conditions/Cystitis

Good job on your Signature!! As for the spreadsheet, since you're not testing or shooting yet, it's not absolutely necessary to worry about but it might be a good idea to just get it done and out of the way so you'll be 100% ready to go on this adventure we call "feline diabetes"!
 
Thanks Chris!
Re BG Measurements - sounds like a good idea that I first practice the procedure re taking BG readings with the meter (and to get used to doing the ear pricks too), before actually starting insulin.

As far as Meters, I was planning to order the Walmart ReliOn Prime meter since it seems to be commonly used here - but my vet had told me to order an Accucheck pet meter cause she said it’s more accurate and what they typically use ( Altho I’m sure it’s also a lot more expensive).
** Do you think since my vet is saying I can do my own BG curves at home (rather than taking her to the vet to do it), it would be a problem if I take reading with a human meter instead?
Are the readings different and would it make it harder for my vet to correlate my readings vs if they were done at the vet, to advise me re any insulin dose changes?? Thoughts?
Any Advice re what I should say to my vet re WHY I’m going with a human meter /not what she recommended??
(FYI -My vet is great, love her - but I don’t want her to feel I’m going against her advice unless I can give a good reason. Maybe I just say due to cost - she knows I have to watch expenses cause my hubby is not supportive of spending a lot more money on Isy at 17yrs old )
 
my vet had told me to order an Accucheck pet meter cause she said it’s more accurate and what they typically use ( Altho I’m sure it’s also a lot more expensive).

You mean the AlphaTrak (it's a pet meter) and you're right...the strips for it are about $1 EACH. When you test at least 4 times a day (more if she's dropping low or fast) that adds up quickly. You also can't just run out and buy the strips either. Most of the time they have to be ordered and shipped. That's not helpful at 3am on a Saturday morning when you're down to just a few strips.

I think telling your vet that you just can't afford to use it is a perfectly reasonable excuse!

Actually, the pet meters have only been around for about 10 years....guess what everybody used before they came out? Human meters! That's all anybody had!

At low numbers, which are the most important for safety, they're actually fairly close. Your "time to act" is when they drop below 50 on a human meter....below 68 on the AlphaTrak.

As the numbers get higher, there will be more difference, but at that point it really doesn't matter! Too high is too high...whether it's 350 or 500!

I actually never took China back to a vet for her diabetes once I got my script for Lantus from Marks. They don't require a yearly script like the US does. I listened to the people here who have years of experience 24/7/365 over a vet that might see a handful of diabetic cats in their entire career.
 
Oh as far as Dry Food - yes Isy is on the Rx Hills i/d dry because of her IBD. Also she won’t eat a sufficient amount of wet food to get in enough calories. She eats only very small amounts at a time of dry or wet, so I have to offer her food frequently every few hours through the day to get her total intake up - even then she only eats about 230kcal/day (maybe ~165kcal dry + 65kcal wet FF).

I can definitely check into the other dry foods with lower carbs that you suggested - the key will be whether Isy will eat them and if they are ok with her IBD. Given she’s been losing weight the last few months, and has elevated pancreas number (fPLI) and liver enzymes, it’s going to be critical that I keep her eating and don’t cause further GI or liver or pancreas issues.

(FYI - I asked my vet last week about considering changing Isy’s food now that she’s diabetic, but for now she advised that I not make too many changes and stick with the same food right now, especially since I just got Isy back to eating on her own again. I had to syringe feed her last weekend cause she had stopped eating anything. But I’m not opposed to trying transitioning to other dry food options in time, if Isy is first stable with her eating and also not losing more weight.)
 
You mean the AlphaTrak (it's a pet meter) and you're right...the strips for it are about $1 EACH. When you test at least 4 times a day (more if she's dropping low or fast) that adds up quickly. You also can't just run out and buy the strips either. Most of the time they have to be ordered and shipped. That's not helpful at 3am on a Saturday morning when you're down to just a few strips.

I think telling your vet that you just can't afford to use it is a perfectly reasonable excuse!

Actually, the pet meters have only been around for about 10 years....guess what everybody used before they came out? Human meters! That's all anybody had!

At low numbers, which are the most important for safety, they're actually fairly close. Your "time to act" is when they drop below 50 on a human meter....below 68 on the AlphaTrak.

As the numbers get higher, there will be more difference, but at that point it really doesn't matter! Too high is too high...whether it's 350 or 500!

I actually never took China back to a vet for her diabetes once I got my script for Lantus from Marks. They don't require a yearly script like the US does. I listened to the people here who have years of experience 24/7/365 over a vet that might see a handful of diabetic cats in their entire career.

Hmm - my vet said Accucheck pet meter, I wonder if she made a mistake in the name?
Anyway, even if it’s AlphaTrak it sounds like going with a pet meter definitely would complicate it more (re not as readily available test strips etc) plus much higher cost!! I’ll just explain to my vet that given I’m going to be doing so much testing at home, I need to go with a cheaper meter with cheap test strips.

Also once a cat is diabetic, how critical is time to get started on treatment/starting insulin - am I losing critical time right now, since I likely won’t get everything I need to start giving insulin until sometime this coming week?
(my vet said diabetic cats who aren’t treated will soon start feeling really bad - I don’t want that to happen with Isy, so far I think mostly she’s drinking more but after I got her over not eating last week, she seems like now she doesn’t feel too bad and she’s eating).
 
Re Fluids - my vet wanted me to back off on the daily fluids starting tomorrow and change to just EOD, since she is anemic now and the fluids will further dilute her blood. But I think the fluids may be helping the cystitis (no more visible blood in her urine). So I’ll ask my vet if she thinks I can keep doing daily fluids (50ml).
What treatment are you doing for the anemia? Anemia can be a cause of them not wanting to eat. Would it be possible to post her latest lab report?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top