djett
Member Since 2024
@Diane Tyler's Mom and @djett, we need to get you set up with one of the dosing methods before you swap to the Lantus forum please. your SS says SLGS but your signature doesn’t say anything. Also the signature says CRD says diagnosed Aug 2024!do you mean 2023?
With a recent diagnosis of DKA I would suggest you follow the tight regulation dosing method because we can change the doses every three days if necessary and we don’t want Gucci lingering in those high numbers.
Are you testing daily for ketones?
Is the royal canin CRD food dry or wet? If it’s dry, I would also suggest you look at getting another high carb food that is wet. Weruva have some and you can look at the phosphorus levels as well and choose one that is lower.
I can see the PM preshot has come back up to 400. I would not reduce the dose. Can you monitor this cycle?
Keep in mind that the freestyle libre numbers are not reliable when they drop under 100. That is why we like you to double check any BGs under 100 with a hand help meter. I would keep tying to persevere with doing ear BG tests.
What size lancets did you get? Size 26 is the size you need get.
Also shine a touch behind the ear so you can see the veins.
You need to try and prick between the vein that runs along the outside of the ear and the edge of the ear. Try not to restrain Gucci too much if you can as that will only make him want to get away. Make sure the ear is warm. Try humming as you do the test so it calms you and Gucci. And you can milk the ear up towards the top to encourage the blood.
Remember everyone fails in the beginning. Some people have success more quickly than others. A lot depends on the cat. Try just rubbing his ears often and giving a treat so he gets used to his ears being pricked. You could try putting a tiny bit of Vaseline on the fur first so the blood pools rather than seeps into the fur.
I failed miserably in the beginning!
What is the hand held meter you have?
View attachment 69903
Thank you i've updated the spreadsheet. Gucci doesnt have teeth (see avatar) so he's always on wet food. Yes sorry I meant 2023 for CKD. The Royal Canin CKD food is wet and about 28% carbs DMA. Hills has a CKD k/d wet food thats almost 40% carbs and is probably the reason he got diabetes in the first place since I switched to that in August, I will get more of that.
I've been doing a combination of both to see what works, for example starting 4/1/2024 I switched to TR, then on 4/9 after a steep drop/bounce, increased to 2.5 and then went back to SLGS and held 2.5 for a week. Is it possible that since I recently removed hills from his diet that now he needs a lower dose?
I waited to feed/give him insulin to see what his numbers would do and at at 9pm it had went back down to 370, and now about 30min later is all the way down to 335 and still trnedning downward. So I am so confused on what give him as a dose tonight. I think anything over 2.5 will be way too much right now, and since I will likely go to sleep in the next 3-4 hrs it may be too risky. I think I am going to hold out for another 30 min to see if it continues to drop fast and then reassess. He likely won't eat much tonight as well since I had to feed him and give him Karo syrup not too long ago to raise his glucose.
Thanks,
Devin