josette
Member Since 2022
New member introducing myself and Oscar who is 11 saw the vet on the 13th for bloodwork and diagnosed may 16. Staying by the water bowels and lots of peeing meant trip to vet. Sugar in urine. Bloodwork showed 377 blood glucose.
he had been eating friskies pate one can a day and dry chicken and rice food to graze. Also getting Greenies treats. When we took him to the vets on the 13th we took away the treats and dry food. On the Monday 16th we got the results and vet did a big test and it was then 387. So he started Prozinc at 2 units twice a day.
Since I was so upset he saw us 4 days later and bg was 310. One week later it was 295.
then he increased it to 2-1/2 and two weeks later went to 300. So now he wanted to increase it to 3-1.2 and I was concerned about the sharp increase so I only went to 3 units and two weeks later bg went to 368. He told me to go to 3-1/2
now here we are at two weeks later and I did not go to 3-1/2 or 3 which did not give me a good feeling so I went back to 2 units twice a day.
I also asked for a referral to an internal med specialist as my faith in my vet is waivering. And tomorrow we have another bg test.
No I have not done home testing ad vet wanted to be the tester.
can you give me some guidance as I am so I overwhelmed . Plus supposed to go on vacation at end of this month and I am besides myself as what to do
he had been eating friskies pate one can a day and dry chicken and rice food to graze. Also getting Greenies treats. When we took him to the vets on the 13th we took away the treats and dry food. On the Monday 16th we got the results and vet did a big test and it was then 387. So he started Prozinc at 2 units twice a day.
Since I was so upset he saw us 4 days later and bg was 310. One week later it was 295.
then he increased it to 2-1/2 and two weeks later went to 300. So now he wanted to increase it to 3-1.2 and I was concerned about the sharp increase so I only went to 3 units and two weeks later bg went to 368. He told me to go to 3-1/2
now here we are at two weeks later and I did not go to 3-1/2 or 3 which did not give me a good feeling so I went back to 2 units twice a day.
I also asked for a referral to an internal med specialist as my faith in my vet is waivering. And tomorrow we have another bg test.
No I have not done home testing ad vet wanted to be the tester.
can you give me some guidance as I am so I overwhelmed . Plus supposed to go on vacation at end of this month and I am besides myself as what to do
Last edited:

one step at a time, we are here to help. In about 2 weeks time this will all feel much less overwhelming.
