New Member - 8 Weeks in and 'repeating it's a journey' every 4 or 5 days

Status
Not open for further replies.

KyraCat

Member Since 2020
Hi all,

New to the forum, I came across it last night and already feel so much better for finding people in similar situations and people who are cheering each other on! It's good to know we're not on our own.

My cat, Kyra (a boy), is 10yrs old and was diagnosed with diabetes about 8 weeks ago. Working from home during Covid-19 I noticed his spine was a lot my prominent and that he was drinking and weeing a lot. Blood tests sent to the lab and with a BG of 26.6 the diabetes diagnosis was confirmed.

So far, after fortnightly visits to the vets, we have gone from 1.5units to 3units of caninsular twice a day. Our last check up was on Monday and the vet came out to talk to me and has asked we try and keep a diary of what is going on with Kyra. So I have a large note book jotting down every time he east drinks and wees and I'm trying to gauge the actual amount he is drinking. It's a bit hard to measure the water consumption as he has a brother and sister, Rupert & Maddie, but we are giving it our best shot.

Currently Kyra is on dry food but one meant to help support diabetes management. However, his brother and sister are on other dry food, so of course it is a bit of a free for all. We have tried to be rigid with who eats what but, now call me crazy, I can feel Kyra's mood dipping as if he knows he isn't allowed something that the other 2 are having. So after reading this forum last night I have researched some wet food for db and I am going to slowly start introducing that with his dry db food. I will also, unless someone here tells me not to, be feeding the exact same to the other 2 cats.

We currently aren't doing home tracking, the vets we have seen have been quite laid back about it but the most recent vet we saw was encouraging it a bit more to us. So, we did attempt it on Monday night and after many attempts, and two of us trying to keep him chilled, we got a HI reading. On Tuesday morning I tried again by myself, telling myself I had to get used to it as I needed to do his 6hr reading by myself, while my husband is still out at work. Well, it didn't happen and with such an epic failure it was then a real mission to get Kyra to have his injection, though we did manage it. I then spent the morning crying because I thought I had upset my cat - yes I can be that bad on bad days! I did try again at lunch time (6hours after his injection) but after several attempts and no spot of blood I let the little man go about his business and decided not to try again in the evening as to give us both a break.

It is really amazing to see on here that everyone seems to be able to home track, I am using it as inspiration that one day we too will be able to do it. It really does stress Kyra out having to go to the vets every 2 weeks and we are just getting such high reading every time home tracking would be so much more beneficial to us all. I read a really good post last night about picking one spot and putting them there several times a day and fussing their ears to get them used to it all, so that has started today!

If you guys have any other tips on getting the blood spot from the ear please please let me know, I want to do the best by my boy and not have to keep taking him to the vets. If you also have any awful experiences I'd hear those too, I just need to know other people have gone through it. I can't wait to be an owner who can track from home!

Also, one last thing, I am very very(!!!) hesitant about trying this but has anyone ever used the paw pad for the blood sample? I have read that the paw pads are sensitive so I don't to risk that without advise.

Thanks all who have read this and apologies for going on for so long!!
 
Hi and welcome to you and Kyra. So glad you found us.
The first few weeks can be very overwhelming as there is a lot to learn. But you have come to the best possible place for help and support.

Can you tell me what sort of meter did you buy? Is it a human meter or a pet meter?
Here is a link to how to learn to test. Most of us use the ears to test. Occasionally people use the paw pads.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

All dry food is not good for any cats, so I am glad you are going to gradually swap over to a low carb diet for all of them.
However, I would not do it until you are able to test the blood glucose every day as just swapping over to a low carb diet will drop the blood glucose more than a 100 points and you will need to adjust the insulin dose. We can help you with that.

Did the vet put up the dose from 1.5 to 3 units or did it go up gradually?
If you got a Hi on the meter, that would be from bouncing and probably means your kitty is dropping low during the cycle.
I would try and start testing as soon as you can to keep Kyra safe.

