New Member (1/26/2025): Sheldon was recently diagnosed; your guidance is most appreciated

How are things going now with the BG?

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

After 20-30 minutes, we got a reading in the 120s (human meter). We decided to bring him to the ER just as a precaution, although he
was stable and seemed ok at the time. Their bloodwork showed his glucose at 509. I just checked it before the PM shot, and his PMPS reading
was 733! I assume the stress of the day's events might have added to the BG spike?

Anyway, I gave him 2u for his PM shot. Although there could be other factors, I have to think that his vomiting is connected to the hypo event.
 
He is bouncing from the low numbers. Not surprising. The bounce could last from 1 to 6 cycles. Stay with the 2 units unless the BG drops too low again
 
Sheldon is still up there bouncing on the trampoline:)

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Yeah, seems like. But he's also not feeling especially well right now. He threw up last night, maybe because of the fresh salmon which he doesn't
eat that often. His stools were a little loose/soft and he was sitting right next to the litter box. His hind legs are quite weak now. It really sucks to see.

In any case, although he tested around 500 for his AMPS, he would not eat a single bit of food (unusual), so I didn't give him his shot. Is that a mistake, and should I give
a reduced dose instead in the future?
 
In any case, although he tested around 500 for his AMPS, he would not eat a single bit of food (unusual), so I didn't give him his shot. Is that a mistake, and should I give
a reduced dose instead in the future?
I would not skip a dose if the BG was high. You can always give a half dose. looking at your information there were no ketones at diagnosis? Correct? This could make a difference in deciding to skip, give a half dose or not skip at all.
Remember it takes 2 hours for the dose to kick in and he may eat in that 2 hours. Even if he doesn’t eat the 1/2 dose would be ok. Cats who are fasting for a procedure are given a 1/2 dose of insulin.
Insulin is needed in the body for more than just the glucose levels.
 
I would not skip a dose if the BG was high. You can always give a half dose. looking at your information there were no ketones at diagnosis? Correct? This could make a difference in deciding to skip, give a half dose or not skip at all.
Remember it takes 2 hours for the dose to kick in and he may eat in that 2 hours. Even if he doesn’t eat the 1/2 dose would be ok. Cats who are fasting for a procedure are given a 1/2 dose of insulin.
Insulin is needed in the body for more than just the glucose levels.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Right. He hasn't tested positive for ketones yet that I'm aware of. ER doc confirmed that the other night. My home blood test for ketones produced a result of 0.4-0.5 mmol/L as well, so I think that's effectively normal.

He still wouldn't eat anything. I ended up bringing him to the vet for a check-up. She gave him fluids, b vitamins, a shot of famotidine, and then also a 1u shot of "regular" fast-acting insulin. He eventually had some Churu
paste, and that's basically all he's wanted to eat so far. Still quite thirsty, of course.

His BG came back up to 163 (human meter) at +5.5.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Just wanted to follow up. Sheldon is not doing well overall, although not necessarily(?) related to his BG levels. We took him to an internist for an ultrasound, etc. He has some pancreatitis and gastritis/gastroenteritis, which may not be new, but is causing more problems now.

Although he ate last night with a transdermal appetite stimulant, he eventually threw much of it up overnight. His stools have been very loose for 2-3 days. He's still alert and responsive in his overall aspect, however. His levels fluctuate from the mid 100s to the 300s (human meter now).

They wanted $5-6k to keep him just overnight. We talked to an urgent care place as well, but that will still be $2500+. The visit yesterday was $2200 alone.

I gave him a Cerenia injection a while ago (local vet provided 3 syringes). I hope we can find a way to manage this, but if he doesn't improve today, I have to reconsider admitting him somewhere.
 
That is an incredible amount of money!
Do you have ondansetron ? it is a great medication for nausea. You would need a script from the vet and pick it up from the human pharmac.
I would try and offer small amounts of food offen rather than big amounts less frequently.
Are they keeping the pred at the same dose?
What meat are you using in the home made food? Do you think he could be allergic to a type of meat.

