New member 11/3/23

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just gave him the 2 units, it was 2 hours and 15 minutes late. He ate right after I gave him the shot. I will test him in a hour from now. I doubt I will be able to stay awake for 2 tests.
 
I just gave him the 2 units, it was 2 hours and 15 minutes late. He ate right after I gave him the shot. I will test him in a hour from now. I doubt I will be able to stay awake for 2 tests.
Was that the first food in a while.? It is best to feed him 1/2 hour before the dose of insulin to stop fast drops.

Because the dose was over 2 hours late, you will have to go back to the previous schedule 1/2 hour each day OR 15 minutes each cycle.
Don’t go back to the previous time tomorrow morning…does that make sense.?
Will he have food available for him to eat overnight?
 
I did his pretest 3 hours ago and then he ate. I was waiting for the amount of insulin to give him so it was late. He ate again after I gave him shot. Should I have put up his food for 30 minutes?
Was that the first food in a while.? It is best to feed him 1/2 hour before the dose of insulin to stop fast drops.

Because the dose was over 2 hours late, you will have to go back to the previous schedule 1/2 hour each day OR 15 minutes each cycle.
Don’t go back to the previous time tomorrow morning…does that make sense.?
Will he have food available for him to eat overnight?
sorry my brain is on overload. I usually give him his insulin at 615 morning and night. so tomorrow I shouldn't give it to him until 645? I will leave food out for him tonight.
 
yes. test feed wait shoot. I learned that yesterday. I got home just in time to do his pretest and let him eat. While I was waiting for the insulin amount I was fixing supper and getting my child's nightly schedule done. I got out of my routine.

I has been about a hour so I will test soon. I will leave food out for him tonight.
 
Thomas next test was 294. it was a hour and about 30 minutes rather than 1 hour later. He absolutely did not want to test. he was fighting to get away from me making it hard to do. One of his ears has a hematoma? His ear was bent back when he was diagnosed with diabetes. It feels like a hard bubble and there is only a small part that I can get blood from.

Also I posted prior about his shot in the morning, since it was late tonight I need to do it 30 minutes later?
 
Thomas next test was 294. it was a hour and about 30 minutes rather than 1 hour later. He absolutely did not want to test. he was fighting to get away from me making it hard to do. One of his ears has a hematoma? His ear was bent back when he was diagnosed with diabetes. It feels like a hard bubble and there is only a small part that I can get blood from.
?
294…That is a normal food bump after a meal.
Are you offering him a treat during or after each test?
Hopefully the haematoma will disappear after a few days. Poor fellow. No wonder he hates testing. use the other ear until the haematoma goes.
Also I posted prior about his shot in the morning, since it was late tonight I need to do it 30 minutes later
Not sure what you mean by this?…..I realise what you mean now…posting below Re same
 
sorry my brain is on overload. I usually give him his insulin at 615 morning and night. so tomorrow I shouldn't give it to him until 645? I will leave food out for him tonight.
Ok I understand what you mean now. Tomorrow morning you will have to wait until 8am to give the dose. You can only go back 1/2 hour a day when getting back on schedule. So if you were 2 hours 15 minutes late, the next dose will be 1 hour 45 minutes later than the normal time of 6.15
Does that make sense?
 
I have to leave by 7:20 am at the latest for work tomorrow.

the hematoma has been there for almost a year. we don't even know how he got it.
 
I am struggling to stay awake. I need to know what to do in the morning. I am clueless as to what I need to do. I have to leave by 7:20 at the absolute latest. Do I give 2 units again? Does it depend on the AMPS?
 
Will you be away for the morning? And can’t come back?

We will need to see what the preshot BG is in the morning before we can say if the 2 unit dose is OK.
What time do you get up?
Can you take a BG when you first get up so we can see if it is rising at the preshot BG? Is that doable?
Then if you can post the preshot BG at about 7 am I will tag @tiffmaxee and @Suzanne & Darcy and @Wendy&Neko to see if any of them can be around. I won’t be around as I am in Australia.
If the BG is high enough you will just have to give the dose earlier than 8 am but you will need to make sure he eats well and there is food left out for him.
 
I am in the EST My schedule during the week is leaving at 6:45 am and home around 5-6pm.

I wake up at 5:50 so I can do a test when I wake up and then again at 7:10 so I can give the shot right before I leave at 7:20. I can leave later this week since my son is out of school for fall break.
 
I am in the EST My schedule during the week is leaving at 6:45 am and home around 5-6pm.

I wake up at 5:50 so I can do a test when I wake up and then again at 7:10 so I can give the shot right before I leave at 7:20. I can leave later this week since my son is out of school for fall break.
When you first get up at 5.50 am I would tag the people I tagged above in post 116 so they are aware you will be getting another test done just after 7 am.
If you don’t hear from anyone, skip the dose if the BG is not over 200.
To tag someone, you use the letter @ then you start to write their name and a little box will come up with several names for you to choose from. Click the name you want.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top