Are you feeding Kyra a good meal before the doses of insulin and waiting 1/2 hour before giving the insulin?
And are you giving Kyra some smaller meals during the day and night?

I am going to give you some useful links.
This one is for new members. Within the link is another link to how to treat hypos. Please print it off and put on your frig in case you need it.
Also at the bottom of the link is how to set up your signature. It will appear at the bottom of all your posts and will tell us about Kyra. Look at mine, it is in smaller typing.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Also if you could set up a spreadsheet to put in all the BG results. If you have any trouble, post and we will help you.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Home testing.is by far the best thing you can do to help Kyra get regulated and stay safe.

keep asking questions!
Bron
 
Thanks so much for responding :)

I currently just have a human test kit, the vet said that would be OK to start with in order to try and get the hang of it before spend a lot more money on an animal specific one.

I won't swap the food over just yet then, I'll keep that as an option for future once we get settled with testing.

Apologies I wasn't very clear about the dosage amounts. The dose has been upped half a unit each time we have gone to the vets. So 1.5 to 2 to 2.5 and now we are on 3, but though he is still reading really high on that dose the vet hasn't upped it yet and has instead asked me to jot down his behaviour and I'm catching up with him on my report tomorrow.

Their food bowls are refilled in the morning, about 5.30am, and evening about 5pm. His injections are done at 7am and 7pm daily, am I potentially leaving it too long between him eating and having his injections? Also their food is left out for them all to graze on during the day.

Thank you so much for the links etc I will look through those and try to start to get to grips with everything.
 
Last edited:
Hi there. Monty is more tolerant of paw pad testing than ear testing.

I was hesitant at first because I thought testing his paw that it would be sore to walk on after but really he seems not to care after I'm done. We're still practising solo testing on ears but paw is easier for us at the moment.

We place Monty on a towel and "burrito" him with a paw sticking out, the same way you might if you home clip claws. I place his paw on a fresh hot water bottle for around 20 seconds to encourage blood flow while my partner holds him still and when burritod he doesn't struggle. Then my partner lifts his leg up, I push the strip into the glucometer just before pricking him so it had time to start up. I use the lancet device that comes with the alphatrak 2 glucometer starter kit, pressing the lancet device a bit firmly into his paw on setting 3 or 4 and let the device do its stabby thing. Sometimes a big enough droplet doesn't form but it being a paw pad you can easily squeeze either side to get some blood out.

A few things to note, you can test the toe beans or the central pad or the one further up the leg, but just rotate each time which you go for so he's not poked in the same place. It's important to press into the pad before lancing if using a device as, in my experience, just placing it against the pad gently "pushes" it rather than "pierces" it. Monty seems to barely even register being poked. We also always give a small piece of chicken or two while doing it to distract him. Once you get into it the process can take less than 1 minute (excluding preparation).

I can't see how I'd solo test the paw though as I need to hold him, lift his leg and pierce his paw and I only have 2 hands!

It depends on the cat but Monty is entirely tolerant of paw testing, him being held down for the test bothers him far more than the actual poking.
 
Thanks so much for responding :)

I currently just have a human test kit, the vet said that would be OK to start with in order to try and get the hang of it before spend a lot more money on an animal specific one.

I won't swap the food over just yet then, I'll keep that as an option for future once we get settled with testing.

Apologies I wasn't very clear about the dosage amounts. The dose has been upped half a unit each time we have gone to the vets. So 1.5 to 2 to 2.5 and now we are on 3, but though he is still reading really high on that dose the vet hasn't upped it yet and has instead asked me to jot down his behaviour and I'm catching up with him on my report tomorrow.

Their food bowls are refilled in the morning, about 5.30am, and evening about 5pm. His injections are done at 7am and 7pm daily, am I potentially leaving it too long between him eating and having his injections? Also their food is left out for them all to graze on during the day.

Thank you so much for the links etc I will look through those and try to start to get to grips with everything.

