Kristy & Bisbee
Member Since 2020
Hi, my name is Kristy and my cat 8-year-old cat Bisbee was diagnosed with FD on 3/20/20. He had lost a significant amount of weight so blood work, x rays, and urinalysis were run. His bloodwork showed 394 on Glucose, 3+ on urine glucose strip, and a trace of ketones which led to his diagnosis.
The vet started him on 2 units of Vetsulin twice a day. A week later we went in for a blood test and it 415 so he bumped him to 2 units twice a day. A week later I took him to the vets for a curve. The vet gave 4 units (instead of 3 like I had been doing all week). The vet said his numbers were still to high so bumped it to 5 units twice a day. A week later I took him in and his BG was 535 pre-insulin. He had me bring him back later in the day and it was still high. He mentioned that he might be insulin resistant and that we might need to test for acromegaly and that we will probably have to switch to Lantus. He told me to bump it back down to 3 units and come back in a week. Since joining this group I’ve learned Lantus is probably a better insulin but it is also so much more expensive. I left the vets office feeling lost and confused, then I found this group.
I spent hours reading through post, learning about appropriate food, how important at home testing in, and so much more. I am so thankful that I stumbled across this group. I went out the next day and purchased a Relion Premier test kit and started home testing. I also took away most of Bisbee’s dry food which he isn’t happy about. This has also been stressful for me because there are 4 cats in the house who are all use to have free access to dry food all day). I went out and bought Fancy Feast pate. I started my spreadsheet. I decided maybe his starting dose was to high so instead of doing 3 units like vet recommended I went down to 2 and then to 1.5 (some cycles 1.25 if pre-shot numbers were lower). His numbers were looking better but still not good. So, then I decided to bump it up again and thought maybe I should have listened to the vet. Unfortunately, it seems the more units I give him the higher his BG goes. Now I’m thinking I should have lowered his units instead of raised them. At this point I’m so frustrated and confused. I’m not sure if I should be raising his dose, lowering his dose, giving up on this insulin and switching kinds, etc.
This forum has been amazing so far. I have learned so much and am so thankful that there are people out there that I can ask for help and guidance. Sorry this is so long. Hopefully I posted it in the correct spot and linked Bisbee's spread sheet correctly.
The vet started him on 2 units of Vetsulin twice a day. A week later we went in for a blood test and it 415 so he bumped him to 2 units twice a day. A week later I took him to the vets for a curve. The vet gave 4 units (instead of 3 like I had been doing all week). The vet said his numbers were still to high so bumped it to 5 units twice a day. A week later I took him in and his BG was 535 pre-insulin. He had me bring him back later in the day and it was still high. He mentioned that he might be insulin resistant and that we might need to test for acromegaly and that we will probably have to switch to Lantus. He told me to bump it back down to 3 units and come back in a week. Since joining this group I’ve learned Lantus is probably a better insulin but it is also so much more expensive. I left the vets office feeling lost and confused, then I found this group.
I spent hours reading through post, learning about appropriate food, how important at home testing in, and so much more. I am so thankful that I stumbled across this group. I went out the next day and purchased a Relion Premier test kit and started home testing. I also took away most of Bisbee’s dry food which he isn’t happy about. This has also been stressful for me because there are 4 cats in the house who are all use to have free access to dry food all day). I went out and bought Fancy Feast pate. I started my spreadsheet. I decided maybe his starting dose was to high so instead of doing 3 units like vet recommended I went down to 2 and then to 1.5 (some cycles 1.25 if pre-shot numbers were lower). His numbers were looking better but still not good. So, then I decided to bump it up again and thought maybe I should have listened to the vet. Unfortunately, it seems the more units I give him the higher his BG goes. Now I’m thinking I should have lowered his units instead of raised them. At this point I’m so frustrated and confused. I’m not sure if I should be raising his dose, lowering his dose, giving up on this insulin and switching kinds, etc.
This forum has been amazing so far. I have learned so much and am so thankful that there are people out there that I can ask for help and guidance. Sorry this is so long. Hopefully I posted it in the correct spot and linked Bisbee's spread sheet correctly.
