New member at a loss

Status
Not open for further replies.

Betsyboo

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone, I’ve been reading up on here for 3 weeks since I got Betsy but this is my first post.
I adopted her when I saw a FB post saying she was about to be put down if no one took her as she was abandoned. Everything was fine with us both until the ear pricks started which she hates and now she’s weeing everywhere but her litter tray. Today she weed on the carpet and now just the sofa! I don’t know how much more I can take. I’ve tried all the methods to testing but she just bites me.
Her bg is still pretty high so I’m thinking I need to increase her dose.
I’ve had her tested for a urine infection and after paying the vet £55 they told me she doesn’t have one.
I just don’t know what to do
 
Hi Bev and extra sweet girl kitty Betsy. Welcome.

Do you use some sort of pure meat treat while testing? What part of the testing process are you having the most difficulty with?
Have you seen the "kitty whisperer" method of home testing? Ear Testing Psychology

Sounds like you are having a very difficult adjustment period with Betsy.
How can we help you?
 
Last edited:
Hi Deb thanks for your response. She just whips her head around and bites me and runs off when I test her and I’m pretty sure this is why she is weeing everywhere. I’ve read the kitty whisperer and tried to adopt it but she just seems super stressed with it all at the minute and I can’t cope with her weeing on the sofa and carpet
I try to give her tuna loins afterwards. What’s the minimum I can test? Can I just do AMPS, one around +4 then PMPS? Do her numbers look like she needs an increased dosage?
 
The peeing everywhere is more likely to be from her high blood sugar than from the BG testing.

My cat was impossible to test when I first started. It was stressful for both of us and she would bite, scratch, run, hide, you name it. She LOVES treats and was so stressed that she wouldn’t even eat them. What worked for me was taking things very slowly and getting her used to all the parts of testing before I tried it all at once, because just going for it was not working. The worst part for her wasn’t even the actual ear poke, it was that she didn’t like her ears touched or to be held still for 15 seconds :rolleyes: So I started just rubbing her ear a few times a day with a treat immediately after. Then I would click the lancet pen, with a treat. Hold her still for a few seconds, with a treat. Once she started tolerating those things, I would try the whole routine, with treats in front of her before I started, and treats after. If I couldn’t get blood after 3 pokes, I just let her go and gave her a treat. If she started struggling a lot, I let her go and gave her a treat. It was not a quick process, but after a few weeks we finally got to where I could start testing her on a regular basis. Eventually she started running UP TO me for tests and I could do it in about 10 seconds
 
Here's something I wrote up for others for testing...maybe it'll help you too!

It can be really helpful to establish a routine with testing. Pick one spot that you want your "testing spot" to be (I like the kitchen counter because it's got good light and it's at a good height....it also already blocked 2 escape routes due to the wall and the backsplash) It can be anywhere though...a rug on the floor, a table, a particular spot on the couch...wherever is good for you.

Take him there as many times a day as you can and just give his ears a quick rub and then he gets a yummy (low carb) treat. Most cats aren't objecting so much with the poking..it's the fooling with their ears they don't like, but once they're desensitized to it and learn to associate a certain place with the treats, they usually start to come when they're called! Or even when they hear us opening the test kit!

You also have to remember...you're not poking him to hurt him...you're testing him to keep him safe and understand what's going on inside his body. There's just nothing better than truly understanding what's going on inside your kitty's body and with this disease, the more knowledge you have, the more power you have against it. The edges of the ears have very few pain receptors, so it really doesn't hurt them. Also, if you're nervous and tense, it's going to make your kitty nervous and tense too. As silly as it might seem, try singing! It forces you to use a different part of your brain!