On Caninsulin your cat needs to be eating most of the calories around 30 miutes prior to injection. Some cats can be injected while eating on caninsulin but it depends on the cat and how quickly their BG falls after injection, you can learn this by testing.

I used to use caninsulin on Monty before we switched to Lantus and we'd give 80-90% if his food at meal times and leave 10-20% out for grazing, although when he was uncontrolled and still displaying clinical signs he had a crazy appetite and would eat everything, these days he grazes on his meals over 2 hours.
 
Thanks so much for that. I really haven't seen much in the way of people using paws for testing so it's great to hear from someone who is doing it.

Yeah I imagine it would be tough going with just one of you. That's my problem, getting a mid point reading when my husband is at work. Kyra can be rather leggy even when wrapped in a towel but would still be worth a go even if its just while we still get the hang of the ear test.

Just had another attempt on the ear and got the tiniest bit of blood but not enough to get a reading. Feeling much more relaxed about it today compared to yesterday though.
 
Just had another attempt on the ear and got the tiniest bit of blood but not enough to get a reading. Feeling much more relaxed about it today compared to yesterday though.

Are you warming Kyra's ear before testing? It can make a big difference when you first start testing. As you test more Kyra will develop more blood vessels at the testing sites and bleed easier, but in the beginning using a sock with hot rice inside can help heat the ear before a test (we use a mini hot water bottle).
 
I am trying to warm the ear as much as I can before he gets really fidgety - again that could be more down to me and just needing to be more confident with him.

I do have a sock with some rice that I heat and try to rub his ear with but he is a bit weary of it so I have just been trying to rub his ears a lot with my hands. I will keep trying with the rice sock though.

Yeah we're in the UK, thanks for the offer of syringes! we use the 0.5 syringes is that what you have that you no longer need?
 
1.5 to 2 to 2.5 and now we are on 3, but though he is still reading really high on that dose
Hi Kyras mom! WELCOME.
This line caught my attention. Once you start reducing the dry food the numbers will fall SOME. So its most important to home test (track) I think once that happens you'll see what I mean GOOD LUCK! AND
I'm SO glad you found us. As you see we are a community of feline lovers and will help ANY diabetic kitty that comes here.
You are now PART of this family. :):bighug:
jeanne
 
Hi and welcome!

Are you giving Kyra a treat after each attempt and/or test? That was huge for me with Minnie to get her to be okay with it. I also sing so I’m less stressed and now she’s so used to it that when she hears me singing our “testing song” she lays down for me because she knowS sitting up makes it harder on mommy to do it alone. I live by myself so I have to test her alone. Warming the ear and being firm and not scared to do it, was key for me. It will get easier and you’ll get there I promise!
 
Hi and welcome! A wet food that is low carb is the best choice for all the cats. Many people here feed fancy feast classic or Friskies pate foods. I feed weruva to my diabetic because she needs lower phosphorus, and the rest easy mostly ff. You might try might introducing the wet food now slowly to get her used to it but do keep trying to test. You could lower the dose a bit of you are worried about the lower carbs until you c get good at testing. It takes a couple weeks of daily testing to really get them to start growing the new capillaries in the ear.

What size lancet are you using to test? If it's the ones that came with the meter they may be too thin. Try using 26-28 gauge lancets which are thicker than the 30 gauge ones. That will make it easier.

I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.
 
Hi Kyras mom! WELCOME.
This line caught my attention. Once you start reducing the dry food the numbers will fall SOME. So its most important to home test (track) I think once that happens you'll see what I mean GOOD LUCK! AND
I'm SO glad you found us. As you see we are a community of feline lovers and will help ANY diabetic kitty that comes here.
You are now PART of this family. :):bighug:
jeanne

Thanks Jeanne! I feel so much better from being on here and hearing for all of you, it really is a great community!
 
Hi and welcome!

