Kristin Boel
Member
Hello everyone,
I'm new here my cat Dodge was diagnosed 5/8/24, I'm trying to wrap my arms around this journey but it's been interesting, as I'm sure all of you know! I have some specific questions (below) but first here's some background:
Thank you all in advance, you know how stressful this can be.
I'm new here my cat Dodge was diagnosed 5/8/24, I'm trying to wrap my arms around this journey but it's been interesting, as I'm sure all of you know! I have some specific questions (below) but first here's some background:
- Tried Bexacat and didn't work
- Vetsulin 1 unit AM and PM started 5/28/24
- Hyperthyroidism controlled by Hills Y/D but also random pancreatitis flare ups so mix that w/ Hills I/D - wet and dry (on a timed feeder in between wet feeding sessions). Please don't come at me, I'm going off of the vet's guidance but I know these aren't low carb.
- Last weekend he was overly lethargic, could hear his tummy gurgling/digesting (?), hiccups after eating, random licking of the chops/salivating, puked a few times.
- Tuesday 8/13/24 vet visit = pancreatitis test negative, urine only had high glucose no ketones, blood came back ok.
- Wednesday 8/14/24 Freestyle Libre 3 put finding consistent lows (sorry, I'm not up on the lingo yet) a few hours after each shoot, dropping down into 50's.
- Friday 8/16/24 vet switched from Vetsulin to Glargine-yfgn (it doesn't say an actual name on it anywhere, maybe generic??) because of swings.
- Saturday 8/17/24 AM shoot was the Glargine, dropped down and stayed down for most of the day (instead of coming up quicker w/ the Vetsulin), sometimes dangerously low, had to give him honey a few times and meals to keep him up, no physical signs of distress.
- Did not administer PM shot because BG was 130 then stayed between 100-225 all night.
- Today 8/18/24 did not administer AM shot because BG was 150.
- BG holding between 140-175 this morning, now reading at 137.
- Are the consistent declines in BG normal after shooting? If so, how do I change that (adjust insulin / feed more)?
- Am I correct in not shooting because of the BG's at preshot (130 and 150)?
- If his levels hold stable like they are (140-200) should I be giving any insulin at all? It feels weird to not give him any...
- I read on here that I need to be feeding him 20-30 mins prior to administering the Vetsulin, if I do this, do I check his BG before the food or after the food?
Thank you all in advance, you know how stressful this can be.
