New Member, 6mo post-Dx, can’t regulate, please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay Dee

Member Since 2021
Hi! I'm Jill and my sugarcat is Snuggie. We are new members on the board, but have been part of the FB commuity and other diabetic support groups over there as well - but only since 2/1/2021.

Snuggie was Dx 10/27/2020. Symptoms were excessive thirst and frequent, high-volume pees. We tried to control it with food first (Purina DM wet and dry), to what i thought was no avail, but was not testing during this time. We had an Alphatrak on hand but needed to acquire the strips, control solution etc. We had been feeding him Hills k/d wet due to a past elevated SDMA (altho his BUN/crea etc were normal).

I took a few mid-day readings and they were high (500s), and we started ProZinc on 12/21/2020 at 1 unit 2x daily. I sitll didn't know the need for preshot testing or low carb food. His midday numbers were still in the 500s. We increased to 2 u.

2u still didn't show good numbers (at midcycle anyway). I knew enough from a past diabetic kitty to do a curve but didnt know about upside down curves. His numbers went from preshot low 500s to over 600. We increased to 3u.

I then found the FB groups and did a dose reset at 1 and also switched him to Fancy Feast pate and pulled his dry food except overnight until i could get some better dry. I did another curve at 1. The numbers were still in the blacks and the vet advised me to go back to 3...

Then he got very lethargic and wouldn't eat. We took him in on 2/27 and his BUN/Crea were sky high and his phosphorus was off the chart. He also had a UTI. They gave him convenia and sent me home with fluids. THe next day he had a BG of over 700 and was really in bad shape. Vet advised to jump him up to 5u.

Two days later he was unable to walk or hold his head up. We rushed him to the vet and he had critically low potassium. They added potassium to his fluids and we started renaPlus. At this time I switched his food to low carb-low phosphorus stuff (Weruva BF PLAY).

He was constipated too, and when he finally went, his BG that evening dropped. He had a vet appt the next day and his kidney values were much imroved but he had lost 2 lb in 2 weeks. We had a few scary moments on 5u, where i tested over night and i decided to drop him to 4u. He did really well on 4u... until he didn't.

I increased to 4.5 then 5, took hm back to the vet on 4/1 and they confirmed another UTI. We upped his dose to 6u, and sent the urine in for culture and sensitivity. The lab was unable to culture his urine so we started him on Orbax. I was expecting to see his BG numbers plummet but they didn't.

I started dropping him - from 6 to 4 then from 4 to 2. I'm still seeing VEY high numbers with relatively flat curves. I am now at 2.5 u and am wondering what to do. I had so little data early on annd really did things wrong. I'm not sure if 1u was too much or too little, if i should be increasing or decreasing, if i should start over at 0.25 since so many of his issues have resolved... or try switching insulins, or testing for acromelagy.

I'm at a loss and the FB group strongly suggested i join here for help. He has an appt on 4/29 and i'm almost out of ProZinc. i will ask for a cystocentesis urinalysis with full culture and sensitivity again. i am going to ask that they send his blood to IDEXX or Antech for analysis since the vet usually does in-house. I live in a small town with only a few vets - i trust this one and he is open to my home testing and adjustments annd other suggestions i have, but i am balancing advocating the best for my cat vs sounding like i'm telling them how to do their job. I don't have too many other options and certainly no specialists nearby. Snuggie does'nt do well in the car either so i prefer to try to stay local.

THANK YOU for reading this far and THANK YOU in advance for any and all help that i hope to get here!
 
I should add that he is now back to his normal weight of 11ish lb plus/minus and stable, altho his hunger is still pretty crazy. I feed him dry overnight only and it's a mix of Dr Elsey clean chicken protein and Young Again Mature Zero LID with the goal of fully transitioning to the YA MZ LID.
 
Jill while you are waiting for a reply please fill out your signature , it is at the end of everyones post in gray just so we don't have to ask you the same questions over again. Go all the way to the top and click on your name
Make sure your signature is up-to-date
.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Last edited:
Hi Jill and Snuggle and welcome to the forum. I am sure we can help you. I’m sorry you have had such a difficult time.