Are you giving Kyra a treat after each attempt and/or test? That was huge for me with Minnie to get her to be okay with it. I also sing so I’m less stressed and now she’s so used to it that when she hears me singing our “testing song” she lays down for me because she knowS sitting up makes it harder on mommy to do it alone. I live by myself so I have to test her alone. Warming the ear and being firm and not scared to do it, was key for me. It will get easier and you’ll get there I promise!

Yes I have a tubs of cut up treats, we alternate between chicken and ham. I didn't want him to get fed up with the same treat - not sure if that would ever happen but I don't want to risk it. Depending on the way things are going he sometimes has treats during me trying to warm up his ear, that seems to distract him a little and keep him on the side.

I read in another thread about singing to relax, Matt (my husband), is horrified at the idea of singing helping in any situation :joyful:
 
Hi and welcome! A wet food that is low carb is the best choice for all the cats. Many people here feed fancy feast classic or Friskies pate foods. I feed weruva to my diabetic because she needs lower phosphorus, and the rest easy mostly ff. You might try might introducing the wet food now slowly to get her used to it but do keep trying to test. You could lower the dose a bit of you are worried about the lower carbs until you c get good at testing. It takes a couple weeks of daily testing to really get them to start growing the new capillaries in the ear.

What size lancet are you using to test? If it's the ones that came with the meter they may be too thin. Try using 26-28 gauge lancets which are thicker than the 30 gauge ones. That will make it easier.

I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.

Thanks for that information. I'll fed back to the vet to tomorrow and see what he also recommends for the food. I feel like I am still very reliant on what the vet says but I feel you guys have all got it figured out between you. Another milestone I can't wait to get too.

Your video was really helpful thank you!. I noticed you don't use the clicky pen machine. Have you found it is better just to use the lancet on it's own than in the pen machine thingy?

I'll have to check the lancet size but if they are the smaller ones I will look in to the ones a few of you have mentioned :)
 
The vet is likely to recommend you Hills m/d prescirption food. You're welcome to go with that as it's totally appropriate but they charge a premium to sell through vets and have the word "prescription" on their labels.

Other (wet) cheaper options in the UK are:

Lily's Kitchen
Thrive
Applaws

I feed this to Monty: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lilys-Kitchen-Suppurrs-Cockadoodle-Chicken/dp/B07DVLGSRZ/ref=sr_1_3?crid=WEM6AIBVZJE1&dchild=1&keywords=lilys kitchen suppurrs&qid=1593620975&sprefix=lily's kitchen supp,aps,139&sr=8-3

Note: Applaws wet food isn't complete so if choosing that you'll want to supplement with a topper such as ZIWI Peak air dried to increase Kyra's fat intake.
 
The vet is likely to recommend you Hills m/d prescirption food. You're welcome to go with that as it's totally appropriate but they charge a premium to sell through vets and have the word "prescription" on their labels.

Other (wet) cheaper options in the UK are:

Lily's Kitchen
Thrive
Applaws

I feed this to Monty: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lilys-Kitchen-Suppurrs-Cockadoodle-Chicken/dp/B07DVLGSRZ/ref=sr_1_3?crid=WEM6AIBVZJE1&dchild=1&keywords=lilys kitchen suppurrs&qid=1593620975&sprefix=lily's kitchen supp,aps,139&sr=8-3

Thanks Tom! I will keep that in mind.

The vets haven't been pushy with anything like that but I already know what I want to go so will try and stay on track with getting information on that rather that being sold a premium food.
 
Can I ask you all advice on timings....

From the great advice I have had from you all so far Kyra should get his food 30minutes before insulin (noted to start the change from tonight)

Then when should I do the test? I know it should be before the insulin injection but how soon after food/before he has his injection? If I do his injection at 7pm I would plan to feed him between 6.15-6.30. What time would I do his test?

Sorry that might seem really stupid to ask but I getting baffled by timings.
 
Can I ask you all advice on timings....

From the great advice I have had from you all so far Kyra should get his food 30minutes before insulin (noted to start the change from tonight)

Then when should I do the test? I know it should be before the insulin injection but how soon after food/before he has his injection? If I do his injection at 7pm I would plan to feed him between 6.15-6.30. What time would I do his test?

