New Member 08/03/23 Remission & Food Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexScarlett

Member Since 2023
Hi guys!

I am very new to the whole "cat with diabetes" club, and I'd love to hear the perspectives of those with far more experience than I have. I have a couple of questions...

1) Based on his BG levels tracked over 2 weeks without insulin, is my cat in remission?
2) If so, how can I keep him there (diet? Supplements? Etc.)

Sorry in advance; this is kind of a long post. :)

First, some background. My Maine Coon mix, Mercury, is 11 years old and weighs about 13 lbs. Almost exactly a month ago, he was diagnosed with diabetes. When he was first examined, his BG was 583, glucose in urine, the whole nine yards. I brought him in because he'd been drinking a LOT of water and peeing about 3x as much as usual. Still, I think his BG may have been very much elevated at the vet because Mercury is an extremely highly strung cat. He is labeled as "extremely aggressive" on his vet forms. (Breaks my heart, since he's a sweetheart in a normal setting.) At the vet, when they took blood for his tests, he literally had to be held down by 3 vet techs (and he screamed his head off the whole time!)

The diagnosis was, of course, diabetes. The vet sent me home with Vetsulin and instructions to give him 2 units twice a day while measuring his blood glucose. Mercury became stable almost immediately. Within about a week, those 2 units were sending his sugars down as low as 70, so the vet said I should do 1 unit instead, which I did for another week. Same thing -- his sugars were getting down to 70 even with 1 unit.

About 11 days after he was first diagnosed, he had a fructosamine test done, and it came back as 350 (high side of normal, from what I understand?), but as far as I understand, it's an average of 2-3 weeks of blood sugar levels, so it included a time period when Mercury wasn't receiving any treatment at all (since he had the test done after only 11 days of treatment.)

Anyway, about 2 weeks after diagnosis, the vet suggested I try him out with no insulin at all while monitoring him. As I mentioned, Mercury is a high-anxiety cat, and he will not tolerate having his ear pricked all day several days in a row, so I have tried to do some full curves, some "spot checks", and some days where I leave him alone. I hope this wasn't irresponsible of me; I was trying to balance my desire to monitor Mercury with his desire to not be pricked in the ear. Also, I should mention that for almost a full month (starting pretty much immediately after he was started on insulin), he has had zero symptoms: he's not lethargic, his urination and drinking are totally normal, his weight is normal, etc.

Here are the results of Mercury's 2-week run with ZERO insulin:

July 18: First day no insulin. 8 am = 146 (fasting); 10:30 am = 141; 1 pm = 124; 3 pm = 142; 6 pm = 140; 9 pm = 90

July 19: 1 pm = 101

July 20: 8:30 am = 140 (fasting); 5:30 pm = 112

July 21: 3:30 pm = 104

July 22: 8:30 am = 166 (fasting); 10:30 am = 96; 12:30 pm = 115; 2:30 pm = 116; 4:30 pm = 113; 8:30 pm = 110

July 23: 4 pm = 90

July 24: No readings (away from home all day)

July 25: 2:30 pm = 112; 5:10 pm = 118

July 26: 11 am = 119

July 27: 8 am = 124 (fasting)

July 28, July 29 = No readings (away from home all day)

July 30: 7:40 pm = 171 (1 hour after meal)

July 31: No readings (away from home all day)

August 1: 7 am = 166 (fasting); 9 am = 117; 12 noon = 98; 2 pm = 130; 4 pm = 150; 7:30 pm = 142

So... what do you guys think? Can I begin to hope that Mercury is either in (or approaching) remission?? I'll be giving these results to my vet as well, but I am not 100% confident in her, to be honest. She didn't even tell me about ProZinc or Glargine, which I later found out would've been much better options for him.

One thing that worries me a bit is that he was on Vetsulin for only 2 weeks. I'm hoping his beta cells had time to recover?? I worry that I should've tried to keep him on insulin for longer? But then, it was becoming clear that he didn't need it (and my doses were always too much.)

Another concern I have is that Mercury's "fasting" BG (I'm new to this -- hope I'm using the right terms) seems high. In the mornings, before his breakfast, I've recorded levels like 146, 166, etc. The highest level I got over this whole 2-week span was 171, but that was about an hour after a meal.