I’m glad you got rid of the high carb dry food. It is very hard to regulate cats when they are eating that.
So at the moment you are feeding mostly low carb wet food with some dry overnight. Is that right? Is the dry a low carb variety now?
Are you feeding before the shots and giving snacks during the cycles?

I see you dropped the dose to 2 units a few days ago. Why was that?
Are you testing for ketones? If not I would strongly advise that you buy some Ketostix from a pharmacy or Walmart and start testing the urine for ketones every day.
Reducing the dose that much can be risky and can leave the door open for ketones

The dose has been increased and decreased in larger amounts than we advise. It’s possible he has gone past the best dose.
One thing I would start doing is to test during the pm cycle. At the moment there are very few tests done during the pm cycle and it is just as important as the am cycle.
Do you think you could get a couple of tests in during each pm cycles so we can see if he could possibly be dropping at night and bouncing?

I have to feed my family now so will post this and get back to you a bit later once I have had a chance to reread your introduction.
I’m sure we can help you. It may take a few days to find out all about him and figure out a plan. If you can answer any questions I have asked, I’ll get back to you a bit later.
Bron
 
Hi again Jill,
I would definitely not recommend starting over again at 0.25 units. It rarely works, it puts the cats at risk of ketones and can produce glucose toxicity.
There is one FB page that advocates resetting the dose, and the CG usually ends up here with either a cat who has ketones or they don’t know what to do as the reset didn’t work.
I see in your information you are giving sub Q fluids and Zobaline. Does Snuggles have any neuropathy?
I think I would be inclined to look at swapping to Lantus or levemir insulin as you have had him on Prozinc for over 6 months and it is not working. Amd this is a good time to do it if you are at the end of the Prozinc
Levemir and Lantus are both similar depot insulins and are both recommended for cats. Levemir may be better as Snuggle is on a higher dose....Lantus can sting some cats at a high dose.

You mention you are going to change to a human meter when you find a good dose. I would recommend you do the change now. It will be a lot cheaper for you to use a human meter and our 2 dosing methods are based on the human meter. We have dosing methods for Lantus and Levemir but here is the Prozinc dosing method for now.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

I would also think about getting the Acro test done. At least then you will know if he has Acro or not and if he is, that is good knowledge to have moving forward with dosing. We have a very experienced Acro person here @Wendy&Neko who will be able to help you if it turns out that way. I would also get the IAA test done as well while you are getting the Acro test done.
So here is what I would do
  • Feed an all low carb diet
  • Offer snacks during the cycles as well as the preshot meals
  • Make sure you start getting some tests in during the pm cycle. At the least, get a before bed test in. If that test is lower than the preshot BG I would get up and test again later.
  • Test daily for ketones
  • Change over to a human glucose meter now.
  • Look at swapping to Lantus or Levemir insulin
  • Post daily and start increasing the dose as per the dosing method and don’t chop and change the dose.
  • Get an Acro and IAA test done
  • Ask lots of questions...we are very happy to help you get Snuggles sorted out.
Bron
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB!

As much as I hate to say this, I think some of the FB groups have not been providing you with stellar advice. There seems to be the notion that any time some of those groups see a higher than a 1 or 2 unit dose, they tell the caregiver to drop the dose and start over. From the time I've been on this board, The kitty ends up going back to high numbers and you start the ratcheting up of the dose all over again. Frankly, if the dose is too high, your cat will let you know by the numbers dropping (and you reduce the dose). On the other hand, if there's not enough insulin, you risk DKA developing. You can deal with dropping numbers if you're home testing. You can't deal with DKA at home -- it's a legit crisis.

That said, I agree with Bron -- Snuggle needs more insulin, not less. I also agree with almost everything she noted in her bullet list. (I'm not entirely sure what she meant by giving a snack at pre-shot times since you'll be feeding Snuggle after you get your pre-shot test.) Also, do not feed your kitty in the 2 hours prior to shot time (unless you test and find numbers are low).