Sorry that might seem really stupid to ask but I getting baffled by timings.
What a CUTIE is Kyra just wanted to tell you you are doing Great you are really trying and the members will help you with testing I’m not that experienced myself but your trying and that is what counts . This can all be Overwhelming but hang in there it gets easier. Remember every question you ask is important that’s how you learn . Ask as many questions you can think of . If you just need to talk or vent we are here for that too .
 
Thanks for that information. I'll fed back to the vet to tomorrow and see what he also recommends for the food. I feel like I am still very reliant on what the vet says but I feel you guys have all got it figured out between you. Another milestone I can't wait to get too.

Your video was really helpful thank you!. I noticed you don't use the clicky pen machine. Have you found it is better just to use the lancet on it's own than in the pen machine thingy?

I'll have to check the lancet size but if they are the smaller ones I will look in to the ones a few of you have mentioned :)
I used the Lancet device the first week or two but I found 1. She didn't like the clicking sound and 2. It was hard to aim it just in the edge. Freehand I can see exactly where I'm poking.

In the beginning I also have a low carb treat (meat, cold cuts, purebites) for every test and she quickly associated the test with a treat and was more cooperative. As you can see in the video she just purrs right through it now.

If your cat is squirming, you can scrape the drop onto your nail and test from there so you can let him go quicker.
 
Thanks for that information. I'll fed back to the vet to tomorrow and see what he also recommends for the food. I feel like I am still very reliant on what the vet says but I feel you guys have all got it figured out between you. Another milestone I can't wait to get too.

Your video was really helpful thank you!. I noticed you don't use the clicky pen machine. Have you found it is better just to use the lancet on it's own than in the pen machine thingy?

I'll have to check the lancet size but if they are the smaller ones I will look in to the ones a few of you have mentioned :)
Here's a chart with the carbs listed. You will want to pick foods under 10 carb. You can print the list and show it to your vet. Just say that your cat didnt want to eat the prescription food and it's too expensive. https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
 
Thanks for that information. I'll fed back to the vet to tomorrow and see what he also recommends for the food. I feel like I am still very reliant on what the vet says but I feel you guys have all got it figured out between you. Another milestone I can't wait to get too.

Your video was really helpful thank you!. I noticed you don't use the clicky pen machine. Have you found it is better just to use the lancet on it's own than in the pen machine thingy?

I'll have to check the lancet size but if they are the smaller ones I will look in to the ones a few of you have mentioned :)
These are the lancets I use. TruePlus Sterile Lancets, 28 Guage, 3 Boxes of 100 (300 Total) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00E4MOK5Q/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Can I ask you all advice on timings....

From the great advice I have had from you all so far Kyra should get his food 30minutes before insulin (noted to start the change from tonight)

Then when should I do the test? I know it should be before the insulin injection but how soon after food/before he has his injection? If I do his injection at 7pm I would plan to feed him between 6.15-6.30. What time would I do his test?

Sorry that might seem really stupid to ask but I getting baffled by timings.
Test, feed, feed shot. So if you want to give the shot at 7, you would test then feed around 630
 
We also gave up on the device very quickly. It is not very effective ESPECIALLY when you are not accustomed to the operation and your hands are trembling and unsteady. Plus the clicking noise so close to the ear tends to freak out the cat.
Shaving the area of the injection will help to keep the blood from just spread around (instead of forming the drop). Also, in addition to heating the ear with the sock, rub the ear vigorously (well... as vigorously as possible without upsetting the cat) to get the blood going. You can get her to used to ear rubbing by doing the motion while you are just simply fussing and cuddling. :)
 
Morning all,

I'm waiting for some 28g lancets to come (hoping today) & hopefully will have some more luck with those. I have had a couple of attempts of not using the device but with no luck. But then everything is with no luck at the moment :p

Spoke with the vet yesterday and he has upped the insulin to 3.5 as of last nights injection. Still tracking (as best I can) Kyra's water intake, it does seem to have come down since Monday. I'm calling the vet again on Monday with another water report and Kyra might be called in for the vet to send to do a test/have a test run to see what Kyra's levels have been over the last few weeks without his stress levels getting in the way or the reading.
 
