G2 & Buddy
Member Since 2023
Hello to All! Gail & Buddy here. Buddy came to me 2 yr ago at age 10yr, weight 15lb. In July 2022 his labs were within normal limits, weight 15 lb. He was diagnosed in late Jan 2023 after rapid weight loss to 11.3 lb and polyuria, BG 501, and was started on PZI 1 unit q12hr the same day, incrementally increased by the PetVet based on BG results. As a rescue he ate only dry food, but has grudgingly accepted Purina DM pate if I make a pate milkshake in water. He eats two cans a day (total 320 kcal) divided in 4 doses... he is a grazer... and now weighs a stable 12.5 lb. Dry Purina DM is used sparingly only for treats and emergencies. Successive AlphaTrak BG curves at home always showed a drop of about 100 mg/dl with a nadir between 5-7 hours, regardless of PZI dose. PZI was increased up to 3 units q12hr, with BG improved but still above the normal range (100-250). After about a month on 3 units, his BG have started to suddenly drop without warning by 200-300 mg/dl from his pre-insulin levels, then up to 400-500 with Hypo treatment and holding insulin. Buddy does not exhibit any obvious warning signs even when he bottomed at 48, so we were cautious. The vet was out of town, so I backed his dose down to 2.5 and now 1.5 units.
Hopefully he can stop bouncing around and be stable enough on this dose for a few days so I can get another BG curve and see what is going on. Buddy has had a great attitude through losing his favorite tasty dry food, tolerating the ear sticks, and suffering through hi/low BGs, so we want to straighten this out soon. He still chases squirrels and climbs trees when feeling ok, and shows up at mealtimes.
My background is in medicine and human diabetes, but cats are definitely in a different category of treatment, so I need to rethink my pathophysiology models
Yes, I do record BG at least 2x day, with some midpoint BGs, and have a HYPO kit ready. I just downloaded your spreadsheet and will get it set up asap. I'm guessing I should post on the PZI forum after this introduction.
Thanks for a helpful website and forum !
Hopefully he can stop bouncing around and be stable enough on this dose for a few days so I can get another BG curve and see what is going on. Buddy has had a great attitude through losing his favorite tasty dry food, tolerating the ear sticks, and suffering through hi/low BGs, so we want to straighten this out soon. He still chases squirrels and climbs trees when feeling ok, and shows up at mealtimes.
My background is in medicine and human diabetes, but cats are definitely in a different category of treatment, so I need to rethink my pathophysiology models
Thanks for a helpful website and forum !