I've read that cats in remission with high(er) fasting BG are more likely to relapse. :-( Should I be worried about these readings, or are they still in the "acceptable" range? (I've heard so much conflicting info about what's "acceptable"...)

That brings me to my other question. I want to make sure I am doing EVERYTHING in my power to help Mercury stay in remission (if he's there) through diet. My vet said he should have 2 large meals per day, spaced apart 10-12 hours. I know that was true while he was on the insulin, but how about now that he's not? She said to just keep him on 2 meals, but I have read that cats do better when they are fed smaller meals. Perhaps it will help his blood sugar levels not get too high. Could I perhaps feed him a large breakfast, a small lunch, and a large dinner? Perhaps at 8 am, 1 pm, and 6 pm? Something like that?

Here's what I'm currently doing ...

8 am breakfast = 3 oz can Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets
1 pm lunch/snack = 1.5 oz can Fancy Feast Fish & Shrimp Feast
6 pm dinner = 3 oz Tiki Cat "After Dark" chicken & lamb paté

Also, since Mercury's blood sugar (from what I can tell) is somewhat higher than "normal," can anyone suggest a supplement or natural method of reducing his sugars? I already feed him ONLY wet food, and his carb percentages are always under 5%. But I'm wondering if there's something (like the "Blood Sugar Gold" on Amazon, for example) that might help his sugars be closer to normal? Has anyone had experience with this sort of thing? I'm scared to try something that may make things worse...

Thank you SO MUCH in advance for any advice/comments!

Again, to summarize, my big questions are ... 1) Does it look to you like my cat is in remission, and 2) Should I be feeding him 3x a day or only twice?

Cheers!

Alexandra
 
Last edited:
Hi Alexandra and Mercury and welcome to the forum.
Can you tell us what type of glucose meter you are using please? It makes a difference if it is a human or pet meter as they give different readings/ Both are acceptable but we need to know which you use.

Looking at those BG numbers, Mercury is not in remission. But he is doing very well. If you want to get a strong remission he will need more insulin for a time. There are no supplements that will help with getting into remission. It is insulin and low carb food that will do that. And once in remission he will need to stay on a low carb diet for the rest of his life.

What I would like to see you do is set up a spreadsheet and add all the data you have already and then we can advise a dose to try.
HELP US HELP YOU has the instructions for the spreadsheet and the signature (which appears at the bottom of all your posts and tells us about Mercury). You can see mine below my posts. We need these two things to be able to help you (and the type of meter you are using.)
Are you able to do this? If you have trouble setting up the spreadsheet we can help you.

Regarding the food...with vetsulin you need to be feeding the 2 main meals 30 minutes before you give the insulin so that he has food aboard when the insulin hits. With snacks when on insulin I would give a snack at +2 (two hours after the dose is given) and again at +4 (when the insulin is at it's strongest.). Do this both cycles. You may want to give another snack around +6 or +7 but I wouldn't give food later in the cycle when he's on insulin as it might shorten the duration of the insulin. A snack is 1 or 2 teaspoons of low carb food each time.
When not on insulin I would give 4 meals a day. Either 2 larger meals and 2 smaller meals, or 4 meals the same size.
I feed my non-diabetic cats 4 meals a day of equal size.
Keep asking questions:)
 
Hi Bron,

Thanks for your reply!

I am testing with a Covetrus Vet GlucoGauge (for cats and dogs.) I started Mercury out with Vetsulin U-40, and his 2 unit dose was reduced to 1 unit, and then 0.

When he was on the insulin, I was feeding him before his meals so he'd have the food in his system when he had his shots. Thank you for the tips about when to give him snacks and how you space out your cats' meals when they're on (or not on) insulin.

To be honest, I looked at the spreadsheet, and it's a little intimidating for me. I am SO bad with spreadsheets/technology just in general, and things are worse than normal at the moment because in addition to Mercury's diagnosis last month, I'm also juggling several ongoing family emergencies at the moment. Right now, it's all I can do to keep notes of Mercury's blood glucose levels on a notepad on my kitchen table.

