StaceyA
Member Since 2022
My cat Zach is 13 and diagnosed on 3/10. He was eating a Purina One dry food. He stayed for almost 48 hours there while they started him on insulin. They sent me home with Vetsulin @ 4u 2x a day. They did not mention testing. He weighed 19.5 at the vet.
I joined a few support groups and ended up getting a Relion meter and also took advantage of the free offer for the pet test meter. After a few days of advice from a FB support group I did not give the 4u as he is also on a pate diet at home. Their advice was to lower it I believe to 1u and than even .5 since he usually tests before in the mid 200s. I’m currently using the pet test until I run out of strips in a few days. I test AMPS and PMPS. I am not home to test during the day. I get home around 5 and his shot is usually 730 depending on his PS # and on how long it takes him to eat. I honestly don’t think I can afford to test more than 3 times a day everyday. I’m stretched too thin as it is with the rising cost of food and gas and Ive gone from being ok paycheck to paycheck with some money left to almost nothing left by my next check.
He can be picky with the wet food and I’m getting very worried this will not be affordable for me. I can’t afford to give him Fancy Feast everyday. He’ll eat the Friskies Turkey and Giblet but has frowned on the the other flavors I have been able to find so far. He’ll also eat the FF fish flavors. Sometimes he turns his nose up at the Turkey and Giblets so I’ll give him the FF fish and then go back to the Turkey & G the next day. I tried the Aldi pate and he won’t eat it.
Last Saturday I woke up and he threw up in the night. I thought maybe it was a new flavor I gave him. His appetite was poor Saturday morning. He threw up clear liquid mid day and later that night bloody liquid. I took him to the ER. He was diagnosed with severe pancreatitis and he stayed at his vet for the week. His appetite was poor even on the usual meds. The vet said don’t worry about the diabetic diet just give him what he’ll eat since that’s important for pancreatitis. He got home and was eating the pate fine. He’ll usually eat 1/2 -3/4 of the Friskies can and 3/4 of the FF. I have samples of the Epigen, Young Again and Dr Elseys both the Duck and Chicken. I was hoping to feed the Epigen to my other cat bust she doesn’t like it and neither does Zach. He’ll eat a few pieces here and there. I tried the Young again and he’ll eat it but it’s giving him loose and runny poop. I can try the Dr Elseys but was going to wait till his poop firmed up but I’m also concerned because you can’t find the chicken flavor. I know wet is best. My thought on giving some dry was that it’s something to give if he won’t eat the canned and he also hears my other getting dry and meows. I have my other cat on 1 can of Friskies wet but also still the Purina.
Zach went to the vet for a check from the Pancreatitis yesterday. I did not mention I was not giving him the 4u. They lowered their price for the curve and instead of 1,100 it was 660. I have not gotten the bill for his panc stay but the vet said he wouldn’t charge the hospital fee after day two. When I questioned him about the 4u even if he’s only in the mid 200s he said yes give it because they have his curve data. I don’t want to irritate the vet and have him charge me the full price of the visit by telling him I’m not giving the 4u. I did mention yesterday about doing a curve today. He said to send the numbers when done and they will run it through their system to see where he should be. However, if I’m not dosing him the 4u like they said they will think those curve numbers are based off giving him the 4u. I don’t know what to do. I feel completely overwhelmed. I was going to try the .5 dose and he got pancreatitis and was gone and now I feel like I’m starting all over. And of course his AMPS Number was 137 this morning. So now he doesn’t need the insulin
. Do I still do the curve and see where he is without insulin? I have enough pet test strips for this curve but would have to switch to the Relion to do another curve with insulin. I was liking the pet test strips since it’s a smaller blood sample and I don’t always get blood with each poke. Thank you for reading all this so far! I didn’t intend it to be so long. Any advice is appreciated. I have a spreadsheet for the FB groups but don’t think it’s compatible if I post here. I’ll try to get that started.
I joined a few support groups and ended up getting a Relion meter and also took advantage of the free offer for the pet test meter. After a few days of advice from a FB support group I did not give the 4u as he is also on a pate diet at home. Their advice was to lower it I believe to 1u and than even .5 since he usually tests before in the mid 200s. I’m currently using the pet test until I run out of strips in a few days. I test AMPS and PMPS. I am not home to test during the day. I get home around 5 and his shot is usually 730 depending on his PS # and on how long it takes him to eat. I honestly don’t think I can afford to test more than 3 times a day everyday. I’m stretched too thin as it is with the rising cost of food and gas and Ive gone from being ok paycheck to paycheck with some money left to almost nothing left by my next check.
He can be picky with the wet food and I’m getting very worried this will not be affordable for me. I can’t afford to give him Fancy Feast everyday. He’ll eat the Friskies Turkey and Giblet but has frowned on the the other flavors I have been able to find so far. He’ll also eat the FF fish flavors. Sometimes he turns his nose up at the Turkey and Giblets so I’ll give him the FF fish and then go back to the Turkey & G the next day. I tried the Aldi pate and he won’t eat it.
Last Saturday I woke up and he threw up in the night. I thought maybe it was a new flavor I gave him. His appetite was poor Saturday morning. He threw up clear liquid mid day and later that night bloody liquid. I took him to the ER. He was diagnosed with severe pancreatitis and he stayed at his vet for the week. His appetite was poor even on the usual meds. The vet said don’t worry about the diabetic diet just give him what he’ll eat since that’s important for pancreatitis. He got home and was eating the pate fine. He’ll usually eat 1/2 -3/4 of the Friskies can and 3/4 of the FF. I have samples of the Epigen, Young Again and Dr Elseys both the Duck and Chicken. I was hoping to feed the Epigen to my other cat bust she doesn’t like it and neither does Zach. He’ll eat a few pieces here and there. I tried the Young again and he’ll eat it but it’s giving him loose and runny poop. I can try the Dr Elseys but was going to wait till his poop firmed up but I’m also concerned because you can’t find the chicken flavor. I know wet is best. My thought on giving some dry was that it’s something to give if he won’t eat the canned and he also hears my other getting dry and meows. I have my other cat on 1 can of Friskies wet but also still the Purina.
Zach went to the vet for a check from the Pancreatitis yesterday. I did not mention I was not giving him the 4u. They lowered their price for the curve and instead of 1,100 it was 660. I have not gotten the bill for his panc stay but the vet said he wouldn’t charge the hospital fee after day two. When I questioned him about the 4u even if he’s only in the mid 200s he said yes give it because they have his curve data. I don’t want to irritate the vet and have him charge me the full price of the visit by telling him I’m not giving the 4u. I did mention yesterday about doing a curve today. He said to send the numbers when done and they will run it through their system to see where he should be. However, if I’m not dosing him the 4u like they said they will think those curve numbers are based off giving him the 4u. I don’t know what to do. I feel completely overwhelmed. I was going to try the .5 dose and he got pancreatitis and was gone and now I feel like I’m starting all over. And of course his AMPS Number was 137 this morning. So now he doesn’t need the insulin