If you are feeding dry food over night, would you consider an alternative? You can make "catsickles" with canned food. You mix the food with water and freeze it in portions. I would use an ice tray. You can either leave the frozen chunk out and it will defrost for a snack. Or, you can get a timed feeder and either leave the frozen chunk out in that or put canned food + water in the timer slot. My kitty would lick the frozen food until it was gone and it didn't really serve the purpose of a midnight snack so I used a timed feeder.

Also, if your vet didn't mention it, adding water to Snuggle's food will help with the kidney issues. FD is hard on the kidneys all by itself. Water is good for the kidneys. It's also why it's important to work at getting Snuggle's numbers better regulated.
 
Hi all and thank you for the replies.

I have a signature set up and thought it was automatically attached but I’ll get back onto my computer and see if I can fix it. Here is a link to his spreadsheet -
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ROHT9FunM-0yMTBj8_UY9TmZwDy0W5IwQjSzlZALZ0A/edit

all his food info etc is in my profile but a recap:

no history of ketones but I do have strips and will check.

I’ve not done pm cycles bc he was going thru so much and his PMPS are so high I wanted to give him a break but will start

he may have had a hint of neuropathy but it comes and goes - the vet and I are working together to see if it’s that or muscle weakness from CKD. I’m giving him 2 Zobaline tabs daily

I add chicken broth (homemade nothing added just water and chicken) to his food but overall his Weruva foods are very watery

i test feed shoot. He wants food every 2-3 hrs and since he had lost so much weight vet said feed him when he’s hungry. He’s maintaining between 10.6-11 lb daily now.

yes from 8am - 11pm or bedtime it’s all wet (I do pull food 2 hrs before shots). Overnight it’s Young Again Mature Dry Zero LID.

I’ll look back to be sure I answers all the questions and will try to work on my tech issues soon - thank you!
 
Ok I see my signature on my replies from my end but I guess no one else can see them?

We didn’t go right from 6 to 2. I backed off to 4 because he had a really good run at 4 in mid March. I stayed there for a week and the numbers didn’t look any different. Yes a different FB group suggested going back to 2. Yes they were also the ones who suggested the initial dose reset in Feb to 1. I was hesitant to join this forum because of all the technology- I’m intimidated by the forum format and I’ve literally given all my energy to caring for this cat and his sister who has her own set of issues. I’m exhausted. I’m overwhelmed. I’ve given up my own hobbies. I’m scared I hurt my cat trying to do the best for him. My mental health is crap and I have near daily migraines. I’m lucky I work from hone and have a flexible schedule that allows me to test frequently but I can’t always do all the tests. I don’t know if I should fiddle with the incremental doses of ProZinc or switch. If I switch I know my vet has been resistant. I don’t know if I’ll be able to get Lantus quickly in my small town without paying an arm and a leg til I can learn the ways to get it for less.

and a question - my vet said if 6u doesn’t do anything then we can just assume he’s insulin resistant and give him some oral meds... thoughts? I’ve heard the oral meds are hard on the pancreas. I do want to test for acro but what can I do if he IS? Is it worth the money? Are there treatments? Someone on another board told me it means he has a tumor and he’s need radiation.
 
Ok I see my signature on my replies from my end but I guess no one else can see them?
I think you are talking about the info you have in your profile information page.
It has to be at the end of your posts in gray, do you see mine

Just follow the instructions I gave you above in post above #4
The numbers are on the right hand side

If you have trouble ask, we have 2 members that can help you
I also tagged @Wendy&Neko
for you she had a kitty that was acro
 
Hello and welcome. Bron has given you lots of good tips. Since you are in the US, there is a cheaper way of getting Lantus or Levemir than buying at a local pharmacy. People here buy from Canada. See this post: Buying insulin from Canada. Your vet needs to write a prescription that you then send to Marks. I would also strongly recommend Levemir vs. Lantus, in case he does need the higher dose of insulin.