It's also important to make sure his ear is warm.A small sock filled with a little rice and microwaved or a small pill bottle filled with warm water (check temp against your wrist like you would a baby bottle) works well

For new kitties, using a heavier gauge lancet is also really helpful. A 25-28 gauge lancet pokes a bigger "hole" than a 31-33 gauge lancet does, so look for "Alternate Site testing" lancets that are usually a lower number

Finding the right "treat" will be a great help too! Freeze dried chicken, bonito flakes, little pieces of baked chicken...whatever low carb treat you can find that he really enjoys will help him to associate the testing with the treat! China's Achilles heel was baked chicken, so I'd bake a piece, chop it into bite sized pieces, put some in the refrigerator and freeze the rest to use as needed. It didn't take long for her to come any time I picked up the meter!
 
Don't know if you have every been pregnant and have the baby sitting on top of your bladder and need to pee all the time. A cat with diabetes is like that. Think of the peeing outside the litter box (tray) as being like urge incontinence.

Sometimes adding another litter tray (litter box) can be helpful.
Some sort of enzymatic cleaner to take away the smell of the cat pee will help also. So your cat does not think where Betsy has urinated before is an ok place to urinate again.
 
Bev, you must be a real "Night Owl". Someone that likes to stay up late. It's close to midnight where you are.

Anything else we may help you with?
The only silly questions are the ones you don't ask.
 
What’s the minimum I can test?

Always before shooting and at least 1 test mid-cycle (around +4 to +7) and at least 1 "before bed" test on the PM cycle. Most cats go lower at night so it's important for safety to get that last test in. (and yes, sometimes you're going to need to set an alarm or stay up with a good movie and a strong pot of coffee)

Do her numbers look like she needs an increased dosage?

I'd like to see some PM tests first. Without tests on the PM cycle, you're only seeing half the picture!
 
Bev, you must be a real "Night Owl". Someone that likes to stay up late. It's close to midnight where you are.

Anything else we may help you with?
The only silly questions are the ones you don't ask.
I have been staying up late trying to get to grips with it all! I like to know everything and so I can fix it!
 
First thank you for adopting her. That makes you a very special person.

Another thing that may be contributing to the difficulty that you're having while testing, is that she may be picking up on your stress. Cats are very perceptive and if you are stressed then that also stresses them out. I know everything is new to you right now and you're trying to do the best for her but one of the important things is for you to relax.

One suggestion is to sing to her while you are testing and giving her shot. Yes it sounds silly, but that is the purpose of it. It is hard to be stressed when you're singing. Especially if you're singing a funny song, such as a children's song. When she feels that you were relaxed, she will also relax.
 
First thank you for adopting her. That makes you a very special person.

Another thing that may be contributing to the difficulty that you're having while testing, is that she may be picking up on your stress. Cats are very perceptive and if you are stressed then that also stresses them out. I know everything is new to you right now and you're trying to do the best for her but one of the important things is for you to relax.

One suggestion is to sing to her while you are testing and giving her shot. Yes it sounds silly, but that is the purpose of it. It is hard to be stressed when you're singing. Especially if you're singing a funny song, such as a children's song. When she feels that you were relaxed, she will also relax.
I do speak to her in a sing song voice saying “good girl” but like you say she can probably sense it stresses me out!
 
I do speak to her in a sing song voice saying “good girl” but like you say she can probably sense it stresses me out!
Jumping in with sympathy and to let you know it is the rare cat that does not "protest" some aspect of our intervening with their health care. My guy would bite and scratch me (for months - I felt like a human pincushion) and pee outside the litter. I posted here a number of times in despair.

Every cat (and pet-parent) is different! I tried what other people did, and I tried what I thought would work and, eventually, for me, the most important things were to:

1) stop stressing (easily said, right?) but you have to prepare yourself psychologically to relax, and push through the creeping anxiety that happens. It is mental on our parts - face it, if you are on this group, then you are a deeply caring person and concern and anxiousness can often go hand in hand for us.
2) finding him in a relaxed position and sitting next to him as I started the process; then approaching him from side/behind for blood testing proved less stressful for both of us.
3) not rushing - if he gets anxious, then stopping to pet and breathe while gently holding him in place, helped both of us.
4) pricking free hand (not with a lancing device) at an angle (sometimes I would practice on an orange, and sometimes on him (I guess that is technically not "practice") if I found him sleeping and his ears were already warm - a sleepy cat became my best friend for getting additional tests and practice in.