Have you been giving a probiotic? Visbiome Vet is a great one for cats with gut issues
 
That is an incredible amount of money!
Do you have ondansetron ? it is a great medication for nausea. You would need a script from the vet and pick it up from the human pharmac.
I would try and offer small amounts of food offen rather than big amounts less frequently.
Are they keeping the pred at the same dose?
What meat are you using in the home made food? Do you think he could be allergic to a type of meat.

Have you been giving a probiotic? Visbiome Vet is a great one for cats with gut issues

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

1. We got ondansetron after leaving the internist (animal hospital) yesterday, along with mirtazapine for appetite.
I tried giving it to him last night, but it didn't work. I've never used a pill popper or trying to stick it directly in his mouth. Rather not unless absolutely necessary. Dissolving in paste probably left too bitter of a taste, and also he is picky with the paste. Not always in the mood.

2. I think you're right about the food. It was nice to see him eating "normally" last night after the mirtazapine transdermal.

3. Prednisolone is still at 2.5mg every other day. Is that helping more than hurting in this acute situation? It's also difficult to give him that pill now because of his not eating. The budesonide arrived on Wednesday, haven't used it yet. I'm leery of introducing too many different factors right now. I think we might have done that with various new foods
or supplements.

4. Home meat is basically just chicken (either on the bone, or ground chicken, or cold cuts), but that's been a regular thing for a long time.

5. He's not on a strict probiotic regimen currently, but we did recently try Dr. Jones' Ultimate Feline Health Formula (https://www.thecatsupplement.com) which has some probiotics in it, although that was just before all this happened and then we stopped that for now.

6. Do you know much about giving subcutaneous fluids at home, or other things typically done at the vet's but could be done ourselves?


Thanks
 
We got ondansetron after leaving the internist (animal hospital) yesterday, along with mirtazapine for appetite.
I tried giving it to him last night, but it didn't work. I've never used a pill popper or trying to stick it directly in his mouth. Rather not unless absolutely necessary. Dissolving in paste probably left too bitter of a taste, and also he is picky with the paste. Not always in the mood
Can you put it into a piece of meat or a treat? It really is a great antinausea med
Prednisolone is still at 2.5mg every other day. Is that helping more than hurting in this acute situation?
I cant see it hurting the situation. I would ask the vet.
He's not on a strict probiotic regimen currently, but we did recently try Dr. Jones' Ultimate Feline Health Formula (https://www.thecatsupplement.com) which has some probiotics in it, although that was just before all this happened and then we stopped that for now.
I would really encourage you to try the visbiome. It has made a massive difference to one of my cats and I know many similar stories.
Do you know much about giving subcutaneous fluids at home, or other things typically done at the vet's but could be done ourselves?
Yes you can do the Sub Q fluids at home. Many of us do it.
Here is a link to information about doing it at home.
SUB Q FLUIDS
 
Can you put it into a piece of meat or a treat? It really is a great antinausea med

I cant see it hurting the situation. I would ask the vet.

I would really encourage you to try the visbiome. It has made a massive difference to one of my cats and I know many similar stories.

Yes you can do the Sub Q fluids at home. Many of us do it.
Here is a link to information about doing it at home.
SUB Q FLUIDS

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

The vet said to continue it as per normal for now. I will look into Visbiome.

I broke up the pill into quarters, which are super tiny. Even then, it's a challenge. My hope is that with his increased appetite from the mirtazapine, he will eat more things and more ravenously,
so we can then more easily give him the pill fragments inside wet food, etc.
 
What pill? If ondansetron is supect you have the 4 mg tablets. The normal dose for 12 lb cat would be 2 to 4 mg 2 to 4 times a day.

@Larry and Kitties

Yes, they are the 4mg pills. One pill every 12 hours, although we haven't been able to effectively administer it yet.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

We ended up taking him to the hospital to be admitted late on Friday night. Might pick him up later on tonight or tomorrow.

He's doing better there, but still isn't eating much.
 
@Larry and Kitties

Yes, they are the 4mg pills. One pill every 12 hours, although we haven't been able to effectively administer it yet.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

We ended up taking him to the hospital to be admitted late on Friday night. Might pick him up later on tonight or tomorrow.

He's doing better there, but still isn't eating much.
Oh I’m sorry he ended up back in hospital. Do they have any ideas moving forward?
 
Back
Top