Good morning all!

Little update: We received the 28g lancets yesterday but still no successful test yet. I have noticed though that a tiny spec of blood is appearing in the cotton ball so hopefully we're not too far away from getting what we need. I'll keep you posted!

Did any of you notice, when you first started trying to do the glucose test, that your cat got a little more inpatient/hesitant when it came to their insulin injection? Since I have been attempting to test his glucose levels, about half an hour to an hour before his injection, when it comes to his injection he gets a little snappish. I 100% understand why he is like this, he has a lot going on again with me faffing around his ear, but just wanted to know if other people experienced this and if it does all level out again with them being tolerant and chilled out? We are still giving treats during both these times.

I do want to add he still has the most beautiful way about him and still comes for lots of loves and brushes during the day, so I know he still loves us, it's just a shame we are upsetting him at the moment when it comes to injection time.
 
For the time being I would give a treat after each shot. It could be something thats pure protein like boiled chicken or bonito flakes.
It could be the insulin stings some but he should get use to it. The treat should make the sacrifice worth while to him.
Trouble never even knew he got his shot. It was that more, less stressful than testing.:rolleyes:
 
For the time being I would give a treat after each shot. It could be something thats pure protein like boiled chicken or bonito flakes.
It could be the insulin stings some but he should get use to it. The treat should make the sacrifice worth while to him.
Trouble never even knew he got his shot. It was that more, less stressful than testing.:rolleyes:

Thanks, Jt. We have been giving him treats, such as chicken, since we first started his insulin. We are also giving him treats while we try to get him to stay still for the (yet to be successful) glucose tests. I am hoping it's just a phase because we are putting him through a lot at the moment. Just wondered if anyone else had the same thing and could let me know if it all settled down eventually.
 
Awww well I'm not that person Trouble fought it the entire time he was on insulin. It literally took two of us. He finally went OTJ and MAN was I relieved we didnt have to test that much anymore! So was hubby:p lol

I have heard more stories of cats who get use to the routine, then stories about kitties like our Trouble

So DONT give up hope!;)
 
Aww thanks JT! :)

Stupid question alert...what's OTJ?

We just had another attempt at the glucose test and got a little bit of blood but not enough for the reader to pick up, that's a very tiny improvement. I think if I'd have milked it a little bit more we would have gotten there. He doesn't seem too keen on the milking part though!

He was sat in a newly acquired box and we seemed to get on pretty well as the flap of the box lid worked perfectly as a table to put his treats on after each attempt. He is such good and patient boy! Now to see how tolerant he is of his injection later....

(I am currently just practising at testing him when I think it is a good opportunity, rather than the proper time frame for feeding and injection)
 
It was amazing. Sadly Trouble passed away a couple of years after that. He had such a sad life before he came to live with us and I like to think we made it all better and that his last years were just full of love, All in all a complete success story. Although Waldo (avatar) might have something to say about all that .:p lol

You keep doing what you are doing. I believe you and Kyra too will be successful.;):coffee:
 
It was amazing. Sadly Trouble passed away a couple of years after that. He had such a sad life before he came to live with us and I like to think we made it all better and that his last years were just full of love, All in all a complete success story. Although Waldo (avatar) might have something to say about all that .:p lol

You keep doing what you are doing. I believe you and Kyra too will be successful.;):coffee:

Aww I'm really happy to hear Trouble had good years before his passing <3 Waldo is stunning!
 
Last night we had a successful glucose test - Woo! The reading was Hi, so not great entirely but we did it and it only took 2 attempts with the pen to get the drop of blood!! Kyra was due his insulin an hour after the test so it's understandable it was high but I know we don't want the reading to be up there! Can't wait to see that reading come down as we progress through this journey.

