New Member, 9/10, Corduroy, AMPS 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
WCR:
Corduroy seems in good, ornery spirits today ;-) Because it takes me a little longer to draw up .25 units, he was squirming, wanting to get to his imminent feeding time. He has been cleaning himself a lot lately. He really hasn't been playing too much, but this is kind of normal for him. When we get out the laser light though, he joins in on the fun. His bathroom habits have been normal. And last but not least, his appetite is VERY good!

Have a great day!

Brigitte
 
Brigitte, welcome to LL! What a wonderful SS Courduroy has! Looks to me like you should start planning an OTJ party in the near future - what fun! A good appy certainly helps in EVERY department!

Bern
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Here is your link from health for others to peruse. FYI every time you post ( we like at least every couple of days or daily if you can manage it) put a link to the prior day post so people can read back.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=103246


Are you drawing up the insulin in the syringe in advance? Might stop the squirms a bit.. or is it just cos he is hungreeeeeee!?

Sounds like he is doing good - looking forward to seeing if this is a dose you can give consistently!.

Wendy
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

From a brief scan of your original post on the Health board (I couldn't get through the 90+ posts), it sounds like Corduroy was diagnosed over 2 years ago. It also sounds like you have used various foods. Most of us don't use MD (if you've gone back to that) due to its poor quality ingredients (i.e., mostly animal by-products).

One of the things you'll see here is that we shoot lower numbers than you're used to. I'd encourage you to begin to work your way down to shooting low numbers. It's the best way to get Corduroy back into remission and prevent the big swings back into higher numbers after you skip. If you have a pre-shot under 150, please post. We can walk you through the process.

There are several starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. You may find them helpful in getting oriented to this board and the Tight Regulation protocol.
 
Just stopping by to add our "Welcome" to the pile. Corduroy is a cutie! You are in the best place with LantusLand...the techincal and moral support here is amazing! Have a great day, guys!
 
Hi Brigitte. I just wanted to drop in and say welcome to LL to you and Corduroy.

Have a great day.
 
Hi Brigitte and extra sweet Corduroy!!

Welcome to Lantus Land!! Was happy to see your post here this morning!! This is where you need to be now so we can teach you how to be a little more "aggressive" with dosing...giving insulin when pre-shot numbers are under 200 so you'll have the best chance of getting him OTJ

We have a "shoot low to stay low" saying here...but it can be scary those first few times, but it's important to shoot if at all possible so you give the pancreas the best chance at healing.

If you ever have a question, just add the ? icon from the list above the Subject Line, and if you have an emergency (like a number under 50) you can use the 911 to get help quickly.

Again, happy to see you here and look forward to helping you to work with your kitty!! He's doing so well so far!!
 
Corduroy reminds me of a children's book by the same name. I can't for the life of me remember what it was about - something about a teddy bear missing a button or something. Anyway, your lil man is adorable and doing great! Welcome!
 
Hi everyone,

Thanks so much for the warm welcome! This is my first chance to get back on after working today. When I posted earlier about Corduroy not playing too much, but that it was normal, I thought about it after the fact, and although he doesn't play a lot on average, I should say that he has been quite a bit lazier than he usually is, laying around a lot, sleeping, etc. Is this a normal reaction to their BG levels being lower? His appetite is great and he is grooming himself a lot however.

On another note, I have noticed that it's easier to clean the litter box because there isn't as much urine as there used to be (there used to be so much that it would seep all the way to the bottom)

Oh, and the name "Corduroy" came about because when I got him, I was a "grunger," meaning that I listened to Nirvana and the like, bleached my hair almost white and wore corduroys 24/7, corduroy being my favorite material ever;)

Thanks again,

Brigitte
 
His appetite will probably decrease after his BG numbers have been down for awhile. Uncontrolled diabetics can't use all the nutrition so they eat more to compensate.

You're already seeing one of the big signs that insulin therapy is working...LESS SCOOPING!! Also, one of the first things I noticed about China was that she was "Preening" again and her coat started to look much better. Sounds like Corduroy is feeling better if he's preening to look his best :-D

He's got some nice numbers for only getting .25 but it'll take at least 4 (and probably more like 6-8) more cycles to see how he really does. Just keep doing what you're doing and if you do happen to get a pre-shot number you're concerned about, don't forget to stall, don't feed, and ask for help!

You're doing great Brigitte...and so is Corduroy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top