Barb Cates
Member Since 2023
I apologize for the long post, I have been trying to get Molly regulated since early August with no luck.
Molly is one of 3 cats and 2 dogs. She is 6 years old and ended up hospitalized 5 times through June and July for a total period of 3.5 weeks battling very severe pancreatitis. Her vet said she was the sickest cat with pancreatitis that he had treated in 15 years that survived. During that time she was given prednisone.
Each time I tried to wean her from the prednisone, the pancreatitis would flare up and she would end up back in the hospital. Her vet kept wanting to wait until she had been off steroids for a month before worrying about her glucose levels, which were running in the 300s. He said it was unusual for a 6 year old cat to develop diabetes.
After her last stay, I insisted we start insulin - We started insulin on August 7th. She has been off prednisone since Aug 2. He prescribed Lantus and Molly wears the Freestyle Libre 2 sensor patch and I use the reader, so I am able to get lots of BG readings. Since starting the insulin, she has had no flareups! The vet gave me a protocol to follow that is much like the slow one talked about here, but wants me to adjust dosages with every injection.
Here is my basic problem: I have enough experience now to estimate the morning dose to get Molly to the low to mid 100s during the day. By the time of the second injection, it is usually in the 200s. My real problem is that she seems to have dawn phenomena as best as I can tell. During the night, her BG inevitably rises to a very high value - typically 350+ by 1-3am. Right now her injections are not quite 12 hours apart - they are around 7am and 6pm. Her dose ranges from 1.5U to 2.25U. Experience has shown that more than that (2.5U) and her BG will drop to the 50-70 range. I had read about the somogyi effect and I am now conservative so that it wont be triggered. I havent had a very low reading (below 90) for 2 weeks.
Feeding: Molly is a rescue cat and extremely food oriented. She gobbles her food (unless dying of pancreatitis) and continuously tries to eat the other cats' food, the dogs' food and people's food. She will climb up your leg and attempt to swipe the food off your fork. I have her on the DM Savory Select cans. The other 2 cats are picky eaters, they are used to free eating and I have tried to switch them to multiple feedings per day. In an attempt to keep Molly from their food while they are eating, I feed her small morsels of canned chicken/tuna or let her lap up the "water" that I get from draining the cans.
Question 1: the vet insisted that she be fed a full meal before the twice daily insulin shot. Can I instead feed her an extra meal in the late evening (split the daily ration into 3 instead of 2)? Would that help with the high nighttime BG? Are the protein snacks causing any of this problem? I will work on adding the BG values to the spreadsheet for the members to review.
Question 2: Molly is able to remove the sensor patch in about 1 minute. In order to keep it on, she wears a onesie. This makes it difficult to get to the suggested injection sites. It is not practical to remove it to give her a shot, and I cant afford her to remove the patch prematurely so she needs to wear the onesie. Anyone dealt with this issue? I wonder if I am having trouble injecting reliably, since I am stuck with her scruff.
Any other suggestions welcome and thanks for your getting to the bottom of this post.
Molly is one of 3 cats and 2 dogs. She is 6 years old and ended up hospitalized 5 times through June and July for a total period of 3.5 weeks battling very severe pancreatitis. Her vet said she was the sickest cat with pancreatitis that he had treated in 15 years that survived. During that time she was given prednisone.
Each time I tried to wean her from the prednisone, the pancreatitis would flare up and she would end up back in the hospital. Her vet kept wanting to wait until she had been off steroids for a month before worrying about her glucose levels, which were running in the 300s. He said it was unusual for a 6 year old cat to develop diabetes.
After her last stay, I insisted we start insulin - We started insulin on August 7th. She has been off prednisone since Aug 2. He prescribed Lantus and Molly wears the Freestyle Libre 2 sensor patch and I use the reader, so I am able to get lots of BG readings. Since starting the insulin, she has had no flareups! The vet gave me a protocol to follow that is much like the slow one talked about here, but wants me to adjust dosages with every injection.
Here is my basic problem: I have enough experience now to estimate the morning dose to get Molly to the low to mid 100s during the day. By the time of the second injection, it is usually in the 200s. My real problem is that she seems to have dawn phenomena as best as I can tell. During the night, her BG inevitably rises to a very high value - typically 350+ by 1-3am. Right now her injections are not quite 12 hours apart - they are around 7am and 6pm. Her dose ranges from 1.5U to 2.25U. Experience has shown that more than that (2.5U) and her BG will drop to the 50-70 range. I had read about the somogyi effect and I am now conservative so that it wont be triggered. I havent had a very low reading (below 90) for 2 weeks.
Feeding: Molly is a rescue cat and extremely food oriented. She gobbles her food (unless dying of pancreatitis) and continuously tries to eat the other cats' food, the dogs' food and people's food. She will climb up your leg and attempt to swipe the food off your fork. I have her on the DM Savory Select cans. The other 2 cats are picky eaters, they are used to free eating and I have tried to switch them to multiple feedings per day. In an attempt to keep Molly from their food while they are eating, I feed her small morsels of canned chicken/tuna or let her lap up the "water" that I get from draining the cans.
Question 1: the vet insisted that she be fed a full meal before the twice daily insulin shot. Can I instead feed her an extra meal in the late evening (split the daily ration into 3 instead of 2)? Would that help with the high nighttime BG? Are the protein snacks causing any of this problem? I will work on adding the BG values to the spreadsheet for the members to review.
Question 2: Molly is able to remove the sensor patch in about 1 minute. In order to keep it on, she wears a onesie. This makes it difficult to get to the suggested injection sites. It is not practical to remove it to give her a shot, and I cant afford her to remove the patch prematurely so she needs to wear the onesie. Anyone dealt with this issue? I wonder if I am having trouble injecting reliably, since I am stuck with her scruff.
Any other suggestions welcome and thanks for your getting to the bottom of this post.