New Member - Cat diagnosed Dec 17

jhartley15

Member Since 2026
Hello,

Lucius 13 yrs, was diagnosed on December 17 BG 436. The biggest symptom that caused me to bring him to the vet was I started noticing that he could not jump up on my bed and seem to be losing strength in his legs. I also thought that there was more water gone from the bowls and more pee, but I also have two other cats.

Due to the holidays, he didn’t start Lantus December 31. In the interim between December 17 and the 31st, I switched him exclusively to fancy feast pate. He was already eating that in the morning, but was also eating dry food. Historically, I always fed my cats grain free dry food on the lower carb.

However, my oldest cat who recently turned 18 has had very poor digestive issues over the past couple years and in the summer was diagnosed with IBS. Subsequently she was switched over to hydrolyze protein, dry food of which all the cats started to eat because it was difficult trying to manage all of them eating. This food has the #1 ingredient as rice. In this timeframe from the summer to December, Lucius also gained approximately 2 pounds. I suspect from eating this dry food.
I now have her on an automatic feeder that only she can access as she eats all through the night and has lost a lot of weight over the past few years due to her IBS.
I also got the freestyle metre and have been testing his glucose. My instructions from the vet, on Dec 31, relayed to me by the vet techs as they were showing me how to give the insulin that day, were that if he tested over 180 to start him onto 2 units. His weight was approximately 16.7 pounds. Most of his life he’s been around 15.

When I got home, I tested him and he was 310. He was 581 at the vet that day. But I had been testing him for a few days at home and he had been coming in around the high 200 low 300 prior to the insulin. I suspected he was stressed. I gave him 1.5 units.
The next morning he was 106. So I freaked a little, didn’t give him any insulinand then I started to do more research.
So for the past few weeks, I’ve been gradually increasing from 0.5 units.
I’ve been tracking all of the data. I just recently saw your spreadsheet and updated it on my laptop.
I can’t seem to figure out how to upload it yet, but I’m wondering if are able to take a look at the photo of it I attached in the interim.
I’m concerned about the low drops in the morning. I’m still trying to get a handle on what’s too low.
I’m very concerned about the neuropathy. I also started to give him some B12.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4677.jpeg
    IMG_4677.jpeg
    4.4 MB · Views: 37
Hi and welcome to the FDMB! Lucius is a magnificent kitty. I haven't had a spreadsheet going for a few years but using Google sheets, when I was doing a SS for Hendrick it always saved to the cloud automatically. Very convenient. Are you using Google sheets?

It sounds like you are doing a good job home testing, that's great. When I first joined here I didn't know how to do that, and had to learn. Very impressive that you're doing that already. As far as increasing doses, I highly recommend following a dosing method. When I joined here and first learned that there was a dosing method where there was a high success rate of complete diabetic remission, I resolved to follow that method no matter what it took. And so we began our journey with Tight Regulation and indeed, we got my boy Hendrick into diabetic remission that year. He has now been in remission for years, he is 14 going on 15.

Read more about the dosing methods here:

Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
 
That's the Google spreadsheet. You just make the spreadsheet shareable and then copy and paste the shareable URL here, preferably into your signature. The instructions on how to make your spreadsheet shareable is here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

Make sure it's methyl B12 (methylcobalamin) for the neuropathy. Regular B12 doesn't help. Zobaline is one brand but pricey. Here's an alternative:


posted by @Diane Tyler's Mom GA

the Vitacost brand another member told me about
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

Same as Zobaline , but the Zobaline is so expensive as you know
This is the same thing
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I bought the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and added it to the Vitacost brand
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half and crush it up and add it, some members didn't even add the folic acid and the neuropathy improved
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up, I still give it to Tyler every now and then and he has never tasted it in his food , I always add water to his food and just stir up the methyl B-12 good
I switched to the vitacost brand because the zobaline was too expensive,
Even though the vitacost brand is 5000 mcgs and the zobaline is 3000 mcgs
What they don't need they will pee out because it's water soluble.

The Zobaline is expensive for 60 pills, 30.00 some other places want 33.00
I used to use the Zobaline when I joined, then a member told me about the Vitacost brand .

It took about 2 months for Tyler to get back to walking normal, jumping on to the couch, running around
But every few weeks I did see a slight improvement
Some members didn't even add the folic acid to the vitacost brand and it still helped and the neuropathy was gone

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

@Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) can help you with your dosing questions.

Can you get your signature set up? All the basic info for your cat will be in the signature and that helps members better help you instead of having to ask the same basic questions over and over again. Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
Back
Top