New member, cat low BG. Need help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taylor & Carl

Member Since 2023
Looking for advice on what to do with my cat’s BG.

He has been in the low 60’s (using a freestyle libre) for the last hour. We’re brand new to this, so I’m not really sure when (the?) (his?) nadir is. He was given 1.5 units of vetsulin approximately 3.5 hours ago. I’m concerned about him dropping too low.

Also to add to this- I’m afraid this is my fault and I shouldn’t have given him the insulin shot given his BG at the time he ate dinner. It was 153 after stalling- the reading 20 minutes prior was 115. I thought because it was climbing the shot was appropriate but should I have skipped?

update- Carl’s BG now dropped to 50. I’ve given him some syrup, but he is uninterested in eating food. No symptoms of hypo, just dirty looks for hovering and shooting syrup into his mouth.
 
Last edited:
You don’t need to give too much syrup, just a drop or two and rub it on his gums.

What do his numbers look like now after the syrup? Are you able to test using a hand held meter?
 
Please let us know how he’s doing. We ask that you please stay online so we can help you when you post a 911.

In the beginning, we recommend you don’t shoot anything below 200, unless he has a history of DKA

also the syrup or honey wears off fast and you want to follow that up with high carb food. Do you have your hypo kit set up?

As Gus suggested, it’s wise to have a human meter so you can double check those lower numbers since the libre tends to not be as reliable on lower numbers.
 
I'm copying over some information regarding how to manage low numbers. It was written for Lantus users but it's still applicable.

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Sorry, I didn’t realize that about the 911 prefix. I did stay online for an hour and half but didn’t hear from anyone. Now I know to change it before I get off!

I do have a hypo kit but Carl wouldn’t eat. So I just continued to do syrup until he was consistently in higher numbers. I had an alarm set for every 20 minutes. I will definitely be purchasing a human meter.

I skipped his shot this morning (due 3 hours ago). He was at 165 and still has not gone above that. Do I need a lower dose?
 
Probably, but we would need to see some data to guide you on that. What’s the current dose?

when you say he won’t eat, do you mean just yesterday or for how long?

For us to help you better, it would be great if you could setup your signature and spreadsheet. I’m tagging @Bandit's Mom who can help you set up the spreadsheet and then you can enter what you get from the libre.
 
. I will definitely be purchasing a human meter.
Hi Taylor
Do you live in the US?
Most of us use the Relion human meter
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197

Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with
Here is a video one of our members made testing her kitty
She's using a pet meter that has to be coded ,with a human meter you don't have to code it.
So ignore that
I have always used a human meter
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
 
Probably, but we would need to see some data to guide you on that. What’s the current dose?

when you say he won’t eat, do you mean just yesterday or for how long?

For us to help you better, it would be great if you could setup your signature and spreadsheet. I’m tagging @Bandit's Mom who can help you set up the spreadsheet and then you can enter what you get from the libre.

It was just last night when I was trying to get his blood sugar up a little that he wouldn’t eat. Otherwise he has been fine.

I will get all of my cat’s info into my signature tonight but in the meantime I’m wondering if you have any input on how I should proceed tonight. I skipped his shot this morning and tonight he is below 200 still. I’ll upload an excel sheet I’ve been using to track. I’ve been informed this was from the wrong group, so I will change it but have not had time yet. For now, this is what I have. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1pu8gRc2HIIj1KvSVw0YdvWxi29lqD_YOTVoIw7q2X68/edit
 
Looking for advice on what to do with my cat’s BG.

He has been in the low 60’s (using a freestyle libre) for the last hour. We’re brand new to this, so I’m not really sure when (the?) (his?) nadir is. He was given 1.5 units of vetsulin approximately 3.5 hours ago. I’m concerned about him dropping too low.

Also to add to this- I’m afraid this is my fault and I shouldn’t have given him the insulin shot given his BG at the time he ate dinner. It was 153 after stalling- the reading 20 minutes prior was 115. I thought because it was climbing the shot was appropriate but should I have skipped?

update- Carl’s BG now dropped to 50. I’ve given him some syrup, but he is uninterested in eating food. No symptoms of hypo, just dirty looks for hovering and shooting syrup into his mouth.
@Taylor & Carl
Can you put NS (no shot) in the unit cell for tonight
I'll try tagging a vetsulin user about going forwward on what dose to go with
but I haven't seen her on lately
@Suzanne & Darcy
I'll try @JanetNJ also
 
Last edited:
It was just last night when I was trying to get his blood sugar up a little that he wouldn’t eat. Otherwise he has been fine.

I will get all of my cat’s info into my signature tonight but in the meantime I’m wondering if you have any input on how I should proceed tonight. I skipped his shot this morning and tonight he is below 200 still. I’ll upload an excel sheet I’ve been using to track. I’ve been informed this was from the wrong group, so I will change it but have not had time yet. For now, this is what I have. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1pu8gRc2HIIj1KvSVw0YdvWxi29lqD_YOTVoIw7q2X68/edit
@Suzanne & Darcy
@JanetNJ
 
I will get all of my cat’s info into my signature tonight but in the meantime I’m wondering if you have any input on how I should proceed tonight. I skipped his shot this morning and tonight he is below 200 still. I’ll upload an excel sheet I’ve been using to track. I’ve been informed this was from the wrong group, so I will change it but have not had time yet. For now, this is what I have. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1pu8gRc2HIIj1KvSVw0YdvWxi29lqD_YOTVoIw7q2X68/edit
Hi and welcome! I can help you set up your signature and convert the spreadsheet into our format.

In you first post you mentioned a diet change - what food is Carl eating right now?
 
I would skip again if he’s still under 200 at preshot until we can assess what advice to give you. I don’t think you answered my question, what’s his current dose?
 
Looking for advice on what to do with my cat’s BG.

He has been in the low 60’s (using a freestyle libre) for the last hour. We’re brand new to this, so I’m not really sure when (the?) (his?) nadir is. He was given 1.5 units of vetsulin approximately 3.5 hours ago. I’m concerned about him dropping too low.

Also to add to this- I’m afraid this is my fault and I shouldn’t have given him the insulin shot given his BG at the time he ate dinner. It was 153 after stalling- the reading 20 minutes prior was 115. I thought because it was climbing the shot was appropriate but should I have skipped?

update- Carl’s BG now dropped to 50. I’ve given him some syrup, but he is uninterested in eating food. No symptoms of hypo, just dirty looks for hovering and shooting syrup into his mouth.
How is Carl today? Were you able to get a spreadsheet set up? I hope all is going okay today. I also hope you lowered his dose. Don't give the Vetsulin injection until he's eaten a good meal and you have waited about 30 minutes after he eats.
 
How is Carl today? Were you able to get a spreadsheet set up? I hope all is going okay today. I also hope you lowered his dose. Don't give the Vetsulin injection until he's eaten a good meal and you have waited about 30 minutes after he eats.
Hi Suzanne see post #17 about the spreadsheet :cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
From Taylors previous post she said
I’ll upload an excel sheet I’ve been using to track. I’ve been informed this was from the wrong group, so I will change it but have not had time yet. For now, this is what I have.https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1pu8gRc2HIIj1KvSVw0YdvWxi29lqD_YOTVoIw7q2X68/edit

Her previous post
Linking your intro thread
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newbie-insulin-help.282258/#post-3111479
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top