I tried again this morning but not so much luck, got a tiny bit of blood but no enough for the reader. I think Kyra was also a bit wriggly because I had taken the food bowls up 2 hours before attempting the test and I could see he kept looking for them. We are getting there though!

Got a catch up call with the Vet again today, I assume by the amount Kyra is still drinking he will have him come in for a test to send off to see how his glucose has been tracking over the last few weeks.

I am hoping to talk to the vet about slowly changing out the dry food for some wet. I don't want to be giving much more insulin if it can be avoided. I know in the grand scheme of things 3.5 isn't a huge amount but it feels like a lot to have to push down on when I think back to how much quicker just a quick shot of 1.5 was.
 
:woot::woot::woot: well done!!! Just be patient, I know it's been a slow process for me too. But little by little it will get easier and smoother, and it's very possible that your lad won't mind so much after a while, and even associate the testing with noms to follow, rather than the jab. I hope you can switch entirely to wet food soon, I won't be surprised if you will see a BIG improvement then! :cat:
 
Thanks Oliver, well done to you too - this is no easy task is it!!

The vet called us in today to give Kyra an antibiotic injection to fight against any possible infections making his system resilient to the insulin, Kyra does not do tablets so this seemed like the best solution. While we were there the vet took a GT and it was 21.4 - this is the lowest reading we have had since we began. Kyra has lost a little more weight since his last check up last Monday. Back at the end of Feb, from his general health check up he was just over 6kg. At the time of his diagnoses he had dropped to just above 5kg and as of today he has just gone into the high 4kg bracket. The vet says he has lost 25% of his body weight...

The vet had asked me to take in our insulin and a needle as he wanted to see how I was administering it and, because Kyra's levels were still high, he had us give him another 1 unit. He was happy with how I was doing this and we have agreed for the sake of consistency I will do all of Kyra's injections for the time being. That means Matt gets to be Mr Nice Guy!

Tonight we managed to get a GT (WOO) it was 29.1 which I know it is still a really high reading but at least it wasn't 'HI'. I have now started Krya's spreadsheet and hope to get more numbers recorded as we go!

The vet still doesn't seem to think that changing to wet food will make a massive difference, however once I am really on it with the GT I will start to switch his food over. I just don't want to do this while he is on such a high does and while I am not great at getting a GT reading everytime. I don't want him to come crashing down and I'm struggling to test him.
 
LOL you show your vet the results once you remove that dry! Seriously it makes a BIG difference. Thats why you need to be testing to make sure Kyra doesnt drop too low!
 
LOL you show your vet the results once you remove that dry! Seriously it makes a BIG difference. Thats why you need to be testing to make sure Kyra doesnt drop too low!

Thanks Jeanne, that's definitely the plan! Testing and better diet!! We're getting there :)

We got another test done this morning (Woo!) but it was HI (Boo!) It was done 1hour before the insulin was due and I hadn't removed his food 2 hours prior to testing. I am trying not to upset him too much all ah once haha!

I have found that tuna is a decent distraction at the minute while I am jabbing his ear. I hope that's not a bad treat for him?!

Can I ask, maybe fellow UK people, is grain free the same as low/no carb? When I look where I normally purchase from (zooplus.co.uk) it gives the option on grain free but not low/no carb.
 
Any grain IS carbs. Granted some carbs are necessary but because they are the cheaper option for makers. Some foods are packed with them as "filler".
Its sifting through ALL the brands and ingredients thats the problem. Thats why the food list was created by Dr Lisa. It needs updating constantly and its a huge job keeping up with updating. Dr Lisa HAS a practice and cant devote the time it takes to keep it updated so we use it as a "guideline" .
Since companies have to list their ingredients WE as consumers can make choices. These days the choices are many as these companies learn the public WANTS a better food.

What I fed Trouble was all that was offered at the time. Fancy Feast (there were others but they were not readily and consistently available) so we went with FF. To this day thats what I feed my kitties..;):coffee:
j
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top