Speaking of which, one of my favourite sayings here is "a cat needs however much insulin they need". I've seen cats with way more than 6 units, so don't worry about being on too high a dose if it hits a certain number. Go by what the blood sugar numbers tell you. Many cats go lower at night, hence the importance of those night time tests. A before bed test if it's at least 2-3 hours after PM shot time is a good place to start. If he's going low, the dose is too high. If not, he needs more insulin. Speaking of which, his current dose is way too low. I'm worried about the lack of appetite you mention on the spreadsheet. Worried that DKA may be brewing. I'd hurry on getting those ketones tests, and would test every day while he is in such high numbers. And I'd increase back to at least 4 units right away.
I’m exhausted. I’m overwhelmed. I’ve given up my own hobbies. I’m scared I hurt my cat trying to do the best for him.
I get that, most of us here do. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Once you've started getting him better regulated, it will get so much easier. Right now you've been getting conflicting advice, and some of it from groups who have no experience with cats that need higher doses. I remember being very confused at the beginning too. My girl needed higher doses, she was hungry all that time, drove me crazy. Turns out she had two secondary conditions that meant she was harder to get regulated. In her case it was acromegaly - a benign pituitary tumour that causes excess growth hormone to be output and causing the diabetes, and IAA or insulin auto antibodies - sort of like an allergy to the injected insulin. About one in four diabetic cats has acromegaly.

For me personally, I had to set aside some me time every day. For me it was exercise, but whatever it is for you, set aside at least an hour a day that isn't about cats and is all about you. :bighug:
my vet said if 6u doesn’t do anything then we can just assume he’s insulin resistant and give him some oral meds... thoughts? I’ve heard the oral meds are hard on the pancreas. I do want to test for acro but what can I do if he IS? Is it worth the money? Are there treatments? Someone on another board told me it means he has a tumor and he’s need radiation.
First steps first, start with the tests. We also have some cats that just have IAA. There are multiple treatments for acromegaly, if you want to proceed with treatment. Some people treat just with the insulin dose they need. There are a couple oral treatments, one reasonably priced called cabergoline that a number of people here use. One called pasireotide that will cost you an arm and a leg and no one here has experience with cause it's too expensive. Radiation is another option, my girl had stereotactic radiation therapy (SRT) at Colorado State University, so not too far from you. Surgical removal of the pituitary gland is another option, though available in even less locations than SRT, and more costly.
 
Thanks everyone! I really appreciate it.

- I just re-fiddled with my signature. I see other people's but I DO NOT see mine even now. This is giving me a bigger headache than Snuggie's BG numbers (LOL)
-** he is alert today and acting like his usual self, his eyes are bright and he's interested in what i'm doing.
- Lack of appetite - he eats usually every 2 hrs when i work from home. On weekends our schedules are all off, so he snoozes past 'mealtime'. I recently purchased an elevated food dish for him and he seems suspicious of it all the sudden, but will eat when i put the bowl on the ground. His appetite kicks in in the evening when we are on our more regular schedule. Last night he ate like 1.5 cans btwn 4pm and 11pm. This morning at his first meal he ate 3/4 of a can. So, i'm not TOO worried.
- he did vomit this am and yesterday am. hairballs and white mucous. I realize this is another sign of possible DKA, but again he is acting fine and nothing out of ordinary. I have the ketone kit ready to go and have saran wrap where he usually pees. My office is literally 8 feet from his favorite litter box so i should be able to catch it fresh :)
- Please tell me what test to ask for and where to send it etc. My vet may not know there's a test for acro/IAA so i want to be prepared with ALL the info on Thursday.
- oral meds - i'll ask which one he gives and hopefully it's the one ya'll mention the board has experience with :)
- OK i can start the Freestyle Lite today. How do i keep his old AT2 history for reference on the spreadsheet - do i start a new fresh one and link to both?
- i am going to start daily walks again and next week will go back to the gym to force myself out of the house and for "me" time for that hour. Trying to work out at home usually leaves me feeling guilty about what I'm neglecting. Now that the weather is nice, i'll be heading out on the motorcycle too, which is a great form of therapy for me.
 
Few more questions - I just read through the AAHA guidelines and two things stood out to me -
1) spot checking is not encouraged and a full BGC after 7-14 days of a dose adjustment is the only way to see if a dose is working
2) the human client is ok to decrease or skip doses but not recommended to increase dose w/o veterinary consult

I was hoping to use the AAHA guidelines to support my home testing and and adjustments. I really don't want to say to my vet "oh this group that i'm on said to" (my hubby is already giving me crap for that) and i know that's a concern expressed by many here.. Also = I can see my signature when i'm logged in but not if i'm logged off.
 
