Mellya
Member Since 2021
Hello,
My boy, Lucius (14 y/o), was just diagnosed on 12/12/21. I had to rush him to the emergency vet that afternoon because he had collapsed. Long story short he was admitted to the hospital for three days and diagnosed with diabetes, a minor heart murmur, and was very dehydrated. His BG was 469 when admitted and was likely brought on by the steroids he was taking for severe skin allergies. No ketones were detected. He was prescribed 2 units of Lantus 2x/day and put on a low carb canned diet.
Cut to today and he seems to be doing so well that I’m suspicious. I’ve been monitoring his BG with an Alphatrak pet meter. The past four days his BG has only ranged from 87mg/dL to 186mg/dL and that’s with only 1 unit of insulin administered the entire time! I’ve been skipping the insulin dose for any BG reading under 180mg/dL and only give 1 unit for readings between 180-250mg/dL. Anything above that and I give 2 units, but I have to be careful because I find that can drop his BG by over 200mg/dL.
I’m not sure I’m doing the right thing by skipping doses, but I’m scarred of hypoglycemia as I’m not able to be with him 24/7 most days. The syringes I was given only have whole unit measurements, so I’m not able to give a half or quarter unit of insulin. Lucius still has some increased thirst/urination, but not nearly as bad as it was. His appetite has also decreased. Previously he was ravenous, but now he does not eat his meal in one sitting, although he eventually finishes. We will go back to the vet in 2 weeks for a fructosamine test.
In the meantime, do I seems to be on the right track? Is there anything else I could be doing?
My boy, Lucius (14 y/o), was just diagnosed on 12/12/21. I had to rush him to the emergency vet that afternoon because he had collapsed. Long story short he was admitted to the hospital for three days and diagnosed with diabetes, a minor heart murmur, and was very dehydrated. His BG was 469 when admitted and was likely brought on by the steroids he was taking for severe skin allergies. No ketones were detected. He was prescribed 2 units of Lantus 2x/day and put on a low carb canned diet.
Cut to today and he seems to be doing so well that I’m suspicious. I’ve been monitoring his BG with an Alphatrak pet meter. The past four days his BG has only ranged from 87mg/dL to 186mg/dL and that’s with only 1 unit of insulin administered the entire time! I’ve been skipping the insulin dose for any BG reading under 180mg/dL and only give 1 unit for readings between 180-250mg/dL. Anything above that and I give 2 units, but I have to be careful because I find that can drop his BG by over 200mg/dL.
I’m not sure I’m doing the right thing by skipping doses, but I’m scarred of hypoglycemia as I’m not able to be with him 24/7 most days. The syringes I was given only have whole unit measurements, so I’m not able to give a half or quarter unit of insulin. Lucius still has some increased thirst/urination, but not nearly as bad as it was. His appetite has also decreased. Previously he was ravenous, but now he does not eat his meal in one sitting, although he eventually finishes. We will go back to the vet in 2 weeks for a fructosamine test.
In the meantime, do I seems to be on the right track? Is there anything else I could be doing?