The warm rice sock helped in the beginning but I ended up abandoning that when I found he liked me to gently rub the base of his ears, and that would get them warm.

Good luck to you and Boo! You will get there.
 
Betsyboo, Please remove the country from your signature. I mistakenly had you add it and it should not be there. Thanks. Sorry for the bit of extra work.
 
So I’ve managed to get a few more readings. I’ve done one every hour today just about so I can send to the vet. What does everyone else think of her numbers? Increase to 1.5?
 
Good job getting more tests in! I'm not a Caninsulin user, so take what I say with a grain of salt. You're getting some good mid-cycle tests in the low blues. Since your lowest reading is less that 50% of the morning reading, I suspect bounce. If it were me, I would not increase at this time, but hold steady for a few more cycles and get some mid-cycle tests when possible. Then re-evaluate after you have that data.
 
Thanks Juls. I thought she dropped low quite quick but then her nadir seemed to only be 5 hours
That is very typical of caninsulin. Usually onset is at +2 and it can be quite a dramatic drop. Nadir is around +3 to +5 depending on your cat, and then after that the insulin will start to wear off and BG will begin to rise again.

If you find your cat is having steep drops, it can be helpful to feed a small snack around +1.5 or +2. This can slow the drop which will probably help your cat feel less like being on a roller coaster and might potentially reduce big bounces
 
Also when using Caninsulin/Vetsulin, Your sequence of events should be pre-shot test, feed, wait 20 minutes and then shoot.
The 20 minute wait is so that the food has time to be start being digested and start getting into the bloodstream. That helps to offset the quick steep drop with Caninsulin and the fast onset.

If feeding dry food, you might want to bump up the wait time between food and shot to 30 minutes. Dry food takes longer to be digested.
 
Thanks Deb that’s what I’m doing. She’s not on any dry food now
Also when using Caninsulin/Vetsulin, Your sequence of events should be pre-shot test, feed, wait 20 minutes and then shoot.
The 20 minute wait is so that the food has time to be start being digested and start getting into the bloodstream. That helps to offset the quick steep drop with Caninsulin and the fast onset.

If feeding dry food, you might want to bump up the wait time between food and shot to 30 minutes. Dry food takes longer to be digested.
 
The vet has suggested I move her to 1.5 units twice a day and she also mentioned ProZinc if Caninsulin doesn’t seem to be working for her. Glad they seem clued up on cat diabetes
 
The vet has suggested I move her to 1.5 units twice a day and she also mentioned ProZinc if Caninsulin doesn’t seem to be working for her. Glad they seem clued up on cat diabetes
If it were my cat, I would only move up to 1.25 units if you decide to increase. The 110 (6.1) reading at +4 yesterday is not too far off from 90 (5.0), which is about as low as you want her to go at nadir with in and out insulins. But yes, Prozinc would be a better choice if your vet will prescribe it!
 
I’m using a vetpen which is the only thing and they only do half units. Maybe I should wait until I can monitor her on my day off x
 
I’m using a vetpen which is the only thing and they only do half units. Maybe I should wait until I can monitor her on my day off x
Oh gotcha! Then yes, definitely wait until you can monitor if you increase. Some more tests at +2 and +3 or +4 when you are able would be helpful as well to determine if you should increase
 
You can use insulin syringes to withdraw from an insulin pen. but then you can no longer use the 'dial-a-dose' feature on the pen.

Prozinc, lantus, levimir are better insulins for cats.
Duration for cats on Prozinc is usually longer than it is for Vetsulin/Caninculin.

The RVC (Royal Veterinary College) in London did a study a few years ago, and found that Prozinc works better for cats. Many UK vets are not aware of this and still prescribe Caninsulin.

The RVC ran a "diabetes remission clinic" to obtain these results. Could not find the study results paper. Maybe one of our UK members knows the link to that study.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top