This is what is supposed to be showing in my signature:
Jay Dee (CG) and Snuggie. Dx 10/2020. ProZinc. AlphaTrak2. Mostly wet. Custom/panic. CKD. Link to Spreadsheet.
I can see your signature , thanks, the freestyle light is a human meter am I correct ?
If so, sorry I forget if it is, by the way your spreadsheet is not up to date

Once you update it, you said you can start the freestyle light today
When you do start it just put a blank line above the date you start it and
Put. Switched to Human Meter
Also with a human meter the color coding above has to be changed in one of the cells
I can ask someone to do it for you once you start using the human meter
 
I can see your signature , thanks, the freestyle light is a human meter am I correct ?
If so, sorry I forget if it is, by the way your spreadsheet is not up to date

Once you update it, you said you can start the freestyle light today
When you do start it just put a blank line above the date you start it and
Put. Switched to Human Meter
Also with a human meter the color coding above has to be changed in one of the cells
I can ask someone to do it for you once you start using the human meter
So my spreadsheet is for AT2 only so far. I don’t have any readings from the F/L but I have it ready and will be doing my +6 with it in 45 min (1:45 MDT). What do I need to update? I’m so confused. I’ve used AT2 Pet since we started this. The spreadsheet is using the pet meter / feline template. Do I need a new spreadsheet for the human one? I still don’t know what I’m supposed to update based on your post...
 
Few more questions - I just read through the AAHA guidelines and two things stood out to me -
1) spot checking is not encouraged and a full BGC after 7-14 days of a dose adjustment is the only way to see if a dose is working
2) the human client is ok to decrease or skip doses but not recommended to increase dose w/o veterinary consult

I was hoping to use the AAHA guidelines to support my home testing and and adjustments. I really don't want to say to my vet "oh this group that i'm on said to" (my hubby is already giving me crap for that) and i know that's a concern expressed by many here.. Also = I can see my signature when i'm logged in but not if i'm logged off.

I have never read the AAA guidelines, but I do know one thing we all spot check our cats everyday to see how low the insulin is taking them, just not doing a curve

If it wasn't for this group my cat would not be in remission right now
They taught me when I should increase or decrease , taught me everything I know

I printed off tons of info from this group to show my vet that they do know what they are talking about, how they have so much knowledge about DKA ,ketones,
the list goes on.

She was so impressed when see read everything
She let's me do what I wanted when Tyler needed insulin
I used the Relion Prime human meter and showed her what all the color coding meant . There are so many vets out there that have no clue about diabetes
I'm not saying all but most of them don't
You can try to explain to your husband about this.
Relion Prime from Walmart is 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 test strips
There is also the Relion Premier
You go thru a lot of test strips ,that's why most of us use this meter
 
So my spreadsheet is for AT2 only so far. I don’t have any readings from the F/L but I have it ready and will be doing my +6 with it in 45 min (1:45 MDT). What do I need to update? I’m so confused. I’ve used AT2 Pet since we started this. The spreadsheet is using the pet meter / feline template. Do I need a new spreadsheet for the human one? I still don’t know what I’m supposed to update based on your post...
Why don't you start the new meter tomorrow morning
No you don't need a. new spreadsheet , the numbers all the way up top that shows the color coding just need to be changed for the dark green and neon green that's all

Your SS is only filled in up to 4-22
Did you test on the 23rd , 24th ?

The Freestyle is a human meter correct?
 
I have never read the AAA guidelines, but I do know one thing we all spot check our cats everyday to see how low the insulin is taking them, just not doing a curve

If it wasn't for this group my cat would not be in remission right now
They taught me when I should increase or decrease , taught me everything I know

I printed off tons of info from this group to show my vet that they do know what they are talking about, how they have so much knowledge about DKA ,ketones,
the list goes on.

