New Member 8/2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alex Spoon

Member Since 2024
Hi my cat Millie was diagnosed in May and I have been struggling ever since to get her BS to be in good ranges.

We recently change to glargine due to Vetsulin not lasting long enough which is creating some problems.

Hoping to get Millie on the right track to better regulation.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum. Thank you for setting up the spreadsheet and signature. Very helpful. Millie is very cute.
Are you using syringes with 1/2 unit markings or a pen to give the insulin?
As you are following SLGS you need to reduce the dose to 1.75 units. I can see she is bouncing from the lower green numbers which is normal for newly diagnosed cats.
I’ll post an explanation on bouncing below.
Are you giving Millie snacks of low carb food during the first half of all the cycles? A snack is a teaspoon or 2 of low carb food.
 
Explanation on bouncing
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles
 
Explanation on bouncing
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles

Welcome to the Forum Alex, your fur baby is beautiful, stick to this Forum you will begin to feel comfortable and any concern we will try to help you with :bighug:;):cat::cat:
 
Thanks for starting the spreadsheet and adding a signature. Do you have honey or Karo and high carb food to help bring the bg up if it gets too low? Did Millie have any ketones at diagnosis? Do you have urine test strips to check for ketones at home? She’s so young. She’s beautiful btw.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top