Amanda & Ace
Member Since 2022
Good evening all,
First, I am so thrilled to have found this group. You all are so knowledgeable and I have been lurking for quite some time!
Ace was diagnosed with diabetes back in January. He showed classic signs like drinking and urinating a ton. We started on Lantus right away at 2 U twice a day. He did really well and his behavior was totally back to normal. FFWD to May and he was back to his excessive drinking and urinating. Then early this month, he stopped eating and was extremely lethargic. He spent 4 nights at the emergency vet for DKA (he had a UTI and ketones in urine of course). He has been home now for about 10 days. While in the hospital, they said his BG was typically in 200s-300s. When he was sent home, he had the handy dandy Libre Freestyle, so I checked his BG obsessively. His behavior continues with the excessive drinking and urinating and he seems to always be hungry no matter how many snacks I give him between ‘meals.’ He eats a mix of FF pate and the dry royal canin glycobalance (i know i know, it’s high carb but i was trying anything to get him to eat again at the DKA onset). His BG while the freestyle worked was always in the 300s. No noticeable nadir that I could gather (lowest was 280s and that was only twice and the highest was 370s). I decided to try the TR method and did 6 cycles at 2.5 U and then upped it to 3 U and have been doing that ever since (so probably about 4 days so far). The freestyle libre stopped working over the weekend so I finally got a regular BG monitor (Relion) with test strips today. I first tested early this evening and it was in the upper 300s. Then I tested again before his PM shot and it was 406 (this was at least a few hours since he had food)! I just tested him again +2 386.
Anyhow, I’m just at a loss of what to do. I’m terrified of him going into DKA again. It seems like he’s insulin resistant or something. Should I refill his insulin in case the Lantus pen I have is defective or something (and it’s not user error, I am religious with the methodology thanks to the tutorials on here!)? Should I lower his dosage? Should I keep everything as-is and just monitor longer? Should I cut the dry food entirely?
We have his DKA follow up appointment with his regular vet on Thursday, so I’m curious to see what she says. But thought I’d come here for some advice first so I know the right questions to ask
First, I am so thrilled to have found this group. You all are so knowledgeable and I have been lurking for quite some time!
Ace was diagnosed with diabetes back in January. He showed classic signs like drinking and urinating a ton. We started on Lantus right away at 2 U twice a day. He did really well and his behavior was totally back to normal. FFWD to May and he was back to his excessive drinking and urinating. Then early this month, he stopped eating and was extremely lethargic. He spent 4 nights at the emergency vet for DKA (he had a UTI and ketones in urine of course). He has been home now for about 10 days. While in the hospital, they said his BG was typically in 200s-300s. When he was sent home, he had the handy dandy Libre Freestyle, so I checked his BG obsessively. His behavior continues with the excessive drinking and urinating and he seems to always be hungry no matter how many snacks I give him between ‘meals.’ He eats a mix of FF pate and the dry royal canin glycobalance (i know i know, it’s high carb but i was trying anything to get him to eat again at the DKA onset). His BG while the freestyle worked was always in the 300s. No noticeable nadir that I could gather (lowest was 280s and that was only twice and the highest was 370s). I decided to try the TR method and did 6 cycles at 2.5 U and then upped it to 3 U and have been doing that ever since (so probably about 4 days so far). The freestyle libre stopped working over the weekend so I finally got a regular BG monitor (Relion) with test strips today. I first tested early this evening and it was in the upper 300s. Then I tested again before his PM shot and it was 406 (this was at least a few hours since he had food)! I just tested him again +2 386.
Anyhow, I’m just at a loss of what to do. I’m terrified of him going into DKA again. It seems like he’s insulin resistant or something. Should I refill his insulin in case the Lantus pen I have is defective or something (and it’s not user error, I am religious with the methodology thanks to the tutorials on here!)? Should I lower his dosage? Should I keep everything as-is and just monitor longer? Should I cut the dry food entirely?
We have his DKA follow up appointment with his regular vet on Thursday, so I’m curious to see what she says. But thought I’d come here for some advice first so I know the right questions to ask