She was so impressed when see read everything
She let's me do what I wanted when Tyler needed insulin
I used the Relion Prime human meter and showed her what all the color coding meant . There are so many vets out there that have no clue about diabetes
I'm not saying all but most of them don't
You can try to explain to your husband about this.
Relion Prime from Walmart is 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 test strips
There is also the Relion Premier
You go thru a lot of test strips ,that's why most of us use this meter
Thank you! Because my kitty has been to the vet so much he can’t always see the one that seems more accepting of my home testing and adjusting. So I just want to be prepared. One has between the lines suggested it may lead me to panic myself and just bring him in for a check at the vet after a week or two at a new dose. No thanks!

as for meters- we had the AT2 pet meter onhand from a previous diabetic which was fine when I didn’t know I needed 4 tests per day lol! I bought the freestyle lite human meter bc I’d heard it doesn’t need much blood and my kitty doesn’t like to bleed. This is more important to me than cost but the AT2 strips were killing me. I have two meters on hand now so while i know the relion meters and strips are cheaper, I really don’t want a third plus with how little blood he gives me id probably waste a lot of strips
 
Last edited:
I can tag 2 of our members to fix the color coding for you
I would start with the human meter tomorrow morning if I were you
They will also add a line above the day you start using a human meter stating
that you started to use one
 
Why don't you start the new meter tomorrow morning
No you don't need a. new spreadsheet , the numbers all the way up top that shows the color coding just need to be changed for the dark green and neon green that's all

Your SS is only filled in up to 4-22
Did you test on the 23rd , 24th ?

The Freestyle is a human meter correct?

ahh got it - yes the freestyle lite is human. I have tests in there all the way up to this AMPS. I don’t know what’s going on with the spreadsheet then. I’ll figure it out, I am trying to interpret the gray ketone result on my relion strips and have a migraine. This is really so overwhelming
 
Thank you! Because my kitty has been to the vet so much he can’t always see the one that is accepting of my home testing and adjusting. So I just want to be prepared. One has suggested I leave well enough alone for 3 weeks so I don’t panic myself and just bring him in for a spot check at the vet. No thanks! So I only see him if I need to - which I have.

as for meters- we had the AT2 pet meter onhand from a previous diabetic which was fine when I didn’t know I needed 4 tests per day lol! I bought the freestyle lite human meter bc I’d heard it doesn’t need much blood and my kitty doesn’t like to bleed. This is more important to me than cost but the AT2 strips were killing me. I have two meters on hand now so while i know the relion meters and strips are cheaper, I really don’t want a third plus with how little blood he gives me id probably waste a lot of strips
That's fine , I used the Alpha Trak too in the beginning, the price for the strips are crazy. That's why I switched. Do you want to start with the human meter tomorrow am
 
I can tag 2 of our members to fix the color coding for you
I would start with the human meter tomorrow morning if I were you
They will also add a line above the day you start using a human meter stating
that you started to use one
Thanks for your help -
Much appreciated!
Sorry if I am sounding short and our posts are overlapping, it’s from not feeling well. God I sound like a real basket case
 
That's fine , I used the Alpha Trak too in the beginning, the price for the strips are crazy. That's why I switched. Do you want to start with the human meter tomorrow am
Yes I will finish out today on AT2, and start human tomorrow. I also read to go back up to 4u - when do you suggest I do that?
 
ahh got it - yes the freestyle lite is human. I have tests in there all the way up to this AMPS. I don’t know what’s going on with the spreadsheet then. I’ll figure it out, I am trying to interpret the gray ketone result on my relion strips and have a migraine. This is really so overwhelming
Sorry about the migraine, I know it's overwhelming in the beginning
It will get better
 
Yes I will finish out today on AT2, and start human tomorrow. I also read to go back up to 4u - when do you suggest I do that?
I see that Wendy suggested to go back to 4 units right away, so do it for the PMPS
Once you get the spreadsheet up to date ,that's weird let me know, tag me I will keep checking tonight , then I will ask someone to change it for you and state that you
Changed to a human meter, don't worry about it
Go rest and try and get rid of that migraine
I don't know if you know how to tag someone
When you want to tag a member you would put
@Jay Dee
@ then start to type the first couple of letters of the members name and you will see
a list of names pop up, hit on the one you want
You will know if you did it right if it shows up in blue
I always tag the person on a separate line
 