The only data I have is what I've listed in my post above; is there any way you can suggest a dose based on the 3 glucose curves I did (July 18, July 22, and August 1)? If he were your cat, what would you start him on to try to get those numbers down just a little lower? I like the idea of a strong remission -- this looks to me like his situation is still a little iffy, as you noted.

Also... I went ahead and purchased a Lantus Solostar u-100 pen. The lowest dose on the pen is 1 unit. Could I perhaps start him on that?

Thanks very much!

Alexandra
PS: I will get on the signature thing!
 
Last edited:
I am going to ask @Bandit's Mom to help you with the spreadsheet.
We cant help you with dosing without it. Once set up it is quick and easy to fill out. Bhooma will contact you about the SS. Once you have it set up we can help you. Tell Bhooma you are using pet meter.

With the Solostar pen, you will need to also use the syringes I am going to tell you to buy. I will show you how to use them with the pen.
You will need these syringes before you can restart the insulin if you are going to use lantus, which I think is a far better insulin than vetsulin.
1 unit of lantus it too much if vetsulin 1 unit was lowering the BGs too much.
You will need to buy these syringes U100, 3/10, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with1/2 unit markings.

 
Here is how you draw up the insulin from the solostar pen with a syringe
upload_2023-8-4_15-10-22.jpeg


These are the syringes you need to have to use Lantus. Don’t use the syringes you were using for the vetsulin. They are the wrong ones and will give too big a dose. Make sure you get the below syringes with 1/2 unit markings
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-8-4_15-10-22.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-4_15-10-22.jpeg
    25.3 KB · Views: 219
  • upload_2023-8-4_15-12-27.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-4_15-12-27.jpeg
    41.7 KB · Views: 115
Hi Alexandra, welcome to FDMB :-)

I can help set up your spreadsheet and signature. Will send you a PM with the details I need. Look for it in the Inbox at the top right corner of this page.

Are you in the US? If yes, then Walmart has their ReliOn brand of u-100 syringes. You want the 30 unit ones (0.30 cc). They come with half unit markings. Most of us use a human meter because it's accurate and affordable to use. A favourite in the US is the Relion Premier Classic from WalMart. The meter is only $9 and the strips are $17.88 for 100. The strips for pet meters are about $1 each which is too much for most of us when we test at least 4 times a day (more if they're running low or dropping fast).

241463669_10219518710345653_7608987528060033790_n.jpg
 
Hi Bron,

Thanks for the info and picture! I have purchased the syringes and I'm glad I'll be able to use the Lantus after all; I am not keen to continue with Vetsulin. Just to be clear on a couple things: the Lantus can remain in the fridge, right? I've also heard some say that if you keep it in the fridge, you can pretty much use all of it (not just the "28 days after opening" thing.) Is that correct? Also, Lantus is NOT to be shaken or even rolled before administering it, right?

Bhooma,

Thanks for getting in touch with me to help with my signature & spreadsheet. And I appreciate in the info about the human meter, too -- I will be purchasing that. Honestly, I have been somewhat leery of the results I'm getting with my Vet GlucoGauge. I don't feel that it's been very accurate.

Actually ... speaking of that ... I know that too little blood on the test strip can result in a faulty reading. I never allow that to happen. But, do you think too MUCH blood can result in a faulty reading, too? This only happened with Mercury once or twice, but it made me wonder. Once, I got a huge blob of blood, and his reading came back as 200. I immediately tested again (on a normal amount of blood) and got a 150 or something in that ballpark. Is that something you have experienced before?

Thanks, guys! Cheers from Houston, TX.

Alex R
 
Lantus can remain in the fridge, right? I've also heard some say that if you keep it in the fridge, you can pretty much use all of it (not just the "28 days after opening" thing.) Is that correct? Also, Lantus is NOT to be shaken or even rolled before administering it, right?
Yes to all of the above. Don't keep the Lantus in the door of the fridge, though. It is exposed to more movement and higher temperatures there.

Actually ... speaking of that ... I know that too little blood on the test strip can result in a faulty reading. I never allow that to happen. But, do you think too MUCH blood can result in a faulty reading, too?
I've heard of not enough blood giving errors, but not too much blood. We do get the occasional faulty strip with all meters - so whenever you get a reading that seems off, we suggest that you get another test to cross-check.

