Bron and Sheba (GA)
Member Since 2015
That’s ok. We all had to learn.So sorry, still learning the formatting. Her BG was at 93mg +3 from the “maybe” shot.
Have you taken another test since the +3 93?
That’s ok. We all had to learn.So sorry, still learning the formatting. Her BG was at 93mg +3 from the “maybe” shot.
Just took another one which would be +5 from the “maybe” shot and it was 128 mg.That’s ok. We all had to learn.
Have you taken another test since the +3 93?
No they didn’t.Did the vet ever mention ketones to you at diagnosis?
I haven’t gotten it set up yet, but will work on it as soon as I get to my office. Thanks!Remember that we reduced the dose of insulin down to 0.5 units because of the 93 this morning so your dose moving forward is 0.5 units.
Have you managed to get the SS set up yet. If you need help just ask
It is not really necessary to test during this cycle because you are not giving the insulin. I mean the cycles when you do give insulin to test up until at least +5 and maybe longer depending on the BG. Does that make sense?Okay, thank you so much!!! I’ll only be able to test around +4/+5 when I come home on lunch. Should she be okay until then?
Thank you again!!No, you don't give insulin during the cycle, you just wait until the next shot is due. If you gave it at lunchtime (after you had skipped the shot) you would then be way out in your 12 hour shooting schedule.
Also never give a dose again if you think you might have missed the shot as you gave it. We call that a fur shot....we all give them from time to time but it is too risky to give more as some almost always gets in.
Yes having the meter makes it so much easier and safer.
It's better to be a bit high than too low.
I'm off to bed. It's late here. See you tomorrow!
HELP!!!! Please give me some info so I can suggest a lower appropriate dose of the Vetsulin.
1. Urgent that you test before every shot.
2. Please keep your SS updated.
3. Please seriously consider dropping the Vetsulin dose down dramatically. SS not updated so don't know what you have shot for the last few days.
BUT until you are home testing more, it can be dangerous to change the food to lower carb too quickly. BG readings may drop 100 points or more. It's likely why MooMoo had that PMPS of 161 last night. We want to avoid a hypo with MooMoo.
The Rachel Ray Peak canned food ingredients look reasonably good. Did not see much in the way of unnecessary carb sources such as grains (corn, wheat, soy, rice), peas, potatoes, tapioca, cassava, beans. Looks reasonable from looking at the label.
Ran the guaranteed analysis (GA) min/max percents listed on the chewy .com website through a basic cat food carb calculator.
Roughly, carbs are around 2.5%. Some cats need more and actually do better on higher carbs. We'll have to see.
The Rachel Ray Peak dry food ingredients look horrible, loaded with carbs. Such as carb sources such as dried peas, pea protein, tapioca, dried sweet potato, dried beet pulp. Looks horrible for a diabetic cat from looking at the ingredients list.
Ran the guaranteed analysis (GA) min/max percents listed on the chewy .com website through a basic cat food carb calculator.
Roughly, carbs are around 29%. WAY too high for a diabetic cat.
PLEASE, DO NOT CHANGE THE FOOD ANYMORE AT THIS TIME UNTIL YOU HAVE MORE BG TEST NUMBERS
I'd like to move into feeding only wet food eventually, I haven't mixed in a full wet RR peak with the dry yet, mainly just the juices. Should I keep doing that or just stop with the wet completely for now?
16mg and then 184mgGood question. What were the BG readings that you got this morning, the 2 under 200?
units of BG are mg/dL (milligrams per decilitre) not just mg16mg and then 184mg
16 doesn't look right.16mg and then 184mg
What does that mean?Cross posted
Deb, time zones don’t mean anything to us who are not in the US. The best thing is for people to use the +number of hours since insulin and then we all know exactly where we are.If you add your time zone to your signature, that helps us a bit. For instance, I have EST (GMT -5). That cues people in that I live on the east coast US (from the EST) The GMT -5 means I'm 5 hours earlier than the time in London suburb of Greenwich. Can help when assisting people in the UK and Europe. Or maybe not.
I hope the new vet is good. Ask about swapping to Lantus or levemir insulin. They are longer lasting insulins and much better for cats.Afternoon everyone! I just wanted to post a little update.
I've got in touch with another vet and will be going in tomorrow for a consult with Moo Moo. I told them about the original units prescribed and her current level reading, they have advised me to not give her any more shots until my appointment unless her levels are reading extremely high. I'll be doing the PMPS later as well as some periodic readings as the vet suggested. I'll post it to my SS.
Thank you all again for your help, without y'all I'd still be crying on the floor, lost. I'm still lost but a little more comfortable! haha.
Not really USA only try since Deb gave both the USA time (EST) zone terminology and the international (GMT-5): "I have EST (GMT -5)"Deb, time zones don’t mean anything to us who are not in the US. The best thing is for people to use the +number of hours since insulin and then we all know exactly where we are.
I think both are helpful.
Why? Because if I see the + BG readings, but have no ideas where the member lives, knowing their time zone can help me decide if I'm able to stay with them and help in case of a hypo or suspected low number situation.
Hi Deb,Not really USA only try since Deb gave both the USA time (EST) zone terminology and the international (GMT-5): "I have EST (GMT -5)"