I see that Wendy suggested to go back to 4 units right away, so do it for the PMPS
Once you get the spreadsheet up to date ,that's weird let me know, tag me I will keep checking tonight , then I will ask someone to change it for you and state that you
Changed to a human meter, don't worry about it
Go rest and try and get rid of that migraine
I don't know if you know how to tag someone
When you want to tag a member you would put
@Jay Dee
@ then start to type the first couple of letters of the members name and you will see
a list of names pop up, hit on the one you want
You will know if you did it right if it shows up in blue
I always tag the person on a separate line
@Diane Tyler's Mom

thank you! Did the tag work?
 
Thank you!

4/23: AMPS 549
+6 582
PMPS 603
2.5u am and pm

4/24: AMPS 594
+6 557
PMPS 569

2.5u am and pm

4/25: AMPS 524
+6 618 what the actual heck
I have no idea why you can't fill these in on your spreadsheet but we need them, are you going into your Google docs to fill them in, you can't tap on your spreadsheet at the end of your posts to fill them in and yes the tag worked
 
Keep the AT readings in your spreadsheet, all data is good data. Just leave a blank line between it and the Freestyle readings. Tagging @Bandit's Mom who can help you convert the range for going to a human meter.

The tests you want are only done at Michigan State University. You want the following:
https://vdl.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe
Search for code 20005 for acromegaly or IGF-1 test. Positive is over 92.
Search for code 20031 for IAA test.
A result > 20% is considered positive for IAA.
 
After you get them filled in tag
Keep the AT readings in your spreadsheet, all data is good data. Just leave a blank line between it and the Freestyle readings. Tagging @Bandit's Mom who can help you convert the range for going to a human meter.

The tests you want are only done at Michigan State University. You want the following:
https://vdl.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe
Search for code 20005 for acromegaly or IGF-1 test. Positive is over 92.
Search for code 20031 for IAA test.
A result > 20% is considered positive for IAA.
Thanks @Wendy&Neko , she is having trouble filling in the BG for the 23rd, 24th, and 25th , Don't know why
I was going to tag @Bandit's Mom also to make the changes for her add when she switches to the human meter, I told her to start using the human meter tomorrow morning
I also told her to give 4 units for PMPS like you stated in #13
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom ok pls check the spreadsheet now. i think i had the wrong URL link. i had issues making my FDMB spreadsheet the other day and had a zillion links :)

@Wendy&Neko thank you! i'll need all the math help i can get :)
OK great the numbers are there now, so start tomorrow morning and we will ask @Bandit's Mom to make the changes for you can ok
Hi Bhooma @Jay Dee will be switching over to a human meter on 4-26 AMPS
Would you please convert the range for it, also add the line above stating she switched to a human meter
Thank you Bhooma :bighug:

Edit, Bhooma @Chris & China (GA) already made the changes for Jill, :cat:
 
Last edited:
I can do the SS switch for you in just a few minutes as Bhooma will be on much later.

I’ll send you a private message to your Inbox. Give me just a few minutes to write it and look in the upper right corner of this page at “Inbox”. When the message is there, you will see a number. I just need to get some info from you to do it and it will only take me a few minutes.
 
All - since his max dose was 6 and his last good dose was 4, is going from his current 2.5u to 4u at his next dose considered fast tracking an increase? Or is fast tracking anything beyond a max dose?
 
@Jay Dee Hi Jill down the road if Suggie does need higher dose of insulin
don't forget to check out Marks Marine in Canada for Levemir.
You would still use your syringes to draw the insulin out of the pens like you do with the vials


With higher doses of insulin we suggest Levemir over Lantus because at higher
doses Lantus could sting.
Buying it from Canada will save you money


search1_02.jpg
search1_03.jpg
search1_04.jpg
search1_05.jpg
search1_06.jpg
search1_07.jpg

rx.gif
Levemir 5x3ml (Flextouch) CAN (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100iu/ml 15 ml $169.99 USD

rx.gif
Levemir 5x3ml (PENFILLS) CAN **CARTRIDGES** (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100iu/ml 15 ml $169.99 USD


 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top