Once, I got a huge blob of blood, and his reading came back as 200. I immediately tested again (on a normal amount of blood) and got a 150 or something in that ballpark.
Meters have a 15-20% variance so this would fall within that range.
 
I agree with Bron. Any test result that seems weird, re-test. There are just times that you get a wonky number. It may be a bad test, a bad strip, the moon is in retrograde...who knows. If you're ever unsure, re-test.

I can't find any reviews of the meter you're using. It doesn't seem like it's widely in use. Since it's a pet monitor, the numbers may run a little differently than a human monitor (e.g., on one of our dosing protocols, a 50 is when you give a reduction with a human meter vs a 68 with a pet meter). There are not direct comparisons between human and pet meters. Given the difference between human and animal meters, your numbers are a bit closer to Ted being in remission. We would still want to see them being a little bit lower. If you're going to get a Relion meter, I'd suggest getting a couple of days worth of test data before re-starting insulin.
 
Thank you again for the info and responses.

I have ordered the Relion Premier Classic glucose meter and test strips; they will arrive today with Walmart delivery. Question: How can I interpret these readings accurately (given the differences in cat and human blood)?

I'll do a couple of days of glucose curves and report the results on my spreadsheet. Hopefully after that, he can begin on a low dose of Lantus and we can get his numbers down a bit! :D

Thanks guys.
Alexandra
 
Question: How can I interpret these readings accurately (given the differences in cat and human blood)?
There is no conversion etc to be done. You would use it just like you use a pet meter and record the readings you get. Human meters read lower than pet meters. The normal range for a cat's blood sugar with a human meter is 50-100 mg/dl.
 
I would suggest that you insert a line below your last data collected with the pet-specific meter and include on the line that you switched meters to the Relion.
 
Cool, thanks. I'll do a full curve on Mercury on Tuesday. (I'm out of the house all day Monday.)
Another question: what is BID? I keep seeing this acronym being used.
 
Cool, thanks. I'll do a full curve on Mercury on Tuesday. (I'm out of the house all day Monday.)
I will need to make a few formatting changes to the SS if you're switching from a pet meter to a human meter. Once you make the switch, let me know and I shall do the needful :-)
 
Hi guys!

I am very new to the whole "cat with diabetes" club, and I'd love to hear the perspectives of those with far more experience than I have. I have a couple of questions...

1) Based on his BG levels tracked over 2 weeks without insulin, is my cat in remission?
2) If so, how can I keep him there (diet? Supplements? Etc.)

Sorry in advance; this is kind of a long post. :)

First, some background. My Maine Coon mix, Mercury, is 11 years old and weighs about 13 lbs. Almost exactly a month ago, he was diagnosed with diabetes. When he was first examined, his BG was 583, glucose in urine, the whole nine yards. I brought him in because he'd been drinking a LOT of water and peeing about 3x as much as usual. Still, I think his BG may have been very much elevated at the vet because Mercury is an extremely highly strung cat. He is labeled as "extremely aggressive" on his vet forms. (Breaks my heart, since he's a sweetheart in a normal setting.) At the vet, when they took blood for his tests, he literally had to be held down by 3 vet techs (and he screamed his head off the whole time!)

The diagnosis was, of course, diabetes. The vet sent me home with Vetsulin and instructions to give him 2 units twice a day while measuring his blood glucose. Mercury became stable almost immediately. Within about a week, those 2 units were sending his sugars down as low as 70, so the vet said I should do 1 unit instead, which I did for another week. Same thing -- his sugars were getting down to 70 even with 1 unit.

About 11 days after he was first diagnosed, he had a fructosamine test done, and it came back as 350 (high side of normal, from what I understand?), but as far as I understand, it's an average of 2-3 weeks of blood sugar levels, so it included a time period when Mercury wasn't receiving any treatment at all (since he had the test done after only 11 days of treatment.)

Anyway, about 2 weeks after diagnosis, the vet suggested I try him out with no insulin at all while monitoring him. As I mentioned, Mercury is a high-anxiety cat, and he will not tolerate having his ear pricked all day several days in a row, so I have tried to do some full curves, some "spot checks", and some days where I leave him alone. I hope this wasn't irresponsible of me; I was trying to balance my desire to monitor Mercury with his desire to not be pricked in the ear. Also, I should mention that for almost a full month (starting pretty much immediately after he was started on insulin), he has had zero symptoms: he's not lethargic, his urination and drinking are totally normal, his weight is normal, etc.

Here are the results of Mercury's 2-week run with ZERO insulin:

July 18: First day no insulin. 8 am = 146 (fasting); 10:30 am = 141; 1 pm = 124; 3 pm = 142; 6 pm = 140; 9 pm = 90

July 19: 1 pm = 101

July 20: 8:30 am = 140 (fasting); 5:30 pm = 112

July 21: 3:30 pm = 104

July 22: 8:30 am = 166 (fasting); 10:30 am = 96; 12:30 pm = 115; 2:30 pm = 116; 4:30 pm = 113; 8:30 pm = 110

July 23: 4 pm = 90

July 24: No readings (away from home all day)

July 25: 2:30 pm = 112; 5:10 pm = 118

July 26: 11 am = 119

July 27: 8 am = 124 (fasting)

July 28, July 29 = No readings (away from home all day)

July 30: 7:40 pm = 171 (1 hour after meal)

July 31: No readings (away from home all day)

August 1: 7 am = 166 (fasting); 9 am = 117; 12 noon = 98; 2 pm = 130; 4 pm = 150; 7:30 pm = 142

So... what do you guys think? Can I begin to hope that Mercury is either in (or approaching) remission?? I'll be giving these results to my vet as well, but I am not 100% confident in her, to be honest. She didn't even tell me about ProZinc or Glargine, which I later found out would've been much better options for him.

One thing that worries me a bit is that he was on Vetsulin for only 2 weeks. I'm hoping his beta cells had time to recover?? I worry that I should've tried to keep him on insulin for longer? But then, it was becoming clear that he didn't need it (and my doses were always too much.)

Another concern I have is that Mercury's "fasting" BG (I'm new to this -- hope I'm using the right terms) seems high. In the mornings, before his breakfast, I've recorded levels like 146, 166, etc. The highest level I got over this whole 2-week span was 171, but that was about an hour after a meal.

I've read that cats in remission with high(er) fasting BG are more likely to relapse. :-( Should I be worried about these readings, or are they still in the "acceptable" range? (I've heard so much conflicting info about what's "acceptable"...)

That brings me to my other question. I want to make sure I am doing EVERYTHING in my power to help Mercury stay in remission (if he's there) through diet. My vet said he should have 2 large meals per day, spaced apart 10-12 hours. I know that was true while he was on the insulin, but how about now that he's not? She said to just keep him on 2 meals, but I have read that cats do better when they are fed smaller meals. Perhaps it will help his blood sugar levels not get too high. Could I perhaps feed him a large breakfast, a small lunch, and a large dinner? Perhaps at 8 am, 1 pm, and 6 pm? Something like that?

Here's what I'm currently doing ...

8 am breakfast = 3 oz can Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets
1 pm lunch/snack = 1.5 oz can Fancy Feast Fish & Shrimp Feast
6 pm dinner = 3 oz Tiki Cat "After Dark" chicken & lamb paté

Also, since Mercury's blood sugar (from what I can tell) is somewhat higher than "normal," can anyone suggest a supplement or natural method of reducing his sugars? I already feed him ONLY wet food, and his carb percentages are always under 5%. But I'm wondering if there's something (like the "Blood Sugar Gold" on Amazon, for example) that might help his sugars be closer to normal? Has anyone had experience with this sort of thing? I'm scared to try something that may make things worse...

Thank you SO MUCH in advance for any advice/comments!

Again, to summarize, my big questions are ... 1) Does it look to you like my cat is in remission, and 2) Should I be feeding him 3x a day or only twice?

Cheers!

Alexandra

Fancy Feast got my Buddy into remission, but..
ONLY ONLY pate AND stick with chicken or salmon. Twice daily!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top